Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #10: Challenge on the Hill of Fire

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #10: Challenge on the Hill of Fire

Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #10: Challenge on the Hill of Fire
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #10: Challenge on the Hill of Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating and Engaging

Date:June 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is from one of my favorite stories. I like the new slant it is given, just for kids. It is a fun and memorable way to learn. There are amazing escapes and interesting historical figures. These are retellings of events that keep young readers fascinated. This episode is independent of the previous stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #10: Challenge on the Hill of Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great historical story

Date:June 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book in one evening to my girls 2, 4, 8. It took me about an hour to read, and they all really enjoyed it. It is based on the life of St. Patrick. We all learned some new things about him. We want to research more about him now. The book is simply written and yet a great story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #10: Challenge on the Hill of Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book in this series

Date:July 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Challenge on the Hill of Fire was an exciting adventure in which cousins Patrick and Beth traveled to 433 Ireland through the Imagination Station. While in Ireland, the cousins are kidnapped by Druids only to be saved by Saint Patrick’s converts. While in the hands of the converts, they see first-hand the struggle of power between the Irish king, the druid leader, and Patritrius (Saint Patrick) when Patritrius challenges the king by building a fire on a hill to show proof to the king that the Bible’s God is the Only True God. This was a great book because it not only taught Christian truths, but the history included into the story was pretty accurate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #10: Challenge on the Hill of Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenge on the Hill of Fire

Date:July 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Challenge on the Hill of Fire takes Beth and Patrick to Ireland where they meet with St Patrick. It was interesting to see through their eyes how Bishop Patricius was able to change many Druids during his time. I enjoyed reading this book to my kids. They enjoyed the adventure as well.
5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #10: Challenge on the Hill of Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Challenge on the Hill of Fire is another great installment in The Imagination Station series. For those of you who live under a rock (just teasing) The Imagination Station is an invention by Whit from Adventures in Odyessy. It is a time travel machine and in this series it takes Patrick and Beth, cousins, on lots of great adventures throughout history where they learn valuable life lessons about God and themselves. In this adventure they travel back to Ireland and the time of Saint Patrick. They are captured by the Druids but end up escaping and running in to a follower of Bishop Patrick and end up learning all about why we celebrate St. Patrick's Day.
This book was very interesting to me as I didn't know the history behind St. Patrick's Day. I really enjoyed learning all about it and can't wait to use this book to teach my kids about it as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #10: Challenge on the Hill of Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best book so far

Date:June 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Good book and Roman Facts
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tenth book in the Imagination Station series is my favorite so far! Beth and Patrick get a great faith test in this book. My favorite part is where Shane the Druid sees Beth, Patrick, Caera, Caera's father, and Tristan as deer. This is a good book for people who are interested in ancient religions and cultures. I like this book because it teaches about the one true God and how it is better than sacrifices and bloodshed. { The Druid's ways }
By: Joshua, age 10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #10: Challenge on the Hill of Fire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Always pleased with AO books.

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Di
Location:Naperville, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son enjoys the Imagination Station Series and we waited expectantly for #10. We can now say that it wasn't our favourite, but enjoyable and we are glad to add it to our collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #10: Challenge on the Hill of Fire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Easy Chapter Book About St. Patrick

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
IChooseJoy
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Challenge on the Hill of Fire" is a very timely story because cousins Patrick and Beth travel in the Imagination Station back in time to meet St. Patrick! How interesting to learn about the dark culture in which St. Patrick lived in Ireland. The Druids were a wicked, cruel ruling religious group who enslaved and sacrificed many people. Patrick and the other followers of Christ were able to be great lights to witness for Him. The children Patrick and Beth are able to interact with some of the Christians and then meet St. Patrick himself!
The reading level is for children new to chapter books, but also works well for reading aloud. It would be great to pick up "Challenge on the Hill of Fire" and do a unit study about St. Patrick this year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #10: Challenge on the Hill of Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Adventure continues

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book 10, ‘Challenge on the Hill’ of Fire from the Imagination Station series is out! Authors Marianne Hering, Nancy I. Sanders and illustrator David Hohn have given us another suspense filled story focusing on a bit of the history of St. Patrick's Day. Personally I love that they are covering the Holidays in this series. This is the second time they have focused on a Holiday; the first was Thanksgiving in Book 6, ‘Problems in Plymouth’. I have not started reading this series to my children as I think they are still a little young for fully understanding some of the historical context of these stories but when I do I will plan the reads to correspond with the right Holiday. I am very excited to be able to add a fun story, with Historical context and Biblical truths to help us celebrate the different seasons! This book has been one of my favorites so far. I've never really studied this time period and am intrigued to learn more about Bishop Patrick. I also appreciated the tie in with the St. Patrick's tradition of the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow and comparing/relating it to something that's even more valuable to a pot of gold, the knowledge of God. I hope you'll check out this fun series!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.