Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords Cross Roads - eBook

FaithWords Cross Roads - eBook

Anthony Spencer is egotistical, proud of being a self-made business success at the peak of his game, even though the cost of winning was painfully high. A cerebral hemorrhage leaves Tony comatose in a hospital ICU. He 'awakens' to find himself in a surreal world, a 'living' landscape that mirrors dimensions of his earthly life, from the beautiful to the corrupt. It is here that he has vivid interactions with others he assumes are projections of his own subconscious, but whose directions he follows nonetheless with the possibility that they might lead to authenticity and perhaps, redemption. The adventure draws Tony into deep relational entanglements where he is able to 'see' through the literal eyes and experiences of others, but is "blind" to the consequences of hiding his personal agenda and loss that emerge to war against the processes of healing and trust. Will this unexpected coalescing of events cause Tony to examine his life and realize he built a house of cards on the poisoned grounds of a broken heart? Will he also have the courage to make a critical choice that can undo a major injustice he set in motion before falling into a coma?
Average Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 out of 2090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cross Roads - eBook
Review 1 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandi
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this book. It made me laugh and cry and look at my life. The price was superior too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Walls and weeds and the garden of your soul

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As other reviewers have mentioned, this book shares a portrayal of the relationship within the trinity and God's relationship with us. I found the story was a a bit trite and hard to get into at first, but the images, ideas and questions presented after Tony's accident were thought provoking. The characters and events presented after this event were engaging and humourous. The descriptions of the landscape of Tony's inner world captured the work of transformation and renewal that come with an encounter with the love of God. I recommend this book and will read it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

story line excellent

Date:May 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:mount vernon,mo/
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first chapter slow but when tony begins his journey it's facinating
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A story of redemption

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gerald
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book met my expectations. I had just read Cruel Harvest and compared it to this child's story of redemtion. Cross Roads is fictional and Cruel Harvest is a real life drama. However, I was not disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

better then the Shack!

Date:February 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
bgjg
Location:Lynn, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the Shack and loved it. I read Cross Roads concerned that Young's next novel just wouldn't be as good. I was wrong! Not only is it better, it's different, and has a lot more humor. If you didn't read the Shack it wouldn't matter as Cross Roads is not part 2.
I read some of the other view points and must say I understand what they are saying, but please, please please remember one major fact about both these books, they are Fiction! and awesome ficton at that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gummy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very different kind of book ~ first 50 pages rather slow, but it picks up after that! Great story but not as good as "the shack". Would recommend it but probably won't read it again ~ I re- read "Shack" several times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
truth
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading "The Shack" a few years ago and being unable to put it down until I finished it I was reserved on this book. I thought no way could the author come anywhere near the work he had done previously. I was wrong. Great book. I only wish this author had more books published, but with the general storylines he covers in both the Shack and Cross Roads, it would be a difficult task to replicate his style in too many different forms. If you liked the Shack, or if you are willing to look outside the box spiritually, I would absolutly recommend this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Remarkable Tale Of Redemption And Healing

Date:February 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wm. Paul Young in his new book, "Cross Roads"published by FaithWords brings us into the life of Anthony Spencer.
From the inside jacket flap: Anthony Spencer is egotistical, proud of being a self-made business success at the peak of his game, even though the cost of winning was painfully high. A cerebral hemorrhage leaves Tony comatose in a hospital ICU. He `awakens' to find himself in a surreal world, a `living' landscape that mirrors dimensions of his earthly life, from the beautiful to the corrupt. It is here that he has vivid interactions with others he assumes are projections of his own subconscious, but whose directions he follows nonetheless with the possibility that they might lead to authenticity and perhaps, redemption. The adventure draws Tony into deep relational entanglements where he is able to `see' through the literal eyes and experiences of others, but is "blind" to the consequences of hiding his personal agenda and loss that emerge to war against the processes of healing and trust. Will this unexpected coalescing of events cause Tony to examine his life and realize he built a house of cards on the poisoned grounds of a broken heart? Will he also have the courage to make a critical choice that can undo a major injustice he set in motion before falling into a coma?
I can't help it "Cross Roads" seems to me to be a 21st Century "A Christmas Carol". Both stories are remarkable tales of redemption and healing from the events that wounded us and caused us to become warped versions of what we should be. Anthony Spencer has turned into an arrogant, rich, egotist but he is given a chance at redemption. And how he goes through his healing process it what makes this such a remarkable story. Mr. Young has done a marvelous job of bringing his characters to life on the page. Every single one of them play out so well on the pages you would think you had known them all your life. "Cross Roads" is a great read that I was sorry to see come to an end.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from FaithWords. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lynda Wood
Location:Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thouroughly enjoyed this read. You can't help but come to really care about what happens to Tony (I was hoping God would restore him in the end). As in real life, the revelation of Who God is, is a process, not an instant event. The dealing with the sin in our life has to be a process, we could not handle it all at once and each event is a "dying" of the flesh so that the Spirit of Jesus can increase in us.
I loved the characters and the humor. God really does have a sense of humor. We have to remember this is a ficticious story but the character and love of God shines through, there is always an element of truth in fiction. Very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!!

