Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook

Tyndale House All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook

Dessa Caldwell has a dream---but needs a loan. Seeking funds to open a refuge for former prostitutes, she calls on financier Henry Hawkins. He agrees to give her the money, but doesn't bank on falling in love! Can he protect the secrets of his shady past, or will a villain force him to choose safety over love?
Average Customer Rating:
4.393 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Review 1 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dessa Caldwell has a dream that she desperately wants to become a reality - to open a house of refuge for former prostitutes in Denver, Colorado. She faces two obstacles; she is a single woman with no connections, and she has no money to open Pierson House on her own. Knowing for a certainty that God wants her to reach out to the city's despised women, her last hope hinges on Hawkins National Bank.
Henry Hawkins is not the friendliest of men. He has a secret past to hide, and making friends is not on his priority list. His vast wealth with his bank comes from three successful raids on Wells Fargo coaches. Now that he has become an honest businessman, he does whatever he has to do to protect his assets - and his heart. But when Dessa comes to him for a loan to launch Pierson House, he is drawn to her compassion for others with no thought of herself. Wary of a man Dessa associates with, Henry is reluctant to grant her the loan, as the man may bring all of Henry's past to light. Can Henry trust God to dictate his future? And can Dessa accept the fact that's God's plans are higher than ours?
Lang makes you feel like you are right there as the action happens. Even though she wields her sword through the power of her pen, she wields it mightily. You feel as if you don't turn that page, if you don't read one more chapter, everything hinges on you knowing just a little bit more. You feel personally invested in the story, as if by reading it, you can somehow change the outcome when the characters are at their lowest. Most books I can pretty much guess the ending, and the journey to that end is enjoyable. But Lang takes you on an adventure that leaves you breathless with excitement and makes that journey to the end riveting and spellbound to the very last page.
A copy of this book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Forgiveness in Good Time

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
jpmusicgirl
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While this is a Christian Historical Romance, this story is more than that. It is about personal and spiritual growth, helping others, and ultimately forgiveness from multiple characters. I really enjoyed the characters and the story line. The setting and premise of Dessa (main character) starting a safe house at the time period of the story was unique. I really enjoyed this and am looking forward to reading more from this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All in Good Time - A book about Christian values.

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lizzy970
Location:Fountain, Co
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great because of the main character not going against her values even when she meets Turk Foster, which turns her head slightly, but not all the way. Henry is the second main character who Dessa eventually falls in love with. She has such a big influence on Henry that he doesn't believe in her at the beginning. He thinks she will fail and his money he invested in Pierson House is a total loss. But eventually Dessa wins the hearts of everyone around her. Maureen Lang is an Excellent romance writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
reli
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book; I can appreciate Dessa's commitment to the girls held against their will in brothels regardless of what it cost her. I can also understand her tendency to plough ahead without always considering the ramifications of what could happen. I admire someone who takes up a cause and is willing to do all in their power to fight for it and I think that is what Dessa did. It was also fun to watch Mr. Hawkins change as the book progressed and he learned to know Dessa better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great historical romantic suspense story

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the opening of this story with a stagecoach robbery to the fire burning the safe women's house near the end, this page turning historical novel was a real thriller you won't want to miss!!! What made the robbery so successful it was repeated 3 times? Dessa was desperate when she consulted Mr. Hawkins about providing the loan she needed to open a house for prostitutes to teach them a trade so they didn't have to use their bodies to survive. Wealthy Christian women were providing the funds to meet the mortgage. What forced Henry to give her the mortgage when he thought it unlikely she could make the monthly mortgage fee? Her house was strategically located at the edge of the bad neighborhood loaded with prostitutes. Why didn't the prostitutes rush to escape that life? Why did this scare Dessa? What were two things she did to attract them? What did the bank robber use to make Henry fill a bag with money? Who was Dessa's first person to move in? Why did Henry start to attend church? What did Turk Foster do that offended Henry? Why did Dessa decide not to participate in the benefit arranged by Turk Foster? Whom did Dessa decide to rescue that was extremely dangerous? How was it done? Where were they hidden? Why did Dessa want so much to rescue them? What happened that would destroy Pierson House? What three things did Henry do? If you love mysteries with some love and historical enrichment thrown in, you'll love this book like I did. Put it high on your must read list!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth the Read

