Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #8: Battle for Cannibal Island

Tyndale House Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #8: Battle for Cannibal Island

Cousins Patrick and Beth are on a new adventure: it's 1852 and they are sailing to Fiji on the HMS Calliope under the command of Captain James E. Home. Once they arrive, they discover that the Christian and non-Christian Fijians are at war with Missionary James Calvert trying to make peace between the two groups. Through Calvert's determination to live in Fiji despite the dangers and impoverished conditions, Bath and Patrick learn first-hand about sacrificial living.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #8: Battle for Cannibal Island
Review 1 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #8: Battle for Cannibal Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More Adventure for Beth & Patrick

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth & Patrick embark on another adventure in the Imagination Station at Whit's End. The kids have the chance to meet Missionary James Calvert while on a boat to Fiji.
This book is an excellent way for kids to not only experience a great adventure story but also learn about some important historical figures and learn some valuable life lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #8: Battle for Cannibal Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kids Historical Fiction at its Best!

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:The Hot Dry Desert
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've been reading the most recent 2 books in the Imagination Station series, Battle for Cannibal Island (yes, CANNIBAL Island, which is the story of an incredibly brave Christian missionary who cared more about seeing cannibals in Fiji saved than about his own life) and Escape to the Hiding Place which is the amazing story of Corrie Ten Boom. Receiving this last book in the mail was incredibly timely--the day before we'd just finished listening to the audio book "The Hiding Place" on the way back from a roadtrip. (By the way, if you've never read about Corrie Ten Boom, get your hands on the movie "The Hiding Place". It's an amazing, inspiring true story filled with miracles and God's grace.)
Each book in this series features two kids, Beth and Patrick, as the main characters who end up on historical adventures where they meet knights in shining armor, pilgrims, Egyptians, you name it. The books have mystery, real faith, and adventure. These books are are written at a 2nd grade reading level, but even I was captured with the stories! Definitely page turners--each one. And each one makes you want to research the true history deeper. My kids love history! And these books are part of the reason why.
As a homeschooling mom, I use these as part of my history curriculum. Yes, historical fiction may be a bit unorthodox, but it grabs my children's interest, real-life characters are featured in these books, and the authors stick as close to possible to real life events as can be expected with 2nd graders historical fiction. This is my favorite series for this age level and I couldn't recommend it more highly! Kind of like Magic Treehouse but MUCH better!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #8: Battle for Cannibal Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventure and learning

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
kriswrite
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Serving and sacrificing for others. Spiritual warfare. The difference once person can make. These are the themes in the latest Imagination Station book, Battle for Cannibal Island.
Once again Wayne Thomas Batson and Marianne Hering's tell the tale of young cousins Beth and Patrick. This time, Patrick has a bad attitude about going to his grandmother's birthday party. Going means missing a ball game, which hardly seems fair to him. So, without permission, Patrick starts up the Imagination Station, looking for adventure. In trying to stop him, Beth ends up on board, too.
The machine takes them to a ship in the 19th century. At first, the cousins fear it's a pirate ship. After all, the men on board talk like pirates - and one even has a wooden leg. But they are actually on an English navy vessel anchored near Fiji. The trouble is, Fiji is a land of cannibals, and Toki, the leader of them all, isn't to be trusted.
But James Calvert, a missionary whose been teaching the Fijians about Christ, guides the cousins and the crew as they experience adventure after adventure. First, Toki brings a boat near the ship, and war is feared. Then a large storm comes and Patrick and a sailor fall into the sea. They drift to the island - but they aren't safe there; Toki is on the hunt for them. Beth sneaks into the rescue boat, but ends up falling into the ocean. Patrick confronts Toki about his lack of faith in Christ. Toki replies:
"I hate the teachings of [God]! Your God would be King and change our ways. He would make us weak with words like 'love your enemies.' I am king. I kill and eat my enemies."
Yet when Toki finally admits he isn't all powerful and Patrick reminds him the Christian God will forgive him, something in Toki changes.
Toki sees Beth struggling in the sea, and throws a spear her direction. Thinking Toki means harm, one of the sailors shoots the Fijian king. But it turns out Toki was killing a stingray threatening Beth. The English sailors set to healing Toki. The warriar opens his eyes briefly, and Calvert prays with him. Toki promises that if God lets him live, he will never kill Christians again. "Do ye repent?" Calvert asks. "I repent," Toki says.
The Imagination Station reappears and Beth and Patrick go back home. There, their mentor Mr. Whittacker tells them more about Calvert:
"Not many people cared about telling the cannibal tribes about Jesus. But Calbert and other missionaries gave their lives to do it. There were tens of thousands of Fijian Christians when Calvert left Fiji. And the cannibalism had stopped...Mr. Calvert kept reaching out to [Toki]. That's what Jesus call us to do."
Suddenly, sacrificing a ball game for his grandma's birthday party doesn't seem so awful to Patrick.
What I Like: As my 7 year old says, "This book is awesome!" Nearly every chapter is a cliff-hanger, the pace is quick, and the story is nothing if not adventurous. I appreciate that Beth and Patrick act like real kids who make mistakes. Both my daughter and I also enjoyed learning the interesting and important history outlined in the book; there are even several strong Christian themes woven in. Throughout, David Hohn's black and white illustrations (about a dozen of them), add interest.
What I Dislike: My only complaint is minor. At the back of the book there is a section offering facts about the real James Calvert. It ends by saying "For more info on James Calvert and Fiji, visit TheImaginationStation.com." But the website offers no such information. As I've noticed with other books in the series, the supplemental information provided on the website is inconsistent. Sometimes devotionals or other helpful material are offered and other times they are not - even if the book itself promises it.
Overall Rating: Excellent.
Kristina Seleshanko, Christian Children's Book Review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #8: Battle for Cannibal Island
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inviting for early readers

