Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Springtime of the Spirit

Tyndale House Springtime of the Spirit

By the fall of 1918, the Great War has ended and the world is at peace, but there is little to celebrate in Germany. After four years of fighting for his homeland, Christophe Brecht returns to find there is little left of what he once called home. So when family friends ask him to travel to Munich to bring back their runaway daughter, Christophe agrees. When he finally locates Annaliese Duray, he discovers she is far different from the girl he once knew. Headstrong, idealistic, and beautiful...
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Springtime of the Spirit
Review 1 for Springtime of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed in Texas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book. Enjoyed reading. Springtime of the Spiriit is a good Christian fiction book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Springtime of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a wonderful story

Date:December 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
PharmD
Location:Johnston,SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I could not put this book down!!!! It's is historically and spiritually accurate. The message of God being the only one in control of peace and his ability to turn all bad into good is a great message that we all need to be reminded of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Springtime of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

My review of "Springtime of the Spirit"

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doreen
Location:Maryland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the first book that I've ever read by Maureen Lang. It's entitled, "Springtime of the Spirit" and it's part of her Great War series. The story is set in Munich, Germany, after the end of WWI. Germany has been defeated and soldiers are marching home.
A lovely lady by the name of Annaliese Duray is very passionate about politics and is giving women and the working class a voice in the new government. Christophe enters the scene, a family friend to bring her home...sent by Annaliese's Mom, Frau Duray. She doesn't want to go home. Annaliese and Christophe end up having an attraction towards one another and they end up staying in Germany rather than going home, to America with Annaliese's parents.
Disclaimer: Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Springtime of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good historical romance!

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyful21
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the first book I've read by Maureen Lang and I was impressed. A nice historical romance. This is set post WWI in Germany. One of the main characters Annaliese grew up wealthy but was advocating for peace and equality for all. Christophe, who was a friend of Annaliese growing up, was sent by her parents to bring her back to her home knew that true peace is only available through Christ. Through the story, Annaliese comes to find the truth that although we can try to promote peace here on earth is it only found through Jesus. You will enjoy this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Springtime of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful! Lang's best book yet!

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Springtime of the Spirit was difficult to put down. I read the story in just a few days, and it's not a short book. I think this is Maureen Lang's best book. I enjoyed the previous book in the Great War series, but this even tops that one, probably because of the communist versus socialist theme during that time period.
I've always found it tragic that Europe has gone through so many wars and so much bloodshed. It's even more tragic when countrymen kill each other with the hopes of making the country better, only to make things worse. The developing emotional relationship between Annaliese and Christophe was incredible to witness. While drawn to each other, they fought closeness for many different reasons. I worried for their safety but also admired them for their bravery and commitment to what mattered to them.
The spiritual arc in this story was impressive, too. It came out naturally but it also made a lot of practical sense. It's so true that we each need to find a relationship with God for ourselves. Sometimes that's hard to do when we want to please someone else. In fact, that may influence things to the point where it's not the result of a true desire to know God, but more like the desire to have a connection with the person you don't want to lose. That was very well done.
I could go on about all of the things I loved about this book, but I'd have to say that true Christian compassion and sacrifice really struck me as the main theme in this story. Forgiveness played a part, but it was showing Christian love that hit home for me. There is something in every book that Lang writes that reaches my heart. This one was no exception.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Springtime of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Multi-faceted as the onyx pin...

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another in Ms Lang's Great War series! Springtime of the Spirit is set in Munich after the end of WWI. Passion for change and the political unrest of that time infect the writer, due to Ms Lang's talent. The war and its aftermath are emotional catalysts for the character's beliefs, fears and actions. The characters are as multi-faceted as the onyx pin the heroine holds dear. Flaws in the characters and the politics make this an intriguing read and demonstrate how passion for a cause can lead and can also mislead. Ms Lang subtly weaves romance with the history making both believable and a "can't put it down read".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Springtime of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Springtime of the Spirit by Maureen Lang

