Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure!: Experience Food, Faith, and Fulfillment a Whole New Way - eBook

Tyndale House If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure!: Experience Food, Faith, and Fulfillment a Whole New Way - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure!: Experience Food, Faith, and Fulfillment a Whole New Way - eBook
Review 1 for If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure!: Experience Food, Faith, and Fulfillment a Whole New Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging book: great recipes & upbeat advice

Date:August 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book encourages you with advice on how to be joyful always in spite of bad circumstances and suggests you create tasty, healthy food that will stop fatigue, give you energy, and enable your figure to look good. She encourages healthy comfort food, a relaxing bath, listening to quiet worship music, making a list of worries and saying out loud, “God, I give you these worries”. Watch some good movie like It’s A Wonderful Life. Do something nice, thus being a blessing to someone. Pray! Praise God! Be thankful! If you crave something, occasionally indulge. Spend time talking to Jesus. Celebrate life! Plan fun things! If your life seems dull, add adventure. Step outside the box to worship and enjoy time with Jesus! This book is filled with quotes from the Bible to help you rejoice in the day the Lord has made and recipes that will physically refresh you. We need laughter and God’s presence in our lives to be happy in spite of circumstances. This book has numerous “how to” suggestions. I think it is a book you will want to read parts of each day to remind you to put God first and rejoice in Him!!! Being a sad sack pulls you down. Watching funny clean movies, reading funny stories or jokes, getting together with friends, and actively spending time with Jesus are ways to put on a happy face. The recipes she gives will help that inner joy to grow! Out of the 100+ recipes given, you’re bound to find some you will definitely want to try. YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure!: Experience Food, Faith, and Fulfillment a Whole New Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Faith and food

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
God has given us food, faith and fun, but people often feel burned out and guilty. The author tells how to have renewed faith in God and healthy eating habits. There are many verses throughout the book and recipes at the end of every chapter.
I thought the book was good and the recipes interesting. I'm not sure where I'd find some of the ingredients but healthy eating is important.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure!: Experience Food, Faith, and Fulfillment a Whole New Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get this book now! Way exceeded my expectations!

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the publisher's website: "Life can be hard . . . but food, faith, and fun are three amazing gifts from God to satisfy and refresh us every day. Yet all too often, we focus primarily on what we can not do, and what we should not eat—which leaves us feeling deprived and depressed. Instead of being energized by following Christ, we waste our days feeling bored and burnt-out on our faith, while battling the guilt that comes from craving the food that we love. In If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure, best-selling author and speaker Sheri Rose Shepherd encourages you to embark on a new adventure with faith and food. She reveals the food coaching tips that enabled her to lose over 50 pounds and keep it off, and shares fun recipes in celebration of the healthy, delicious food our God created for us to enjoy. It’s time to let go of guilt, grab hold of grace, and recapture the life God craves for us to live! “Taste and see that the Lord is good. Oh, the joys of those who take refuge in him!” (Psalm 34:8)"
I really enjoyed this book. I have met Mrs Shepherd in person at a women's retreat and she is just a lovely woman with her heart focused on helping others. At the end of each chapter is a QR code that you can scan with your mobile device and it will take you to a video that summarizes the chapter. I liked that. I thought it was a fun way to incorporate the book with social media. Also, each chapter has life recipes to go along with the food recipes to help your spiritual life. She recommends passages in the Bible as well as tips such as "have a date night, go out with girlfriends" and the like. I highly recommend this book. I unfortunately haven't been able to try any of the recipes, but I will be posting about those when I get a chance. You can't go wrong with this book, get it now!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure!: Experience Food, Faith, and Fulfillment a Whole New Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this book exceeded my expectations

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
thisrookiewife
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tyndale House publishers sent me a copy of If You Have a Craving I Have a Cure by Sheri Rose Shepherd. I have only read one healthy living book by a Christian author, so I was very excited to jump in and learn some practical tips on healthy eating and living. This book focuses on fun and refreshing ways to be energized and healthy in both our body and spirit. There are also one hundred recipes that cover a variety of cravings you may have, from spicy to salty and even chocolate.
THE PROS:
This is an incredibly quick read. There are about 200-pages, but 100 recipes, so the actual book is quite short. I liked that it was easy and quick to read, because it made reading the book manageable and enjoyable (I usually get pretty bored about half-way through a non-fiction read).
I really enjoyed the fact that Sheri focused on our relationship with God in this book. If you're going to read If You Have a Craving I Have a Cure, I'd recommend reading one chapter per week and actually engaging in the material. She gives you great tips to try, and the obvious point is that you should take your time and try them! I think if you engage with this book and use it as a practical tool in your life, you'll see results in every aspect of your life.
Finally, the recipes are really great. They are right up my alley because they include healthy, whole foods, but they are not difficult to prepare. The ingredient lists are also not too long.
THE CONS:
Throughout the book there are many scripture passages, which is a great thing! My only problem is that when you take one verse from the Bible and make it fit in with what you're trying to say it can strip the verse of it's authentic meaning. If you are reading a verse in the book and you don't quite get the connection, please pick up your Bible and read the entire chapter surrounding that verse. It's important we don't quote scripture out of context, and that would be my one big issue with this book. It doesn't do that all the time, but sometimes it does.
One other thing I took issue with was a very small suggestion that Sheri makes. It might seem "nit-picky", but I have to say it because I'm a pastor's wife and it kind of hit a nerve with me. One of the suggestions Sheri makes in a chapter on change is that you may want to consider changing churches. She suggests that there are lots of great churches out there and you should not be compelled to attend just one. I think one of the biggest issues in our culture is that we tend to crave something new and fresh, and hop on the newest church trend as soon as it hits our city. We leave our churches so easily, without working out the issues we might have, or simply because we feel our church has become stale or too familiar to us. Please friends, don't take this suggestion too lightly. It hurts churches when we hop from one to the other without making lasting investments in our church community. You wouldn't leave your marriage as soon as it became stale or wasn't giving us exactly what we wanted, so why leave the church?
IS THIS BOOK FOR YOU?
If you're looking for a book to encourage you in your faith and health, I'd recommend this. It's not a book for someone who is looking for a quick-fix or revolutionary diet. This is a lifestyle book, and you'll need to have the basics of healthy living.
I also would say that if you're looking for a book purely on health, this book is not going to help you much. Sheri focuses a lot of time on spiritual health, so you may be disappointed if that's not what you're expecting (or pleasantly surprised).
If you love cooking and are looking for new recipes, the book is worth a buy for the recipes alone!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure!: Experience Food, Faith, and Fulfillment a Whole New Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was motivating.

