Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Moment Between

Tyndale House The Moment Between

Abigail Bennett was completely in control of her life until tragedy pushed her to the brink of something she's never experienced: Obsession. Now she's given up everything she's worked for to chase down the object of that obsession. His name is Tyler Kamp. As Abigail follows him across the border into Canada, her journey is awash in memories of family and childhood, especially those of her younger sister, Hailey. Even as Abigail races into her future, her past pulls her back. Only when she is brought to the edge of her obsession will she be able to come to terms with the tragedy that ignited it.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Moment Between
Review 1 for The Moment Between
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a must for those who long for a lived

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
EllenWeber
Location:Pittsford, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A remarkable read! Nicole Baart weaves an unpredictable mix of human passion, brokenness and unfulfilled dreams – against a backdrop of divine grace, hope and suspense. The Moment Between confronts hideous realities that can start with childhood depression, and offers gut-wrenching grace in garments often hidden from adults who simply stop risking affection they crave most.
Abigail Bennett works endlessly to earn the kind of love not possible in her dysfunctional family. She justifies incessant quests for meaning through a highly successful accounting career, yet Abigail confronts constant pain in key encounters with her bi-polar sister Hailey. Abby’s father justifies Hailey’s co-dependency, while shunning his older daughter’s affection, and blaming Abby for not doing enough to help the family survive.
Through a tragic set of events Hailey's physical beauty and religious fervor mask demons of anguish, jealousy, deception. Meanwhile her unpredictable outbursts push those around her onto paths of destruction, in spite of Abigail’s painful efforts to “save” her little sister.
Finally, Abby obsesses over the one last person, Tyler Kamp, who she senses can explain Hailey’s recent tragedies. On impulse she follows Tyler, from Florida onto a quaint little vineyard in BC. There in Canada, Abby encounters life-changing answers. In unsuspecting characters there, with demons of their own. She trips over a breathtaking twist toward hope.
Nicole Baart rivets your attention in every scene of this poignant tale of two sisters destined to draw near only to push dangerously away from the grace, family and dreams that they both need to deal with painful childhood episodes. Emotional obsessions here will capture any who have slammed into depression’s walls or who have struggled to navigate dysfunctional relationships.
The novel expresses enviable freedom from forgiveness, found on a ladder of divine communion, and usually after excessive pain and sacrifice, that opens our eyes to stop climbing and accept a lift.
The Moment Between is both tearful and tenacious; both real and divine. Baart weaves grace and humanity into surprising offerings that mimic our own desire for the power of redemption. Rarely do you see grace so alive, as steam to navigate emotional risks for broken relationships.
This book is a must for those who long for a lived experience of unconditional love, or those held outside care's tenderness for whatever reason. Burdened parents may give with conditions, and churches may have yet to feel love’s power, but this story literally humanizes divine love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Moment Between
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lyssa
Reading The Moment Between was an amazing experience for me. It's a story of a journey through life after tradgedy. You feel the heartache of Abigail Bennett as she struggles with her distorted relationship with her sister, Hailey. If you have never read this book, you absolutely must! This book starts off feeling depressing and hopeless, but as you read on you start to feel the inkling of joy and hope that Abigail finds along the way... and what she finds may surprise you!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Moment Between
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
J. David
Outstanding - Read and You Will Remember!Perfectly crafted, Nicole Baart tells the past while revealing the future in this emotionally charged story of a sister's dedication to family, selfish desires and her obsession for revenge.A wonderfully written tale, Baart's characters endure the very real issues of mental illness, selfish desires and the struggle to understand and except an undying, everlasting grace.Nicole Baarts writing is real life fiction at its best. Read it. Experience it. Remember it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Moment Between
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Alves
All I have to say is "oh my goodness!" When I picked up the book at Borders yesterday, the first thing I noticed is that Francine Rivers gave it a fabulous review. Knowing Francine to be a beautiful authoress whose pen has blessed me with Truth warped in lyrical words, I decided to buy it. I was taken aback on the first page. I have never read a Christian novel so stunningly written! The lyricism of the words, the emotion welling up in me as I read of Abigails painful journey, the stark poetry of describing both joy and painwow! So many times people have a stereotype of Christian fiction being simple minded, poorly written, and idyllic. This novel, along with a few others, have broken that stereotype for me--forever. I can only hope our sister writes much more in the years to come.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Moment Between
