Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale Momentum Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook

Tyndale Momentum Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Review 1 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

courage for faith

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
storms
Location:tampa florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
two sisters grew up in iran and converted to christianity and performed missionery work and begain converting people to christ and christianity which is agaist the law and inspite of facing persecution these 2 ladies contiued to pass out Bibles and tracks and witness to people in iran untell they were arressed and were sent to one of the most horrible prisons their faith sustained them while in this horrible jail and they gave hope and courage to the many inmates there and they were released through there faith my pastor used this book for his sermon and highly recamended it to the congregation. also recamended:billy grahams new book: the reason for my hope salvation
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful true story

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lees
Location:orange co, ca
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Purchased as a gift for a friend who grew up in Iran and
she enjoyed it so much she is giving it to several other
to read. It is a very inspirational read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ajreader
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From the first pages, I found myself stunned by their attitude and outlook. These women have faith like I cannot even comprehend. Their devotion to sharing Christ in spite of real dangers puts me - and most American Christians - to shame. They continually expressed their honor to be suffering for Christ. What an incredible thought.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
reli
Location:WI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An amazing story!!! Looking at the story of Maryam and Marziyeh from a purely human perspective, there is no way they would get out of prison alive; but God was not finished with them yet. He performed a miracle and they were released from prison and allowed to leave the country. This book shows the horrors of prison life in Iran; but it also shows the community that rallied around these two ladies. They had a free and clear avenue to witness about Jesus and witness they did. I was challenged by their commitment to Jesus Christ in the face of possible death; I want to be that strong in my own faith in God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

fasinating

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leeann
Location:CdA, ID
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was hesitant to read Captive in Iran because I wasn’t sure I wanted to know the brutalities of an Iranian prison. However, I was pleased to find that the book focused on the women they met in prison and how God worked through their whole imprisonment. They did share about the brutality of their experience, but it wasn’t the driving force of the story. It was amazing to get a glimpse of God at work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Testimony:Refusing to Deny Christ

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captive in Iran is a chilling story about the experiences of two women who were imprisoned in Iranian Evin prison simply because they were Christians. The book takes turns telling their story from the perspective of each woman and once I started reading, I could not put it down. The authors tell of the horrible mistreatment that not only they faced, but also that of their fellow prisoners-most of them women who were persecuted by a heartless government that views women as inferior, worthless objects that are only alive to serve men and their fleshly pleasures. The authors paint an account of the horrifying conditions of the prison: filthy, dark, unsanitary conditions, rampage illness, lack of medical care/compassion from doctors and guards, and food laced with poisonous chemicals like formaldehyde that tasted rancid/spoiled. The prison was also so overcrowded that the rooms could barely hold the amount of people in them and many women were lucky to find a place to sit. Violence, terror, and ungodly relationships among the women and guards were also common at Evin. Worse, the authors tell of an entire ward that consisted of women and their innocent children. These poor children were forced to grow up in the prison along with their mothers with the same conditions of those that were convicted of crimes despite being guiltless of committing a crime. Despite the shameful conditions and corruption that the authors experienced from their government, they found a new church: the women that also called Evin prison their “home”. The authors explained in detail how they were able to reach out in Jesus’s love to give these poor women the hope, love, and forgiveness that they so desperately needed and were denied by their own government and families. Despite their sufferings, they refused to deny Christ and they continued to stand strong in their faith. Though their experiences were awful, God used them to reach many women for Christ and I think it is amazing because though the Iranian government was trying to stop Christianity from spreading, the government’s very actions caused Christianity to expand in this prison. It just goes to show that you cannot stop God from reaching out to people and calling them to Himself. When God moves, everyone better get out of His way because you cannot fight God and that is exactly what the Iranian government was doing in this situation and look what happened: God’s will was done and many women were given new hope. Though this book was an eye-opener and heart-breaking, I found it to be a book very much worth reading. I think that Christians should read books like this because I think they serve a purpose: to get Christians out of the pews and on the streets doing what Jesus told us too: Go into the world and tell everyone about the salvation that He offers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible story of faith

