Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Coming Attractions - eBook

Zondervan Coming Attractions - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Coming Attractions - eBook
Review 1 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Keeps getting better and better!

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The third book in this series definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat in the decisions Katie has to make! She continues to act on a whim as well as be adventurous! Loved the third book and just bought the fourth book yesterday to complete the series! Can't wait to see what happens next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great tragic romance book...

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mere
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great tragic romance book about Katie learning and changing, trying to discover who she is and who is her life-long love, whom she will be knit together at the heart with. It's a great book, I'm 12 and I like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Teens and young adults will enjoy

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
amreno87
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good series. I enjoyed it, because I have a daughter in college. It is better for that aged audience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Thoroughly enjoyed this series! I started reading the Christy Miller series when I was younger and liked this one as well! CBD customer service was very helpful and I will definitely be shopping from CBD again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
joanne
This is signature RJG here; she is at her finest! I too was flabbergasted when I realized early on how the book was going to turn out, but how could anyone not LOVE how she wraps up Katie's story? This is by far the best out of the Katie series, and one of the most romantic books by RJG I have read. This author has so much insight. I had tears coming to my eyes in parts where the words I read just rang so, so true in my own life. Characters are amazingly developed. This book was absolutely beautiful. I don't often say that about books I read...but this was exceptional. Real, raw, romantic...definitely a fitting conclusion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jane Morris
Robin Jones Gunn is an incredible writer. My friends and I really enjoy reading her books. This book kind of made me mad in the beginning and you'll know why when you read it. But, this is a great book that you need to read because you don't know what Katie's "coming attractions" may be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brianna Koenekamp
I thought the book was AMAZING! To say I was shocked by the book would be an understatement. I was baffled by it. I think Robin Jones Gunn did a wonderful job writing another book! I hope she writes more of this series! I really want to see what happens to Katie and Eli now!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Becca
I love this book. I love all her books. It is definately not what you expect if u have read the other ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Natasha Lambert
great book! loved it! the whole christy miller and friends series changed my life, if u havnt read the other books before this one, such as the christy miller volumes and the Sierra Jenson volumes then i recommend u read them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Devries
I loved the book! All my cousins, and sisters have been reading these books since we were young teens. Now, we are in our mid twenties, and we still read them all- and got excited like teens, when we found out that there were new books being added to the series! Every single one of us, has been positively affected by these books, and has made sure that there is a full series, on all of our book shelves for our daughters. They are great books, that will help mold your daughters into women of faith. Easy to read, it challenges girls today to stand up for Christ, and that just because we believe in Christ, in purity, and Godly things, doesn't mean that we are boring, or that we can't have fun with amazing people that God has placed in our lives. I would love to see even more books! God is working in the hearts of many teens, as they read these series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Some of you may know Robin Gunn from her Sister Chicks series, or the Christy Miller Series. I really enjoy those. Robin has a very smooth writing style that will make you laugh and if youre anything like me youll feel like shes reading your mind. Shes quite funny!The best part of the book was when Rick told Katie not to go hormonal on him. I had someone say that to me once, and I totally understood Katies reaction. I love how Robin includes everyday and relate-able slang. There was more than one time I caught myself laughing out loud with this book. I was smiling, or giggling, or waiting for something good to happen. Robin definitely kept me turning pages! The book is full of silly girl things that only girls can really understand and love! This is the kind of book that I would let any teenage girl read as well. Its full of characters that prove to be good examples and what friendship is about. I really love books that prove that. They put them in real dilemmas and struggles that we go through (or can live vicariously through lol). This book touches on subjects of the heart that most girls face at one point or another and youll find you might even tear up a bit amongst the laughter.If youre looking for a hilarious and heart warming read pick up a copy of Coming Attractions . I really had a hard time putting it down and loved all the different rides she took me on. Youll enjoy the tilt-a-whirly ride you go on!Thanks Robin for giving me a good giggle! I truly enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2009
