Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table

Zondervan The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table

In six captivating DVD video sessions, pastor and New York Times bestselling author Timothy Keller opens your eyes to the powerful message of Jesus' best-known—and least understood—parable. The Prodigal God is a revelation of the very heart of the gospel: God's radical love for sinners of every kind.

Taking you and your small group or church beyond the traditional focus on the wayward younger son, Dr. Keller helps you glean insights from each of the characters in Jesus' parable: the irreligious younger son, the moralistic elder son, and the Father who lavishes his love on both. The Prodigal God will challenge the devout and the skeptic alike to see Christianity in a whole new way. 6 sessions, approx. 40 total minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Review 1 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The teaching on this DVD is excellent.

Date:August 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
ollie c
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Prodigal God gives a whole new revelation on the parable of the "Prodigal Son,"...and you cannot help but do a self-examination. An amazing teaching tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wanted to own this dvd

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
christianmom
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our small group used this dvd and the additional books for our Bible Study recently and we were very impressed by the writer. We then decided to purchase the dvd used for our own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow!

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
KyDuck
Location:Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Keller is an amazing writer and an anointed teacher. This teaching on his book by the same name is riveting. The staging is so simple, yet so effective. It enhances what Dr Keller is saying without detracting from his message. I have now seen the video 5 times and each time I find myself learning something new.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastorwade
Location:London, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very insightful retelling of the parable. Gives great insight into how First Century hearers would have experienced this parable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This DVD was amazing.

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jackie Rivera
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Presently teaching "The Prodigal God" in our small group. The DVD has help them understand what the book is teaching. They love this new revelation on the prodigal son. The dvd also has resources to help us for the teaching of the class. Excellent!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Josie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Born and raised from infancy in a loving Christian home and church community - it seems almost unbelievable to hear this approach to the parable of the Lost Son(s) for the first time....much less ponder the idea of God as Prodigal! The spiritual stretch it delivers is invigorating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

some very good thoughts to apply to life

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
lizz
Location:PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book and study and am going to present it to my Bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding!

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steve
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Get's to the heart of the Christian gospel and challenges believers and seekers to come to grips with the "actual functioning" or our own hearts- in light of Jesus, the true good news!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Arlene Guajardo
great new perspective in a widely half-understood parable. anyone will get a new insight from this video. a fresh take on the relationship of father-son, God-us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
nuri
Personally i loved this study. I read it and did the work book like sitting down and devouring a delicious meal. A small book with so much impact that can definitely revolutionize lives. I am going to digest it for the rest of the week until it gets in my spirt. It's the heart of God and it's my heart to win the lost. How relational this was to my family. All my three daughters fell into each category. I experienced living in both the younger and older son life style, crucified by alot of elder brothers, taking me in and out of church.I don't give up I am still learning and seeking and believe i am grounded in the Lord. I hope to teach this study in my church. Because the insight was life changing starting on my knees. Thank you so much!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Howard
Great message; poor presentation. Highly distracting music plays throughout Keller's sole brilliant talk, and the graphics are quirky. Session One is a talk which summarizes the book, and each of the remaining five sessions is one 90-second question.For our next Bible study, we are using only the book and skipping the DVD.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chris Kennedy
Timothy Keller gives new insight and understanding of what Jesus is telling us in the parable of the prodigal son.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Prodigal God DVD Finding Your Place At the Table
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary
The message was excellent but the dvd description of contents is a little misleading. The total time for the entire message is 36 minutes. It says there are 6 sessions but the message is continuous without a breakdown of sessions. I was hoping it would be longer and more indepth but he drives the point home in short period of time. Especially helpful to share with those who are still trying to earn God's love and salvation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.