Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Blink Like Moonlight at Low Tide

Blink Like Moonlight at Low Tide

After three years away, 16-year-old Missy Kizer moves back to the small Florida town where she was once the object of ridicule and mockery. Now she faces different problems---an unreliable mother, her brother's suicide, and a hurricane. Will she discover the power of faith to save her from life's storms?
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
Review 1 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book, for some reason, moved me.

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Simply Emmy
Location:Bacolod City, Philippines
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While reading this book, I was reminded of the following:
First, self-esteem is never based on anybody’s opinion of us.
Second, there is strength in quiet love. But, it’s not enough for us to love people in silence. They need to know.
Third, let us not allow our own struggles and ambitions to forget the people that needs our help.
Like Moonlight at Low Tide is a good read. Chapter 12 made me cry, literally. This book, for some reason, moved me, especially towards the last few chapters.
Go, pick up this book and read away!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
This review is fromLike Moonlight at Low Tide.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Breathtaking Debut

Date:February 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna Maria Island, Florida, is where Melissa Keiser spent her childhood years and was a victim of bullying from the ‘cool kids’ who called her Messy and mocked her second-hand clothes. Now she’s back and trying to avoid catching the attention of those kids—except her best friend is dating one of them, and the boy she had a crush on actually seems to have noticed her (in a good way).
Melissa’s had a rough upbringing. Her father abandoned the family before she started school and hasn’t been heard from since. Her mother has paraded through a series of ‘boyfriends’ over the years, her older brother is a dopehead, and her friends do little but party. Her escape is to swim in the neighbour’s pool at night—until she gets caught. This forms the start of an unlikely friendship.
As I was reading, I was trying to decide whether or not Like Moonlight at Low Tide was actually Christian fiction. Missy wasn’t a Christian, her mother certainly wasn’t, and it didn’t seem that any of her friends were either. It wasn’t until quite late in the book that the Christian element started to come through, but it was worth waiting for.
“When I was seventeen, the only boy who ever called me by my full name took his own life. It was the first time I ever saw a mistake that couldn’t be undone.”
Yes, this novel is different. It’s written in the first person, and Missy is a complex character growing up in a difficult environment. It’s gritty and real, yet with a bittersweet aftertaste, as though things shouldn’t be like this.
Like Moonlight at Low Tide is the debut novel from Nicole Quigley, and shows she is a voice to watch in Christian fiction for her edgy realism. Recommended.
Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing a free ebook for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When high school junior Melissa Keiser returns to her hometown of Anna Maria Island, Florida, she has one goal: hide from the bullies who had convinced her she was the ugliest girl in school. But when she is caught sneaking into a neighbor's pool at night, everything changes. Something is different now that Melissa is sixteen, and the guys and popular girls who once made her life miserable have taken notice. When Melissa gets the chance to escape life in a house ruled by her mom's latest boyfriend, she must choose where her loyalties lie between a long-time crush, a new friend, and her surfer brother who makes it impossible to forget her roots. Just as Melissa seems to achieve everything she ever wanted, she loses a loved one to suicide. Melissa must not only grieve for her loss, she must find the truth about the three boys who loved her and discover that joy sometimes comes from the most unexpected place of all.
My Review:
This was a really depressing story. That said, I found it to be very interesting as well. Maybe I'm too old for stories like this, but I found it to be rather profound and deep for YA fiction. This is just how high school is for some teenagers, how bullying affects the victims, and all I can say about Quigley's writing is WOW.
You can feel the pain in the writing. You can feel how every mistake that is made affects Melissa's life, and how she responds to that hurt. I got sucked into Josh and Melissa's stories right away, and I loved the characterization of Melissa's family and friends. I felt as if I knew the characters from somewhere, and they all felt like family. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, despite the dark feel of it. Not everything needs to be "happily ever after," and for this, I thank the author from the bottom of my heart. A dose of reality that every young person needs to read.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
This review is fromLike Moonlight at Low Tide.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When high school junior Melissa Keiser returns to her hometown of Anna Maria Island, Florida, she has one goal: hide from the bullies who had convinced her she was the ugliest girl in school. But when she is caught sneaking into a neighbor's pool at night, everything changes. Something is different now that Melissa is sixteen, and the guys and popular girls who once made her life miserable have taken notice. When Melissa gets the chance to escape life in a house ruled by her mom's latest boyfriend, she must choose where her loyalties lie between a long-time crush, a new friend, and her surfer brother who makes it impossible to forget her roots. Just as Melissa seems to achieve everything she ever wanted, she loses a loved one to suicide. Melissa must not only grieve for her loss, she must find the truth about the three boys who loved her and discover that joy sometimes comes from the most unexpected place of all.
My Review:
This was a really depressing story. That said, I found it to be very interesting as well. Maybe I'm too old for stories like this, but I found it to be rather profound and deep for YA fiction. This is just how high school is for some teenagers, how bullying affects the victims, and all I can say about Quigley's writing is WOW.
You can feel the pain in the writing. You can feel how every mistake that is made affects Melissa's life, and how she responds to that hurt. I got sucked into Josh and Melissa's stories right away, and I loved the characterization of Melissa's family and friends. I felt as if I knew the characters from somewhere, and they all felt like family. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, despite the dark feel of it. Not everything needs to be "happily ever after," and for this, I thank the author from the bottom of my heart. A dose of reality that every young person needs to read.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
This review is fromLike Moonlight at Low Tide.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Debut Novel

