Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Possession

Tyndale House Possession

Police detective Vance Graegan quits the force in an attempt to save his marriage. During his family's cross-country relocation, the movers hold his belongings for ransom. He's determined not to let this stunt ruin his family's new beginning, but soon everything begins to unravel in the hands of Vance's past. Will a little boy's innocent faith bring the hope they desperately need?
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Possession
Review 1 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FUN SUSPENSEFUL READ

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Location:Atlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thrilled to receive a review copy of this suspenseful tale. Rene delves into a scenario so many people are facing right now. So many have recently lost so much due to catastrophic situations beyond their control such as hurricanes, fire and flood. Rene had experienced the Oklahoma bombing, saw the devastation and watched how others dealt with tremendous loss. She wanted to explore the idea of losing everything, what that would mean and look like?
Vance, the main character learns quickly how short life really is as they try to track down a sniper in Washington D.C. Vance and the other officers desperately try to come up with a common denominator between the shootings in order to determine where this ghost sniper would strike next. After that ordeal, Vance suffers from Post-traumatic stress disorder.
The author became interested in PTSD after she experienced the Oklahoma City bombing in 1995. It's similar to what vets experience but different. Rene does an amazing job of creating multi-layered characters that you instantly care about. I loved her first line, ‘Can you please state your full name?” She has the reader in court and Linda Greagan on the stand. I was swept into the story and was fascinated as to where Rene would take me next.
Vance reminded me of Bruce Willis in the Die Hard movie, who is smart, rough and tough but unlike Bruce who was saving the city, Vance had had enough of his job and wanted out. He was ready to start a new kind of life. He wanted to help his wife achieve her dream. Lindi’s dream was to own a Deli. It was something they could do together. His friends laughed at him but he was serious. He wasted enough years on the force risking his life for nothing. Now, was the time for his wife and son Conner.
Just when Vance thought things were going well, his wife quickly found a place to live, she had a lead on a perfect location for their Deli and they arrived in CA ahead of schedule.
Vance is in such a hurry to get this new life started and meet his family in CA he doesn’t take the time to read the fine print of his moving contract. All heck breaks loose when he gets to California to meet the movers. Moving is stressful on a good day but Vance’s experience is extreme.
His wife, Lindi, hears this from the moving worker, “Ma’am you are contractually obligated to pay us what you owe us.” That’s fine but this wasn’t the price they agreed on.
Vance is about to go ballistic when he hears this from his wife. What was happening? Vance learned over the years he had to departmentalize things; he couldn't get emotional because if he did he would miss something important. He would miss something he needed to solve the case. He was trained. Vance went into police mode to help him handle this crazy moving situation - just like he'd do with any case he was on.
On the gentler side of the story, I liked how their son, Conner, watched a televangelist on TV and got to know and accept Jesus has his personal savior. His parents weren’t excited about this event and hoped it would go away, when he grew up. They actually got scared when this behavior didn’t end. So, they took him to therapists to be observed. But the boy just kept being himself and would innocently share his relationship with Jesus and what it meant to him.
I enjoyed Conner and the beauty of a child’s love relationship and faith in Jesus is precious. I adored the part when Connor explained to his mom how to pray, “You have to always thank God first. That’s important. If you don’t be thankful, then you miss out on what God’s doing. You don’t see it… She wanted to hurry her son along in the prayer and Lindi says, “But let’s pretend we’re getting ready to be in a car wreck, and we need God’s help fast. Then what kind of prayer do you pray?”
“You don’t pray then, Mom, “Conner said. “You just trust that He’s there.” His mom saw great wisdom in her son’s eyes.
I loved the relational dynamic in this novel, the excitement, the honest spiritual thread and how Rene masterfully blends it all together. Amazing!
I highly recommend reading Possession, the book is a great escape into a world Rene creates, to make you laugh, sweep you up into a suspenseful drama and help you think about a few things along the way. Great combination! Thanks Rene for another book that had so much to offer at book club and is just a plain fun read.
The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
--
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good read