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As Christians in America we have it easy. This is the story of Maryam and Marziyeh, 2 Iranian women, who are thrown into jail for being Christians and sharing their faith – and it occurred in 2009! And jail in Iran is not a pretty place with overcrowding, no medicine, sometimes not even a toilet, little food and often bad food. Yet in the midst of the worst circumstances, the 2 ladies continued to tell about Christ – often having a more receptive audience then outside jail. Inside jail not only did inmates seek them out, but also guards, asking about Jesus and asking for prayer. What faithful witnesses they were to Him through the pain, fear, illnesses and danger of their 259 days of imprisonment and how amazing to see God move through their faithfulness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Part Testimony, Part Memoir, Entirely Fascinating

Date:July 18, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maryam and Marziyeh are two Iranian young women who accepted Christianity "legally" (i.e., they had never professed Islam and were free from the laws in Iran punishing conversion from Islam). After being arrested under false pretenses, their home was ransacked, their possessions confiscated, and they were held illegally in a detention center, and then prison, without ever being formally charged. The informal charges quickly became clear during the first and subsequent interrogations: Christianity. Maryam and Marziyeh had answered questions about Christianity, held worship services in their homes, and given Bibles to those who asked for them. And not the rewritten, pro-Islam Bible sponsored by the state: but imported Bibles from Turkey.
Told in alternating voices, their memoir/autobiography offers a detailed account of the life of a persecuted minority inside Iran's legal system. While the authors are straight forward with their testimony and their proselytizing efforts within the prison system, they also use their book to give a voice to the hundreds of other women in Iran's prisons who are held unjustly. Women who went out to buy bread, were imprisoned for unknowingly being in the wrong place at the wrong time, and whose families were blackmailed with the knowledge that once someone is arrested in Iran, they are guilty forever regardless of trial. Or women who were subjected to intolerable domestic and spousal abuse, defended themselves, and who were placed in prison, even executed, at their husbands' and in-laws' whims. Women who went to visit their children in camps, and were arrested for treason. Even the women prison guards and cleaning women have stories demonstrating the lack of freedom at every level. The plot may follow Maryam and Marziyeh's story, but the plot is driven by the many stories the authors share of the people they met along the way.
For that reason, as much as this book is a religious memoir and testimony, it is also a political protest against the corrupt government in Iran and its abusive treatment of humans in general and women in particular. While the authors are conservative and their hearts burn to serve God, some of their statements and desires might resonate with the American feminists of the 1960's. They love their country and their people, and desperately hope for change. This book is another way for them to do that.
Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the true story of Maryam Rostampour and Marziyeh Amirizadeh, who were imprisoned in Iran for sharing the Gospel. The story is told by both women, who take turns telling what happened during their time in the Evin prison. I thought this was an interesting book and how brave the women were to share their faith knowing they could be caught and punished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extraordinary Faith

