Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook

Susanna Byler wants to spend the holidays with the man of her dreams. But who is the man of her dreams? Is it the competent but plain Amishman she married for convenience..or is it her first love-an English man with whom she has recently had an unexpected encounter-and who wants her back in his life?
Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
Review 1 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Realistic Amish story of struggle and growth

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Newly married Herman and Susanna Wagler face adjustments as they learn to know each other better and to trust and accept each other, despite intrusion from the past that threatens their love and happy home. Why would Susanna’s former beau, Matthew Yoder, return to the Amish community he left and cast aspersions on her with his confessions? Will her future be ruined because of the doubts planted in people’s minds?
This moving novella is a swift read that tugs at the heart. Set around Thanksgiving time and leading up to Christmas, now is the perfect season to read the touching tale. The slice of Amish life in Iowa offers well-developed characters the reader can’t help but care about. Their growth brings hope and expectation for Herman and Susanna as well as all who read the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great story

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great story! Susanna was dating a guy before he left Amish community, and only few weeks after her marriage to another - who truly loves her, does this guy come back and wants to win her for himself. I really like how she battles with herself for what is right and ends up truly loving the man she married!! loved this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Poignant Christmas Novella!

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Young newlyweds, Susanna and Herman Wagler are adjusting to their new life together. Susanna still holds onto memories of her past love, Matthew Yoder, who left the Amish community during his rumspringa. As preparations for Thanksgiving Day were being made at Susanna’s sister's home Matthew suddenly shows up. Matthew’s presence threatens Susanna’s relationship with Herman, and places Herman in a depressed state, worried that his wife doesn’t truly love him. To complicate matters Susanna is heartbroken that Herman refuses to celebrate Christmas with her family. Is Susanna strong enough to conquer the obstacles set before her by her old boyfriend, and the strict beliefs of her husband?
This story of young Amish love is poignant and emotional. Formerly Amish, Jerry Eicher is very familiar with the Amish culture and their practices. He pens a well defined portrayal of the community and activities common to the Amish. His characters are realistic and true to their identities. The locale is well described with accuracy and familiarity. His personal insights into Amish tradition enhance this story of struggle in the young lives of Herman and Susanna. Although a novella, much transpires throughout this story of past love, new commitments and adjustment.
Disclaimer: A copy of this book was provided by the author for the purpose of my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received as a result of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
LinDawn
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susanna's Christmas Wish is an interesting book which keeps you reading to find out how it ends. Susanna's Amish boyfriend,Matthew, leaves her after many years of being in love, and becomes an English person. Her heart is broken, but she eventually marries Herman, a kind Amish man. Then her former boyfriend returns to see if he can make peace about certain things. This brings a lot of suspense...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
tomboycan
Location:Tara, Ontario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful Christmas book, it was hard to put down. Well worth the read. The way that Jerry writes you can picture yourself right in the story along side the characters.
Susanna and Herman are newly weds and Susanna's ex beau Matthew who left the Amish to become English arrives just before Thanksgiving. He wants to get back together with Susanna not knowing that she is married. Matthew goes and talks with the bishop and that in turns brings the Deacon to Susanna and Herman's door to find out some of the details of Matthew and Susanna's relationship.
Susanna has to learn how to get along with her mother-in-law and also how to take care of Herman when he gets sick. When they first got married Herman said that will would not be spending Christmas morning with Susanna's family since he grew up doing something in January. But through all that happened between Thanksgiving and Christmas he changed his mind and they had a wonderful time with Susanna's family on Christmas morning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
12rlr2410
Location:New York, NY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a wonderful book. Will recommend it to anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A beautiful Christmas story to read if you love Amish fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet tale

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Christmas tale of love and learning.
When newlywed Susanna's old flame comes back to their district, causing troubles in her new marriage to the love of her life, Herman Wagler. It get's harder when Herman announces that he doesn't want to celebrate Christmas with a big to do. Will Susanna and Herman be able to patch things up in time for Christmas?
This is actually the first novel by Jerry Eicher that I have personally read, and it exceeded my expectations by far. It wasn't your typical heartwarming Christmas tale, (not that it wasn't heartwarming), it was more of a romance about a young couple learning and working out the difficulties in their young marriage.
I found the characters to be wonderful well developed, and I loved how this book wasn't your typical Christmas novella. The story was compelling, and heartfelt. I really wanted Herman and Susanna to finally be able to connect and understand each other better.
Overall lovely love story, in a sweet novella, from Jerry Eicher. After reading this story I know that I will definitely be reading more from Mr. Eicher in the future! A lovely Christmas love story.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A wish come true!

