Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3

Tyndale House Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3

Dr. Leigh Stathos likes her ER shifts fast, furious, and adrenaline-infused-"Treat 'em and street 'em"-with no emotional complications. Life's taught her a soul-rending lesson: nothing lasts forever, including marriage. And the clock is ticking toward the end of hers. Then an unwelcome confrontation with "the other woman" begins a whole new set of lessons.

San Francisco police officer Nick Stathos never gives up, whether protecting his patrol neighborhood, holding fast to faith-or trying to save his marriage. Seven days is all he has to reach Leigh's heart. But when a desperate act of violence slams Golden Gate Mercy Hospital into lockdown, it starts a chain of events that will change lives forever.

Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Review 1 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My favorite in the series

Date:April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leigh is a doctor who works in the fast-paced ER. She tries to not have emotional attachments with those around her. Her marriage to police officer Nick is about to end, and he wants to stay married to her.
This is the third and last book of the Mercy Hospital series, and my favorite of the series. The entire book (except for the prologue) takes place in a week, and the storyline is fast paced and interesting enough to want you to keep reading and find out what happens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging story

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dawn Turner
Location:Bisbee, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sat down and read this book today. Read it all the way through. It was a good illustration of how it takes two people to make a marriage struggle and fall - expectations (both good and bad), personal baggage, human nature. Yet, faith can overcome all of that and repair a broken marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You can't go wrong with this book...

Date:March 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Denise G.
Location:Mariposa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, I have to say that Candace Calvert has become one of my favorite authors. Her medical expertise is top flight, and adds to the suspense in her plots. She also has a gift in creating realistic and believable chemistry between her main characters. I've read several of her books, and have found each to be wonderfully exciting, yet romantic scenarios. In "Code Triage", Dr. Leigh Stathos is a beautifully crafted character, with doubts, hurts and fears. Her soon-to-be ex husband Nick has betrayed her, and now she wants nothing to do with him or with God. Although Nick is the offender in their relationship, he continues to live life as a believer. He is also desperate to save his marriage to this woman he loves. It is a beautiful story of clinging to hope, trusting God through both joy and sorrow, and letting go of fear. Forgiveness, faith and redemption are solidly woven through the pages. My only comment is that there was a bit of repetitiveness on some of the points; thus the four star rating. Nonetheless, I definitely recommend not only this book, but the two others that are part of this series. I enjoyed all three of them...at this point my expectations are pretty high with this author. If she writes it, I'll be reading it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One of those few not nessecary to read in order

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: Code Triage - Book #3 Mercy Hospital Series - Candace Calvert - September 2010
Getting a divorce from the one you love is the worst thing that anyone can ever experience especially even worst is if it is a small town and you have to face one another. When Police officer Nick Stathos is called to a house of one of his ex-criminals , a lady that he sometimes keeps an eye on as her ex-boyfriend was a meth head, he tends to the situation though of course things are about to get a little messier as Krista has two children , so of course a situation like this calls for Child services. Enter Samantha Gordon, the Child crisis investigator. Nick and Sam have a shared history as Nick and Sam's brother were close mates, when Sam's brother passed away recently, they turned to one another and ended up having an affair. The children are seemed to have suffered from Carbon monoxide poisioning and are escorted to the local hospital - Mercy Hospital where the Doctor in charge and on-call is Dr. Leigh Stathos , Nick's soon to be ex-wife if the divorce goes through smoothly and as planned. What will be the reactions and consequences when all three end up in the same room together and as the story goes along , can Nick realise the one he loves truly forever and ever before she gets away or will he chose the instant family card ?
Find out in Code Triage , it;s drama and games in both the Medical Hospital and Home Life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book was a good conclusion to the series

Date:December 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
fictionbuyer
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dear Readers,
I will once and a while skip a book #1 in a series to see if you can read the books out of order. WIth the Mercy Hospital series I ended up missing book 1, Critical Care, & 2, Disaster Status, and reading #3 Code Triage by Candace Calvert and enjoying it completely. I had no trouble picking up the threads from the other books and following the storylines that had started in 1 & 2. Candace does a good job of making sure the reader doesn't feel like something happen and they missed it.
Leigh and Nick's marriage is on the rocks. He committed adultery and she can't forgive him for it. It was only a one night thing and he was grieving for his best friend who was killed. Not a good excuse, but that is what happened.
This is a fast paced book that reminded me a bit of the O'Malley series by Dee Henderson. The storyline I talked about above isn't the only storyline, but I didn't want to talk too much about that as I didn't really want to give anything away.
I recommend this book and the other two to anyone who liked Dee's books or Irene Hannon and Lynette Eason's books. They are well written and researched, which makes them easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super and supensful

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gma lin
Location:Sparta, Michigan
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all her books and can't wait for the next one. It kept you on you toes waiting to see what was going to happen next and I was rooting for them to get their marriage back on track.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book I LOVE this series

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say another great book by Candace Calvert! She writes such great books where you feel you know the characters within the first few chapters. I really think this one was my favorite from the series. I know I said that last time but this time I mean it (till the next book :) heheee). I think Nick and Leigh’s characters were so lovable. You cheered for each one as individual’s and as a couple.
thanks tyndale for sending me this book for review! I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book 3 is the best yet!! You Go Candace!

