Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House For Girls Only! Devotions

Tyndale House For Girls Only! Devotions

Your 8- to 12-year-old girls will find this fun devotional---filled with whimsical, girl-centric art---hard to put down! Applying biblical concepts to the issues in your tween's daily life, each meditation includes a modern-day story and interactive exercises---including a to-do list, self-assessment quiz, related Scripture verses, and quotations---that reinforce the lesson. 256 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for For Girls Only! Devotions
Review 1 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tool

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mom of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read this with my 2 daughters twice when they were 9 and 10, both times we thouroughly enjoyed it. Although some of the stories were difficult to read due to the emotional content, it was a great tool to teach compassion to my daughters who lead a very sheltered homeschooled life. We were able to glean wisdom from every story. I loved the Checkup Time (personal reflection), things to do, Bible Verses & Quotes. My daughters & I all wish there were a second one. I grew in my walk from reading this with them, because we all need to be reminded of the basics...Love one Another & God is Always with us. Great Book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Devotional for Tweens

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mom of 3
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this devotional to give to all the girls in our newly formed small group. They really like it. It has many relevant devotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The girls loved it!

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Location:Bourne, MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this to our middle school age girls so that they would be able to have daily devotions. The feedback so far has been that the girls have really liked the readings and feel good about reading. They say that the stories are relevant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great devotional for girls

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wendy Winans
Location:North Pole, AK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this devotional for my 9 yr old daughter to get her into the habit of having her own quiet time with the Lord. Within the first couple of days, she has already shared with us of what the Lord is convicting her, what she is learning and how excited she is to continue.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Really inappropriate material

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
stevo
Location:santa barbara, ca
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Both my wife and I skimmed through this before giving it to our grandaughter, and were surprised about several subjects mentioned, that we thought were just really inappropriate.
1. A girl is mentioned who gets into her mothers purse and steals her mothers credit card no. to buy things. Why even put this sort of idea in front of this age group? This should be parent/child taught stuff, books aren't the way to discuss issues like this under the pretext of a book about "devotions".
2. Another of the "devotions" mentions a child listening to her parents having a violent argument smashing chairs and dishes around. Do you want your child taught ethics by this book occurrences as if these things happen to lots and lots of kids? They mention the girls body "shuddering"at this occurance...Is this appropriate for a 8-12 year age group devotional book?
3.Another "devotions" story includes a father coming home, getting drunk, mean, angry and throwing things.
4.There's more including divorce, a girl who "She'll do about anything to get a guy to like her" "what Amy had been doing with about six different guys over the weekend" "Amy was sleeping around".
5.Sure, there are some positive stories included. But we don't think these issues and the mentioning of them are appropriate for a book, especially one claiming to be a "devotions" one on the Front cover. Is this truth in advertising? Do you want these ideas introduced to your child this way?
We don't. Just because some of this evil exist in the world, we much prefer to discuss those issues ourselves with our grandaughter,-not have a book awkwardly mention them in the manner this does, under a "devotions" pretext.
Sorry the writer did this. Wonder if the other readers totally read what is in this material. -We ended up tossing it out, to take it out of circulation.
The several other devotional books we purchased at Christianbooks.com for girls...were just fantastic and wonderful. All of them. Consider those perhaps.
+26points
29of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for my 6 & 8 year old granddaughters.

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debi
Location:Wellsboro, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a unique book. The devotions are perfect for my two granddaughters who just moved to our area. We have our devotions each morning before heading out to school. It's been scary to move to a new area and have to learn so many things and make new friends. It's been perfect for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Right on target!