From beginning to end Coming Attractions was just that ~ it kept me coming back for more. I didn't want to put the book down to do my other chores. You learn to love each character for who they are. This book is about making choices and right ones at that. Letting the Lord have His way in all you do. Katie who has a free spirit and loves adventure learns that sometimes you can really love someone and not end up spending your life with him because God has other plans for your life. He learns that Love is mysterious and an unconditional commitment to an imperfect person. Katie is courageous and ready to survive real love, but it hurts tuning it over to God. You can't plan real love it comes on it's own schedule, it's spontaneous and organic. God may keep us in suspense as to what lies ahead in life for us but He never abandons His children completely. I know you'll hardly be able to wait and see what the next coming attraction awaits Katie as you turn the pages of this book. It is all a mystery but you won't be disappointed I'm sure of that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Coming Attractions is my first experience reading about Katie and her friends and I have to say, I really enjoyed it. I am sure readers who have been reading this series from the beginning will be delighted with this latest book. I am a big fan of the Sisterchicks series and I know Robin Jones Gunn can always be counted on to write entertaining and wholesome stories that are centered around Godly principles. It is very refreshing to read a book about college students who do not participate in the kind of activities that most college students participate in. Mrs. Gunn is setting a Godly example for the young women who read her books. All that being said, I really enjoyed Coming Attractions. The story is interesting and funny. The characters are charming and endearing. This book brought back all the memories I have of my last few weeks of college and all the stress and work that had to be done. I really admired how Katie handled everything all the while keeping her heart focused on her faith. She has a wonderful group of friends who support her and help her, and they have some fun along the way. Katie got herself into some messy situations that were extremely funny and added such a nice touch of humor to the story just when it needed it.Overall, Coming Attractions is an excellent book, even if you have not read the previous books. This book is great for younger women, but I enjoyed it tremendously and I am well past my college years. Parents can buy this book and feel confident that their daughters will receive a Godly message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Coming Attractions by Robin Jones Gunn is the second book in the Katie Weldon series. It's always hard picking up a book that comes near the end of a series you are unfamiliar with, as it was for me with Katie and her friends, but Gunn keeps the exposition to just the necessary minimum. Katie is gearing up for her college graduation and considering a life with her long-time crush and new boyfriend (finally!), Rick. But their plans seem to keep running in different directions, and with Eli giving her looks of more than friendship, Katie has no idea just what her future may hold. Katie is a fantastic character and completely refreshing in that she doesn't beat herself up trying to live for other people but listens to the Holy Spirit and starts to live the life of adventure He has for her. So many books aimed at young adults feature characters that flail around wildly frustrating the readers with stupid choices and actions, but Katie is just the opposite (although I get the impression that this attitude is a new one for the character). Her faith is amazing, and her character wonderful. The connection between Eli and Katie is electric, and I dare the reader to get through the final pages without tearing up! I hope that Gunn isn't finished with Katie, because I'd love to read more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2009
I've been wanting to read this book ever since I encountered an excerpt with the weekly email club to which I belong. I am barely into this witty and we-written/easily read novel, but I am already so invested. I must admit that I'm rooting for Eli to win the heart of the lady fair, Katie, as it seems very obvious that he has feelings for her (and she for him, but she may not recognize those feelings for what they are). Anyway..."Coming Attractions" by Robin Jones Gunn is the third in the Katie Miller series, and a fine read. Katie is in her last few weeks of college before she graduates. Her boyfriend, Rick, may be "the one", but they've agreed to wait until after graduation before taking their relationship to the next level. Katie's (and Rick's)friend, Eli, always seems to be around when Katie needs something, and he is inspiring her to rekindle a fizzled relationship with God. I can't read these pages fast enough, and I am fighting every impulse to jump to the end of the book to see how it all turns out. But I'm growing ever-weaker...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2009
Coming AttractionsKatie Weldon SeriesRobin Jones Gunn2009ZondervanFiction/Christian/ContemporaryReviewed by Cindy LovenFor more than half her life, Katie Weldon had dreamed of being Rick Doyle's girl. And now she was, and had been for a year and a half. So why was she feeling so uneasy about her relationship with Rick? Why did it seem such a struggle to see him? Sure they were both busy, she finishing up her last semester in college and he working hard to open two cafes with his brother. Still there was a uneasiness in the relationship.When it hit her, being the every impulsive person she was, she had to share with Rick right then. Their relationship was over, because they had gone as far as they could go in their hearts. They were not knit together in their hearts. Rick is angry, hurt and downright mad at her. She is trying to deal with her own emotions of an ending relationship.Watch as Katie's friends help her through this sorrowful time, and help usher her into a relationship that she is very resistant to, but that is God ordained. Follow along as Katie, helps guide Rick into a new relationship with a close friend of hers. Be amazed at just how smoothly God works out this mangled and twisted relationship. While this book is part of a series, and there are references to happenings from other books, this story totally stands alone. You will enjoy it on its own, or perhaps be inspired to check out more of the series. A wonderfully written book, a well presented story. A story of love and grace. 288 pages $14.99 US
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
me
I really loved the ending, it's exactly what I would want for myself so I was so happy for katie:] I love ow robin writes. It's def. worth picking up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
blonde-wanna-b
I really liked this book. I feel that I can really relate to Katie. She and I have a lot in common! It is a very good book and I recomended it to ALL my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Coming Attractions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Kunte
I really enjoyed this final book in the Katie series. The ending may be a bit of a surprise for some and may be a disappointment for others. Robin Jones Gunn shines again. Thanks Robin for writing books for teens (and old folks too!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.