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
JRBknitting
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure what this book would be like. I like how the author points the readers' focus to God & His word. I am looking forward to trying recipes too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure!: Experience Food, Faith, and Fulfillment a Whole New Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Meadow Rue
Location:Midcoast Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Experience food, faith, and fulfillment a whole new way,” promises the subtitle of Sheri Rose Shepherd’s inspirational new weight-management book, “If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure,” (Tyndale, 2012).
As someone who definitely gets cravings, I was interested in what she had to share–especially after going from being fifty pounds overweight to becoming a beauty pageant queen.
No, not me. Sheri!
Although, I have never entered a beauty pageant, I certainly relate to Sheri’s struggle with body image and self-acceptance.
Sheri’s book is organized into fifteen brief chapters that address different types of cravings, such as “Craving More Energy,” “Craving Something Sweet,” and “Craving an Adventure.”
“Too many times,” Sheri says in her introduction, “we are so focused on what we are not allowed to do and what we should not eat that we end up feeling deprived and depressed… We waste too many of our days feeling bored and burned out on our faith, while battling the guilt that comes from craving the food we love.”
Rather than focusing on denying ourselves, Sheri encourages readers to focus on what they really want. Craving energy?
First Shepherd focuses on what she calls, “Soul Food.” Try to let go of the need to control every little detail of your life and trust God. “For I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength,” she quotes Philippians 4:13. Reading this reminded me of a time shortly after my fifth child, Asher had been born. I was taking our seven-year-old daughter, Ruth, who was in a wheelchair, from a doctor’s appointment. Asher was dangling in a sling from my chest as I turned around to pull Ruth’s wheelchair through a heavy glass door.
“You really have your hands full!” a couple on their way inside commented. “How do you do it?”
Instantly this same Scripture came to mind. It was all I could do to keep from blurting it out! Later I wished I had.
Sheri’s other tips on increasing energy include the physical: exercise, staying hydrated, and eliminating excess. She then follows this with a short prayer and seven energizing recipes–including “Steak Supreme Salad” and “Cajun Jumbo Shrimp Kebabs.”
Yum! With more than one hundred healthful recipes, this is a book you can sink your teeth into!
Sheri’s book, which was provided free to me to review by the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure!: Experience Food, Faith, and Fulfillment a Whole New Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I gotta craving

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"If you have a Craving, I Have a Cure" is the new paperback released by Sheri Rose Shepherd. This is the perfect book for New Year's. Each chapter has an opening story of her own life experience, followed by 'Soul Food' which is a bible verse and story to follow the verse. Then she adds 'New Life Recipes' which are not recipes for food, but steps to take to improve whatever area of life she is talking about in that particular chapter. She then has prayer and actual recipes to end each chapter. The recipes are healthy, but she doesn't get nutty about it. This book is a good one for someone looking to make suttle changes and to get a healthier lifestyle that is also obtainable for a long period of time. She talks about relaxation, sleep, salt intake, sugar intake, excercising, prayer, romance, adventure, etc. There are many aspects of life that relate to health besides the diet one. Shepherd trys to not only improve health, but also make it enjoyable as well as doable. I received this book for free from Tyndale Publishing Blog Network.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure!: Experience Food, Faith, and Fulfillment a Whole New Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2013
Sheri Rose Shepherd takes us on a journey with faith and food in her new book If You Have a Craving, I Have a Cure. She provides us with many tips that she used to lose 50 pounds. Each chapter includes tips, ideas, scriptures and great recipes. Sheri also includes some gluten free and raw food recipes. So many of the recipes sound delicious and I cannot wait to try them!
This book was a very quick read and was very different than what I thought it was going to be. I had envisioned this book to be more of a biography where Sheri discussed her hardships and explained how she overcame them. Sheri did not dig deep into her personal life but instead provided information on how to overcome some of the struggles many of us encounter. For example, the second chapter provides information regarding rest and relaxation. Sheri talks about taking a vacation from our worries and giving our bodies the rest that they need. Recipes for this chapter include Potato Salad in the Raw and Corn Chowder.
Overall, I thought this was a good book that could be read as a weekly devotional. I think it would be fun to read a chapter each week and then try out the recipes. With the New Year quickly approaching, some may find this book helpful if they are looking to incorporate some healthy recipes and maybe even lose a few pounds.
*I received a complimentary copy of the book for review purposes from Tyndale House.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.