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book overall was good. A real page turner. In the end I think there should have been one more chapter or an epilogue summing up everything. I would have liked to know if they stayed in California, did they open the deli, did Vance get help, did mother and daughter become closer?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great thriller by Rene

Date:February 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review
Once again, Rene has written a page turner. I was expecting it, having read other of her books, but was actually surprised when i turned the last page that i had read all day... The story is told from both Vance's view point and his wife Lindy's. Very well written, sit-on-the-edge of your seat (which i literally did) action and suspense from the very first page to the last. What more can i say, without being redundant? It's another awesome thriller by Rene.
Thanks to Rene Gutteridge for this book. She did not ask me for a review, nor did i need to write a positive one! I look forward to reading Listen.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

must read thriller list for 2011!

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amydeanne
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Renee's attention to detail and just enough Je ne c'est pas to tangle me deep into the book that it was all I could think about for two days while I read it. It was soooooooooo delicious! I love how the scenes played out and messed with me - just when you thought it was one thing, it was something else, and just when you didn't think it could be this, it was that! She kept me on toes through out the whole book. I loved the theme throughout the book of hope and redemption - that you can't hide from the truth. I loved how involved you got with the characters! Lindy was a doll, but definitely not a push over - she seemed like any one of my friends, and Vance - he was what I imagined a burnt out cop would be like -- along with the slew of other characters that kept the story hopping! Possession had me chasing nightmares right along with them!
So if you're a thrill rider, this one won't disappoint!
*review copy provided in exchange for my honest opinion
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Compelling Read

Date:January 6, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Because I enjoyed Rene Gutteridge's Listen, when I spotted another available for review, I took the opportunity. And I was not disappointed. Everything seems to be going right at first, but once the ransom comes in, things start getting weird. It’s a small cast of characters and intertwined in a way that will surprise readers. I personally figured it out as I was reading, but kept thinking I was wrong. Even with that, the book was still quite enjoyable! Eight year old Connor’s faith is impressive. Though the times when he prays comes across as silly, it’s only because that’s the way his parents see it at first. His influence helps his parents get through the ordeal and help them realize that the God he believes in is real. Tyndale House Publishers provided this book for review.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Possession

Date:January 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished Possession by Rene Gutteridge and was amazed by this book. I love Christian suspense and this tops many books that I have read this year. She has written both suspense and comedy books and I feel her suspense is by far the best of the two. I was so intrigued by the premise of the book. A family starting over in a new town and the movers decide to hold his belongings for ransom. That is not all of the problems-Vance has withheld things from his wife about his past that are being brought to the surface. This story also focuses on the life of a homicide detective and the toll it takes on them. I loved the son Conner who is a real prayer warrior. He teaches his parents that God does answer prayers and demonstrates great faith in the situations he was put in. There are plenty of twists and turns throughout the book and it really is a page turner . I found myself trying to figure out what is really happening and who is the " bad guy". I am not going to tell much more of the storyline but my recommendation is to buy it and you also will be amazed with this suspense story. A huge thanks to Tyndale Publishers for letting me read this free for my honest opinion.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Riveting story

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What would you do if you moved halfway across the country only to find out that all your belongings are being held for ransom and the amount is $8,000 and rising with each day? Vance and Lindy Graegan find themselves in the midst of this nightmare. Vance is a retired detective and Lindy has a dream about opening up a deli somewhere in California. This is supposed to be a new beginning for them, not only in jobs, but also in their marriage. Conner, their 8 year-old is somewhat embarrassing to Vance and Lindy. Here this child goes around praying to God. The Graegan's think it's just a phase and that he'll grow out of it. Little did they know that it is Conner's faith in God that not only holds the family together, but brings them through this horrifying trial they are facing!
I was hooked as soon as I read the prologue, but was somewhat disappointed in how slow the beginning of the book was. Looking back though, the pace was pretty good because by the end of the book your heart is pounding and you can't put the book down! This was one of the best suspense books I've read in a while. Rene Gutteridge does an amazing job of showing how much hopelessness the lost have without God in their lives. What a difference it makes when He is the One taking control of the reigns. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who loves mystery and suspense!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well written