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never expected a true story of two young Christian women captive in a prison in Iran to be as exciting as a fictional murder mystery, but this book certainly was that and more!!! For three years Maryam and Marziyeh had given thousands of Bibles to their countrymen and had started two house churches. When they were arrested, they admitted they believed in Jesus, they gave Bibles to those who asked for them, and they talked about God. The charge against them was Christianity which usually meant a death sentence. However, they refused to tell the court any names of people who they saw. Finally they were taken to a loathsome prison, dirty, smelling strongly of urine and vomit, crowded, cold, with backed up toilets, where they would be held until they were sentenced, possibly to death. How crazy it appears that they would actually spend over 250 days in the worst prison in Iran before being sentenced! In prison they were able to speak so freely about Christ that they felt sure this is why they were sent to prison. If Christ wanted them out of prison, He would get them out. Even the question, why are you here, gave them the opportunity to tell about Christ. Each chapter was filled with either new obstacles they faced or stories of different women they met who were in prison often for things their husbands had made them do. But the inhumane treatment of the women, such as no food for days, little or spoiled food when they got some, too many women crowded into a room, forced to stand hours in the cold outside, etc. caused their health to fail. As their story made its way to the United States and other countries, pressure was put on the government in Iran for their release. Like the women in the prison I was fascinated by their story, their attitude and what was happening to them. I found it very difficult to put the book down long enough to fix meals or eat. It truly was a real life page turner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy P
Location:Los Angeles
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A true story of suffering for religious beliefs. This book is not "preachy", and does not spell out the gospel message, instead it focuses on the joy that can be had when one's trust is fully placed in Christ. Having hope and contentment in one's circumstances can be challenging on a day to day basis. Add to that a stay in a notorious prison, interrogations and the fear of execution, and the challenge becomes extreme. This was a beautiful account of two women, imprisoned for their beliefs, yet chose to believe that God was still in control. I also appreciated their view regarding the way in which the government holds captive the general population, simply by the way it rules the country.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring story

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dorothy
Location:Calgary AB Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a true story about 2 Iranian women who become Christians and who are thrown into prison in Iran for their faith. It sounds like it would be a very “downer” of a book but it is not. Certainly their conditions in prison were awful but their attitudes and reactions are extraordinary. I was blown away by the boldness with which they spoke up about their faith....in prison, in court and in every situation they met.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Where Light is Most Fruitful