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These books involve exciting historic adventures. They are full of suspense and keep the reader engaged while learning about history. The characters are believable and easy to imagine. The books’ easy to read format will be inviting for early readers, and the story line is captivating for older readers as well. Excellent choice for reluctant readers and those who love to read.
My fifth grade son loved them and wants to read the others in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #8: Battle for Cannibal Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Little Sister Reviewed It!

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Book Review by little sister, Sara. Edited by me.
Battle for Cannibal Island is a very exciting book. After having read the first seven books to the Imagination Station Series, book 8 was much anticipated. Though the back cover shares some of what the book was about, it was not a spoiler, leaving me with plenty of surprises.
I enjoyed the exciting story line. From battling escape convicts, terrible storms, meeting the notorious cannibal king, Toki, your in for a ride of adventure and lots of imagination. The overall message of the book was showing kindness to those who are mean to you. One of my favorite examples of this principle was when after Patrick spoke meanly towards Beth she still decided to act like Jesus and try to rescue him, showing true kindness.
This series being reccomended for ages 7 and up was just right for me. It being a chapter book, made the reading experience feel advanced, but with the occasional pictures it helped keep it kid friendly. The words are a nice big readable size for young children, but the words themselves are neither too hard, nor easy. Overall these were thrilling books and I highly recommend it, not only for young children, but to teens and parents too! I give Battle For Cannibal Island and Escape to the Hiding Place a 5 out of 5.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #8: Battle for Cannibal Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Battle for Cannibal Island

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth stops into Mr.Whit's Ice Cream Shop looking for her cousin Patrick. She finds him hiding in the Imagination Station, a time machine of sorts, invented by Mr.Whit. Patrick is in a bad mood because he does not want to go to his Grandmother's birthday party. There are so many other fun things he could be doing. Beth got in the machine with him to talk to him. He decides to push the button that starts up the machine, but he was under the impression it was turned off. Well it hummed on and they were off to an adventure in the Imagination Station. When the humming stops they are on the deck of a sailing ship which is flying a British flag. But Patrick thinks they may be on a pirates ship.
Off in the distance Missionary James Calvert is talking to a British Captain. Calvert is wanting to be put ashore on Fiji Island but the Captain refuses to let him on the island because it is inhabited with cannibals.
Calvert knew the cannibals were as much God's children as were anyone else. He had every intention to tell them about God. Some of the Fijians had already accepted Christ as their Savior. As they continue their conversation a canoe sets off from the island with several of the cannibals and their leader headed for the ship.
When Patrick and Beth are discovered on the ship the Captain gave orders for them to be put in the hull of the ship with the other hard core prisoners. Calvert would not stand for the Beth to be put with the other prisoners. It was no place for a girl.
Then things turn chaotic on the ship among the prisoners and Patrick is right in the middle. What will happen to Patrick? Who should he fear the most the Captain, the pirates or the cannibals? What an adventure this has become.
The Imagination Station is an excellent way for children to learn about our Historical Christian heroes. True disciple of Christ. Willing to sacrifice their very lives to spread the word of eternal life through Christ out Lord and Savior.
The author gives our children a good look at the British involvement to rid the Fiji Island of cannibals. It was Calvert's mission to tell thee Fijians about God. Patrick also learned a lesson. What would that lesson be?
Will Patrick decide to go to his Grandmother's Birthday after this adventure? Will they be in trouble for going using the Imagination Station without Mr. Whit's permission?
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #8: Battle for Cannibal Island
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Christian Historical Fiction for Young Kids