Date:October 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all of Candace's books, and this is by far the best one. I just couldn't help live the emotions with Nick and Leigh throughout the book. I cried, laughed, and just couldn't put this book down......I just had to find out what was gonna happen with Nick and Leigh. Once again, the characters were so real, and the situations they were going through are just real life stuff. The strong faith Nick shows in the book is amazing. It's just awesome to have a books like the Mercy Hospital Series to read. Books that are just good clean fun to read. Thanks Candace for 3 wonderful books, and I can't wait to see what you have in store for us next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reading.

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margaret R. Henderson
Location:Trion, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have read all of your books on ER. Do you have another one ready to come off the press? I could not put Code Triage down. Thanks Candace for the good, clean reading books. God bless you with your writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and interesting storyline.

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Siegler
Location:Carmichael, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the entire series and have enjoyed each one. The author captured my interest right from the first page. I have already shared the first two books with my family members. I have contacted the author via email and shared that God has given her a gift for writing and to keep sharing her gift with us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This was a suspenseful book.

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Code Triage is another one of those books that make you take a good look at your marriage and cause you to wonder just what it can survive. This book not only made me go through all the emotions Dr. Leigh Stathos went through, but also those of her husband, sister and patients. The whole gammit and the whole range of emotions of a broken heart.
Candance Calvert kept me on the edge of my seat as I read her book waiting for the whole story to unfold. I loved the faith Nick Stathos exhibited and empathized with him as he struggled to hang onto his marriage. I hurt with Leigh as she struggled through a wounded heart. It was really difficult for me to embrace "the other woman" who seemed bent on being a destructive force in more than just two lives.
If you like hospital drama and police action intertwined with romance then you'll like Code Triage.
**Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. **
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read this book STAT!

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a huge fan of Grey's Anatomy but I haven't seen any of this seasons episodes yet but guess what? it doesn't matter. Code Triage, Book 3 in the Mercy Hospital series is all the medical drama and romance I need. If you're not normally a fan of dramas set in the ER you will be after you finish this book.
Leigh Stathos is a tough as nails doctor with everything under control, outside of the trauma zone it's a different story. Officer Nick Stathos has vowed to protect and serve and often goes beyond the call of duty. One mistake took its toll on Leigh and Nick's marriage to the point of divorce and a series of tragic events brings both face to face once again.
Drama, drama, and more drama is all I can think of to describe this story. Not only emergencies in the hospital and on the street but in relationships as well. Really one of the best things about Code Triage, which I've seen noted in a few other reviews is that it is a romance between a married couple. Most romances are boy meets girl, boy falls in love with girl, they get married, the end but not so with this book. As a reader you will see arguments, doubt and even the "other woman" so it's not the perfect fairy tale.
Candace Calvert is definitely one of my favorite contemporary fiction authors because of her ability to tell a fascinating story that is NEVER boring. I am always impressed with Candace and I'm going to miss Leigh, Nick and all the other characters from the Mercy Hospital world. I'm not sure Ms. Calvert will ever be able to top it!
*I received my ARC from the author but was not obligated to provide a review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Medical Drama- Better Than Any TV Show!

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Help me! I need a prescription STAT! Because I seriously addicted to Candace Calvert’s Medical Hope series fiction!
The pace, action, romance, suspense, drama, characters, faith, story! I could go on and on about the things I love about this book (or the entire series).
There is something about a medical drama that yanks at my attention. I don’t have to understand the medical terms to get the anxiety of the moment. I don’t have to intimately know a hospital to see the staff and workings, the drama or the tension, it is all plainly explained before my eyes, infused with a great story to make it stand up and stand out! And no inappropriate, gag worthy moments prevalent in the television medical industry!
How often do you come across a romance between a married couple? But oh the love story swept me away. It didn’t have to be overtly romantic to make me swoon, the characters themselves explode from the page with a romance all their own. And combine a gorgeous, tormented couple and you have a recipe for a great love story with plenty of turmoil.
Emotions run high, with a drug crazed father, a woman determined to claim the man she lusts after and enough medical drama to go around. I can’t get enough! I highly recommend this work of excellent fiction!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful conclusion to this great series!

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle V
Location:Waco, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love a good medical drama and I must confess that Candace's are my favorites. She is so good at combining medical drama, along with friendships, romance, suspense, and great messages! And I do love a great series! This book and this series is a perfect example of why I would much rather sit down in the evening and open a good book rather than turn on the TV.
I VERY highly recommend this book to anyone. It's well written and highly entertaining. The story grabs you from the start and keeps you hooked until the very end. The characters will steal your heart, and the message will keep you thinking long after you've finished the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book I've read all year!

