Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan

Tyndale House NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan

Introducing the NLT Study Bible. The product of over forty Bible scholars and seven years' work, it is the most comprehensive study Bible ever created. The notes focus on bringing out the full meaning of the text, allowing the reader to understand the Bible more deeply than ever.

Please note: This Bible cannot be imprinted.

Feature details:

  • 25,900 study notes (over 820,000 words)
  • Maps, charts, & illustrations
  • Ten section introductions provide an overview of the literature and history of each section of the Bible, showing how the books are related to each other and to the rest of Scripture
  • Theme articles and person profiles (406 total) highlight recurring ideas and describe the lives of those who inhabit the pages of scripture
  • 100 Greek and 100 Hebrew word studies
  • 100 quotations from modern and ancient writers
  • Words of Christ in red
  • 9-point text
  • Recommended further reading at the end of each book and section introduction
Average Customer Rating:
4.797 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(148 Reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (148 reviews)
5 stars
131
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
45 out of 4796%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Review 1 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
This review is fromNLT Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly, the Truth Made Clear!!

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Leah
Location:Pittsburgh, Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never have I owned a Bible that had me reading chapters and whole books at a time! The readability of the NlT is wonderful. It is easy to understand yet still feels true to its time period. The study aids and notes are interesting and relevant without being too detailed and clinical. I can't recommend this Bible enough!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ak Bob
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the selection and quality of your products. The service has always been very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gift

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patti
Location:Jackson Center, Pa.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my daughter today. She was baptized yesterday, and this was my gift to her. This is the bible her preacher uses in church, and she really likes it. She is mentally challenged, and she says it is really easy to understand.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The NLT Study Bible is all I hoped it would be.

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Genie B
Location:Rogue Valley, Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find that since I received my new NLT Study Bible-Indexed, that I understand the Good News and from where and whom it was written. It answers all the questions I had concerning the books of the bible and their authors.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
This review is fromNLT Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It has a Catholic article in the Bible

Date:May 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alex
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Why would the people who was behind the NLT Study Bible allow false doctrine to be included behind the bible. It has a Catholic article saying that we need other material which is authoritative like scripture to understand scripture. Behind the Study Bible a Catholic theologian said that we need the Catechism to interpret the Bible. This is what the catechism teaches for example: 460 The Word became flesh to make us "partakers of the
divine nature":
78"For this is why the
Word became man, and the Son of God became the Son
of man: so that man, by entering into
communion with the Word and thus receiving divine s
onship, might become a son of God."
79"For the Son of God became man so that we might become God."
80"The only-begotten Son of
God, wanting to make us sharers in his divinity, as
sumed our nature, so that he, made man, might
make men gods."
Has you can see above how Satanic that is.
The NLT as false doctrine in back of it. It's titled "Introduction to the time after the Apostles". Read under the section "SCRIPTURE AND TRADITION" . Basically it says that you need the Catholic Tradition to understand the Bible and and is as authoritative as the Bible. Now, that's false doctrine.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Birdie
Location:Raleigh,NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is just the Bible I need to help me understand what I'm reading. I enjoy being able to study without having to call someone to explain everything and it is not always easy
to reach the person you need. I love my King James version
but sometimes it is hard for me to understand. This NLT Study Bible is wonderful. I'm still getting use to it. It's a little heavy but that's ok I love reading it and getting a clear understanding of what God is saying to me . Thank You very much.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Red or Pink?

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Akronym
Location:Akron Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you are looking for a red letter edition of any bible you might do best to shop locally. This way you could peruse the pages and decide if the color meets your expectations.
There is no 'richness' or depth of color in the red of the edition I received. On many pages the color is more of a pink or washed out red.
I think the publisher would to better to offer an edition with the words of Christ in bold letter. The red was conceived to represent the blood of Christ. But for me the color is more about finding a verse more quickly. At least with bold letters you would always be able to see the words, even if you are color blind. I don't think the publisher is saving much cost in ink here.
I have over seventy copies of various editions of the bible. Mostly to give away, but again, some red letter editions are rich in color while others are faded. So if you want color depth in your red letter edition you might do better to have a copy in hand that you can examine before you buy it.
I wanted this edition not only for its' translation but for the commentary. So, even though I may struggle a little with the inconsistent red color I guess I got mostly what I wanted. Still, one would have to wonder why a publisher, who is dealing in the most life changing words ever written wouldn't want to offer those words in the most brilliant of color. Hmmm...?
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
This review is fromNLT Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible!

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
simon94
Location:The Netherlands
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love all the stuff that is available in the NTL Study Bible. Use it from time to time for commentary since I mainly use the ESV Study Bible. I love the theme articles and person profiles. I also love how those or the commentary is Christ centered!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Words are easy to understand

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ninie
Location:Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Really nice bible, but too heavy! The format makes understanding the bible easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
This review is fromNLT Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Full Throttle Jesus Freak
Location:Lodi Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love the resource ! I have only kept my Bible I bought from you . and I have given new believers in my sphere all of the others . QUESTION ? I am am now an Incorpration ( ae: Non Profit ) May I get a different pricing ? Let me know by e mail please ! Thank you for your time .
The LORD bless you
Gary
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rachel Gillum
Location:Mocksville, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy this reading and studying. It's a fresh translation which is so easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

There's not one thing about this Bible that isn't

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debi Graham
Location:Blairsden CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT! I got this for my husband as a Christmas gift. He was so excited to get into this translation. And the study notes... they are wonderful. We can't say enough about how much we like it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
This review is fromNLT Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
TheLambOverMe
Location:Gisborne, New Zealand
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This study bible has fantastic footnotes, visual aids and colorful maps that help me understand with more clarity.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
This review is fromNLT Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is of excellent quality more then expected.