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Love my girls
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My girls and I have completed about a dozen of the daily devotions in this book, and almost every one has a much needed gem for my 9 year old. At one point she checked the cover, telling me she was making sure I didn't actually write it! It has been especially valuable as my daughter is suddenly being assaulted by the worldly values of her peers at school, which seemed to greatly intensify this year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, realistic, fun, essential reading for girls

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dolores Becker
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 11 yr. old great-granddaughter as part of her Christmas gifts. Knowing that I always send a Christian book, she insisted that her mother allow her to open this particular package early.
She spent the rest of the day reading and answering the questions and, according to her mother, was so proud of herself for answering the quizzes honestly.
This small, inexpensive book will diminish the other gifts I sent her.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great stuff

Date:November 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
imanismommy
Location:Panama-Central America
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm really enjoying reading and discussing this devotional with my 8 year old. The activities at the end of each reading are an added bonues. GOod job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Keith
Great devotional. I love the messages and lessons it teaches. I bought it for my 8 year old, maybe a little better for someone a little bit older - but still a great book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Adolescence, restless period of transformation. Boy or girl, young children are keeping enough accents to a child and then turn the speed to maturity. How much should the parents help them, guide them and give them support? To answer at this question let me ask you something different: What book had to buy your child to read? As a father of teenagers often Im asking my self, what helps. As a father of a girl-teenager I knew that she sees, feels, reacts differently and Im challenge to understand her world before to do something for her. Age has its difficulties and challenges, both for young and for parents. Reading the book of Tyndale House Publisher - not only as a father but also as a pastor I can warmly recommend this book. I found it enjoyable and useful a helpful combination with God Word, games, creativity that can satisfy the most 'fractious "period of adolescence. more on http://blog.punctul.com/2009/12/20/doar-pentru-fete/
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shawn
This is a Great Book!! I enjoyed reading this myself and I'm looking forward to my eleven year old daughter reading this. This is the perfect book for any young girl.This devotion book tells you what the Bible says, with the scriptures and quotes, and gives you some tips on how to live out the message. This is a book, You could read over and over, or just a few pages at a time. Each devotion includes a story about a real issue that girls these days face, then there is a self-quiz for you to see how you are doing. This is very well written and gives you some easy tips and suggestions on things to do to improve on the areas You need to work on. I feel this book should be helpful to any young girl and they would enjoy reading this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katie
This spunky and adorable devotional book, For Girls Only! Devotions is written by Carolyn Larsen, speaker and author of 40 children's books. Written for 8-12 year olds, this book addresses issues typical to tweens in its' 60 lessons. Topics include: gossiping, accepting others, being positive, practicing patience, getting along with siblings, deciphering the truth, peer pressure, and so much more. More than just telling young ladies what the Bible says about each of these issues the book makes connections to scripture with contemporary stories, fun quotes, self check quizes, and application to-do lists. All of these tools are prepared to bring faith to life for young readers. There are also illustrations on every page to add to the interest of the devotion. I'd explain the art work, done by Leah Sutherland, to be sassy and whimsical.As a pre-teen I LOVED taking the little quizzes that were featured in my favorite magazines, in fact I also quite enjoyed creating them for my friends to take. I can see how this element would draw young girls into the book and it's stories. Although, at this point in my life it is a little hysterical to try to put myself in a 10 year old mindset as I read the lessons, I do believe they are engaging and age appropriate. My favorite feature of each lesson is the application to-do list suggestions.Overall, I think this book would be a nice encouragement to a tween girl who is interested in growing spiritually as she ages physically. Thank you to Tyndale House for providing me a complimentary copy of this devotional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for For Girls Only! Devotions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bethany LeBedz
From the title, For Girls Only! Devotions, to the cool purple writing, to the cutesy illustrations, to the real-life issues addressed with attention-grabbing titles, to the biblically sound yet accessible snippets, to the interactive quizzes, author Carolyn Larsen has hit a home run. Each devotion starts off with a Scripture verse, moves through a realistic example from another girl's life, and cuts to the chase with a practical application. Moms will love the assistance that these discussion starters provide. Girls will love feeling that they're not alone in their tweeny struggles. For Girls Only! gets two thumbs up from this mom of a tween (and a teen). Thanks to Tyndale House Publishers for providing me with a complimentary review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.