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary hess
Location:Summerville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love reading novels. And this story did not disappoint! It was very fast paced and I actually read it in one long sitting! If you are into thrillers and suspense novels, you sure need to grab a copy of this book! And what was so amazing is that the author, Rene Gutteridge, was able to weave God into this storyline and keep you on the edge of your seat! This book was well-written and I would recommend it to any one!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Possession by Rene Gutteridge

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first read the description for this book, it did not sound terribly interesting to me, but very often to me, it is more about the author and not so much about the story. I have read a couple of Rene Gutteridge’s books and I have always loved her writing. Her last book, Listen, was fantastic. So, I decided I would like to read her new book. I’m glad I did because the writing I have come to really like from her was very present in Possession. The story starts very quickly and the suspense continues to build throughout the whole story until the book reaches a satisfying and uplifting conclusion.
I must admit that I was mildly disappointed that I figured out who the bad guy was early on in the story, but that revelation is made with a lot of story left, so there were still some very clever surprises that made this book very exciting and intense at times. The sweet and simple faith of eight-year-old Conner brought the Christian angle into the story without it feeling forced or out of place.
The one intriguing thing about this story when I first read the description was Vance’s history with investigating the DC sniper case. The after-effects of this event in Vance’s life adds to the intensity of the story as he deals with post traumatic stress.
Overall, Possession is another fantastic suspense novel from a very gifted author. I am once again quite pleased with Rene’s work and I am very glad I decided to read this book. I highly recommend this book, especially to fans of suspense. It is a very entertaining and intense story. I would have loved an epilogue though, but I can just use my imagination.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well written highly recommended

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
CYChan
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the aftermath of investigating the D.C. sniper case, police detective Vance Graegan is burned out on life and love. Hoping to save his marriage, he quits the force and moves his wife, Lindy and his son, Conner to the other side of the country. But when the movers decide to hold his belongings for ransom, Vance is determined to ensure that his family’s new beginning is not ruined.
When Vance deals with the movers on his belongings, he is undergoing a lot of stress. Vance actually is having post-traumatic stress disorder without himself realizing it. Very often he has migraines, nightmares, seeing scenes of those days when he is awake and he can’t stand in open spaces. Vance has limited resources since he has already quit the force and he knows no one in the new place.
Thing has become worst when the mover threatens Vance with the secret of his past. Just when Vance realizes who is behind all these there was a corpse in his new house. Vance was being charged and held up in the prisoner while Lindy and Conner are being held by the person who wants to take away everything that Vance has.
There are some spiritual content in the story and mostly comes through Conner, who become a Christian by watching a televangelist. And his innocent faith brings hope to this family.
Possession is a very good book. It is not slow-paced. I find it very intriguing and just want to keep turning the pages well into the night. This book also makes us think what really matters in our lives. It’s so easy to get caught up in the extras of life that were intended as blessings but become harmful when we elevate them over what truly matters.
I rate this book 4 out of 5.
Note: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DYNAMITE Suspense!

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Intense. Page-turner. Gripping. Passionate. Emotive.
Those are just some of the words that come to mind as I sit down to write the review of Rene Gutteridge’s dynamite book POSSESSION. I couldn’t stop reading this book. I would steal snatches at every available opportunity. The dialogue is snappy and never stops for breath. The descriptions pulled me into the story with strong verb usage and clearer than clear settings and characters. Each actor in this “play” had their own sets of challenges and struggles to the highest degree. I believed every emotion that poured forth from their tormented souls.
What I loved so much about this book is the author knows exactly where to stop a scene in that absolute worst conflict, then turn and switch to another scene and character. Talk about not being about to put the book down!
The book flows with urgency and depth, there are moments of relief, more for the reader than anything else, but quickly escalate once again. Just when you think it can’t get worse it does.
From a dynamite finish to an explosive ending, this book has to be one of the best suspense novels I have read this year. I LOVED it! A winner for many suspense fans I am sure.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Possessions are not everything!!

