Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House My Sister Dilly

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House My Sister Dilly

Hannah Williams couldn't get out of her small town fast enough, preferring the faster pace, trendy lifestyle and beauty of California's Pacific Ocean coast. Only when her younger sister Dilly, makes a desperate choice and commits the unthinkable, does Hannah realize she never should have left her behind in rural Illinois. Hannah returns home to make up for letting Dilly down, leaving the one man she's ever loved in California. But Dilly is a changed woman, and when Hannah's plans don't go as expected, the bonds of sisterhood are tested like never before.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for My Sister Dilly
Review 1 for My Sister Dilly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Wichman
Snatch up your tissue box, readers! Coz between the overflow of sibling estrogen and, whichever way the winds blows across the Illinois hog farms you're going to need them. And did I mention there's a handsome but bewildered Californian named Mac with great frequent flier miles, who sticks by his woman, Hannah, no matter how bad she is PMSing? What a guy!Guilt has many faces. Forgiveness has only one. Ms Lang has written a poignant account of two sisters finding their ways back home; each for a different reason. My Sister Dilly is centered on the powerfully, relevant topic of what constitutes productive human life in this postmodern world, and the absolute necessity of family. Her believable characters demonstrate how our premeditated plans are often blindsided to Gods sovereign design of His unconditional love and forgiveness. I loved this book! My Sister Dilly is a heart opener! And a little girl named, Sierra, holds the can-opener!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My Sister Dilly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Even if I am reading a romance I look for the sibling and parent relationships. I was impressed that while there is romance in this book, it really is about how our sibling and parent relationships define who we are and how we will cope with the rest of our lives. We so often do not see ourselves as other see us. I hope reading this book will make a permanent change in me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My Sister Dilly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2009
While I was reading this story, all I could keep thinking in my head was "Wow." This is a story you would normally not think of when you think about Christian fiction. This is not your happily ever after,everyone's all lovey-dovey , everything always works out Christian fiction. This book is ripped from the headlines, make yourself really think, in your face fiction. Usually when you hear in the news about mothers who intentionally hurt their kids, your first thought it to condemn the mother. You cannot believe that anyone would want to purposely murder their children and that they must insane to do it. This novel shows the other side to that story and what could possibly make a mother even consider doing that to her child. As a reader, it took me by surprise that I actually felt sympathy towards a mother who did this and anger over the grandmother who wants to protect her grandchild. The story really blew me away by how much I invested into the characters. Dilly's sister, Hannah also touched my heart as well. She wants to protect her sister and is willing to sacrifice her own life to do so. However her reasons behind that are not as "Good Samaritan" as they sound. It's a wonderful character study between the two of them. My only qualm with the book was that it takes a while before the reader is finally told what exactly happened to put Dilly in jail. It's merely hinted at for about 3/4 of the book. It wasn't a problem but it made me feel like I had missed it somewhere because it kept being subtly mentioned at through most of the book. Otherwise, you will be enthralled by this book. The book is perfect is you're in the mood for something that is not fluffy and really makes you think afterwards. It's a story that stays with you and has you looking twice at everything you've always believed in. One of the most thought-provoking reads of the year. HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My Sister Dilly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
wendy
I got this book for Christmas from my mother. Having never read Lang before I put off reading it b/c the title and description didn't really grab me. Boy was I in for a surprise! I loved this book! I couldn't put it down. I had a husband and kids complaining to me to do something other than read... like make dinner! I highly recommend this book and I will soon be reading some of Lang's other books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My Sister Dilly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diana Lesire Brandmeyer
Sisters Hannah and Dilly have a complex relationship. Hannah is the older sister who feels she has failed her sister, Dilly. The book opens with Hannah picking up Dilly from prison. Dilly has served time for a crime most of society would call horrendous, many would have great difficulty in forgiving her. But Hannah has, she feels what happened is her fault for not being there for her sister. Lang sets the story in Central Illinois, her setting and descriptions are captured with perfection. Hannah leaves LA and comes back to Illinois to help her sister. Hannah struggles with what she has left behind including a man she wants to love. She has to adjust once again to living in a small town where everyone knows your business. It even takes driving for an hour to get more than the basics to make the healthy meals she has learned to love in LA. My Sister Dilly is a heart-capturing read. Dilly and Hannah became real and dear to me and even now knowing these are just characters made up by Lang I find myself wondering how they are today. Well done Maureen Lang for a book well written and memorable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My Sister Dilly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sherrie Ashcraft
This latest book by Maureen Lang grabbed me from the start. It's about two sisters, both women in their own right, but coming at life from two different perspectives. Hannah, who could hardly wait to leave the hog farm where she grew up and move to California, has returned to help her sister Dilly reintegrate into society upon her release from prison. It reminded me of the story of the prodigal son, or in this case, the prodigal daughter. One daughter who has lived by the rules, and the other who has done the unthinkable and chosen an act that sent her to prison.Dilly has changed while in prison, which is hard for Hannah to understand. As the women rebuild their relationship, several issues arise. Hannah is living in a prison of her own making, tied down by the chains of responsibility and false guilt. Unless she realizes this, and makes some changes, she may miss out on the love a good man and end up with a life of emotional solitary confinement.I have read several Maureen Lang books, but this is my favorite. The storyline is unique and thought-provoking, with characters who reach out from the pages of the book to the heart of the reader. In my rating system of one to five mochas, I give My Sister Dilly a four-and-a-half. Sit down with your own mocha and settle in for a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My Sister Dilly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
