Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Language of Blessing: Discover Your Own Gifts and Talents . . . Learn How to Pour Them Out to Bless Others - eBook

Tyndale House The Language of Blessing: Discover Your Own Gifts and Talents . . . Learn How to Pour Them Out to Bless Others - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Language of Blessing: Discover Your Own Gifts and Talents . . . Learn How to Pour Them Out to Bless Others - eBook
Review 1 for The Language of Blessing: Discover Your Own Gifts and Talents . . . Learn How to Pour Them Out to Bless Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Language of Blessing

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Language of Blessing is a book that helps you discover what gifts and talents that God has given to you as well as how to use them to bless others. The author speaks of the importance of speaking in a way that blesses others and helping others discover/develop the talents that each person has. After each chapter, there are questions designed to make you think about the chapter’s topic in a more personal level. I also liked the practical advice the author gives in his book to help the readers learn more about their own strengths, gifts, and talents and how you can use them to bless others. I also liked the resources in the back of the book because the resources tell you where you can go to find out more information about discovering your purpose and gifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Language of Blessing: Discover Your Own Gifts and Talents . . . Learn How to Pour Them Out to Bless Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loaded with blessings!

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bookworm
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a blessing this book is. It reminds us that we all have special gifts and talents, and we need to recognize the blessings God bestows on each and every one of us.
This book is easy to read and has an interesting narration. A great gift for a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Language of Blessing: Discover Your Own Gifts and Talents . . . Learn How to Pour Them Out to Bless Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good followup to The Blessing

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blue Raindrop
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Language of Blessing by Jim Cavanaugh is the latest book I’ve received from Tyndale for reviewing.
The book starts off somewhat with the teaching from The Blessing by John Trent and Gary Smalley, but mixed together with the author’s experiences, including as a life coach and working with a ministry related to relationship recovery.
It then goes into some of the things that can make this difficult, and the importance of learning your own strengths in the process. The book then finishes with some practical application chapters on how to learn to bless others.
This book came into my hands at a very interesting time... pretty much right as our church was ending an extended study of the blessing, and right about the time I was working through some of my own issues that had surfaced. So that may skew my perspective on things a bit.
The first and third parts of the book were pretty much what I had expected them to be.
The first was good at breaking things down and putting them in a way that made them understandable, and helpful at seeing examples of not only what the blessing looks like, but also honest at showing times when it didn’t happen.
The last section gives good guidance on how to actually make it happen, including some addressed particularly to parents.
The middle section of the book is pretty close to what the description of book says, that it’s a book about the importance of identifying your strengths and how to use them to bless others.
It goes into some depth about the difficulties caused by not realizing your own gifts and talents, because if you just see them as average, you expect everyone else to have them to that degree as well and may judge them accordingly.
To me, this was a new and interesting way of looking at things. And the author does tie in some as to how this effects being able to bless others and why this can create a situation of a child not being blessed because his parent expects them to have the same gifts to the same degree of the parent does rather than appreciating the child’s gifts on their own.
But at times it almost seems like an entirely different book than the other two sections. Again, my viewpoint is probably a bit skewed on this from recently being through a series that connected more to the other two sections, and also probably because I was thinking more from a barriers to it being received perspective than from the barriers to giving. But I guess it just didn’t connect together with me as well as I had expected, and for some parts seemed like a divided tangent more than it fit in with the section title of barriers to blessing. Still good material, just sort of different from the rest.
Either way, it’s a good book, and makes for a good followup for those already familiar with the blessing, but also explains well to cover those that aren’t as familiar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Language of Blessing: Discover Your Own Gifts and Talents . . . Learn How to Pour Them Out to Bless Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read On Discovering Your Own Unique Gifts

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alecia
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did you know we are made unique and different from every other person in this world? Sure ya did. But most of us don't live like we know this little nugget of truth.
We spend a lot of time trying to be different instead of looking inside ourselves to see what unique gifts and talents we have.
These gifts are given to us from birth and if not affirmed by our parents (the way God intended) then we grow up trying to fit into a mold created by others.
When we're not sure of who we are we can we live in this Cycle of False Identity. This chapter was one of my favorites and I highly recommend everyone reading it.
***I was given this book by Tyndale to review for my honest opinion. No compensation was given for my review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Language of Blessing: Discover Your Own Gifts and Talents . . . Learn How to Pour Them Out to Bless Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended reading for every parent!

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone is unique and different and blessed with a different personality and strengths. We were created for a purpose. We have a chance to recognize the gifts our children have been given and speak into their lives, affirming their calling and purpose.
"Blessings are prophetic in that they communicate the heart, mind and will of God for an individual. They connect us with our Creator's dream for us. Words of blessing confirm and empower God-given intrinsic attributes, such as personality, gifting, talents, character traits, and intelligences.
While I agreed with and appreciated the whole book, I was especially challenged by the third section where the author talks about cultivating a nonanxious presence. They are able to more easily study those around them and listen intentionally because they are not full of their own insecurities and agendas. What a great thing it is to listen and "hear" because you are free of your own insecurities and agendas.
A great resource for every parent!
I received a copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. My opinion is my own. Thank you Tyndale House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Language of Blessing: Discover Your Own Gifts and Talents . . . Learn How to Pour Them Out to Bless Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nature Vs Nurture