Date:December 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What would you do if you were about to lose all of your possessions? Vance Graegan is about to find out. He is now a retired police detective moving his family across the country to California to find peace and settle down. Vance is driving west to meet his wife, Lindy, and son, Conner. He has one stop to make. He is meeting his old partner, Erin, in Chicago. This is where everything seems to change for Vance. See, Vance is battling PTSD. He has been on a case that has taken much from his life. Vance is carrying secrets and someone knows just what they are. Will it be those secrets that brings him to his knees or will those very secrets free him from his past? He is burned out and reality is not as it seems. Once in California all of their possessions are taken. They have nothing and each other doesn't seem to be enough until that too is almost taken. As the movers want more than Vance is willing to give, he thinks this is somehow tied to the D.C case he was working on. Is someone after Vance and his family? As we see this family go through one tragic trial after another one thing is visible. Their son's faith. The very person Vance was trying to protect is now wanting to take everything he has. I enjoyed this book. It was a suspenseful page turner for me. I desperately wanted this family to come together. Their characters are real and people we can relate to. We tie ourselves around what we own and think of our stuff as some sort of protective screen. When in fact it isn't the things we own, but what we are willing to give up that brings us to our faith. I love how Rene brings the faith of a child to the forefront of this book. This family is hurting and from one child's faith, springs a lifetime of hope.
This book was a gift from Tyndale for it's review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing fast paced page turner

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One Word: WOW this book is so page turning and fast paced you won't want to and can't put it down. I mean this book has so many twist and turns you will be second guessing every thought you have on who did this and why! I have read another of Renee's books Listen and that book was so great I jumped at the chance to review another one of her books. She has sold me I'm a big fan now and will be getting her other christian suspense books that she writes for sure. I love how she builds the story and places you right there in the action with in the first few pages (paragraphs really). Possession was amazing and you will not be disappointed so add this to your 2011 reading list, while your making out that list add Listen if you haven't read that one yet to.
Thank you Tyndale for sending my a ARC copy of the book for review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Well-written but not quite believable

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer D
Location:Hamilton, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rene Gutteridge's new thriller novel, Possession, follows a former policeman and his family as they head to California for a fresh start by starting a deli. Instead of breaking free from the past (and specifically the D.C. shooting rampage), the past begins haunting them in some scary ways.
The story begins well. I found the premise plausible and the characters believable. The author writes well for a thriller and uses good pacing. The beginning sucked me in because I wanted to know the "secrets" constantly mentioned.
As the story progressed, though, I found the plot less and less believable. I guessed who was behind the whole ordeal and didn't think that the characters came to God in a realistic way. I am in favor of getting out the word on PTSD, but the portrayal in the novel was confusing. The grandmother figure was complex and acted as a deus ex machina during one scene. Plus, they never say if they started the deli or not! If you like thrillers that are relatively clean, you might want to read it. Otherwise, I'd pass. [I received an advance review copy from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for an honest review.]
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Possession
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Novel of Mystery and Suspense

Date:November 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Miriam
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Possession by Rene Gutteridge was a mystery suspense novel that kept my attention throughout the entire book. I had a hard time putting it down until the end. I kept wanting to read to see what was to happen next. Vance Graegan has retired early from his lifetime job on the police force. He is ready to put his police work behind him with all the stress and secret information that was involved. He loads up his family and they move to California where his wife can pursue her dreams to manage her own deli. We he arrives in California and finds a place to live, his movers have other plans and hold his belongings demanding more money. What begins as a seemingly random act of violence turns out to be a mind grappling mystery, where the detective finds himself the victim of hidden secrets from his past. It really was nothing like what I expected from reading the description of the book. The description interested me in the book, but the authors style of writing had me hooked. Any lover of Christian mystery and suspense would appreciate the style and content of this book. The title is a common title for books, but the “Pay now or lose everything” on the cover leads readers to the correct thought content for the book.
I was provided a free Advanced Reader Copy of this book from Tyndale Publishers as part of their book blogger review program. I was under no obligation to provide a positive review. The content of this review is strictly my own writing.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.