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is a short but sweet book about a newly married couple and their struggle to create their own traditions for Christmas. The great thing about the story is seeing growth in each of the characters take place. Susanna's thoughts and inner struggles seemed plausible, and I really came to like Herman by the end!
Special thanks to Ginger Chen for sending me a review copy. I wasn't required to write a positive review, just my opinion on the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not just for Christmas

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sbams
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I normally like to keep Christmas books to read around the holidays but I couldn't wait to start on this one, so I dug right in. Don't get me wrong, there is Christmas in the book, but it's also a story I'd say just about anyone could relate to, which makes it a page-turner.
Susanna has a new husband, who probably wouldn't have been her first choice, though she does love him. The story involves the things almost all newlyweds go through - differing traditions, living up to the in-laws' expectations, remembrances of an old flame (when he suddenly pops back into town with Susanna on his mind), and learning to start a brand new life - with no turning back.
I very much enjoyed it ~ the push-pull and range of feelings made it not only believable, but kept it interesting. Plus it's not a real long novel, which makes it perfect for reading around the holidays (although like I said, I couldn't wait). I'd give it an A+. Good job, Jerry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry Eicher is a very talented author. I highly recommend Susanna's Christmas Wish. I enjoyed every page, from start to finish. Once I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down.
This book has been released just in time for Christmas. Jerry tells a story of the real meaning of Christmas.
The relationship between Susanna and Herman should be shared by all. I would love to see another book in this series.
A must read Amish fiction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Holiday Story

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
VickiA
Location:OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved "Susannna's Christmas Wish". It's a story that could be anyone's, no matter their faith. A true story of love and committment to your spouse and just a sweet story of a love that grew to be something she never expected. I wanted the story to keep going to see how their little family grew and grew
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love is the healing balm…

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Diane A Brown
Location:Cheyenne, WY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Susanna’s broken heart finds a home with her new husband Herman she relishes the chance to be a gut frau (good wife). But when Matthew, her old sweetheart, returns from the Englisga life Susanna’s world starts coming apart.
Will the love between newly married Susanna and Herman be strong enough to keep them together? What of the other differences, will they pull them apart or can they find common ground?
Susanna’s Christmas Wish will warm your heart, a wonderful addition to your holiday collection
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful Christmas story, a quick read

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susanna Keim married Herman Wagler after being jilted by Matthew Yoder who happened to be her sisters brother-in-law. Matthew and Susanna had been going out for two years and were engaged when he decieded to leave the Amish. He wanted Susanna to go with him but she refused so the engagement was broken since he is under the bann.
After a few months she finally agreed to let Herman take her home and since his Mamm agreed, he asked Susanna to marry him. She agreed even though she wasn't as in love with him as she'd been with Matthew, she thought she could grow to love him just as deeply.
Thanksgiving is around the corner and then there will be Christmas, she could hardly wait until Christmas day to spend with her family at her Mamm and Daedt's house. They always had a large family breakfast with everyone then spent the day enjoying the visiting and snacking before everyone would leave to go home. She knew that the Wagler's didn't celebrate new Christmas, they kept with the old Christmas, but she didn't think it would be a problem. Herman finally told her that they would not be going to her parents home because their family tradition would be as the Wagler tradition was always celebrated, the old Christmas. Susanna just didn't know how she would tell her family this and how she was going to get through this holiday season.
To make things worse, when she goes to her sister Mary's house to help prepare for Thanksgiving dinner she sees an Englisch car parked by the barn, she doesn't think too much about it until Mary meets her at the door and tells her that Matthew showed up the night before. Now she has to tell Herman that Matthew is back just after they'd had their first argument. When they return to Mary's for Thanksgiving dinner, Matthew still hasn't left like he said that he would, making the day very stressful for them. Not only is he there, he wants to talk privately to Susanna, she refuses, but he does catch Herman as he's getting the buggy ready to leave.
On the way home Susanna and Herman have quite the conversation and all does not go well. Herman stays out in the snowstorm until early morning making himself sick. Matthew has talked to the preacher stirring up trouble, and meddling Ivy, Herman's mother, comes over and stirs up more problems. This marriage doesn't seem to be going too well at this point.
I really did enjoy this short story! It gives you a glimpse into how, what I get the impression of anyway, a lot of Amish marriages start out. The bride and groom are just friends, marry for convenience (marrying a widow or widower to help with children for example), or because they are getting past the 'marrying age' and want to hurry and do so. Some couples grow to love one another and some don't, but they stay married regardless. Herman and Susanna have a lot of things working against them at a time that is supposed to be happy, being newlyweds and the holiday season. You'll have to read to find out what happens.
I would recommend that you get this book to read this holiday season, you won't be sorry.
I received this book from Harvest House Publishers for an honest review. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Amish story about Christmas