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deb78
Location:Mt. Hood, Or
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW, what a book!! To know that God is still there, when you aren't! What a way to see into the possibilities. It sure kept my attention! I'm ordering some to loan out to friends. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Newsome
Location:Macon, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was very good. I liked the way it reflected our inter self with the outer. How we can better see ourself in the spiritual realm and how our choices affect others in this world and after.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product another great book!

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
fjafrontman
Location:Canton, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another great work by Wm Paul Young. The work takes the reader along with the main character on his journey to find out just how he built his world from his free will, and just how ugly it really was from the inside! Deeply looking into the soul of one man, how his life affected others, and his chance for forgiveness, mercy, and redemption! Great read....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
garden biker
Location:Gainesville, Ga
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished it last night, crying through the last 2 chapters. It was so true to life-pride, arrogance, selfishness of today's hedonistic American society. Tony had a totally self-centered life void of any meaning until tragedy struck. It is a must read! Grandmother and Maggie are a hoot!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Entertaining, theology unsound.

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shebby
Location:Baton Rouge
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The book was well written and he gives people a lot to think about. However, I think it was very misleading for many people who will erroneously assume that they can wait until they are in a coma before they face up to their shortcomings and get right with God. This is not to say that God couldn't do this if He wanted to, but it is highly unlikely.
It is a very entertaining book, but with a couple of changes at the end, the author could have made it much more scripturely sound. An indidividual has to make knowing choices to achieve salvation. I liked the "The Shack" and recommended it to a number of people. Not this time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Pleasant Read

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Caleb
Location:Boston, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found the book to be an enjoyable read---for a work of fiction. Young offered some interesting ideas and personifications of the triune God.
I feel that some portions of the story where lifted from C.S. Lewis’ “The Great Divorce,” but it was different enough not to make too much fuss over.
I know that Young had to make one of the characters unlikeable, but he did such a good job that I never really got attached to him. When he encounters difficult situations, I didn’t feel a great deal of sympathy for him.
Overall, it was an enjoyable escape from reality with a few ideas that make the reader contemplate non-traditional concepts, but nothing I would consider groundbreaking or theology shaking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hindsight is golden!

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teri
Location:Brazoria, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't we all wish or know someone who could benefit from such vivid lessons of where we have chosen to go?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
AVLinden
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was not quite as incredible as The Shack but similarly gives insight as to the massive variety of ways in which God works in us, uses us to work in others, loves us into his care and pursues us for his Kingdom purposes!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
northof60
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a friend who is an avid reader of Christian Books. I will borrow it from her. She was delighted with the book and I was happy to get something she had not read. Great gift.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Power of Grace

Date:December 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Randy Burbank
Location:Center Star, Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first review of this book missed the point. If there is no room for God's grace, even at the end, then that thief on the right side of Jesus was lied to. Hummingbird apparently has no room for the infinite grace of God.
In typical fashion, Paul makes us think and think hard about our own life, about the nature of God, and how we respond to God's grace. It is not a sequel to The Shack, but in a powerful way, probes into the dark places all of us have. This book is not for the "casual" reader, but it is for the reader who wants their roots to grow deeper in Christ. I once heard Paul in person in New Orleans, and was greatly impressed with his faith, authenticity, and his personal honesty. I did not see this as his next book, but I should have!
If you don't want to think deeply about your faith, if you have issues with the way God lavishes His Grace, if you don't like the way life sometimes becomes messy, then this book is not for you. But if you are ready for another epiphany, then dive in, wrestle with it, then enjoy the feast of wisdom in this book.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cross Roads - eBook
This review is fromCross Roads.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This book was a huge disapointment

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
hummingbird
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I enjoyed The Shack and decided to purchase CrossRoads, I wasted my money! This book makes no sense at all, this man doesn't even believe in God and yet he's given an extra chance after he's dying and the Holy Spirit is Grandmother?
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.