Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Payback in Panama, Cuban Trilogy Series #3

Zondervan Payback in Panama, Cuban Trilogy Series #3

U.S. Treasury Agent Alex LaDuca enters the endgame of her long running and treacherous duel with the heads of the Dosi Cartel, an international money laundering and drug smuggling ring. At the same time, Alex finds romance for the first time since her fianci was killed in Kiev many months earlier.

Reaching deeply into her Christian faith for spiritual guidance and a moral compass, Alex moves resolutely against her foes. She calls in trusted contacts from the past for a do-or-die operation. Her path takes her into the criminal underground of America's east coast, south into the violent underworld of Central America, across Honduras, El Salvador, and finally to Panama for a shattering confrontation with her foes. Alex's career, her life, and her future with the man she loves are all at stake. After a final payback in Panama, nothing will ever be the same.

Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Payback in Panama, Cuban Trilogy Series #3
Review 1 for Payback in Panama, Cuban Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great suspense

Date:January 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
MEJ99
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Language: 0.
Other Objectionable: Kissing, flirting, several scenes at a night club, with various activities there describes briefly, details of crimes, gang violence, attacks, shooting, some minor characters are killed.
Suitable for: Highschoolers and adults alike would enjoy this book.
Pros: Well, if you're looking for suspense and thrills, this is the book for you! It completely absorbed me from the first chilling words and kept me hooked to the story from start to finish. The characters complement each other beautifully. I loved Alex's character. She's very brave, and unafraid of death. She takes everything in stride, refusing to let bad circumstances get the best of her.
Cons: At some points during the middle of the story, I got a bit confused. The background of the criminals was being discussed, as well as effects of such-and-such action on such-and-such person. But I got through it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Payback in Panama, Cuban Trilogy Series #3
This review is fromPayback in Panama - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing final in the Cuban trilogy

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sazav
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First, I have enjoyed every one of Noel Hynd's books that I've read up to this one. Each one kept me on edge waiting for the next. However, after waiting for the final book in this trilogy, I felt a little let down. Honestly it seemed as though the author was out of ideas for the series and filled the book with scary stories about drug cartel run nations. A few scenes even seemed as though the author was trying to add some shock value where it needn't be, instead of filling out the lovely descriptive details that other books in this series and the Russian trilogy contained. It's like the big showdown, the peak of the conflict fizzled into a lackluster chronology of drug cartels in Central America. I'm still not sure about that actor guy either. Too departed from what Alex does. I'm sorry for the negativity, but I anxiously awaited Alex's big finish. She just didn't seem to live up to her character so carefully built by the author. That being said, I will most likely try one of Mr. Hynd's books again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Payback in Panama, Cuban Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cartels, Criminals, Murder Action Adventure Thrill

Date:November 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Noel Hynd in his new book, “Payback In Panama” Book Three in The Cuban Trilogy series published by Zondervan takes us back into the life of Alexandra LaDuca as her investigation ultimately takes her to Panama.
From the back cover: After two attempts on her life, Alex is faced with the ultimate decision . . . kill or be killed.
U.S. Treasury Agent Alexandra LaDuca is at a crossroads. Her job is beating her up, emotionally and psychologically. And the moral battle between her faith and her responsibilities is taking its toll on her effectiveness. For the first time, she wonders how long she can last.
Forcing an end to her long-running and treacherous duel with the heads of the Dosi Cartel, Alex knows this is her last do-or-die operation. It’s time call in all the favors owed to her.
Her fight takes her into the criminal underground of America’s east coast, south into the violent underworld of Central America, across Honduras and El Salvador, and finally to Panama for a shattering confrontation.
Alex’s career, her life, and her future with the man she loves—a future she never expected after the violent death of her fiance two years earlier—are all at stake. After a final payback in Panama, nothing will be the same . . . if she even survives.
Buckle up for another wild ride with Alex LaDuca as, this time, her adventures take us to Central America and Panama. Alex now is dealing with cartels, politics, the criminal underground, murder and Yardena Dorsi who wants her dead. Cross, double-cross and cloak and dagger are just some of the elements that Alex has to deal with in this adventure. Mr. Hynd is brilliant is defining his characters and the more defined they are the more we like them and the more we like them the more we identify with what they are doing. Once the action gets going Mr. Hynd revs up the thriller quotient considerably which will have you reading and flipping pages as fast as you can. This book is a suspense thriller as Alex’s life is in serious danger from the beginning. Don’t start this book late at night because it will be very difficult to put it down or stop thinking about it. I recommend this book highly and am greatly looking forward to more adventures with Alex LaDuca.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Payback in Panama, Cuban Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Payback in Panama by Noel Hynd