Date:October 1, 2010
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This may be the best book I've read all year - fiction wise, at least! Considering the number of books I've read this year, that's saying something!
Code Triage is the third book in Candace Calvert's Mercy Hospital series. (However, you don't necessarily need to read the first two to enjoy this one.) With only a week left until their divorce is final, Nick Stathos is still hopeful that he can save their marriage. Leigh on the other hand is trying to figure out how to move on. Further complicating matters, Samantha Gordon has fixed her sights on Nick and is determined to do whatever is necessary to win him over. A number of other challenges - including elderly neighbors in distress and a shoot-out in the hospital where Leigh works - draw Leigh and Nick together, but will they be able to overcome the issues that originally pushed them apart?
I love, love, loved this book. The storylines and Calvert's writing reminded me of Terri Blackstock and Dee Henderson. The characters were believable, and the way they dealt with their problems was pretty realistic. (I could see myself in them at times.) The book was fast-paced and kept me intrigued.
I will definitely go back and look for the first two books in this series!
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beth
Code Triage is the 3rd Code book by Candace Calvert. Each book is its own, so you definitely dont have to read the others to read this one. Code Triage takes place in San Francisco where an ER and a San Francisco Police Officer are ending their marriage. Nick is trying to hold on to the marriage and his wife, ER Doctor Erin is wanting things to end so she can get out of San Francisco just her and her horse. Nick is very rooted in his faith and Erin feels that God has left her alone. Nick and Erins paths cross with the type of work they do. A disaster happens at the hospital that affects Erin and Nick and put them together. Through many different peopel and circumstances they work to find their way back to each other. Nick knows that they need to have God in the center of their marriage where Erin doesnt believe that. The journey she takes is truly of journey of faith and hope. Many people come into their lives that show Forever and Ever, show how God works in everyones lives. Candace Calvert captures the real feel of an Emergency Room and of crisis situations. She also truly shows where God works in all situations. Very fast paced book that was hard to put down. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from Genre Reviews
"Code Triage" is a medical suspense novel that will appeal to both men and women. The author dug into the deeper issues of how three different childhoods created three people with different expectations about love and marriage and how that threatened to tear apart Leigh and Nick's marriage. This book is for anyone who wonders if marriage can last for a lifetime.You don't need to read "Critical Care" or "Disaster Status" to understand this story, and you can read this novel first without spoiling your enjoyment of her previous novels. However, Leigh's story starts in "Disaster Status," so you'll enjoy this series the most if you read them in order.The author has a fondness for symbolism, and she's getting ever better at skillfully weaving it into her stories. The world-building was excellent. The details about the stables/horse troubles and the ER brought the story alive in my imagination without slowing the fast pacing. The tension remained high throughout the story. The suspense was created through the medical emergencies, the physical danger during the crisis, and the relationship tensions between Leigh, Nick, and Samantha.The characters were interesting, complex, and realistic. They faced realistic problems in their work and in their relationships. I felt like this story really could have happened.Several of the main characters were Christians, one of whom felt like she couldn't trust God (or humans) to be there for her. Through circumstances, she learned that the burden of making relationships endure wasn't centered on her shoulders. The novel wasn't preachy. While it will probably appeal most to Christians, I think most non-Christians wouldn't be bothered by how the religious content was worked into the story.There was no sex. There was a very minor amount of "he swore" style bad language. Overall, I'd highly recommend this novel and the whole series as exciting, well-written, clean reading.I received this book as a review copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
For One Another
I am normally not a fan of "hospital dramas", but this book involves much more than physical healing. Each character carries a deep emotional pain that needs to be healed. The spiritual elements are limited to references of praying and needing to trust God. I did not know this was book 3 in a series until I read some other reviews about it. I was a little confused when unknown people were mentioned in the end. So it is a stand alone. BUT I know I want to get my hands on the first 2 in the series. This book is a light-entertaining read. I recommend it to those who are casual readers looking for a good drama. *I was provided a complimentary copy by Tyndale for review purposes only
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Code Triage, Mercy Hospital Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2010
I have enjoyed each of this author's books, but Code Triage topped the other two. The romance is a complex triangle involving an almost divorced couple and the husband's former lover. It's questionable until the end what the outcome will be. But what I found most gripping was the hidden scars each character carried. With the depths of pain involved, could it even be possible to reach healing and a point of wholeness where true love can blossom?And the medical scenes are gripping. There's enough detail to make them seem real, yet not enough technicalities to bog them down. Reading the book is like watching an episode of ER with all the drama and real life tension of a hospital emergency room. A great read that offers more than romance with a spiritual thread.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.