Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Storm, Swipe Series #3

Thomas Nelson Storm, Swipe Series #3

When Logan Langly backs out of getting his Mark, he finds himself leading the Markless revolution with his friends. But while some of the Markless are fighting Chancellor Cylis' army, the Dust is busy trying to find a cure for a horrible epidemic that's sweeping through the Marked. Logan doesn't know who to trust anymore, including his own sister Lily who is a commander in Cylis' army. With instability rushing across the nation, will anyone be prepared for the inescapable storm that's brewing?
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Storm, Swipe Series #3
Review 1 for Storm, Swipe Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Mark, A Drought, Genetically Engineered Diseas

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evan Angler in his new book "Storm" Book Three in The Swipe Series published by Thomas Nelson continues the adventures of Logan Langly.
From the back cover: When the storm breaks, no one will be able to stop it.
In a future the world is united under the power of a charismatic leader, and everyone gets "The Mark" at age thirteen. The Mark lets citizens shop, go to school, and even get medical care-without it, you're on your own. Few refuse to get the Mark. But those that have refused are fighting back.
Logan Langly is the unlikely leader of the Markless Revolution. He started out to find his sister Lily, who disappeared during her marking pledge, but now he's fighting for much more. With the threat of a chemically manufactured plague that will potentially kill millions and a drought that is nearing critical mass, someone has to step in.
But when Lily appears with a special mission for Logan, it's difficult to know if he can trust her. And with the weather becoming more and more unstable, a storm is coming that will put everything Logan and the Markless have worked for at risk....
The battle continues. The Government is issuing the mark for the world to buy, sell and medical care. Without this mark it seems you are doomed and an enemy of the Government. If you read the Bible Book of Revelation then you know that receiving this mark puts you at odds with God. Logan skipped taking the mark and now he is being hunted and has become the leader of the rest that have not received the mark. Logan has been looking for his sister and has found out that Lily is one of the commanders in Chancellor Cylis' army. So now the question is can Logan trust his sister or is she a traitor to the Markless? "Storm" is definitely a thriller with everyone at risk. Mr. Angler has given us a thought-provoking fresh look at the Last Days of The Tribulation. "Storm" is great fun, filled with truth told in a convincing manner. And even though the target audience is the youth I believe the adults will enjoy it equally. I recommend this book highly and am already looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Storm, Swipe Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great fiction for teens

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So now we come to Storm, the third in the series. Logan and his loyal friends manage to get to Beacon. They have heard tales of the terrible prison DOME maintains there. Logan must get inside and rescue his sister. But when Logan finally manages to get to his sister, it is not as he thought. She is not a prisoner and it appears she has become a loyal soldier in the DOME forces. Logan is not sure if she has been taken in by DOME or if she is feigning loyalty. Logan and most of his friends escape Beacon and head west. But his Marked friend, Erin, is getting deathly ill. It seems that a plague had been designed to take out the Markless but something has gone wrong. Soon more and more of the Marked are dying. Will Logan be able to keep Erin from death?
This series just keeps getting better and better. The future technology is great. Buildings hundreds of stories tall with layers of sidewalks. Huge screens on the sides of the buildings. Rain assured by a weather machine (until that machine is sabotaged and the country suffers from severe drought). There are small spheres that transport people. It is great future fiction.
The Christianity of a couple of characters becomes crystal clear in this book. I was a bit concerned about previous volumes in this series, but it is all coming together. The plagues, the droughts, the unified leader, the Mark...it is the book of Revelation coming alive for young readers.
And there is a nifty surprise in this book. The characters come across a book called Swipe and read it. They agree the author got it pretty much right. And Angler even makes a cameo appearance. What fun. At the end we are left in suspense, waiting for the next installment.
This is a great series for middle school and teen readers. Logan is a great hero. There is lots of action and much to talk about. I highly recommend this series.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Storm, Swipe Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm Hooked!