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alyssa Liljequist
Age:18-24
Battle for Cannibal Island is a fun, easy to read book for children ages 7 & up. The dialogue and descriptions are simple but the plot is interesting. The main characters are 7-year-old cousins named Patrick and Beth. Battle for Cannibal Island is set in Fiji during the 1850s. The cousins get to meet missionary James Calvert. I like that kids who read the book are introduced to a historical figure. The illustrations (especially of Whit) are not what I am used to but they’re not bad. At the end of the story, the children learn a lesson that they can apply to their modern day lives. I think it’s cool to see a Christian historical fiction book series for young kids.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #8: Battle for Cannibal Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Obeying God No Matter the Risk

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:AK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a fan of the Adventures in Odyssey radio series since it's 1987 inception. Our children absolutely love listening to Odyssey stories on CD. They are (by far) a family-favourite activity and as a bonus, everyone quiets down to listen.
Our seven-year-old son is such an animated listener. He's the one who tries to play Wii games sitting down and ends up standing on the couch, jumping with each character jump (at least until I notice and tell him to stand on the floor to jump)! Even with Adventures in Odyssey, some of the stories become more suspenseful and he is the one quite literally sitting on the edge of the sofa trying to hold his sounds-of-anticipation down...usually unsuccessfully. It doesn't matter how many times our kids listen to the AIO stories; they still get excited about them. The thrill doesn't dissipate with age either ~ I guarantee we'll all still love them in our 90's.
I noticed a couple years ago that there are Adventures in Odyssey books available. "The Imagination Station" series currently ranges from volume #1- #9 and is geared towards children aged 7 and up. Going by our childrens' interests and reading levels, I could see this being a hit with ages 7-10. I know they will be slightly challenging for our 7-year-old but I've heard other children his age read quite fluently so it is on-target with what many 6 or 7-year-olds would be reading. It will be a very easy read for our 10-year-old but knowing how much he likes Adventures in Odyssey, he will be thrilled to read both #8 and #9.
Battle for Cannibal Island is rated by Flesch-Kincaid as grade level 2.1.
In this 8th book of the series, Patrick and Beth are taken via the infamous Imagination Station to Fiji in the 1850s. They meet missionary James Calvert, and are inadvertently brought directly into the midst of cannibals who have been burning Christian villages. James Calvert's desire is to follow God's calling on his life to reach out to these people. Self-proclaimed 'king' Toki is the head of this cannibalistic tribe and he vehemently spews out his hatred for God and Christians. Will Beth and Patrick come to understand what it means to die to self and live for Christ?
Admittedly, I've heard of James Calvert before but don't know much about him. Lately, we have been reading various missionary stories and I know there are books about his time as a missionary. Reading Battle for Cannibal Island followed or preceded by James Calvert's life story would be a great way to extend this adventure. I love that while this is a fictional account of Patrick and Beth's adventures; James Calvert is a real-life person who reached the "unreachable" to share God's love and message of salvation with them.
Thank you, Tyndale, for giving us this free copy to review. Our boys will love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Adventures in Odyssey The Imagination Station ® #8: Battle for Cannibal Island
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The adventure continues

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Imagination Station series is back! ‘Battle for Cannibal Island‘ by Marianne Hering, Wayne Thomas Batson and illustrated by David Hohn is books 8 of this 12 book series. This book is part of what I consider the second part of the series. Books 1-6 follow a continuation of a plot line working to return a lost ring to Mr. Whittaker. Book 8 while it continues the familiar framework of cousins Patrick and Beth going on adventures with the Imagination Station is written so each book can stand alone and could be read in any order. The authors continue to work through history picking pinnacle times and people for Patrick and Beth to travel to and encounter. In ‘Battle for Cannibal Island’ the cousins travel back in time and meet the missionary James Calvert who ministered to cannibal tribes in Fiji in the 1850s. The cousins find themselves aboard one of the Queens ships just off an island inhabited by cannibals. This story has a strong message of missions and gladly following God's will for your life. These are quality books for young readers. They are filled with adventure, danger and lots of learning moments. They show character, humility, bravery and many other redeeming qualities. I'm very happy to have fun and positive books to share with my two emerging readers. I received a copy of this book from Tyndale Publishing for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.