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
LisaD
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book captured my attention after the first few paragraphs. The plot was paced well and the author captured the voices of teenagers perfectly. She tackled social issues without being heavy-handed and her lesson on trusting Jesus when going through hard times was weaved in seamlessly into the plot. A wonderful debut novel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
This review is fromLike Moonlight at Low Tide.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Swimming in the deep waters of life.

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story really touched me. I couldn't put this book down, and I was carried along by the emotional power and the psychological insight into a young woman's life.
This book is worthwhile reading for any teenage girl who can relate to Melissa's story. If you've experienced something similar, the honesty and beauty in this story may even sow seeds of healing.
And grown up women should read this book too, because as women we have all shared Melissa's concerns and asked her questions.
Melissa is growing up on the tourist haven Anna Maria Island in Florida... a place where the loveliness seems almost ironic at times to Melissa.
How could there be so much trouble in her family, so much sadness, when they live in near-paradise? And how is a high school girl supposed to carry her mother's burdens, encourage her older brother, and nurture her younger sister all by herself... and still navigate the deep waters of romantic relationships, bullies, and friends?
It actually startled me how attached I was to the characters by the end, and how the specifics of the tragedy were completely unexpected by me.
This may be a book about a teen girl and it may include her boyfriend problems, but this is not a fluffy book. It's a book about what happens when someone breaks your heart, when someone dies and leaves you, when your life isn't carefree.
Thank you Booksneeze for my review copy. I will be looking for more books by Nicole Quigley.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
This review is fromLike Moonlight at Low Tide.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When high school junior Melissa Keiser returns to her hometown of Anna Maria Island, Florida, she has one goal: hide from the bullies who had convinced her she was the ugliest girl in school. But when she is caught sneaking into a neighbor's pool at night, everything changes. Something is different now that Melissa is sixteen, and the guys and popular girls who once made her life miserable have taken notice. When Melissa gets the chance to escape life in a house ruled by her mom's latest boyfriend, she must choose where her loyalties lie between a long-time crush, a new friend, and her surfer brother who makes it impossible to forget her roots. Just as Melissa seems to achieve everything she ever wanted, she loses a loved one to suicide. Melissa must not only grieve for her loss, she must find the truth about the three boys who loved her and discover that joy sometimes comes from the most unexpected place of all.
My Review:
This was a really depressing story. That said, I found it to be very interesting as well. Maybe I'm too old for stories like this, but I found it to be rather profound and deep for YA fiction. This is just how high school is for some teenagers, how bullying affects the victims, and all I can say about Quigley's writing is WOW.
You can feel the pain in the writing. You can feel how every mistake that is made affects Melissa's life, and how she responds to that hurt. I got sucked into Josh and Melissa's stories right away, and I loved the characterization of Melissa's family and friends. I felt as if I knew the characters from somewhere, and they all felt like family. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, despite the dark feel of it. Not everything needs to be "happily ever after," and for this, I thank the author from the bottom of my heart. A dose of reality that every young person needs to read.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
This review is fromLike Moonlight at Low Tide.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Carol Award winner!