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, so I am so hooked on this series I cannot wait for the next one. Somehow, I thought that it was a trilogy and Storm would wrap it all up, but instead Angler ramped up the story and increased the suspense. Absolutely do not read this book out of order, you must read Swipe and Sneak first. While this book is based on Christian themes, there is absolutely no preaching because it is set so far in the future that religion has been deemed divisive and thus not allowed. Though the reading level of this book is 8-11 year olds, it is definitely geared more toward the understanding of teens. Most 8-10 year olds would not understand the under currents in the themes that run through the books. I recommend this to all YA readers looking for exciting books that portray a struggle of good against evil, but many older readers will enjoy them, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Storm, Swipe Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dystopian for Middle School Readers

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol Gehringer
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MS Grades 5-8 Rating 4
Pre-Publication copy reviewed
Evan Angler returns with his third book in his dystopian series for middle school readers.
Set in the future, everyone over the age of thirteen gets “the Mark” except for those who are fighting back like Logan Langly and his friends, the Dust. Logan tries rescuing his sister Lily, only to find she is part of the government’s military force.
In Storm, a deadly epidemic is spreading throughout the Marked, and the weather is becoming less stable, creating a major drought. While the Dust race to find a cure for this bioengineered disease, there are other problems. Some of their friends are captured and brainwashed. Who can they trust when friends become foes and no ones knows who is really on their side? What about the “book” that knows all about their earlier adventures and warns of impending doom? What happens when sabotage is prevented but its prevention causes greater problems?
Angler builds a future world that is not too dark for his readers yet it will cause them to think. The technology, weather spinning out of control, biotechnology and growing government control contribute to the realistic possibilities. Though published by Thomas Nelson, this series has a very subtle faith element. There are allusions to biblical truth. Some could think “the Mark” as being the “Mark of the Beast” mentioned in the Book of Revelations but it is unclear if this is the author’s intention.
The book’s ending is weak, perhaps because the next book, Spark, is coming out in November 2013. The series is a good alternative to the Hunger Games, and suitable for younger readers. Older teens will also enjoy it.
Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review. Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for the advance reading copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Storm, Swipe Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Angler Hits the Mark...Again

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
AddLibrarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you’ve never read any of the previous books in the Swipe series, allow me to elaborate on the awesomeness that is Evan Angler’s latest book. Storm continues the non-stop action that I loved in Swipe and Sneak. The apocalypse gets scarier, the plot gets sicker, life gets hopelesser, plus we finally get some insight into Logan’s sister! (Who is totally the awesomest character in the whole thing, Mr. Angler if you’re listening…I really need more about Lily!) Side note: If you, like me, were over “mark of the beast” Christian apocalyptic fiction halfway through “Left Behind,” don’t let it deter you from this fabulous series! Angler takes it to a whole new level. Don’t miss this exciting series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Storm, Swipe Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A riveting, fast-paced read!
The third installment in the Swipe Series, this book finds Logan, Erin, and Hailey and the rest of The Dust find themselves struggling to keep the momentum of their Markless uprising, while staying one step ahead of DOME.
Storm picks up right where Sneak left off, making for a terrific third installment in the series! I loved how we got to meet more characters in this book and see a fuller picture of what was going on and how it effected the rest of the nation.
I really liked reading Lily's point of view, and getting to know Connor and see his story intertwine with the others.
Full of action and intrigue, I had the pages turning rapidly throughout. I guess the main thing for me that I didn't like was that the next book doesn't come out till September! So I was definitely left wanting more, in a completely good way! Fast-paced action, and a stunning plot that just get's more complex as it goes, Storm is a great addition to the series. I highly recommend the entire series!
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Storm, Swipe Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Storm is a great read for teens and tweens!!