Maureen Lang is rapidly becoming a favorite in women's fiction. She tackles difficult family situations, childhood illnesses and disabilities with honesty and grace. My Sister Dilly is a beautiful book that touches your heart with peace like walking down a country lane on a summer day.Hannah and Dilly Williams grew up on a hog farm with strict parents. Hannah couldn't wait to leave and did as soon as she graduated. Years later when her sister Dilly is starting over again after some difficult circumstances, Hannah takes it upon herself to come and care for Dilly. Guilt over not being there for her little sister years earlier drives Hannah's life. She leaves behind a career and the only man she's ever loved to go back to a town she hates and people she is sure don't care. Hannah's journey to care for Dilly becomes a personal quest for peace and contentment. Dilly and her daughter Sierra teach Hannah more about herself than she ever knew. Will Hannah find the way to unravel the guilt that tangles her heart and make room for perfect love to heal the wounds?Maureen Lang has written a surprising story that waves grace on every page. She gives the reader and honest look into the lives of people who face daily struggles, sometimes make wrong choices, and find their way through mistakes to second chances. Her characters are believable and endearing. I highly recommend My Sister Dilly. And if this is your first Maureen Lang book, be sure to check her others also; Pieces of Silver, Remember Me, Oak Leaves, and On Sparrow Hill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My Sister Dilly
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Hannah Williams couldnt wait to put her parents hog farm, the small town of Sugar Creek, Illinois, and God behind her. As soon as she was able, she fled towards the coast of California, pursuing higher education and a career in financial consulting. Her younger sister Catherine nicknamed Dilly is content to stay home, marry and raise her intensely special needs daughter. But then the unthinkable happens.Dilly is incarcerated for six years, and Hannah returns home upon Dillys release to provide all the support she failed to give before it was too late. Hannah has prepared for this day for six long years, putting her personal life on hold, focusing on the day when she can make things right, make it up to Dilly for letting her down. Now if only Dilly, her parents, the man who loves her and everyone else would cooperate.Lang gently leads readers into contemplation of their own lives and relationships with God while never descending into trite, moralistic writing. Though dealing with intensely emotional and difficult issues, Lang doesnt allow us to slip into despair or loathing, but keeps our eye on God and His redemptive nature. She also provides readers with welcome moments of brevity; if youve ever lived on a farm or in a rural town, youll be able to relate.My Sister Dilly packs a full serving of introspection, love, hope, and faith within the pages of this well-written, smooth reading contemporary novel. Relationships shift, new insights are gathered, individuals grow and so will the reader if willing to examine his or her own life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My Sister Dilly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Miriam Knoy
Thank you Maureen for writing another book, My Sister Dilly, that leaves one thinking and pondering. What a challenge to all of us to have more empathy and reach out to help others in need! Its so easy to go ones way and not realize the challenges others face minute by minute around us. My Sister Dilly lets the reader take a peak at what it is like to live in small town central Illinois, USA. What is it like moment by moment raising a disabled child? What are the daily struggles? What does God want us to do to reach out and help others? To those with disabled children, this book encourages them to reach out for help. My Sister Dilly also reminds us of Gods redeeming grace. Once again romance is in twined into the story to keep one on the edge of their seat wondering what will happen next. Readers, you dont want to miss any of Maureens books! I cant wait for her next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My Sister Dilly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Rondeau
My Favorite to DateMaureen Lang has once again covered a sensitive topic with warmth and humanity that makes her a favorite among Christian Fiction writers. Hannah Williams wants desperately to compensate. Perhaps Dillys unspeakable crime was in part her fault for not being a more supportive sister. When Dillys time of incarceration has ended, Hannah believes herself to be Dillys savior. Why not sacrifice her career, move back to a homeland she had grown up to despise, and put her life on hold? Perhaps even give up the true love of her life. Wouldnt all that sacrifice be worth it? Would that make up for not being the sister Dilly needed when desperation drove her to attempt to take her own life and that of her disabled child? How could Hannah realize that Dilly found a different Savior. One she could be certain would never fail her? Maureen Lang has pieced together a gripping story that brings home two important issues, that of the emotional drain caregivers of disabled children endure, and that of rebuilding ones life after devastating poor life choices. Dilly has paid her debt to society, but will her community be as forgiving as the Lord? Kudos for tackling such difficult issues with entertaining warmth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for My Sister Dilly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Annette M. Irby
Ive had the privilege of reading and reviewing Maureens novels since On Sparrow Hill came out a couple of years ago. One thing you can always count on with Maureens work is she puts a lot of heart into her stories. Her storytelling has a way of digging deep into the readers own heart to find whats buried there. My Sister Dilly is set in the Midwest. I grew up in the Midwest, and I can vouch for her descriptions and skill at immersing the reader into that setting. Her descriptions were so realistic, down to the personalities of some folks therepeople working hard throughout their lives and finding the help God offers, but not always understanding His heart. (Which can happen anywhere.) I also really appreciate her ability to infuse her stories with life-changing messages without leaving room for defensiveness from the reader. She writes real stories, seemingly about real people, and the reader is left pondering those characters long after the book has been placed on the shelf or into the hands of the next reader, or friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.