Date:April 5, 2011
Springtime of the Spirit by Maureen Lang provides a unique perspective on life after "The Great War" (better known to most of us as World War I). Set in Germany in 1918, the story focuses on the rebuilding of Germany, with various factions each fighting for a new type of government that will provide a better future for the people.
Analiese and Christophe, childhood friends, find themselves on opposite sides in this battle for freedom and rebuilding Germany. Analiese is devoted to socialism and fairness for all. While Christophe sees some of the good things in socialism, he ultimately believes that God is vital to the success of any new form of government.
I found this book to be truly thought-provoking. It was interesting to see the perspective of each character. Reading the motivation behind why they felt socialism or communism would be the system to rebuild Germany on, reading about their thoughts on how terrible capitalism was and how capitalism was to blame for Germany's involvement in the war, reading about the doubts that Christophe (a Christian) had about his involvement in a war he's not sure he truly believed in, the doctrines of fairness and equality debated between socialists and Christians. It just made me think. A lot. Obviously, the book is fictitious, but I imagine that these thoughts would have been shared by actual people living in Germany in 1918. Most of the books set in various historical periods focus on America's role in events, so this was a refreshing change and gave me a new perspective.
At times I felt like the book was a bit heavy on the speeches and the political views of the socialist party that is trying to come to power. It was a little wordy and sometimes confusing ... causing me to put the book down on more than one occasion. However, once I got further into the book, the pace picked up, and I found it to be quite thought-provoking.
This is a bit more of a "thinker" than I was prepared for, but I enjoyed the book. Additional books in the series focus on characters living in France and Belgium during the Great War.
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Springtime of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great War Book

Date:March 25, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never read any books by Maureen Lang, but I'm glad to say that will now change. She is such a great author! I wasn't for sure whether or not I would like this book at first because I don't typically like fictional books based on war. However, she did a great job of drawing me into reading page after page.
The book is based in Germany in 1918. The war has finally ended, but there's not a lot to be happy about due to what all has gone on during the war. When Christophe returns from fighting in the war for his country of Germany, he is upset to find that his country is now fighting each other within the country. However, once he has returned, a family friend has asked for his assistance to fetch his daughter and bring her home safely to him. The last thing Christophe had on his mind was falling in love with Annaliese, the lady he was to safely return. She's outspoken in the political scene to give women, and those working, a voice in the new government in Munich. She's not thrilled that Christophe has to bring her home and isn't afraid to let him know that.
While falling in love, they have to face the fact that their beliefs are different. Communism enters the stage and they both have to decide how they feel about it. Will Annaliese abandon her faith for a system of beliefs that she's not for sure she really understands or can follow through with?
_________________________________________
This book was received by Tyndale Publishers free for my review of this book. I did not have any stipulations as to what my review must say.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Springtime of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Springtime Of The Spirit Review

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Springtime Of The Spirit (Great War Series)
Maureen Lang
5 Stars
Tyndale House Publishers
Release Date- 3/2/11
What an amazing novel. I was a little skeptical at first when I seen it was a war story, but the description of the book sounded like it would be quite interesting. I am so glad I did as it’s a book that once you start reading you will not put down till you have finished it.
Germany 1918, end of WWI and there is little to celebrate . After four years the war is over and Major Christophe Brecht is returning home to the only family he has left, his sister Nitsa only to find she has left for America. Annaliese Duray at 17 years old left home after the death of her sister Giselle and has joined the movement in Munich to help make Germany a socialist country. When Christophe , an old friend of the Duray’s is asked to find Annaliesa and bring her home he does not realize the political upheaval he is about to become involved it. One thing he has going for him, he has not given up his faith and his love for God, something Annaliese has done. Can he now convince her to return home to her parents and once again regain her faith and belief as she had before. When the Socialist lose the vote and Germany has turned to Communism, can Christophe now convince her to leave before it is too late.
This is the first book I have read by this author and I really like the way she brings her characters to life. Not only the main characters of the novel but also the secondary characters as well. The book is well versed in the time period showing that the author did quite a bit of research before writing the novel. The book carries a strong message of politics, protagonists, war and faith. Even if you think of the book being about the Great War don’t let that deter you from reading the book as one follows Christophe and Annaliese as their loyalty to the fatherland, their love and their very lives lie in jeopardy.
This book was provided by Tyndale publishers and a positive review was not required. The opinions expressed here are strictly my own views of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Springtime of the Spirit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Politics, History, Faith and Love Collide

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a pleasant read this books was. I have read most of Maureen Lang's books and I always expect to be touched. In Springtime of the Spirit, Maureen has told a wonderful love story in post WWI Germany. I was not sure the period would interest me, but her storytelling ability kept me riveted from the first page. She has a way of digging up historical facts we might not know and weaving them into her stories.
Annaliese Duray and Christophe Brecht come from German bourgeoisie into the turmoil of struggling lower classes. Annaliese believes in total equality as the only way for peace. Christophe understands true peace comes only through faith. As the two clash, they also find honesty, loyalty, and love.
This is a great book. Settle down and prepare to enjoy learning some history and fall in love again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.