Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords Making Good Habits, Breaking Bad Habits: 14 New Behaviors That Will Energize Your Life - eBook

FaithWords Making Good Habits, Breaking Bad Habits: 14 New Behaviors That Will Energize Your Life - eBook

From cell phone addiction to overspending, bad habits seem to outnumber the good. Examining the nature of behaviors, Meyer helps you make a commitment to commune with God daily and set the stage for identifying and overcoming negative patterns. Each of the 14 chapters offers a specific "road map" for establishing new routines in your life. eBook version.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Making Good Habits, Breaking Bad Habits: 14 New Behaviors That Will Energize Your Life - eBook
Review 1 for Making Good Habits, Breaking Bad Habits: 14 New Behaviors That Will Energize Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Advice

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading any book by Joyce Meyer you will walk away with some great advice and easy steps to follow to make your walk with Christ a better one. This particular book by her will help you in your day to day living. You will learn how to change bad habits into good habits. Her easy to follow chapters are organized and make this book a breeze to read through. I liked the personal examples along with the Biblical ones. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I would recommend the book to anyone struggling with things in their live that they want to change. The tips in this book will help you in multiple areas of your life!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Making Good Habits, Breaking Bad Habits: 14 New Behaviors That Will Energize Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very important read.

Date:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the things dawning on me lately is that I seem to immensely prefer when the Gospel is condescended into a practical, day to day message. In fact, I’d say that’s when it ministers to me most powerfully, and that’s when I am blessed – either in a sermon or in a book. (That and theological books and sermons which I also enjoy very much!)
I take such pleasure into sitting down and having a good conversation with Joyce Meyers. It feels that way, every time I pick up one of her books. They resonate with me so much and I find the woman, funny, motivating and wise. She’s down-to-earth and very serious about this thing called The Gospel. It brings me joy to see someone so insistent on applying precious Words of God in every area of their life. That’s passion for the Gospel. I consider myself equally a passionate person for it, but I’ve noticed that I come out of her books more refreshed, motivated, invigorated and ready to face life with God by my side. Meyers is a tremendous blessing to the Body of Christ. If you haven’t read one of her books, I encourage you too. Not only are they worth the read, they’re also worth buying.
Did you know that, apparently, it takes thirty days to break a habit? Did you know you can right start now and feel changed for the better as you continue day by day? I started and I’m so inspired to keep continuing on the right track after reading Breaking Bad Habits and Making Good Habits. I’ve learned that now is the best time to get started – let’s avoid procrastination as much as we can. Let’s also cultivate the habit of thinking and speaking excellent words, they impact are lives more than we would know. I really like how Joyce continually stresses that not only in this book, but in practically every of her books. She addresses other habits also in her latest, such as the habit of blaming others, of living with a mediocre mindset, of putting God last in what we do, of living selfishly. She encourages her readers to take one habit at a time and to pursue developing good ones and breaking bad ones, patiently, with God’s help. It’s the little things that we’re oblivious to that prevent us from reaching our destiny many times.
I also found that there were plenty of profound quotes in this book. I even took notes! Plenty of them. Lastly, I’d say that this book isn’t the kind you read and let dust on your shelf.
Unfortunately for me, I borrowed it from the library but I’m interested in buying it. I think it makes a great, encouraging read, for those of us who are serious about our year or life resolutions. Meyer is very practical and I like that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Making Good Habits, Breaking Bad Habits: 14 New Behaviors That Will Energize Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A+++ excellent!!!

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
mitsu47560
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a wonderful book!! everyone should read it!! it's very practical!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Making Good Habits, Breaking Bad Habits: 14 New Behaviors That Will Energize Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wallace5
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Opened my eyes to a lot of things. I have read it and now I am passing it along to help another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Making Good Habits, Breaking Bad Habits: 14 New Behaviors That Will Energize Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Changing Habits, Living Excellent

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
PurplePosey
Location:Oil City, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was one of the best books i've ever read. Joyce Meyer gives advice on how to be the best we can be and that includes wanting to change our habits and then acting on it and working toward being the best person we can be for God while we are here on this earth. A must read for anyone who is wanting to change something about their lives.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Making Good Habits, Breaking Bad Habits: 14 New Behaviors That Will Energize Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
iluvmesumu
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the theme of the book of focusing on doing the right thing and stop focusing on not doing the wrong thing because you overcome evil with good. This book helped me to become more disciplined in developing good habits. I'm still in the process of developing the "God habit."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Making Good Habits, Breaking Bad Habits: 14 New Behaviors That Will Energize Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
glows
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was great reading. I enjoy the teachings of Joyce Meyer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Making Good Habits, Breaking Bad Habits: 14 New Behaviors That Will Energize Your Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

change your life by changing your habits

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We all have habits. Some are good and some are bad. Good habits can be developed and bad ones broken. Joyce wants to help us do exactly that.
Joyce invites us to change our life by changing our habits. It will take time and effort but if we commit, we will succeed.
She asks us to make a list of all the habits we want to make and the ones we want to break. She suggests we start small by choosing one then use the principles in this book to work on it. We will eventually get to them all.
Romans 12:21 and Galatians 5:16 are foundational. Controlling our thoughts is key. “Live by decision, not be emotion.” (12)
Throughout this practical book, Joyce gives examples from her own life and the lives of others.
She begins with the God habit. Without the habit of spending time with God, we will not be able to develop any other good habits. “Seeking and spending time with Him is our most vital need.” (21)
She is quick to point out that changing habits takes a strong commitment, an investment of time, and hard work. With God's help, we can do it.
Joyce includes many practical tips and, as one might expect, our words and thoughts are at the top of her list. Joyce writes, “In my opinion they are the starting point for breaking all bad habits and forming all good habits.” (38)
She includes practical advise on making decisions.
She suggests we concentrate on the good habits as that will solve many bad habits.
Her teaching on the habit of happiness is excellent.
She reminds us to take action, the habit of faith.
She encourages us to excellence and admonishes us to take full responsibility for our actions, and to have integrity. She outlines four steps to quit making excuses. She helps us quit the hurry habit, as well as emotional habits like self-pity. She shows us how we can develop the confidence in Christ habit, and habitually add value to others.
She wraps it up with the habit necessary for them all – discipline.
This is an excellent book for any Christian who would like to change some aspects of their life but does not know how to get started. Joyce's book is full of practical ideas.
Joyce reminds us that many people will pay to hire a life coach to help them live their live to their full potential. She also reminds us that we have the best life coach there is – the Holy Spirit. So get this book and get to work!
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.