Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Deceived - eBook

Zondervan Deceived - eBook

Two bodies in an isolated canyon on the edge of L.A. One with saddlebags filled with diamonds. That's how it begins for Liz Towne, a stunning blonde with a devout husband who has given up a prime job for reasons Liz cannot understand— for "Mac" MacDonald, a Gulf War vet who's done time in prison and is just now finding his way back to normal life—and for Roxanne "Rocky" Towne, Liz's sister-in-law, who suspects things she cannot prove. All three are thrown together after a tragedy in Pack Canyon. After stumbling upon the stolen diamonds, Liz is faced with an escalating set of choices: Truth or lies? Love or money? Saint or sinner? Liz thinks she knows who she is and what she wants, but when the web gets terribly tangled, is her game of deception a clever lie or a deadly trap? A new suspense thriller from James Scott Bell, bestselling author of Presumed Guilty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deceived - eBook
Review 1 for Deceived - eBook
This review is fromDeceived.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this book makes you wonder.

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
kaylyn
Location:chatom al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book leaves you guessing and makes you wonder what will happen next. The only down side to this book is the cliffhanger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deceived - eBook
This review is fromDeceived.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Vintage Bell storytelling

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eric Smith
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
James Scott Bell has written a twist-turning tale of three individuals all on a course into destruction or redemption. To tell to much of this story would give it away, but let's just say that the greed for diamonds will lead down a path of deceipt that snowballs so much, you'll wonder how it will all end. The character of Liz Towne reminds me of the classic character in Steinbeck's East of Eden, Kate, who will follow her sinful desires at the cost of anyone as well as her own soul. The ending was unexpected and you'll definitely will find yourself reading to the end. The grace of the Gospel can certainly be found too and it is an important aspect of the story. Buy this riveting tale and enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deceived - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tatyana
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was the first book i ever read on an e reader, and i love it!!!!!!!!!!!!! story line is very good, once u start reading u wouldnt be able to put it down. 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deceived - eBook
This review is fromDeceived.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not that good

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
jody664
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read this book for our church's book club. I can't say I liked it much. I didn't care for any of the characters, except Mac, and even then he wasn't that likeable. I thought the ending in particular was lame. I won't give away the ending, but it sounded to me like the author didn't quite know how to wrap up the tale. Not at all what I expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deceived - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast paced

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jmaloha
Location:Honolulu, hawaii
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It grabs you from the start and keeps you there. Very good story line. Well thought out characters, fine tuned and real life. A very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deceived - eBook
This review is fromDeceived.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2009
A story packed with mystery and a woman whowants what she can not have and another whowants answers. Lies run the gamut in thisstory and will lead to a downfall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deceived - eBook
This review is fromDeceived.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela Nastase
I stayed up all night reading to finish this book, so it's engrossing! It's one of my favorite Bell books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deceived - eBook
This review is fromDeceived.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Robb
James Scott Bell has filled his latest offering with a varied cast of saints and sinners. The characters are mostly believable and his style of writing moves events at a rapid pace. It kept me reading way past my usual bedtime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deceived - eBook
This review is fromDeceived.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
B. Oden
Have your popcorn and Diet Coke at the ready by your reading chair because you're going to be there for a while. DECEIVED has all the twists and turns of a good roller coaster and just as you think there are no more loopty loops, you'll hit another. This book cannot be left alone until every word is digested. A satisfying read with a very satisfying ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deceived - eBook
This review is fromDeceived.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Mabry
At first, I wasn't sure how James Scott Bell was going to interweave the lives and actions of the characters he was introducing. However, I soon found them all linked in a web of deceit, with tension that continued to build throughout the whole book. And, for those of you who tend to skip ahead in a book to avoid the boring parts, be prepared to just keep reading--there are no boring parts. Morality and religion play a big part in the plot, but so do murder and deceit. This is one of Bell's best so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.