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
DanielOfAZ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In 2009, two young single Christian Iranian women were caught evangelizing Muslims and imprisoned in Tehran's notorious Evin prison. Their "crime" could easily have gotten them executed, but instead, God gave them an incredible ministry to Muslim women inside the jail, and such international publicity that the Iranian government eventually released them to save face.
Captive in Iran is their story.
Maryam and Marziyeh's boldness touched me when I first read of them in VOM's 2009 newsletters. My mother had special seasons of prayer for them. I shared about them in my 2009 IDOP message, and then was delighted to tell my church a few weeks later of their release. So it was a great joy to finally read the all the details of their 259 days of incarceration.
It turned out to be a different book than I expected.
At first I thought it might be like Dan Baumann's Imprisoned in Iran. He, too, spent time in Evin for evangelism. But he experienced far worse physical and emotional abuse than these women did (they had regular access to a telephone and were not beaten or kept in solitary confinement like he was) and consequently his emotions dipped much lower than theirs, to the point where he attempted suicide. Maryam and Marziyeh, on the other hand, remained relatively strong even in their darkest hours.
It isn't like Corrie Ten Boom's The Hiding Place either. No warm, lengthy story of their upbringing; no truly three dimensional characters whom you feel like you know afterwards; no struggle to forgive; no contrast of personalities (Corrie and Betsie were clearly different; Maryam and Marziyeh seem like spiritual twins). I doubt you'll see a movie made of this book.
Nor does it match Richard Wurmbrand's Tortured for Christ for brilliant passion or In God's Underground for depth of suffering. Their suffering (although terrible) was just a fraction of Wurmbrand's, and their writing is not as spiritually profound as his.
Although they distributed 20,000 New Testaments in Tehran before their arrest, there is a surprising scarcity of reference to specific Scriptures in the book. I wanted more mention of particular passages that encouraged them during their suffering, or that were helpful to share with the needy Muslim women around them in prison.
Perhaps most worrisome, the gospel is not altogether clear in the book. In some of their conversations with Muslim women, Maryam and Marziyeh encouraged them to pray to Jesus about their family or legal problems. Did they think people can "test drive" Jesus to see how "effective" He is, before turning from their sin and trusting Him alone? The only prayer God hears from a non-Christian is a prayer of repentance and surrender to Jesus. They seem to hope that their Muslim friend Shirin (who was tortured and executed) made it to heaven. ("Now, by the grace of God, at least she was at peace." "[S]he loved Jesus in her heart, though she would never say so".)
So with all these lacks, why did I still find this book well worth reading?
First, in a world sorely lacking in positive role models for singles, these women model well what it means to have "undistracted devotion to the Lord" (1 Corinthians 7:34-35). Their passionate love for Jesus oozes out in everything they do and say. They led an exemplary lifestyle of simplicity and devotion to evangelizing Iranian women. Their book contains many stories of sexual perversion, but they are careful to avoid sensual details.
Secondly, sufferers do not always see the fruit of their suffering immediately, or even in this life. God's trees ripen at different speeds. But in the case of Maryam and Marziyeh, He seems to have chosen to vindicate His name more promptly. In many cases their enemies became their friends, their convictions became widely respected, and their prayers were frequently sought. God gave them courage to publicly and clearly confess their allegiance to Jesus, despite repeated threats of death and opportunities to compromise. They had more freedom to evangelize in the prison than they did before their arrest or after their release. It is rightly encouraging to read a modern story of God moving for His children in such dramatic and obvious ways, something like Daniel in the lion's den.
The book also is very helpful in showing how to support and pray for the Christians who are in Iranian prisons now. We must not forget them. There are at least four (three of them in Evin):Farshid Fathi, Behnam Irani, Alireza Seyyedian, Saeed Abedini.
Most importantly, the book shows how hungry the people of Iran are for the gospel. The law (even the flawed Sharia law of the Quran) awakens the sinfulness of the human heart. By strictly enforcing Sharia law, the Iranian government has created a generation of people enslaved to sin, desperately wanting a Savior. It has made its people sick of Islam. Praise God!
This book stirred my heart with compassion for the people of Iran. In some ways, it seems that was the goal of Maryam and Marziyeh in writing the book; they focus more on the stories of the women they ministered to in prison than they do on their own feelings and sufferings.
These two women made Jesus look good. They represented His character nobly both among the dregs of society (predatory lesbians, drug addicts, murderers) and the elite of society (judges and other government officials). Perhaps Maryam and Marziyeh could have shared the gospel more accurately. But even so, their evangelism has borne remarkable fruit, a reminder that even weak lights make a great difference where the night is very dark. May the Lord use Captive in Iran to bring many more evangelists to the streets of Tehran.
I received this book for free from Tyndale Blog Network in exchange for writing a review. My review was not required to be positive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! Just, wow!
If you have been on the fence about reading this book, just do it! Maryam and Marziyeh write with honesty and transparency about their experience in Evin Prison. "Captive in Iran" gives you a good look at what goes on in Evin, at least in the women's prison area.
Maryam and Marziyeh's experience really is a modern day "what you intended for evil, God intended for good". Despite being locked up for their belief and sharing with others who were receptive, they still continued to share in prison.
Thought-provoking and inspiring. Read it, share it, and pray for those in Evin Prison (and Iran) who are Christians.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Remarkably True Story Challenges All Believers

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dorie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Told from the first person perspective of Maryam Rostampour and Maziyeh Amirizadeh, Captive in Iran is about their real life experiences of being arrested, imprisoned, and eventually released in Iran. Their charges? Believing in Jesus Christ.
The narrative switches speakers often. For each chapter, Maryam and Maziyeh both share from their hearts. This is clearly marked within the text. Though it may seem choppy, it actually flows together nicely.
The book begins with their arrest, but includes flashbacks of their salvation experiences and ministry work within Iran. As the narrative unfolds, we follow them from one holding cell to another. Eventually, they are placed within Evin Prison for over 200 days. Their future was always unknown. Miraculously, they were released and able to leave the country. In the afterward, we learn they both have made America their home.
Perhaps you followed their case as it unfolded a few years ago. I did not. Reading the book, their story was new to me. I was aghast at their treatment, living conditions, and subhuman status. By any account, the prison conditions were horrendous. However, I marveled at how the Lord used them and spread His Kingdom into the lives of the other prisoners, because Maryam and Maziyeh were willing to be used by Him regardless of where they were.
As I read Captive in Iran, I was challenged to really live out what I believe to be true, to stand in the security of knowing God is in control, and to trust Him despite the outward appearance of situations.
I highly recommend this book.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great challenge