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janesara
Location:Flordia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The writing is awesome and the characters grow on you. I keep wondering what she is doing today . . . Even though I'm way past that age. (I bought it for my granddaughter and read it first.) This book just won the Carol Award for best young adult book published in 2012, so that says it all.
For any teen dealing with the mess we call high school this is a must-read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
This review is fromLike Moonlight at Low Tide.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful story filled with heartache, passion,

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Melissa moves back to her hometown on Anna Maria Island, Florida, her only hope is that the bullies who teased her for being ugly will have forgotten her. And while a few people remember, most don’t care. Melissa isn’t the same little girl and people notice, including the most popular guy in the school, the guy she used to have a huge crush on. Just when Melissa thinks she’s getting everything she always wanted, things start to go way wrong.
Here’s a book that sucked me in. I liked Melissa right away. She was authentic and engaging. The story begins with the foreshadowing of a suicide, then moves along at a quick pace, leaving the reader wondering which boy died. The characters were amazing. The story deals with topics such as a dysfunctional mother, alcohol, drug abuse, bullying, and suicide. This is a story filled with heartache, passion, and hope. I’m looking forward to more books by this author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
This review is fromLike Moonlight at Low Tide.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard-hitting YA Christian Fiction

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nikki Studebaker Barcus
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"How could any one person make a decision that is so permanent, that could never be undone?" In Nicole Quigley's debut novel, "Like Moonlight at Low Tide", main character Melissa Keiser asks herself this question. Missy returns to her birthplace after a two-year absence. Two years marked by remembering the humiliation and horror of constant bullying she endured from her classmates. But two years makes a difference, especially when you are in high school, and she returns to a new-found popularity tha she learns comes with a price of its own.
Writing in a raw, honest, sometimes brooding voice, Quigley doesn't gloss over the reality of growing up in a dysfunctional family, of the scars of bullying, or of the pain left by suicide. Deep, and sometimes heavy, "Like Moonlight at Low Tide" is a dramatic story with romatic elements.
Quigley expertly portrays the difficulties in growing up in a broken home and with a parent who has as many hang-ups as the children she is trying to raise. The baggage left behind by an absent father, the struggle for acceptance, the battle to fit in while standin out as an individual, all come to life in the pages of this book. Setting elements become active characters in the story. For example, the water provides both peace and freedom for Missy while simultaneously holding her captive on the island. The island is a metaphor for how alone she feels, cut off, and separated from the life she desperately wants to live.
The book is not a light, feel-good teenage read. It deals with hard-hitting theological questions such as providence, forgiveness, and not being good enough for God. It also tackles tough teenage issues which might be better suited for older teens readers. Female readers are more likely to identify with the viewpoint character of Missy, but the issues in the story are universal to teenagers, regardless of gender.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
This review is fromLike Moonlight at Low Tide.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Compelling Drama

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This young adult fiction shows the heartache of trying to fit in, and trying to feel normal. It demonstrates the lengths teens often will go to in order to feel love and acceptance and the devastation of when they face rejection. It vividly portrays the cruelty often exhibited to those “invisible” teenagers who are not in the popular group. The book was well-written, the scenery helped you feel the island and the characters were realistic. Well done as a debut novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
This review is fromLike Moonlight at Low Tide.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read!

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a wonderful read that tapped into my imagination. I could see events play out in my mind's eye. I could feel everything the main character, Melissa, was going through. This book begged for my attention in such a way, that I couldn't put it down!
Ms. Quigley's characters were realistic, relatable, and well rounded. I enjoyed watching Missy and Josh's friendship grow and develop. There were also some moments I could relate with Missy, which made me appreciate the book more.
Another reason I'm so attached to this book is because it's set in Florida, which is where I grew up. Though, I didn't grow up on Anna Maria Island I did grow up near Tampa Bay. I moved away recently from my hometown, and this book gave me a happy at-home feeling that I've missed.
I'd like to note that to make this realistic, Ms. Quigley discussed some teens drinking, including the main character. There was also talk of drugs and overdosing. Nothing is explicit, but some things are implied. I don't disagree with Ms. Quigley's decision to include these things in her novel, because without them the story would seem too fake.
Right now, this book stands as one of my favorites. I highly recommend it to any teen girl.
I received this book from DJC Communications in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Like Moonlight at Low Tide
This review is fromLike Moonlight at Low Tide.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is unbelievable!

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
basethree
Location:Spartanburg, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to expect in this book, but as a sucker for all teen drama/coming of age books, I knew this was one I had to read! It did not disappoint. I absolutely loved every minute of it; I could not put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.