Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Where Love Grows - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Where Love Grows - eBook

Attend the wedding of Teresa, the young Englisha girl who has come home with Susan Hostetler to learn the ways of the Amish---and in fact to become Amish herself.

But Teresa is not the only young woman to find romance in these pages. Susan, long estranged from Thomas Stoll, the young man she had intended to marry from her childhood, reunites with him..just as another man appears on the scene with designs on her heart. Which man is the one Da Hah has chosen for her?

Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Where Love Grows - eBook
Review 1 for Where Love Grows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

True-to-life Amish story

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan Hostetler’s life continues much like before she left her Amish community as she helps her friend Teresa prepare to wed the deacon’s son, James. Susan wonders if she and Thomas can rekindle their romance or if she can truly trust him. Steve, her family’s hired hand, seems to notice Susan, but she doesn’t take much interest in him. Secrets from her dad’s past also threaten their peaceful way of life. With so many changes upsetting her world, Susan struggles to cope. Will God see her through these trials? Will she ever find true love like Teresa and marry? This novel explores family issues and faith in a compelling and authentic manner.
Where Love Grows satisfactorily concludes Jerry Eicher’s Fields of Home series. I recommend reading the books in order, but this one provides enough background information to enjoy on its own. As a former Amishman, Jerry’s Amish fiction has an insider’s feel. It explores tough topics the people must deal with in their Amish way, along with suspense and love to add tension and depth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Where Love Grows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is book three in the series

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is book three in the Fields of Home Series written by Jerry Eicher. I would recommend reading the others in the series before reading this one. You will get a full understanding of the characters and setting that way and not feel like you are coming into the middle of a story.
I gave this book 4/5 stars. I did not especially enjoy the main character in the story, Susan. I do not like characters that are very dependent on others and feelings to respond to their circumstances. I thought she could have been written with more depth. I liked that the families where forced to face issues that had been hidden in the past. I would recommend this book for anyone who is a fan of the author or who enjoys Amish fictional stories.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Where Love Grows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book in the series

Date:December 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan has returned home, still not sure if she wants to stay and give Thomas another chance or if she'll return to 'the world' as Steve the hired hand calls it. Teresa, the reason she returned to her Amish home, has fallen in love and will soon be married and Teresa's son, Samuel, will have a real daedt. Teresa keeps trying to convince Susan to give Thomas his second chance, so she's been trying.
About a week before Teresa's wedding, who has become like an adopted member of the Hostetler family, Menno, Susan's dad, gets a letter referring to his past that causes him mixed feelings. The morning of the wedding he tells Anna, his wife, about it but they go on as if nothing is wrong. Although, he is thrilled with the news in the letter, it may cause problems in the Amish community.
When a stranger shows up the day of the wedding then comes again the next morning to talk to Menno, Susan is in shock! Menno and Anna go to Deacon Ray to explain the situation to him and he is not happy. Deacon Ray will need to take this information to the other ministers and decide what to do with it. The next Sunday service would be communion Sunday, the day Menno and Anna will find out if one or both will be placed under the ban.
How is all of this affecting Susan and what will she do with her life now? After seeing Thomas talking to another girl in her own house on Teresa's wedding day, they were alone on the Hostetler couch, it reminds her of why she left the first time and now with what she's found out about her father's past, she's very unsure of things. Will she want to return to Asbury Park or will she stay and work through all of her inner turmoils.
Susan has a lot of things to think about right now in her life and this book shows what strong faith and the support of loved ones can help you get through.
Very enjoyable story, this kept me interested and I read late into the night not putting the book down until I couldn't keep my eyes open. I would encourage those of you that like Amish books to read this series, a continuing story about Susan Hostetler.
I received this book from Harvest House Publishers for an honest review. The opinions expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Where Love Grows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
fiery
Location:Little Rock, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Where Love Grows, is a wonderful conclusion in the Fields of Home series. It was so good to go with Susan on her journey to obtain love and happiness and her place with God. It was also good to see Teresa happily married and reunited with her mother. This book covers love, losses, forgiveness and thanksgiving. I love the closeness of the families. The characters in these books seem to be so real you feel like you are a part of the family. Menno meeting his English son and Menno's humility along with Anna's support of Menno was a great lesson. You could feel their pain as well as their love for each other.
Read the first two books in the series and continue with this one to the conclusion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Where Love Grows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Amish Read