Date:March 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
cycleguy
Location:Spencer, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Polycarp
John Hus
Watchman Nee
Dietrich Bonhoeffer
Saeed Abedini
Those names, and more, are pretty familiar to those who follow the church, especially the persecuted church. I have something more pressing I ask every time I read of a past martyr or a present martyr for the cause of Christ.
One Question haunts me: Could I take the stand these and thousands of others have? If I was arrested for my faith, put under intense scrutiny, suffering extreme persecution, could I would I be able to remain strong?
My answer? I hope so. But really, how would I know? I won’t until or unless I come under that type of fire!
Enter Captive in Iran, a book by two Iranian ladies who became followers of Jesus and were arrested for their faith. Maryam Rostampour and Marziyeh Amirizadeh converted to Christ from Islam; met at a theology school in Turkey in 2005; then decided to work together by returning to Iran in order to share Jesus. All was going well until one day they were arrested for promoting Christianity. The charges were for apostasy, anti-government activity, and blasphemy, for which they faced execution by hanging. They languished in a detention camp enduring endless questioning and impossible conditions, until being transferred to the dreaded Evin Prison (ironically a prison they could see from their apartment window). They then endured 259 days in Evin while awaiting their “day in court.” They were pawns in a very broken and biased court system. Their case garnered international attention thanks to the internet and other media. Appeals were being made by all corners of the world (except the Muslim world) for their freedom. Finally, their freedom became a reality. Eventually, the two moved to Atlanta, Georgia.
This is a story of a faith that haunts me with the questions I asked above. They made it through totally deplorable conditions only by the strength and grace of God. Along the way, they show their faith is more than words. They befriend women of all ilk, status, political persuasion, and beliefs. Some are hostile, but most come to them for prayer, encouragement, help, and friendship. Even guards and government people realize there is something that holds these two together. Their faith moved from the streets of Iran to the prison of Iran.
While I had a few minor issues concerning beliefs, that would not stop me from recommending this book. I learned of two women whose faith was tested and found real under horrendous circumstances. Along the way, I learned a lot more about Islam, its beliefs, the lopsided court system, and the oppressive regime many believers languish under. It is well worth your read.
Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not required to give a good review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Captive in Iran: A Remarkable True Story of Hope Amid the Horror of Tehran's Brutal Evin Prison - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thrilling and Inspiring

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carolina Gardener
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Few books fall into the Christian nonfiction suspense genre. My heart was fully engaged as I read Captive in Iran. It raced anticipating what dangers lay in the next chapter. Simultaneously my heart grew from the relentless faith that Maryam and Marziyeh showed time and again. Their love for their fellow prisoners, their courage to share their beliefs and their perseverance to show the fruits of the spirit no matter what pain the day brings convicts me to live a more surrendered life.
Having always lived in America, I rarely take a moment to just be thankful for my many freedoms. I am fearful for a person mentioned on page 241 still living in Iran who the authors protect by not identifying. Even under the tremendous restrictions and dangerous repercussions of the Iran government, this person bravely tipped off the United Nations to help rescue Maryam and Marziyeh. It is frightening how many people have been unjustly prosecuted for fostering better human rights in Iran. I was moved to pray for the person unnamed on page 241 as well as the many people that remain hidden today seeking the courage to instigate change for a better Iran when opportunity presents.
As I read of how the authors tried to help the least of these among the prisoners and share what little they had, I became inspired to act more boldly. If God can use them so powerfully under close watch inside a prison, clearly I should reach out more to others with my life. The lovely foreword by Anne Graham Lotz set the bar high. Captive in Iran does not disappoint.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.