Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Street Unwritten - eBook

Center Street Unwritten - eBook

Sunday hasn't spoken to anybody other than his priest in years. When the clergyman asks him for a favor, Sunday agrees to help. Driven by a dark secret, superstar Katie wants to end her life, but Sunday provides an alternative escape. Can Katie overcome her past, and will Sunday accept a future without isolation?
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unwritten - eBook
Review 1 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay story but not as good as others

Date:April 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marie
Location:Florence, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have read almost all of Charles Martin's books and was looking forward to this one. Much more predictable than his others. Was unhappy to read "I might have given him the finger - several dozen times" on page 314. We all know what this means and it is not something that should be used by a Godly man. Had he written out the words instead of using the term I am sure more would have been offended. "They
could shove their contract" is also crude as was another term used a couple of times in the book. Tame for a secular novel
but not appropriate for a Christian one.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unwritten - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book I've read in quite a while!

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Joye
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book and I think it's my favorite of all Charles Martin's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is outstanding.

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
sandy
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unwritten is an outstanding read. It is typical of Charles Martin to keep the reader in suspense until the end even though his books aren't necessarily mysteries. I wait expectantly to see what he will give us next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another excellent Charles Martin novel!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donna W
Location:Hamilton, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If a book has Charles Martin as the author, I know I will love it and "Unwritten" confirmed that fact - again!! I loved Father Steady and the strong silent Sunday from the start, but I wasn't sure that I would care about Katie, the outrageously wealthy world famous actress, as much as I ultimately did. Charles draws excellent character illustrations and he has a wonderful ability to get you to emotionally invest in each person and what they bring to the story, whether it be good or bad. In typical Charles Martin style he leaves the ending a little open, with the whole relationship interaction not completely cemented within the pages of his novels which I find intriguing. Great characters, great pacing, visually descriptive, and another story line that makes me wonder how he dreams this stuff up..... already anticipating his next published work..... Keep 'em coming Charles!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoy the journey

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Unwritten" has an ending that you'd expect. The journey to the end is the unexpected and why this book is so intriguing and captivating. Honest and brutal, the character revelations and confrontations set the course for an excellent and well written novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good story line

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tata
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read all of Charles Martin's books. This one has a great story line and is enjoyable. It was a little thought provoking at times. It definitely held my interest to the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best books I've read this year

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful prose and intense drama combine to make "Unwritten" one of the most moving stories I have read this year. More than once I found myself brushing away tears as Martin brought to life the wonderful characters of Katie, Steady, and Sunday, characters who have left a permanent imprint upon my mind. Their transformation from places of deep pain and even self-loathing, to ones of hope and healing, is simply mesmerizing to watch. When I first read the back of this book describing the story, I was a bit concerned that the characters would spend so much time in internal introspection that the pace of the story would be slow and plodding. I have never been more wrong! Though there are scenes of heartache and pain, the story unfolds at a perfect pace and kept my attention from start to finish.
"Unwritten" is one of those stories that finds you stopping numerous times to simply sit and soak in the feelings the story is drawing out of you. The writing is so real that you will feel the character's pain, and find yourself questioning along with them why things happen the way they do, why pain and suffering are in the world. You will cry when they cry, smile when they smile, and ultimately walk away from the story a different person.
I thought "Thunder and Rain" would always be my favourite book from Charles Martin, but I'm afraid that now I simply can't make up my mind whether that book or "Unwritten" tops the list for me. In any case, this is a book worth reading, more than once. I highly recommend this book and award it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I tried to savor it, I really did

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin
Location:Edmond, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I told myself I wasn't going to devour Unwritten the way I'd devoured Charles Martin's other books. I thought I could slow down and savor it, make it last more than a couple of days. I was wrong. Two days, and when I set it down, it was all I could do not to read it again. As always, the writing was mesmerizing. The characters feel like people I'd love to sit down with to enjoy a glass of wine and a chocolate croissant. (I can practically taste the croissant, thanks to Martin's descriptions.) I had no idea where the story was going, and I couldn't have guessed on a bet. As usual, it exceeded my expectations. Another great book by Charles Martin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.