Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook

Zondervan A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook

Rebecca Kauffman's tranquil Old Order Amish life is transformed when she suddenly has custody of her two teenage nieces after her "English" sister and brother-in-law are killed in an automobile accident. Instant motherhood, after years of unsuccessful attempts to conceive a child of her own, is both a joy and a heartache. Rebecca struggles to give the teenage girls the guidance they need as well as fulfill her duties to Daniel as an Amish wife.

Rebellious Jessica is resistant to Amish ways and constantly in trouble with the community. Younger sister Lindsay is caught in the middle, and the strain between Rebecca and Daniel mounts as Jessica's rebellion escalates. Instead of the beautiful family life she dreamed of creating for her nieces, Rebecca feels as if her world is being torn apart by two different cultures, leaving her to question her place in the Amish community, her marriage, and her faith in God.

Average Customer Rating:
4.701 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product was well written

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
pearlgen
Location:Montgomery City, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this book, it was well written. The characters were very well done and the story line was gret.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is excellent alone or as part of the series. I am getting ready to read books 4&5 and hope to enjoy them as much as the first 3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good story

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
teach
Location:Rogers City, Mi
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the book. ordered the next three books in the series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love of Grace

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah O
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the first book in the Kauffman Amish bakery series. This book I do have to say was pretty amazing and hit close to home for me. I can relate to the main character Rebecca. The story starts off this Rebecca getting custody of her two teenage daughters after there parents die. In the many books that I have read and the stories I have heard about the Amish they forgive no matter what, they believe its God's will. In this book that is the same however it also deals with the loss of not being able to become pregnant and how she struggles with it, and how she feels her husband is upset over this. I personally have been dealing with my struggles on pregnancy so when I read this I felt like God was using this book to bring me comfort in his way and its his will not ours.
This book also talked about forgiveness and really listening to God and what he has to say. Now Amy had the mother in law in this book keep saying, "Are you listening to God?" and I have not really thought about that are we really listening to God or are we listening to our hearts, and thinking its Gods voice we are hearing. In the book Rebecca is left to figure that out and as she struggles with that there are trials that come up that she has to deal with and work through all while trying to stay still and listen to Gods sweet voice.
I would recommend this book to just about anyone and if you are dealing with loss or struggling to sit still to listen to Gods voice then I believe you will find comfort in this book. I also like how the author has included many recipes in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Kauffman Bakery Book #1

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
AngelLinda
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In this first installment of the Kauffman Amish Bakery Series, we're introduced to the Kauffman family of Bird-in-Hand, PA. Life is turned upside down for Rebecca Kauffman when she becomes the guardian of her two English teenage nieces, after Rebecca's sister, Grace and her husband are killed in an automobile accident. Grace, left her Amish life in Bird-in-Hand to pursue life among the English and go to college, knowing there was more to her life than just the plain Amish lifestyle. Rebecca and her husband, Daniel, bring the teenage girls back to Bird-in-Hand from their home in Virginia Beach, VA and their life is forever changed. Rebecca believes that through all the trials of raising these English teenage nieces is God's will and a way for her to finally be a mother (she's been barren for the entire 15 years of marriage to Daniel). Jessica is rebellious and resistant to the change brought into her life, as well as the grief and guilt she's carrying about her parents' death. She finds the plain Amish life way to strict and harsh for her liking. Younger sister, Lindsay, settles into the Amish lifestyle much easier, but is caught in the middle, as her aunt's and uncle's marriage becomes strained. Rebecca battles her own inner turmoils, as she wonders if she can be a good mother to these two girls, remain in her marriage to Daniel, and trust her faith in God to work things out for the good. While most of the issues get wrapped up by the end of the story, there are just enough loose details to make you want to move on to the next book of the series.
Thanks to the people at Zondervan Publishers for the complimentary copy of this book for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good, clean reading

Date:July 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Maggie
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the first three books in this series. They were good, clean books that took you "near" to the characters...I felt like I was there with them. The writer was able to describe stores and other places well enough to give you a mental picture of what places and people look like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book.

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Caren Collis
Location:Warren, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Amish books. This was a great book. Looking for more Amish books for my ereader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was an easy read for bedtime. I like that very

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
CarnPat
Location:SK, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the book although I feel the wife is left with the responsibility of discipline and the husband puts pressure on her by with drawing. I feel he should have had to have talked to the child also instead of going to his wife only and making her deal with the girl. To me this is a wrong approach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very good book

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
auntiepam
Location:Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found it very hard to put this book down. I got so into the book, I felt like they were my friends . Loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great series!

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
C James
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the eBook series so much I bought the paperbacks for my Mother-in-law for Christmas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
kritterkid
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I really enjoyed this easy read! I love being able to download on my Nook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very Unsettling

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda Hall
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book had all of the elements of a great story it seemed until I got towards the middle. The husband, Daniel and some of his family members were so supremely unlikeable it actually upset me. I found this book to be very unsatisfying and it just put me in a sad mood. Maybe it was the editing, because the storyline did seem interesting but the writing seemed juvenile. I enjoyed the Bible verses and some of the characters. There seems to be an overabundance of Amish books and only a couple of authors, in my opinion whom write them well. For some reason many Amish books are not well written. Beverly Lewis is my favorite.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book was good.

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dianne Martin
Location:Jefferson, Georgia
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was a lot like another book about the Amish that I read where the aunt has to raise her sisters children but I still enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read at a great value!

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2read
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is definitely worth reading over and over again! A great book thats sure to get fans for the author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joyce Huddleston
I love to read Amish novels - they are clean, but not boring. This book was very interesting! Jessica was a good person, just did not understand the Amish ways and didn't want to live there. Lindsay was more in tune with the Amish. Rebecca made the right decision to let go and let GOD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Noreen Frederick
I love stories based on amish life. I started with Beverly Lewis, and have read all of her books, and am really enjoying this series as well. There have been a couple of authors I don't care for, but really like this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Trisha Crutcher
This book truly is my favorite. I cannot wait until I get my hands on her new one. This book definetly is 5-star worthy. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
I wasn't entirely sure what to expect of this book and was pleasantly surprised by it. Although it is written in a rather simplistic manner, it suits the book and doesn't detract from the values of the story. Despite being written in the third person, I really felt like I got inside the heads of Rebecca, her husband, Daniel, and her nieces, Jessica and Lindsay. I felt like I was experiencing the hurt of the girls at being uprooted from their normal life and the confusion Rebecca had over what was the best way of caring for her nieces. Overall, I thought that the book presented a realistic picture of two "worldly" girls moving to an Amish community. The ultimate decisions of Lindsay and Jessica weren't what I expected, but this made it even more believable! I also appreciated the Christian emphasis of the novel - which was far more present than in Beverly Lewis' Amish books - and the verses that Elizabeth reminded Rebecca of in her time of need. I must go back sometime and write them down! Elizabeth and the other Kauffman family members fitted into the story neatly and really gave the book its "Amish community" atmosphere and the scenes in the bakery truly made me feel like I'd been transported to Lancaster country. I'm glad that this book is part of a series as I'd love to read more about the family. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and am pleased that it exceeded my expectations. If you're looking for an enjoyable, thought-provoking story with realistic characters and strong Christian values that is an easy read then I'd definitely recommend this! Can't wait to get hold of the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Price
This is an excellent book. I can't wait to get the 2nd book in the series and hope there are more in this series. I looked forward each night to reading this book. I hope Amy writes more Amish series. I was born and raised in Lancaster County, PA among the Amish and love reading these type of books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Gift of Grace: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
June Thompson
very entertaining and hard to put down. Shes right up there with the top amish fiction writers. I will get more of her books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.