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking for a quick book with Amish believers as the main characters? This book is just what you are looking for! You will love every page.
The author, Jerry Eicher, does an excellent job of writing an easy to read and enjoy story. The characters are intriguing and their conversations will keep your attention. I thought the story itself about Christmas, past loves and current situations was relevant and everyone will enjoy it!
I gave this book 5/5 stars. I liked the story and how the characters interacted with each other. I liked the struggles the main character Susanna went through when deciding how to celebrate Christmas. I thought the ending fit the story and I would definitely read this book again!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Christmas Book

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Dawn
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Want some Christmas cheer in September? If so, check out Susanna’s Christmas Wish by Jerry Eicher. This is a short and sweet book that should take the Bah Humbug right out of you! Susanna and Herman are adjusting to married life when up pops Susanna’s old flame Matthew. He broke her heart when he left the community to become English. Matthew causes a stir and sends this couple’s marriage into a tailspin. Throw in a controlling mother-in-law, Herman’s refusal to allow any kind of Christmas celebrations, and you have yourself quite the little drama all wrapped up in one hundred and forty-one pages!
My only complaint about this book is that our main character is just a little too sweet. To me sugar and a little spice make everything nice. I wish the author would have given her more bite. Mix some sass in with all the sweetness. There are parts that had me shaking my head because I could never have bit my tongue like Susanna does! Her mother-in-law is a bit cantankerous and that’s putting it mildly. Overall Susanna’s Christmas Wish is sure to please fans of Christmas stories and will leave you ready for the holiday season. Let the countdown begin………
This book was provided to me from Harvest House Publishers for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful story of servanthood!

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susanna Wagler is trying hard to move forward and hoping to leave her past behind. But when your heart has been badly broken, it's hard to find ways to mend it again. She gave her heart many years ago to Matthew Yoder, who loved her and brought out all the goodness and love she had to offer. She believed after so many years of getting to really know him, that they would be married. In fact, when he asked, she was more than willing and ready to say yes. But little did she know that that simple answer would cause Matthew to realize he didn't really love her as much as she loved him. He left Susanna behind and went to live among the English. Now Matthew's been banned and Susanna has wondered if she could ever learn to love again.
Herman Wagler had waited most of his life for opportunity to present itself with Susanna. However, this was not the opportunity he had in mind, when he would spend months trying to find ways to heal her broken heart and restore the love she had inside. She did agree to marry him, but her heart just wasn't there. He hoped in time, she could come to love her as much as she loved him. But they were both raised to accept certain family traditions. For Susanna, her family celebrated Christmas as the English did on December 25th, while his family held on to the beliefs that it should be celebrated on January 6th. When Susanna asked him about spending time with her family on Christmas, Herman reminded Susanna that now that they were married, they would be establishing their own traditions and he would follow in the way he was raised and forbid Susanna to spend time with her family.
In the novel by Jerry Eicher, Susanna's Christmas Wish, invites the reader into a difficult time for newlyweds, Herman and Susanna Wagler. While this is just one of the many situations causing them conflict, Susanna is trying to fight her feelings of love and realizes, she loves Herman differently than she did Matthew. She knows she has to push back her past and try to find ways to really love Herman like she should and life suddenly becomes more complicated when Matthew comes to visit his family and is hoping Susanna's feelings for him, haven't changed.
I received Susanna's Christmas Wish compliments of Harvest House Publishers and Net Galley for my honest review. I am a huge fan of Christmas books and especially Amish romance novels, so when the opportunity presented itself to review this one, I knew I would enjoy it. I was not disappointed and truly admire Susanna's character. The choices she makes are admirable even despite not getting her way with trying to please her new husband, Herman. It shows that not all of our life choices are easy, but with grace and doing the right thing, great blessings can come from them. I rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wunderbar Christmas book by Jerry Eicher