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Old love is rekindled in this wonderful tale from Jerry Eicher.
A family drama interwoven with a sweet romance. Where Love Grows is a story of love, family, and forgiveness. This book is actually the first time I've read a book by this author, who came highly recommended to me by a friend, so I thought I'd give this one a shot. And I'm glad I did!
At first it helped that there was some back story and I was able to catch up with everything that had happened in the last few books just by reading and figuring some things out. This book is pulsing with drama and has some great characters that are easy to connect with, I learned alot more about the docterine and practices of the Amish.
I liked how there were a lot of characters that I got to know quite well and how the story all came together. The relationship between Steve and Susan was so cute! There were some heart-breaking parts too, so I really felt like this book had it all. I felt that is was really a realistic look at Amish life, and I understood why Susan made the choices that she did.
I think that my favorite character was probably Steve, because he was such a good man who was wise and patient.
Overall, a very enjoyable read that I was able to really get into without having read the first two in the series. I liked how this book had good themes and the characters were very well done. A book I would happily recommend.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Where Love Grows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

story of forgiveness & confession by Jerry Eicher

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Jerry Eicher's books and have read all but his two newest ones. I recall when I read my first book by him that I was impressed that he has a different way of writing about the Amish. I was also highly impressed that a man could write such wonderful romantic tales! This book is no let down! I had fallen in love with Susan and Teresa in the two previous books: Missing Yous Smile and Following Your Heart. I really like Susan's spunky attitude and her zest for life. She has been hurt by two very significant men in her life and has every reason not to trust again. Yet she goes on and returns to her Amish home with her Englisch friend, Teresa. This is certainly a book about forgiveness and confession. This book gives an in-depth look at the practice of the bann among the Amish and Amish weddings. There was a great deal of sadness as well as joy in the book. I hurt for the characters as they went through the bann. I highly recommend this book to readers. Jerry has once again written a book that makes you stop and think and count your blessings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Where Love Grows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Amish Fiction

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This novel is Book 3 in the Fields of Home Series. What a marvellous continuation of the story and further development of all our favorite characters who were present in the earlier books. Susan, the so called rebel has come home to her small Amish community. I found myself admiring her courage in returning- as she had done the frowned upon- getting GED requirements, a driver's license and even dating an Englisha man!! She became my hero, as she goes back to her former lifestyle, with her head held high, although at times, very frightened of letting her family know of all she did in her "other" life. On top of all the other problems of returning, she goes back, with a friend Teresa in tow, with her young son. Teresa's quest to belong to the Amish is to be admired. This book begins with the marriage of Teresa to a young Amish man , James.
Thus, the story expands, with a new family entering the Amish community. Teresa has truly worked diligently to fit the character of a good Amish girl. She and Susan , again meet many challenges. Susan decides to give her old boy friend, Thomas , another chance, but here , the complications begin. Her Dat's new hired hand has shown an interest in her, as well. Who is God's life partner for her and how will He show her his plan for her life?? I had such sympathy for her, that at times I felt she was part of my family. I felt her confusion, her heartaches, as well as her joy. Jerry has described his characters so well that you have them as friends/family forever!!
Susan , at one point, considered going back to the Englisha world, just to escape the decision making that she had to do. It would be easier to forget the romance!!
Jerry continues to give us great insight into the Amish lifestyle and way of life. Since he comes from that background , it is accurate and his books are filled with details and facts that ordinarily may not discover.
Another five star book!! Eagerly awaiting the next one!!
This book was provided by Harvest House and the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Where Love Grows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sensitive, gracious look at an Amish community

