Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Take Four, Above the Line Series #4

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan Take Four, Above the Line Series #4

In Take Four, after Chase Ryan returns to his family and a job in his hometown, filmmakers Keith Ellison and Dayne Matthews finally ink a deal to have the nation's top young actor star in their current film. But at the same time, the actor takes a very public fall that threatens his reputation among his fan base. Meanwhile, healing happens for Andi Ellison in her relationship with God, her family, and those she loves, but is it too late? The new producers find they must truly act as missionaries in order to help save the film, their families, and the young movie star. Breakthroughs take place that the public will never know about, as the possibility of saving the world through film is finally a very real possibility.
Average Customer Rating:
4.171 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
8 out of 1267%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Review 1 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Trish
Location:Farmington, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't gotten to this book yet, but Karen Kingsbury has never let me down. The price was great and shipped quickly. Would purchase from Christianbook.com again & would recommend this site to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
neeco
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Even though I have not read it yet it arrived in perfect condition, even though it is listed as "slightly imperfect"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Skeeter
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kingsbury is always a good writer. The series met expectations. Interestingly, her writing was so good that I found myself utterly disliking the rebellious college student that determined to "live". It was a bit difficult to believe she could go so far wrong considering her upbringing and background.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie Matthews
Location:Wall, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading Karen Kingsbury. Buying these four books was such a treat for me. I am in Book 1 and enjoying it so much. Looking forward to moving on to the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great series

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
jwrn
Location:Cincinnati
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved all the books in this series. An awesome message and the writing makes you want to keep reading to find what happens next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Never Ending

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Babs
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As much as I enjoyed reading this series there comes a time when enough is enough. I was so disapointed to finish this book and find that as frustrated as I was with Bailey and Cody and an unrealistic on again off again courtship I just knew that it would end. I refuse to spend another penney on a book about this non courtship. Had the next book been about Andi, maybe I would be interested but I don't know where Karen is going with Bailey now because as much as I loved the character she had gotten a bit boring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The entire Above the Line series is very draggy

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reader
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found the entire Above the Line series very draggy. A single volume or two at the most would have been enough to say what the author had to say. It seems K.K. just churns out books now. I was astounded to find out she writes so many books a year, but then I thought if her imagination is so prolific, why not? But it turns out this isn’t so. She repeats the same information again and again to the point it wears you out.
What I did like in the series were the issues related to the right to life of unborn children and the way the author handled Andi's return to the Lord, the display of the grace the Lord has for someone who fails. On this line, I disliked a lot the hypocrisy of Keith Ellison, both in regards to his daughter's situation and to Brandon Paul. Many dialogues show the producers were more concerned with the way people saw them than with showing the love of God to people. They took themselves much too seriously. We must take God seriously, but ourselves not so much. This is a source of hypocrisy in our life. Yes, Christians make mistakes. The Lord knows it, the world knows it and we know it. That's why we need the Lord's grace. Why hide this fact? Why try to present strong Christians as people who almost never err? It's not credible because it's not true.
Another thing: the partiality of the author towards Bailey Flanigan and the Flanigan family is disturbing. The decision to include her own family in her writings did not make her books any better, on the contrary. She can no longer be objective.
For instance, when Connor starts to play football he is suddenly the best and surpasses the existent starter just like that. That family has no faults; everything they do succeeds as if they are already living in heaven. They have always happy times, sorrow touches them only slightly, their faith is always strong, the mother has always the right words for her daughter, her wisdom is limitless, etc., etc., etc. I wander what do they need Jesus for? They are so perfect already.
Bailey is the brightest star wherever she goes, to the point I feel she even outshines Jesus Himself. Her purity and innocence are something "you don't see anymore." Does this mean there are no other pure and faithful girls and boys in the church anymore? Is she the last on the planet? And can you really tell if someone is a virgin or not just by looking at them? I couldn't help but feel disgusted. On the other hand, what about her behaviour towards Brandon? If it isn't flirting, then what is it? Just because the author doesn't call it flirting it is not? We are told that her hugging, kissing, holding hands with Brandon aren’t a problem as long as they don’t get displayed in tabloids. Really?! The smell of hypocrisy is again very strong here … we can do anything we like as long as people don’t know about it. It reminds me of the “whited sepulchres” Jesus spoke about.
Her lover struggles with so many serious problems, but all she can think of is having fun with a charming star. It doesn't even cross her mind to go and find for herself why Cody acts the way he does. More than that, she acts like she is the victim. We are told how very much she loves Cody and how much she suffers, but her so-called love is of no help to him when he most needs it. Well, he would be better off without her, but I don’t think he will realise that, at least not in the following series. (I wonder how many other series with the Baxters and the Flanigans will follow? Will they ever end?). He is much better than her, that's for sure, although we are incessantly told how good she is, much too good for him. I wonder why?
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
dorrie
Location:Westford, Mass
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I enjoyed the book but was very disappointed that the series didn't end with the last book. The author directs us to a new series, in the process of being written. after reading the four books in the series,I expect an ending.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book is beyond wonderful!!!!

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
JEPP
Location:Brandon, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of Karen't best books to me. The message was so very clear and God speaks to me in a different way with each book. I have shared my books for years now, but this one is traveling through my office with my co-workers. I usualy donate my books to our church library, this one has not made it that far yet.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Karen Kingsbury is my favorite author.

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
marthegran
Location:Aurora, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Her books are always excellent and I can share them with my friends and their high school age daughters. This is a very unusual fact since most books contain inappropriate matter.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marg
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all four books. I plan to take the set to the Pregnancy Center. The anguish I found may help those who are helping others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fine tuning and tightening up needed

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
bookluver
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have enjoyed Karen Kingsbury very much. Have series on my shelf. Several of us wait for the next book to come out and then we commiserate over the story. We are in agreement that we are very tired of the manner in which the stories are dragged out. We feel extremely frustrated with the way Bailey and Cody were left up in the air, and now we have to go through another series before we can get some closure. We would like her books to move along a little faster. We feel we need to take a break from her writing for a while because of this. That being said she has an incite into issues that only God can give. A little fine tuning would go a long way.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Penny Stoudt
Karen was great and will please all readers with another series starting next year with the Baxters still in the background so we, the readers, still know what is going on in the lives of our favorite family!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
C Howard
Gilbert Morris is fantastic at series work; with each book a separate story with vivid characters, settings, and themes. Something lacking in this series.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
PNH
Mrs. Kingsbury is writing the same story in a different package. She needs to leave Hollywood and cheap grace behind.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Cooper
I really loved this Series! Karen Kingsbury is so talented!I could hardly wait for #4 to be for sale. You just can't put the book down untill you are finished. God is so good!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
grandma
Great book, glad she plans to continue more with the charaters lives. I've read all the books in the Baxter series and can't wait for the next ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trish Orgis
Karen Kingsbury is my favorite author! Her way of including a message that glorifies God into her novels is a gift. Her books have helped me find healing in my own life. I can't wait to see what happens with Bailey & Cody... Thank you Mrs. Kingsbury!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Karen Kingsbury's series are always wonderful. It was beautifully written how Andi struggled with one of the biggest decisions of her life... it really showed the strength and love a woman has when choices are done to benefit the child. Also, how lives are so changed when Jesus is Lord of that life. However, I was a little disappointed in the ending...I washoping that Bailey's love...well, I guess I will have to wait for the next book called "Leaving".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Take Four, Above the Line Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
green
What a blessing this books was for many who have been in Andi's position. There are so many directions Karen can go from here - reaching into so many lives. I see many more series ahead and anxiously await them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.