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wunderbar book !!! Jerry Eicher has once again stolen my sleep as I have not been able to put Susanna's Christmas Wish down to close my eyes to get some sleep! I am a big Jerry Eicher fan, to begin with, and I love love love Christmas books. Poor Susanna is faced with a dilemma though: her new husband, Herman, does not celebrate Christmas as his family of origin felt it was an English custom and should only be celebrated in January on
Old Christmas and in a VERY simple manner. Then her old boyfriend, Matthew, who left the Amish and is under the bann, returns and starts talking and causing trouble. Susanna is trying so hard to be a good frau to Herman. I will not disclose more as I do not wish to spoil the book for other readers, but it is wunderbar! It is worth the time to indulge in reading. You will not be disappointed. This is a sweet, sweet book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish Book Once Again

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry's Christmas novels are always a joy to read and this new one is no exception. The theme throughout the book is, "Do Christmas wishes still come true?" And you can easily guess the answer!!! This book was a light, easy to read book, filled with the joy of the season. However, it cannot be without the challenges and problems of the Amish families and community. Life is full of those, regardless of where and how we live and Jerry brings them to life in his Christmas novel.
The main character, Susanna, has married Herman who is strict and firm to his family Amish upbringing. Susanna is a sweet young lady, who we immediately , to whom we immediately become attached. I felt , many times throughout the story , that I wanted to reach out and give her a hug. She cherishes family traditions of Christmas, as I do, however Herman has no use for the family get togethers that has always been an important part of Susanna's celebration. Must she follow the godly ways of her faith and obey her husband, in spite of her unhappiness?
Meanwhile, who should appear on the scene but an old flame, Matthew. He is an interesting character who is extremely well described. He had left the Amish life to go Englisha, Now, his confessions about his past threaten Susanna and Herman's hope for a successful and happy marriage. Herman begins to question himself and wonders if his love is good enough for his lovely bride. Is he worthy of her ????
The Christmas season is one in which we all feel the love of God and Jerry expresses this throughout his book. Will Susanna and Herman settle their differences and make a Christmas wish come true??
The plot of the story is one which is simple but compelling and one which makes one think of the meaning of the season. We are one with the Amish in this book. We all have traditions and wishes , but often must compromise with a spouse to make each other happy.
Thank you , Jerry , for this meaningful story . Another five star book!!!
This book was supplied by Harvest House and the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Susanna's Christmas Wish - eBook
This review is fromSusanna's Christmas Wish.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delightful Holiday Read!

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a quick enjoyable read. I picked it up as often as I could. I just had to find out what was happening with Susanna and Herman.
Susanna and Herman had not been married long when they had their first disagreement. Herman was adamant about keeping his family’s tradition when it came to Christmas. Susanna was upset that she wouldn’t be able to spend Christmas at her Mom and Dad’s this year. She was determined to be a good wife to Herman and go along with his family’s tradition.
Matthew turns up at Susanna’s sister’s house a week before Thanksgiving. Matthew was engaged to be married to Susanna at one time but left her for the Englisha world leaving Susanna heart broken. What was Matthew doing back in the community? Did he hope to get back with Susanna? Was he here to stay? Susanna was a married woman now. What was she to do?
This story shows how insecure two people can be when a marriage is threatened by outside forces.
I really loved this emotional read. Well, my emotions took over anyway. I will admit that I did shed some tears while reading this story. I found it to be a touching one.
I am looking forward to more great reads by this author!
I wish to thank Harvest House Publishers and Jerry Eicher for sending me this book to read and review. The opinions are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>