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sierra
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Thoughts:Coming into this book, what I thought was the final book in the Swipe series, I had a good many expectations. The first two had been very good books with solid plots, stunning twists and characters that I enjoyed. I expected the third to live up to what had gone on in the first book and to deliver the same, not to mention a good ending. The book delivered :D (coming into this review I thought it was the last book, turns out there is a book four coming later this year :P) Logan Langley has just escaped from the rumored Markless prison for Markless and flunkees of the Mark. He tried to rescue his sister, only to discover that she had been brainwashed and betrayed him. He has also learned about the terrible illness project titled Trumpet that is aimed to killing Marked people with a disease originally created to kill Markless people. He, Hailey, Erin and Logan set out to find the doctor who created the disease and see if she can help cure Erin, she has somehow caught it and they are scared that the illness will be activated into the population any day! They have to find some way to stop it, before it is too late. Also there is a drought over the entire country because he weather mill has been broken by sabotage. For some reason their leader has been asking people to plunge his country into this drought, it will kill them! As Logan's friends the Dust work to find their friends and cause general havoc amongst the secret-no-longer Marked police, called I.M.P.s. A storm is coming.
Pros:The characters are really great. Logan is a slightly above average kid who is fighting for what he believes is right. And he really is a good guy. Hailey and Erin are great girls characters that are strong and sure. But still totally girls in the emotional way, it's just that they happen to be great at causing riots and making plans and hacking computers. Seriously, they're cool. The Dust (a group of rebel, Markless kids) made me laugh, especially Tyler. I loved their pranks on the IMPs that were also geared toward the purpose of finding their friend. This is just a wonderful Dystopian/end times/adventure/exciting book for Tweens and young (or old) teens. This is definitely a book that I would recommend to my siblings and it's clean and Christian! The world is a cool dystopian one and the history of the broken ending world is one that I enjoyed hearing about. I really liked reading the description and loved several of the settings that occurred in this series. The plot kept rolling and I was definitely surprised by several things that came up. Mainly the ending and a couple other things along the way. Although some I did suspect the "big reveal" was still a surprise to me. Sorta. I could kinda see how perfect it would end up and then it kinda did...well it's hard to explain. ending was left a little open, a little mysterious (okay a lot) and was just about perfect. Also, I loved how the book Swipe was read by the characters and mentioned, I really like how the author "lived" in that world and "was running too". It's cool :D
Cons:The ending seemed a little like a spin off of Jesus :/ I didn't like or agree with that part of the ending and otherwise I had no problems with this book. Content wise there was one use of suck, some brief violence of riots, arrests, attacks, the death of many Marked citizens due to the illness and torture of sorts. (like animated/computer game type torture :P)
Overall, this was a great ending to a very exciting book and it definitely lived up to the other books in the series. I really love this series. I liked the book a whole lot and I just loved the ending. Mr.Angler did a good job, just don't let anyone know it was him *winks* And the book was interesting and a page turner :) I would definitely recommend this series to young Christians teens/tweens and girls and guys who love adventure, are just getting into dystopian type genres and are looking for an exciting, clean series to enjoy!
I received a free copy through Team Novel Teen and the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Storm, Swipe Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Storm is intense and exciting!

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
STORM
The Swipe Series
by Evan Angler
If you have been keeping up with these banned books by Evan Angler you know everything is not as good as General Lamson has lead us to believe. If not for the efforts of Dust we might never have been made aware of these problems, problems that came to light through the illegal activities of Dust, Logan Langly, and Erin Arbitor.
After 10 years of negotiations the world has been unified, but Global Union does not mean global peace. Markless protests are continuing and the drought is continuing bringing a shortage of food for the American State. But beneath it all is subterfuge and sabotage, someone or something is bringing unnecessary suffering and the question is why?
Lily Langly, who was long thought dead, is a an IMP in Beacon City. For some reason Cylis head of the European State wants to speak with Lily. Cylis has a mission for Lily, a mission that could affect the world and cost Lily her life.
But Lily isn't willing to risk everything she's achieved to accomplish Cylis's goal so she reaches out to Dust and her brother. Will love blind Logan to the chance that Lily may betray them or is his trust in his sister justified? Can they stop the permadrought before it is too late?
Logan has questions that only one person can answer. But Beacon is looking for him, can he get in and out undetected?
Storm is as nerve-wracking and intense as Swipe and Sneak. Don't miss out on the third offering of this exciting series. Discover the truth for yourself before it is too late! Logan needs you to join in the fight and to refuse the Mark - your life depends on it!
I was provided with a copy of this book by the publisher: Thomas Nelson for the purpose of this review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.