Date:September 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jan Drexler
Location:Rapid City, SD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Where Love Grows is the third book in Jerry Eicher’s “Fields of Home” trilogy. I enjoyed the first two books, and have been looking forward to the rest of the story.
Susan Hostetler’s English friend, Teresa, who joined the Amish community in the second book of this trilogy, is marrying a man she truly loves. Susan is happy things have worked out so well for Teresa, but what about her own life? The suitor who once cheated on her seems sincere, but can he be trusted? Sometimes she wishes he could be more like Steve, her father’s new hired hand.
And then there’s the secret her father has shared with the family. When the secret is confessed to the church, Susan’s parents must suffer the consequences by being put under the bann for a time. Will this be the last straw that pushes Susan back to the English world she flirted with in the first book of the trilogy?
Jerry Eicher interprets hard issues facing the Amish church for his readers with grace and sensitivity. The issue of the bann, or excommunication, has always been a difficult one within the Amish community and nearly impossible for those of us outside the church to understand. As Susan wrestles with what her parents are going through, she is able to come to a greater understanding of what it means for her own faith, and we, as readers, wrestle right along with her.
Jerry Eicher remains unique among writers of Amish books in his insider’s view of this fascinating culture, but that’s not the only reason to enjoy his books. He weaves a story that never fails to please!
Thank you to Harvest House Publishers, who provided a free copy of this book for my unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Where Love Grows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Ending To A Great Series!

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story continues with Susan Hostetler coming home from the Englisha’s world to help her friend Teresa adjust to Amish life. Susan isn’t sure that she will be staying. Undecided to what she wants to do she tries to make the best of being at home again. Oh how good it feels for her to be home. Thomas Stoll the boyfriend that broke her heart and sent her fleeing into the Englisha’s world to begin with, tries to win her back. Will he succeed in doing so? Does Susan want him back?
Since Susan has been away her Dad hired Steve Mast to help him with the farming chores. Steve seems like a pretty good guy to Susan but she isn’t interested in him to say the least. Will something happen to make Susan change her mind about Steve?
We find some twists in this story. It seems as though Susan’s Dad has been hiding a secret for many, many years. Will this secret come out? If it does, how will this affect the Hostetler family? Can we ever hide our sins completely even if we have confessed them to God?
I took away from this wonderful book that you can not hang on to things of the past in order to move on with your life. We must seek to forgive those who have wronged us and hurt us. We must learn to trust again. With God All Things Are Possible!
I could not put this book down. It was a good read from page one. I simply loved The Fields of Home Series. I do believe it will be one of my favorites. I can’t wait to see what the author will publish next.
I wish to thank Harvest House Publishers and Jerry Eicher for providing me with this book to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Where Love Grows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excelent

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
LynnB
Location:Colorado Mountains
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The final book of this group did not disappoint. Eicher writes in a realistic manner that allows the characters to become people instead of just characters. As Teresa and Susan live their hopes and dreams, we walk with them.
We see that life is not a fairy tale where nothing can go wrong, but we also see that trust and faith can take us through anything.
This final story has a bit of a surprise...and yet it blends into the previous 2 books with ease.
I highly recommend this as a great book for those interested in romance, ethics, and absorbing reads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Where Love Grows - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another GREAT Book by Jerry Eicher

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book was supplied to me by Harvest House Publishers through NetGalley for a review in return.
Book Description
Attend the wedding of Teresa, the young Englisha girl who has come home with Susan Hostetler to learn the ways of the Amish---and in fact to become Amish herself.
But Teresa is not the only young woman to find romance in these pages. Susan, long estranged from Thomas Stoll, the young man she had intended to marry from her childhood, reunites with him..just as another man appears on the scene with designs on her heart. Which man is the one Da Hah has chosen for her?
My Review
This Book is the third and final book in Fields of Home Series by Jerry Eicher. Jerry is one of the best Amish authors I have ever read. I know that Jerry grew up Amish but never dreamed he could capture the hearts of the women like he does.
This book starts up where Book 2 left off. Teresa is in the process of getting things going for her marriage to James. They get married and Susan Hostetler, who is her close friend, breaks up with Thomas. He is not very thoughtful in my opinion. He breaks up with Susan on the night of Teresa’s wedding. As the book goes on, there are other things that happen to the Hostetlers, but will not say anymore because I don’t want to spoil the book for you.
I just want to say this is one of those books that once you start reading it, you definitely can’t put it down. It will grab you from the start to the end. I loved this whole series, thank you Jerry Eicher for giving us readers such a GREAT series and this book is just GREAT. I didn’t’ want it to end. But I know it has to.
Thank you Harvest House for giving me the chance to read and review on this book. It was such a Good Book that I would most definitely suggest this book to my friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.