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristy
Location:Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We all have a past and we all have some secrets in our past that we would like to keep that way. The characters that Maureen Lang created in “All in Good Time” are no exception. Dessa Caldwell and Henry Hawkins could not be more different people. But they had one common thread…a past they weren’t proud of.
Dessa Caldwell has discovered the grace and love that God could give and wanted so much to share that grace and love with the “unwanted” and “unwelcomed” women of Denver. The women that society has thrown to the side and wanted to forget, women with a past, like herself. Henry Hawkins has made some bad choices and has lived a lie most of his life. In meeting Miss Caldwell, he realized that he needed that same grace and love and to make things right and honest with those he dealt with. Henry also hoped that Dessa Caldwell could love a man like himself.
Maureen Lang’s story is not one we haven’t heard before. But the way she weaves the lives of the characters in “All in Good Time” makes the reader want to know them, root for them and care about what happens to them. Their stories are worth the read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy P
Location:Los Angeles
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Themes of second chances, waiting on God and the value of family/friends were woven in to a fun summer read. I liked the way the story was not predictable, and for the most part, the characters were believable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Glad I tried it...

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
georgettegirl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I've read from Maureen Lang and it didn't disappoint. It's the journey of two people trying to come to terms with their past mistakes and finding grace from others in the process. Dessa thinks her past precludes her from being able to marry;she believes she will be content in continuing her mentor's dream of opening a house for former prostitutes. Yet, she tends to be impatient when waiting on God so she tries to do things her way (which she thinks would be God's way, too). Henry knows his world was built on a lie of his own creation and he thinks he could never have a wife and family because of his past. They both learn to love each other and accept the truths about each other because their past is what made them into the people of the present. Although I enjoyed their story line, I would have liked it better if they spent more time with each other in the first half of the book. It always seemed like either character was running out of the room for one reason or another. I enjoyed the epilogue so I could get a glimpse of how all the secondary characters were doing. Overall, I'm glad I tried it and would definitely read another of Ms. Lang's books again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Home For Prostitutes, A Banker, Secrets & Romanc

Date:July 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maureen Lang in her new book "All In Good Time" Book Two in the Gilded Legacy series published by Tyndale House Publishers takes us to 1887 Denver and into the life of Dessa Caldwell.
From the back cover: Denver 1887
Dessa Caldwell has a dream: to open Pierson House, a refuge for former prostitutes in Denver's roughest neighborhood. But after exhausting all charitable donations, Dessa still needs a loan, and nearly every bank in town has turned her down. Her last hope hinges on the owner of Hawkins National Bank.
Henry Hawkins has a secret: though he owns the most successful bank in town, his initial capital came from three successful raids on Wells Fargo coaches. Now he's the most eligible bachelor in Denver, but to protect his criminal past, he's built a fortress around his heart. Not even the boldest matchmaking mother can tempt him . . . until the day Dessa Caldwell ventures into his bank requesting a loan.
Though he's certain her proposal is a bad investment, Henry is drawn to Dessa's passion. But that same passion drives her to make rash decisions about Pierson House . . . and about whom she can trust. One man might hold the key to the future of her mission--but he also threatens to bring Henry's darkest secrets to light. As the walls around their hearts begin to crumble, Henry and Dessa must choose between their plans and God's, between safety and love.
"All In Good Time" is a story about the timing of God and how do we know when the time is now or we still have to wait. I think this is an area where all of us have missed the mark at some point and it is nice to see this topic tackled in novel form. Ms. Lang has given us great characters with great themes. Dessa wants to open a home for former prostitutes but finds it difficult to find these women to come to her home even though it is open. You'll be interested to know why. Henry is a banker with a secret that he feels will ruin him if it is known yet he feels God poking him to tell. Both Dessa and Henry have secrets that are holding them back from fully embracing their present and launching into the future. It is going to take God to heal them of their past hurts and give them their destiny. ""All In Good Time" is about friendship, love, betrayal, healing from past sins and finding your place in the world. This is a fun read filled with adventure and romance. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Ms. Lang has given us another excellent story in this wonderful series and I am looking forward to the next one.
If you missed the interview for "Look To The East", a different series from Maureen Lang, and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good summer read

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All in Good Time was a nice summer read about a woman who opens a home to help girls coming out of prostitution. She falls in love with a banker. They both have secrets that are keeping them in shame and out of relationships. This is a book about God’s grace and second chances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Current issues, historical setting

