Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1

In 1891 in the mountains of eastern Kentucky, two young women stand at a crossroads. Both are proegees of the same mentor, Copper Brown, yet they couldn't be more different. Darcy Whitt falls in love with the town's handsome yet unscrupulous attorney who plots to take not only Darcy's land but that of her sister as well. Meanwhile, her beautiful sister-in-law, Cara Whitt, suddenly finds herself alone and afraid, living in a rickety cabin on the backside of nowhere. As they struggle with the realities of life, both women learn to rely on their faith above all else.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1
Review 1 for Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good book.

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Aunt Bea
Location:Wayland MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good book to read! Funny at times, yet insightful and tender at other times. Was able to see the Christian strength of some of the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ANOTHER GREAT JAN WATSON BOOK

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
NOISEY
Location:VERNAL, UTAH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OH THIS JAN WATSON BOOK WAS SO REAL. THE CHARACTERS SHE BRINGS ON PAPER ARE SO REAL TO LIFE. I ALWAYS WISH I COULD BE ONE OF THE CHARACTERS OR KNOW EACH ONE PERSONALLY. I ALWAYS RECOMMEND THESE STORIES TO MY FRIENDS AND THEY LOVE TO READ THEM AS MUCH AS I. THEY ALL SEEM TO HAVE A GREAT TWIST THAT YOU REALLY DON'T EXPECT AND WHEN IT HAPPENS IT IS ALWAYS A SURPRISE. MY FAITH IN GOD GROWS SO MUCH MORE IN THESE BOOKS. JUST ANOTHER GREAT STORY. I LOOK FORWARD TO READING MORE OF JAN WATSON BOOKS .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tracy Wasson
I started reading Jan Watson from the first book "Troublesome Creek". I have read all 4 of her books and emailed her personally to tell her how much I have enjoyed her books. In fact I emailed her to see when her 3rd book was coming out, thats how excited I was for it to be published! She is such an incredible author and draws you in from the first book to the last. I loved reading about Cara and Dimmert, and I can't wait until her 5th book comes out. I have personally asked our library to order all of her books, and they have the whole series now! I have told many of my friends at church to pick up Jan's books. She is rated as one of my personal, favorite authors. If you like down home comfort, and really desire to learn how the folks in Eastern Kentucky lived in the 1800's, read Jan Watson's books. They will give you an insight on the hardships many mountain people faced in that era. I highly recommend this awesome read... but start with Troublesome Creek...then you will be extremely familiar with all the characters, although you don't have to read these in order, but it sure helps! Buy it, read it, you won't regret it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruth B Tummino
I have read all these books and enjoyed them very much. They are so Ruthdown to earth and tell us we must hav faith. I also like the Amish book s and have a lot of them.to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beh K Clark
This is a great writer, the book was one you could hardly put down. I love this period in history and it did seem you were rtight in the middle of the characters and could alsmost see them. I especially liked the fact the characters used the word of God to combat the enmenys lies. Cant wait until the next one comes out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
I had not read Jan Watson before picking up Sweetwater Run, but upon completion I certainly hope to read more of Jan Watson in the future. Sweetwater Run looks to be book #4 in the series, but I would not say that you have to read the other 3 to enjoy this one, I enjoyed it immensely and it was a first for me.Sweetwater Run was refreshing and perplexing to me all at the same time. It is not your typical Historical Romance to say the least. First off, Cara and Dimmert are already married when this book starts (though I got the feeling that their story may have played out somewhat in previous books), so we watch a precious love in process, not a new love out of the gate. Second, in the first chapter Dimmert is hauled off to jail for something he didn't do and then sentenced to 2 years in prison. Um, what?!? You can't take one of the main characters away in the first chapter like that! This is supposed to be a romance! Oh, but wait. Jan can and did just haul him away... now what?I'll tell you what. Now instead of the same old cliched romance that we always get, we get so much more. We see Cara develop and grow as a person without Dimmert to lean on, but rather God to lean on. We see her friend Darcy fall in love with the wrong man, the really wrong man and how that plays out. Love, life, murder and more in Cara's life without Dimmert, yet somehow Dimmert is always there in spirit. This is a beautiful book that I really enjoyed and recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra Gray
I loved it! I have read all of Jan Watson'sbooks. and I loved Sweet Water Run! I cannotwait until the next one comes out! thanks
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carlton H.
Jan Watson has created a masterful work of fiction with SWEETWATER RUN, an adventurous tale set in the mountains of Eastern Kentucky in 1893. Watson picks up the beat from her previous TROUBLESOME CREEK series, focusing on the women of the Whitt family. Cara Whitt is faced with living the rough mountain life alone after her husband Dimmert is unjustly arrested. Cara's struggle to find faith and strength in God is the centerpiece of the book, but the Christian element is weaved seamlessly into the narrative, as natural as one of the cool Kentucky breezes mentioned in the book. SWEETWATER RUN also follows two other women in the Whitt family: Darcy, who has put her life on hold to care for her ailing grandmother Fairy Mae but who is distracted by a dashing yet mysterious lawyer; and Dance Shelton, who is struggling with the care of her ever-increasing brood alongside her amiable husband Ace. Romance, adventure, intrique, and glimpses of everyday mountain life are interwoven into a fine tapestry of a story. Watson is a master of period detail, with vivid descriptions of everything from the land to tasks like soap-making. Readers will feel like they've gone back in time, ready to sit a spell on the cabin porch and to enjoy a glass or two of buttermilk and a slice of fresh-baked cornbread. SWEETWATER RUN is a winner: 5 out 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kelly Blackwell
I have just so much praise for Jan Watson, and I am thinking "Where have I been?" I had no idea that Sweetwater Run was a part of a series. This is awesome for two reasons. First, the book totally stands firmly on its own. There is enough background given in the novel so that the reader does not feel as if they are walking in the middle of a conversation. Secondly, I now have the joy of having a new series to pick up!This is a Christian novel, but it is a story in which the Christian theme enhances the story rather than feeling as if it is thrown in at every turn to make it Christian. I really enjoyed seeing Cara turn to her faith in her times of distress.Obviously I have never lived in 1893, but the book brought scenes to my mind so vividly. The characters were solid and the relationships were drawn out so very well. I definitely caught myself giggling at moments but also touched in the heart at others. Sweetwater Run has all the makings of a fabulous story with a cast of characters that you grown to care for. I woud highly recommend this book, and I will certainly be catching up with the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sweetwater Run, Copper Brown Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Sweetwater Run is Jan Watson's newest Christian fiction novel. Jan Watson spent twenty-five years as a registered nurse and specialized in the care of newborns and their mothers. She has won numerous awards and contests for novels prior to this one. Once again, she has delighted her fans with characters that promise to enchant you as well as make you yearn for more. As I was telling my girls, I wanted so much to share the whole book with them but I had to hold back because I want them to read this book for themselves. I shed many tears, laughed and it left me hungering for more. I appreciated how she shared details of historical things, like how to create bars of soap, dress making and whittling wood into beautiful artwork. She made her characters come more alive by doing so. And oh, what characters you will read about Big Boy Randall and Pancake the mule are just a few.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.