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shanna
Location:OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is so full of references you would not have time to read scripture, so have opted to read the scriptures and only read the notes when want to get a fuller picture.
This bible is excellent for a new believer and we use this version for preaching to those who have limited knowledge of English.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fresh Approach to God's Word w/Awesome Notes!

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Crazydays4444
Location:Willows, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 19 years old in Christ (39 in earth years). I cut me teeth on KJV for over 4 years of intense study, and relying Completely on The Holy Spirit to teach me. Yet in KJV we do come to the passages and Verses that we are "almost 100% sure it is saying because of God's Spirit, yet we can't explain it. This cuts out all that "unable to expalin"! Of Course KJV will always be my Standard for the Use of God's Word, and as we are in the "last days" it has been proven faithful, and thus is wise to be "Well-Aquainted" with the text of KJV! As many we reach will accept nothing else "due to tradition and mis-understanding"... But to comment on this beautifully formed Translation of God's Word, I am Very very' Pleased with all the new understanding I gained when I first came across the first NLT (not the study bible), but as it opened so many verses and parables into the way we could just read straight from the text of the NLT and not have to paraphrase or inflect our opinion on!
Fast forward to March 2009. I married a wonderful woman. As should all godly Marriages~ (according as The Holy Spirit leads each) I purchased one brown soft-cover NLT Study Bible, and one Black w/ Floral Stripe for us to exchange and honor God 1st in our union in wedding vows!
My wife is not as mature in Christ, but that is ok, as God expects the husband of a godly marriage to be the spiritual head. Back to the Bible! lol It has so many notes that are new and had not been known in years past! It has many excerpts of teaching's on many pages that help one grasp the just of the book being studied! And the preview to each book in the bible is incredibly useful/accurate/and is the best Trailer for entering into the study of that book!
As a mature man in Christ who still holds to KJV as the Standard. This bible has opened God's Word in so many ways, but mainly for those verses that we get "stuck" on and wonder about (Even as we have understanding in The Holy Spirit) it is a proven when discovered in the text of the NLT. If you wish to compliment the KJV~ Use as a 2nd Bible ~I would even venture to say this could be used as a Main Bible text! Especially for youth or young adults. And Christians** If you need a Priceless gift FOR ANY OCCASION! I rarely reccomend anything. So, for this man to write so pasionately about this particular Study Bible, you have a guarantee of well-pleased with this Bible.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mixed Review

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Earl C
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I hope I don’t give the wrong idea with my summary header “Mixed Review”.
Let me explain. This Bible is a quality product beautifully bound, with a hardy attractive cover and gold guilt page edges. I researched the Bible versions extensively before choosing the NLT. I wanted to be sure whatever version I chose would be as true to the original manuscripts as possible. I believe the NLT is. I enjoy the NLT version because it gives me a new perspective on the Scripture that I have read in the past in the KJV and NIV. I was raised on the KJV and although the old English is sometimes difficult to relate to and understand I do miss the poetic flow of many of the Psalms and other very lovely Scripture passages in the KJV. This was my same issue with the NIV and it would most likely not be an issue for most other people. The only other issue I have with the NLT besides the loss of the poetic flow of the text is that I would like to have more commentary in the foot notes for the various passages. My old Bible was a “Life Application Study Bible” and I found some of the footnotes there helpful. The “NLT Study Bible” has footnotes and some commentary but just not as much. I will say that the information before each book talking about the author of that book and the setting of the writing is great and very helpful in understanding and applying the teaching in that book. Those just starting out studying the Bible might find the NLT to be a real help in that it really puts the text in a way that is more easily understandable to us today. My old Bible was underlined and notated all over. I chose not to transfer any of that but rather to approach my reading with fresh and “uninfluenced” eyes and heart. I’m finding this to be a good experience.
All in all I am happy with this Bible and with the fast, good service, as well as the best pricing I was able to find from ChristianBooks.com. Hope this review helps someone.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This translation is not true to the word of God

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
MSAdvocate
I purchased this to give as a gift. Seeing that it was (supposedly) an updated version of The Living Bible, I thought it would be good starter version for a teenager. This is a completely rewritten version and is not the word of God. The ribbon opened to Amos 2:6-8, topic: Judgment on Israel. The lower half of the page was a study guide on the topic, titled (in very large font), "Social Justice."
In Amos 2:6-8, the original "meek" is now "the oppressed;" "drink the wine of the condemned" is now "they drink wine bought with 'unjust fines;' " and the original, "they lay themselves down on clothes laid to pledge by every altar," became "At their religious festivals, they lounge in clothing their debtors put up as security."
For those who are not familiar with the King James Version, New King James, American Standard or the Catholic Douay-Rheims version, "Social Justice" is not the Word of God. Justice comes from God. We are commanded to personally treat others as we want to be treated; we are to love our neighbors as ourselves. We are not to judge. There is nothing collective about it. RUN from this version!
-27points
7of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
This review is fromNLT Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michael
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great book, the text and arrangements are well structured. I will find this very useful.
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall Great

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
MegSchell
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The print was not as large as i thought it would be. Other than that it's a great bible with lots of explinations. It's great for me to read becuase it allows me to understand it better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NLT Study Bible, TuTone Imitation Leather Brown/Tan
This review is fromNLT Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features!!

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
chester
Location:steinbach manitoba
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my Husband and he just loves it! Especially the Study part of it,we would recommend it to anyone!:)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12345 ...8Next >>>