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Koalateas
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While at times the characters could be a bit cheesey, the modern-day issues portrayed in the story are quite relevant for today. The story also explores how the characters' secrets and feelings of inadequacy affect their behaviors, choices, and how they can lead to pushing others away. Well-written, a good summer read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two People Trapped by Secret's Walls

Date:June 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"All in Good Time" by Maureen Lang is the story of two people whose secrets are keeping them from fully living life. Henry Hawkins's secret has kept him from enjoying friendship, social events, even close family relationships. He fears if he lets himself get too close to anyone, they'll learn what he wishes he had never done. He'd rather maintain a false reputation than develop healthy relationships.
Dessa Caldwell's secret, on the other hand, has prompted her to throw herself fully into ministry to women who may be seeking alternatives for their lives. This same secret is keeping her from her dream and longing for marriage and a family, but that's a sacrifice she feels bound to make. One must live with the consequences of one's actions, after all. But how does that philosophy apply to the women she's trying to help? If she sentences herself to a life without grace, how can she offer it to those who need its hope?
"All in Good Time" is an intriguing, historical Christian read set in Denver in the late 1800's. It is the second book in Lang's Gilded Legacy series. I'm looking forward to going back to read the first book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dessa wants to open a house for needy women, but she needs a loan. She receives one reluctantly from Henry's bank. Both of them have a past that they have kept hidden from public until someone threatens to reveal Henry's secret.
I thought this book was very good. Dessa is impatient at times but has a good heart for the women who need help. Henry is rather stiff at the beginning but softens toward the end. There are other interesting characters as well that add to the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Book

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All in Good Time by Maureen Lang is a book set in 1887 Denver. Dessa is new in town and plans to start a house that will take in any women who wish to leave the prostitution world on the wrong side of the tracks. Henry is a banker who shuns any kind of social interaction.
I enjoyed this book. It is a very easy read and quite enjoyable. The characters are well developed and I found myself becoming attached to them easily. My only dislike of the book was the endless unnecessary details. I enjoy writers that give lots of details about their characters and the world that they live in but at times this book overly explained things and places. Sometimes it got to be annoying. That aside, I enjoyed the book a great deal and recommend it whole-heartedly.
I was given a copy of this book at no cost in exchange for my honest review as part of the Tyndale Blog Network.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful story of love and God's grace.

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
mduncan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Set in the 1880's, All In Good Time is a beautiful love story between two people with troubled pasts. Dessa, a former maid with a secret past, has a dream to open up a home for at-risk girls, but doesn't have the money to do so. She takes a loan out from the bank, but doesn't realize that the loan was not approved by the bank owner, a rough man with a secret past himself. As the two work together as business partners they learn more about each other and the walls around their heart begin to crumble.
Maureen Lang has written a beautiful love story, with the truth of God's love and grace fabulously interwoven throughout. I have never read a book by Maureen Lang before, but I will definitely be reading more from her. She is a gifted storyteller who has a way of pulling you into the story and keeping you entertained until the end. This book was a love story, but it included a lot of suspense and adventure that keep me guessing and not wanting to put the book down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

At-Risk Women in the Wild West

Date:June 9, 2013
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Summary: Dessa Caldwell has a heart for helping at-risk women and girls in 1880's Denver. So she takes her impulsive nature and gets a loan from a local bank to open a safe house. Little does she know that the loan was given without the blessing of the bank owner, a young man with a dark past. Sparks fly, and both Dessa and her beaux are compelled to decide what they really want from life.
The main problem with this story is that we don't spend enough time with any one character to really understand who they are. Between the problems at the bank, the problems at Dessa's safe house, the problems in the bordellos, the problems back home, all the characters are rushing around trying to do something and we are left guessing at their intentions–a poor substitute for suspense.
While I appreciate the author's efforts to deal with topics like child-rape, prostitution, gambling, and drug addiction tactfully in a way that will not steal the innocence of her readers, the truth is that her approach also lacks compassion. Dessa's violation at a young age by her employer is treated as foolish first love. The reason that Dessa has a low response from the women she wants to help is because they are happy in the brothels. In fact, one character blatantly announces her goal to become a prostitute, and when she changes her mind, it is due less to an understanding of the pain accompanying that lifestyle than to immediate fear she will be punished for helping others. An ending explanation says that just providing a door out gives these women all the hope they need to keep living, even if they never walk through it.
My greatest fear is that a naif reader might construe the light treatment as grounds for superiority. After all, if these women all chose this life willingly then they deserve what comes to them. The truth is far more complex.
For a better treatment of this subject, I suggest Francine River's Redeeming Love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Lovely Romance