Date:February 4, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ahh it's an age old debate. Nature vs. Nurture. Are we who we are because we were born with those attributes or are we who we are because of the way we were brought up? It's a deep topic for sure. I lean to the nature side of the debate but I believe we are a product of both. God created us to be who we are. He gave us a specific personality, introvert or extrovert, and He gave us special interests and talents. I also believe He created each of us for some very specific purposes.
Example of nature- I share an immense amount of common personality traits with my very sweet cousin who is several years younger than me. Although we've always known one another and we've seen each other at least a few times a year our whole lives, we grew up in very different situations. Our immediate families were very different. She had 2 siblings, I had none. Her family went to church all the time. Mine didn't. Her dad was super strict and they weren't allowed to watch very much television or listen to secular music. I loved Janet Jackson and Vanilla Ice and watched Solid Gold and Jem. However she and I are SO similar that our family calls her my "mini-me." We are responsible. We are LOUD. We speak our minds. We worry about what others think. We worry about everyone else in our family. By nature, by God's creation, we are similar. Most of our shared traits have little to nothing to do with the nurture we received.
Now that being said I do believe that the nurture we receive and our surroundings contribute greatly to many of our choices. If we are praised in an area of our lives we can become confident in that area and make choices involving that confidence. If we are constantly slammed about an area of our lives then we will make different choices. So in The Language of Blessing Joseph Cavanaugh III gives us some great insight into nurturing the nature of those around us. I will admit I am not good at that. My friend Betty is fantastic at finding just the right thing to say. She's so encouraging. She was Apple's Wednesday night teacher for a long time and Apple just thrived around her. Betty could always think of something kind and uplifting about Apple's art or outfit. Betty was able to nurture Apple by seeing what things were part of the nature God gave her.
The Language of Blessing will be an amazing blessing (imagine that) in your relationship with your children, your spouse, your neighbor, your co-worker, anyone that could use an encouraging word from you. Cavanaugh points out some specific ways to see our own (and other's) God given talents. Then he gives you realistic ways to impart blessing upon those around you. He isn't asking you to be fake or give false praise, he shows you how to make real statements of blessing. Blessings are more than what you say after a sneeze, more than what you receive at church, and worth more than we realize. There are some wonderful passages of blessing in the Bible. I always think of the blessing that Jacob stole from Esau and of course the Lord's blessing to the children of Israel comes to mind:
Numbers 6:22 And the Lord spoke to Moses, saying: 23 “Speak to Aaron and his sons, saying, ‘This is the way you shall bless the children of Israel. Say to them:
24 “The Lord bless you and keep you;
25 The Lord make His face shine upon you,
And be gracious to you;
26 The Lord lift up His countenance upon you,
And give you peace.”’
27 “So they shall put My name on the children of Israel, and I will bless them.”
What words of affirmation! What security and peace comes just from reading them! So then if the Lord blesses us with His words (He just did) then we should impart those same blessings upon others. To learn more check out The Language of Blessing by Joseph Cavanaugh III.
I received this book from Tyndale Publishers for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Language of Blessing: Discover Your Own Gifts and Talents . . . Learn How to Pour Them Out to Bless Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Learn about yourself and benefit others

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Milk Donor Mama
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Language of Blessing by Joseph Cavanaugh is a book to help you discover what your own talents and gifts are and how you can use those to be a blessing to others. Putting these God-given talents to use allows you to fulfill your destiny and achieve a greater level of satisfaction in all areas of your life, from your marriage to your work to your hobbies.
Also covered here is the down side of being too into your own talents. There is too much of a good thing, after all. Being too centered on yourself and individualistic is not the way to learn the language of God's blessings. Rather, God gave us each our own unique attributes so that we can use them to be of benefit to others. In being a blessing to others, we also give ourselves the gift of inner peace, happiness and contentment.
This book required a little more attention and focus than other books that center around Christian living and self improvement. That is okay, but do not expect to breeze your way through this. If you are reading it right, it will take you some time to absorb what Cavanaugh is saying. And that, as Martha would say, is a good thing.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for my unbiased review. The opinion here is entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Language of Blessing: Discover Your Own Gifts and Talents . . . Learn How to Pour Them Out to Bless Others - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Book!

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Loving Mommahood
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God put each of us on this earth for a distinct reason. Wouldn't it make sense for us to find out each of our own God-given talents and gifts so we can use them for God's purpose? There is no one else in the world like us. God created each one of us so unique with gifts, talents, characteristics and attributes that there can be no other like us!
Too often as parents we focus on the negative instead of the positive. Cavanaugh uses the example of a child's report card. Say your child comes home with a report card of 3 A's, a B+ and a D. Instead of focusing on the 3 A's (subjects in which your child excels), we are more likely to focus on the one bad grade that they received and let them know that they need to improve in that area. Those words are clearly not blessing your child. Instead, Cavanaugh suggests praising your child for the excellent grades they received, asking them what they enjoy most about the subjects and affirming them, and then ask about the D. Ask the child how you can help them with that subject.
We want to be careful how we interfere with the gifts and talents God has given our children. Demeaning comments or lack of praise may keep a child from pursuing their God-given talents. Show patience as your child takes time to learn things and praise their success.
Each child has their own set of gifts and talents but yet parents and teachers alike end up rewarding and disciplining children as if they all had the same attributes, ignoring the fact that since we were all created differently, perhaps we should use different measures when we praise and reward them.
Cavanaugh is also quick to note that while we should praise a child for his accomplishments, attributes and talents, we should not over-inflate our child's ego.
Included at the end of each chapter is an "Application Activity" to help gain a better understanding of your God-given talents and abilities.
I found this book to be greatly beneficial and interesting! I would rate it as 5 stars.
**I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers to give my honest unbiased review,**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.