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nicki
Location:Missouri, Mo
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After two attempts on her life, Alex is faced with the ultimate decision . . . kill or be killed.
U.S. Treasury Agent Alexandra LaDuca is at a crossroads. Her job is beating her up, emotionally and psychologically. And the moral battle between her faith and her responsibilities is taking its toll on her effectiveness. For the first time, she wonders how long she can last. Forcing an end to her long-running and treacherous duel with the heads of the Dosi Cartel, Alex knows this is her last do-or-die operation. It's time call in all the favors owed to her. Her fight takes her into the criminal underground of America's east coast, south into the violent underworld of Central America, across Honduras and El Salvador, and finally to Panama for a shattering confrontation.
Alex's career, her life, and her future with the man she loves---a future she never expected after the violent death of her fiance two years earlier---are all at stake. After a final payback in Panama, nothing will be the same . . . if she even survives.
'This is final book in Hynd's Cuban trilogy (Hostage in Havana, 2011; Murder in Miami, 2012). I found the book dry and distasteful. I was very disappointed when I read this book. I was unsure if it would be a good read, but after I had read the description I thought it was going to be a good book with action and a good plot. Though it was anything but that. It was basically like reading the CSI tv show. Which leans all on murder, backstabbing, and crime instead of a good plot that grabs your interest. Writers that use killing to try and grab your interest like he did are not very good writers.
I was given a copy of this book by the publisher, Zondervan, through Booksneeze blogger program.The opinions in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Payback in Panama, Cuban Trilogy Series #3
This review is fromPayback in Panama - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After two attempts on her life, Alex is faced with the ultimate decision . . . kill or be killed. U.S. Treasury Agent Alexandra LaDuca is at a crossroads. Her job is beating her up, emotionally and psychologically. And the moral battle between her faith and her responsibilities is taking its toll on her effectiveness. For the first time, she wonders how long she can last. Forcing an end to her long-running and treacherous duel with the heads of the Dosi Cartel, Alex knows this is her last do-or-die operation. It's time call in all the favors owed to her. Her fight takes her into the criminal underground of America's east coast, south into the violent underworld of Central America, across Honduras and El Salvador, and finally to Panama for a shattering confrontation. Alex's career, her life, and her future with the man she loves---a future she never expected after the violent death of her fiance two years earlier---are all at stake. After a final payback in Panama, nothing will be the same . . . if she even survives.
My Review:
I am going to admit that while I love watching crime dramas, I don't particularly have a taste for reading them. Thankfully, Hynd writes a heck of a thriller that kept me at the edge of my seat the whole way through! I didn't sleep while reading this fascinating work, and I read it in one sitting. It is one of those books that takes you for a ride, and you remain in a haze and stupor with all the ups and down of the story. I never realized how much reading affects my everyday life, but when I forgot I had to work because I was reading, that was a quick reality check! This book draws you into the story, the characters, and the setting as you traipse all over creation with Alex while she fights for her life. Well worth the read for the unique twists and turns, drama, plot, and intrigue.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Payback in Panama, Cuban Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review of Payback in Panama by Noel Hynd

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book, it took me 3 days to read it because some of the book had bits of pieces of history in it which I didn't really care about it and it slowed me down. This book is about a cop named Alex and her fiance Eric and as a cop she has a dangerous job of putting away criminals in jail that are trying to kill her which worries her family and friends.At the end the criminal ended up being shot by someone else and she got married to her fiance Eric.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Payback in Panama, Cuban Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After two attempts on her life, Alex is faced with the ultimate decision . . . kill or be killed. U.S. Treasury Agent Alexandra LaDuca is at a crossroads. Her job is beating her up, emotionally and psychologically. And the moral battle between her faith and her responsibilities is taking its toll on her effectiveness. For the first time, she wonders how long she can last. Forcing an end to her long-running and treacherous duel with the heads of the Dosi Cartel, Alex knows this is her last do-or-die operation. It's time call in all the favors owed to her. Her fight takes her into the criminal underground of America's east coast, south into the violent underworld of Central America, across Honduras and El Salvador, and finally to Panama for a shattering confrontation. Alex's career, her life, and her future with the man she loves---a future she never expected after the violent death of her fiance two years earlier---are all at stake. After a final payback in Panama, nothing will be the same . . . if she even survives.
My Review:
I am going to admit that while I love watching crime dramas, I don't particularly have a taste for reading them. Thankfully, Hynd writes a heck of a thriller that kept me at the edge of my seat the whole way through! I didn't sleep while reading this fascinating work, and I read it in one sitting. It is one of those books that takes you for a ride, and you remain in a haze and stupor with all the ups and down of the story. I never realized how much reading affects my everyday life, but when I forgot I had to work because I was reading, that was a quick reality check! This book draws you into the story, the characters, and the setting as you traipse all over creation with Alex while she fights for her life. Well worth the read for the unique twists and turns, drama, plot, and intrigue.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Payback in Panama, Cuban Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
cici
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Payback in Panama by Noel Hynd is action packed. This is the story of Alex and the unbelievable paths that take her across the globe to take down those that are out to get her. The action in this story is so unbearable that you just cannot put this novel down and like many action filled stories the twists and turns are worth the read. I think Alex is an amazingly tough character and she is stronger than she believes. Characters such as Alex are my favorite types to read because they inspire through their actions. Hynd is a new author to me and I am so glad I choose to read this novel, I will be more than happy to read the other novels in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Payback in Panama, Cuban Trilogy Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thriller Must Read!!

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Creazian
Location:VA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After two attempts on her life, Alex is faced with the ultimate decision . . . kill or be killed.
U.S. Treasury Agent Alexandra LaDuca is at a crossroads. Her job is beating her up, emotionally and psychologically. And the moral battle between her faith and her responsibilities is taking its toll on her effectiveness. For the first time, she wonders how long she can last.
Forcing an end to her long-running and treacherous duel with the heads of the Dosi Cartel, Alex knows this is her last do-or-die operation. It’s time call in all the favors owed to her.
Her fight takes her into the criminal underground of America’s east coast, south into the violent underworld of Central America, across Honduras and El Salvador, and finally to Panama for a shattering confrontation.
Alex’s career, her life, and her future with the man she loves---a future she never expected after the violent death of her fiancé two years earlier---are all at stake.
After a final payback in Panama, nothing will be the same . . . if she even survives.
I love these thriller books that keep me on the edge of my seat. Even though I haven't gotten my copy yet, I borrowed it from a fellow blogger. I read it in two days between the times I do my homework for grad school and substituting for my county. I just can't get enough of reading these books. But once I finish, it's back to square 1. I am yet on another search to find a book that will keep me occupied for another two days.
This book comes out on October 22nd, so unless you have a fellow blogger that has
the copy of the book, you will have to wait for another two weeks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.