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Katie Ganshert
I just finished the last page of The Moment Between, by Nicole Baart. I feel like I always feel after finishing a wonderful book - satisfied and a little sad. Satisfied because the ending was beautifully written and thought-provoking, and sad because I hate to say goodbye to the world Nicole created.The Moment Between explores the ties of family, the chains of mental illness, and the power of redemption. This three-tiered story centers on sisters, Abigail and Hailey Bennett. It begins with a tragedy that alters Abigail's life and catapults her into the throws of obsession. This obsession propels her to leave her successful life in Florida and leads her to a vineyard in British Columbia. Nicole Baart masterfully weaves together three distinct time periods in Abigail's life: her childhood with Hailey, immediately following the tragedy, and her trek to B.C. in pursuit of her obsession. The three stories come together bit by bit, revealing intriguing layers of Abigail's life until the very end.The story is rich in psychology, dealing with family dysfunction and the impact of mental illness. Nicole Baart's prose are captivating and beautiful, reading like poetry and gliding over the tongue like a fine wine, which is appropriate, as wine is used symbolically throughout the novel. The characters are deep, the plot is piercing, and the message is subtle, yet profound. If you are looking for a story that will stick with you long after you shut the book, this is a must read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Moment Between
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
In the opening pages of Nicole Baarts novel, The Moment Between, we meet Abigail Bennett, a successful accountant who lives in Florida. A tragedy rips apart her fragile life and sends her on a mission to exact revenge. Someone has to pay for whats happened. And it must be either Abigail or a man named Tyler Kamp.As Abigail tracks Tyler to Canada, the reader gets bits and pieces of the whole story through glimpses into Abigails childhood and brief scenes from the tragedy itself. This book is filled with characters as real as your neighbors. You fall into their world, enraptured by whats taken place and how it all came to be. Nicole Baart weaves a haunting story that keeps you riveted as you hope for Abigail to surrender her heart to forgiveness with each turn of the page, almost praying that she wont do as she plans.I liked this book, though its not the kind I usually read. I tend to love general market, action-adventure stories over the slow paced, literary type. But this book was far from boring. Nicole Baart built tension into every scene, and thats what kept me turning the pages, thoroughly enraptured by the story. I recommend this one to readers who love real characters suffering through real-life circumstances. This book will bring tragedy right up in your face and cause you to take a good look. But it will also remind you that no sin is ever beyond forgiveness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Moment Between
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Moment Between by Nicole Baart is a haunting and poignant elegy from one sister to another. Abigail Bennett has spent much of her life trying to become her own person outside of the ties of her dysfunctional family. Bi-polar sister Hailey has been the center around which the family orbited, leaving little attention or affection for Abigail. Her attempts to flee their reach resulted in a suicide attempt by Hailey and then the death of their mother. Abigail's response is to retreat into a life without dreams or hopes lived simply in the mundane day to day. Hailey pulls Abigail back into her orbit one final time with her suicide, but this time Abigail is the one spiraling out of control. She abandons her controlled and planned existence to track down the other person she feels is responsible for Hailey's death: Tyler Kamp. The search for Tyler takes her far out of her comfort zone and forces her to not only face her past, but her future as well. Baart writes lyrically and beautifully. The writing at the beginning of the story has a certain distance keeping the reader at arm's length, much like Abigail has kept life. But as cracks appear in her exterior, the writing warms up and becomes stronger, more passionate, pulling the reader deeply into the story. Baart raises many questions: who has the right of vengeance, how responsible are we for the actions of others, what does true love look like? It's a perfect story for book clubs and will keep readers thinking about the ending long after the cover is closed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Moment Between
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2009
Talk about impaired family living! Two sisters, one with a mental illness, plus a dysfunctional family equals a suicide and one sister on a quest to confront the guilty party. Abigail, firstborn, expert at pushing painful things down deep, appears to flourish on the outside. Hailey, the baby, stunningly beautiful, controls her world and its inhabitants by temper tantrums. Melody, definitely not Mom of the year, hides away when problems arise, and Lou, twisted in his love for one of his daughters, withholds love from the other.The story is told in the third person voice of Abigail, with flashbacks to her childhood. The day she finds her sister dead from self-infliction wounds is interspersed throughout and printed in italics. Descriptive, flowery writing comprises half of the novel, and I wish it were reduced. The dialogue is excellent.Many references are made to Catholicism and the beliefs of Catholics.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.