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maureen Lang writes beautiful stories. I have enjoyed a few of them so far, and I`ll be sure to look for more. Her descriptions are clear and detailed, so I'm never in doubt as to her meaning. Her characters are sympathetic and charming, and I can relate to them. The romance is sweet, gentle, and appealing. There is plenty to keep the interest in the plot, with Dessa’s ambitions and the two men competing for her, as well as the consequences of all their pasts. There is also the exciting city life in the Victorian era. I always like books with a clean theme, by which I mean no goriness or prurience. This one was just to my taste. I recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a great book!

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kezziah June
Location:Stafford, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Within the first few pages, this book had me completely hooked and I couldn't put it down until I finished it!
All in Good Time is a story that centers around two people - Dessa Caldwell, who wants to open a house to serve women looking to get out of prostitution, and Henry Hawkins, who owns the largest bank in town and who makes an investment in her new business through his uncle, who works at the bank with him. Both Henry and Tessa have secrets from their past that threaten to impact their lives now, and both want to keep those secrets hidden. While I did have a feeling about what would happen in the end, I was still somewhat surprised by how it all worked out. There were many things that could be learned through this story - about faith to follow through on the plans God has for us, about what really makes a friendship, about learning to trust the people who come into our lives, and many more. The author made the characters come alive in a way that made it easy to relate to them, and I'm looking forward to reading more of her books in the future!
Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review, the opinions expressed are completely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent book.

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
PharmD
Location:Johnston,SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The main characters both struggle with mistakes that they have made in the past. This book reminds us that all can be forgiven though Christ our lord.
I enjoyed book one in the series as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for All in Good Time, Gilded Legacy Series #2 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an enjoyable book

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story begins with a stage coach robbery. A number of years later, we find Dessa, a former maid, in 1887 Denver. She wishes to get a loan to start Pierson House. This will be a home for women who want to get off the streets. It is to be named after Dessa’s late friend who got her started in street ministry.
Dessa has an uphill climb to get a loan. After all the other banks in Denver have turned her down, she walks into the bank owned by Henry Hawkins. Henry is the stiffest, most unfriendly, man in town.
Amazingly, Dessa gets the loan. This is nothing short of a miracle since Henry was antagonistic towards the Pierson House project specifically, and against giving a loan to any woman in general. However, his uncle Tobias took matters into his own hands, and granted Dessa the money.
Dessa depends on pledges from the community to start and run Pierson House. Because of that, she naively accepts the help of Turk Foster to hold a fund raiser. Unbeknownst to Dessa, Turk has a notorious reputation. If he is tied to Pierson House in anyway, her current supporters will pullback their contributions, and she won’t get any new patrons either.
Besides Turk, Dessa has many trials with Pierson House. Instead of women flooding to her for refuge, she has hardly a trickle. The home is located in the very worst part of Denver, the Fourth Ward, and no one in that area wants to be seen getting help there. Henry Hawkins seems to criticize her every move, and makes it clear he thinks she will default on the loan, and he will be able to take possession of the house.
The Fourth Ward also has a Chinese population. Recently there had been a riot between the people of the Fourth Ward and the Chinese people. As a result, there is hostility between the races. Dessa is warned not to have anything to do with the Chinese people because it could start another riot–even if she is only trying to help them.
As the story goes on, we find Henry has kept a secret that could destroy his life, Turk has political ambitions that make him willing to do anything to get himself elected, and although Dessa has pledged herself to a life of celibacy, she would like to change her mind. However she has a secret of her own that she believes might force her to stay in that lifestyle. Will any of these people get to have the life they want, or will one or more of them never achieve it? Dessa would also like to help a pair of Chinese sisters. She thinks she might have a plan so no one will be aware of her help–but will her good intentions start another riot?
The lives of Dessa, Henry and Turk along with the fate of Pierson House, all become interwoven to give us a tale of drama, action and romance–with twists, turns and surprises along the way. The characters are very interesting and believable. The picture the author paints of Denver at that time rings true. Christianity is a natural part of Dessa’s life, as well as some of the other characters in the book. I enjoyed this story and recommend this–I give it 5 stars.
The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Tyndale Blog Network (Tyndale House Publishers) for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>