Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Street Unwritten - eBook

Center Street Unwritten - eBook

Sunday hasn't spoken to anybody other than his priest in years. When the clergyman asks him for a favor, Sunday agrees to help. Driven by a dark secret, superstar Katie wants to end her life, but Sunday provides an alternative escape. Can Katie overcome her past, and will Sunday accept a future without isolation?
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unwritten - eBook
Review 1 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One word...Unforgettable!!!

Date:April 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I wanted to get out of there before someone found us. Accused us. Steady sat unfazed. Unmoving. She curled into a fetal position in his lap while he whispered in the air above her.
The circular burn around her neck was not going away any time soon. A tattoo sans ink. As were the burns on my hands. I made my way to the kitchen sink, ran cold water over the raw meat in my palms, and then handed a wet towel to Steady. He dabbed her neck. Soothing her skin.
She lay there, sobbing. Shaking uncontrollably. What I saw was not the women who lit the silver screen, walked the red carpet, graced the cover of Vogue, People, or name your tabloid, but a broken human being at the bottom. I slid down the wall, and sat quietly, deciding something I'd long since suspected but never known for sure. Man, or woman, is not made to be worshipped. We are not physically cut out for it. Life in the spotlight, on the pedestal, at the top of the world was a lonely, singular, desolate, soul-killing place." (pg 42).
To say that Katie Quinn was on top of the world, would be an understatement. She could have anything she ever dreamed and nothing was out of her reach. Being the highest paid female in Hollywood, she could command an 8 figure salary on anything she signed her name to and others got paid to make sure that happened. But money doesn't buy you happiness no matter how much you have and that is something Katie has discovered as she realizes this isn't the life she ever dreamed it would be. Most don't, until they live it and after awhile, desperately wish things were different.
Thankfully for her, Steady, her priest, realized that she was going to attempt suicide that afternoon when she went to confession leaving all her worldly possessions and power of attorney of her estate to him. Now he just needed to find a way to reach the person she was outside of Hollywood's leading roles and find a way to heal the pain so deep inside her that the only way to relieve that pain would be to take a gracefully bow off her penthouse in Miami. But God has other plans in store for Katie and it will begin by first choosing one of three doors set before her. Once she chooses, she can never go back. He just hopes she will choose the right one.
I received Unwritten by Charles Martin compliments of Center Street Publishing, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed in this review are strictly my own, except where otherwise noted. Charles Martin is fast becoming one of my favorite authors. In fact, just seeing his name on any book will guarantee I will read it. There are that great! Think Nicholas Sparks, Dan Walsh, Andy Andrews and you have an idea of the type of novel that will completely captivate you and transport you to a time and place of the characters you will discover there. This is the story of how broken people can find healing again, if, they are willing to search for it. It lies within us all and I think there is a part of us that can relate to Katie or Sunday, the man who offers to walk by her side for the journey. What you will discover in the end, is something so remarkable you have to pick up a copy of Unwritten and read it for yourself. There are second chances and fresh starts waiting just inside! I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars! Unforgettable!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay story but not as good as others

Date:April 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Marie
Location:Florence, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have read almost all of Charles Martin's books and was looking forward to this one. Much more predictable than his others. Was unhappy to read "I might have given him the finger - several dozen times" on page 314. We all know what this means and it is not something that should be used by a Godly man. Had he written out the words instead of using the term I am sure more would have been offended. "They
could shove their contract" is also crude as was another term used a couple of times in the book. Tame for a secular novel
but not appropriate for a Christian one.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unwritten - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book I've read in quite a while!

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Joye
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book and I think it's my favorite of all Charles Martin's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is outstanding.

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
sandy
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unwritten is an outstanding read. It is typical of Charles Martin to keep the reader in suspense until the end even though his books aren't necessarily mysteries. I wait expectantly to see what he will give us next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another excellent Charles Martin novel!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donna W
Location:Hamilton, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If a book has Charles Martin as the author, I know I will love it and "Unwritten" confirmed that fact - again!! I loved Father Steady and the strong silent Sunday from the start, but I wasn't sure that I would care about Katie, the outrageously wealthy world famous actress, as much as I ultimately did. Charles draws excellent character illustrations and he has a wonderful ability to get you to emotionally invest in each person and what they bring to the story, whether it be good or bad. In typical Charles Martin style he leaves the ending a little open, with the whole relationship interaction not completely cemented within the pages of his novels which I find intriguing. Great characters, great pacing, visually descriptive, and another story line that makes me wonder how he dreams this stuff up..... already anticipating his next published work..... Keep 'em coming Charles!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoy the journey

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Unwritten" has an ending that you'd expect. The journey to the end is the unexpected and why this book is so intriguing and captivating. Honest and brutal, the character revelations and confrontations set the course for an excellent and well written novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good story line

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tata
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read all of Charles Martin's books. This one has a great story line and is enjoyable. It was a little thought provoking at times. It definitely held my interest to the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best books I've read this year

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful prose and intense drama combine to make "Unwritten" one of the most moving stories I have read this year. More than once I found myself brushing away tears as Martin brought to life the wonderful characters of Katie, Steady, and Sunday, characters who have left a permanent imprint upon my mind. Their transformation from places of deep pain and even self-loathing, to ones of hope and healing, is simply mesmerizing to watch. When I first read the back of this book describing the story, I was a bit concerned that the characters would spend so much time in internal introspection that the pace of the story would be slow and plodding. I have never been more wrong! Though there are scenes of heartache and pain, the story unfolds at a perfect pace and kept my attention from start to finish.
"Unwritten" is one of those stories that finds you stopping numerous times to simply sit and soak in the feelings the story is drawing out of you. The writing is so real that you will feel the character's pain, and find yourself questioning along with them why things happen the way they do, why pain and suffering are in the world. You will cry when they cry, smile when they smile, and ultimately walk away from the story a different person.
I thought "Thunder and Rain" would always be my favourite book from Charles Martin, but I'm afraid that now I simply can't make up my mind whether that book or "Unwritten" tops the list for me. In any case, this is a book worth reading, more than once. I highly recommend this book and award it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unwritten - eBook
This review is fromUnwritten.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I tried to savor it, I really did

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin
Location:Edmond, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I told myself I wasn't going to devour Unwritten the way I'd devoured Charles Martin's other books. I thought I could slow down and savor it, make it last more than a couple of days. I was wrong. Two days, and when I set it down, it was all I could do not to read it again. As always, the writing was mesmerizing. The characters feel like people I'd love to sit down with to enjoy a glass of wine and a chocolate croissant. (I can practically taste the croissant, thanks to Martin's descriptions.) I had no idea where the story was going, and I couldn't have guessed on a bet. As usual, it exceeded my expectations. Another great book by Charles Martin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.