Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House John, NLT Life Application Bible Studies

Tyndale House John, NLT Life Application Bible Studies

Whether you're teaching a class, leading a small group, or just looking for a challenging personal study, Life Application Bible Studies are for you. Everything you need for understanding the book of John and applying it to your life is included and arranged for 13 lessons, 60 or 90 minutes long.
  • The complete text of John from the New Living Translation
  • Easy-to-understand study notes covering background, history, geography, and culture
  • An extensive commentary
  • Application notes
  • Charts, maps, and profiles of Bible people (as they appear in the Life Application Study Bible)
  • 13 lessons with study questions to stimulate thought, discussion and practical application

To get everyone involved in your discussions, encourage participants to have their answers to the questions prepared before each meeting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for John, NLT Life Application Bible Studies
Review 1 for John, NLT Life Application Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great experience !

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dutch
Location:Thornton, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product and service. I received the Bibles as soon as expected. Thank you !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for John, NLT Life Application Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compact, informative, easy to understand

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Ann
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have 30 people using this study guide and all of them are happy with it. The text being contained in the same book makes it extremely easy to use and allows mobility of the information. We wish there were Old Testament bible studies using the Life Application translation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for John, NLT Life Application Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steve Reed
Tyndale House Publishers has done a good thing. They've broken down their NLT into individual books. For me, an entire study Bible can be overwhelming due to what I suspect to be ADD, or some other malady that keeps me from focusing on one topic at a time. This worked.In John, as with the rest of the series and the Life Application Study Bible, you are presented with a wealth of information which focuses you on the book. You get maps where you need them. You're provided with vital statistics, such as Purpose, Author, Key Verses, Key People and special features. You're presented with a blueprint of the book, very important in helping someone like me map out the outline of the material. You also are shown the Megathemes of the book, which point you to the major points and aspects of God's message. These are all a great help for me and I believe they'll help lots of others as well. Studying the Bible is hard, especially alone. I tried it for a while and frankly got bored. I admitted it for you, I did. None of it makes a whole lot of sense until you learn how to approach it. The John study is a great example of how to get into the Book and learn in a spiritual manner.Characters are outlined, their purpose in God's plan is detailed as well as their historical and societal significance. the notes accompanying the text are bountiful, well done and concise. You'll be able to understand passages that may make no sense otherwise. The questions accompanying the study are very useful due to the fact that they are, wait for it...Life Application" questions. Sounds simple enough, but these questions are far better than some others I've studied, which test a person on their memorization of verses or dates. These challenge you to search not only the Scriptures, but your heart as well and learn in your own life experience how the Bible is to be used as your guide. I recommend this study to individuals or small groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for John, NLT Life Application Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Norma Kennedy
I was not familiar with the Life Application Bible Studies until I ordered this workbook. It's great! So much good information. It can be a wonderful resource tool for Bible Study teachers/leaders who are preparing their own lessons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for John, NLT Life Application Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
D C McKay
This is a wonderful study. It includes the entire Life Application Study Bible NLT of the Book of John. A complete package. Many of the lessons include questions of the included commentary. Teaching you the benefits of the study bible. Teaching from this study can be hard if you allow it to get side tracked. With so much included it is easy to do. You could spend the entire lesson time on just one or two of the lesson's questions. You will come out with a far better understanding of the Book of John and how to apply what you have learned to share with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for John, NLT Life Application Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Erin Lowmaster
nltjohnI anticipate my future studies in the Word of God using the wonderful resources found in the various NLT Life Application Bible Studies guides available from Tyndale. These books are wonderful whether you are on the go or are just looking to have all your information in one place. Ive found the various guide incredibly useful for myself and imagine that others will greatly benefit from them as well.I've recently been using NLT Life Application Bible Studies guide of John. In reading, we are taken on an in-depth examination of the book of John separated into 13 lessons. Each lesson will take about an hour to go through, so if you want to read a little at a time you can do that. I personally like to go at a slow pace so I can let what I am reading soak in for further discussion with those around me. The beauty of this guide is that you can set your own studying pace.This guide like many of the others offers easy to understand study notes, application notes, and biblical profiles along with maps & charts as they would appear in the Life Application Study Bible.You can use this study guide for self study, a small group, or even as guide to go by at church. You can use this guide alone, or with other sorts of resources though its not required because I imagine that most people will get a lot of this guide as it is.Much like the other application studies in this series, each lesson is made up of the six following parts: * Reflect * Read * Realize * Respond * Resolve * MoreTyndale has done a great job putting together everything that someone would need to encourage one to grow in the knowledge of scripture and to learn how to apply it to their lives. I already own the Hebrews guide and highly recommend the remaining guides to all who are interested.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for John, NLT Life Application Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Connie
One of the best Bible study guides I have ever used. It covers the entire book of John in 13 lessons, has the complete NLT Bible text within the booklet including the study Bible notes, and has lots of great questions for small group discussion. I looked at dozens of study guides in local bookstores and couldn't find a better value. The probing questions and fresh translation have given me a new perspective of familiar passages. I highly recommend it for group or personal study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for John, NLT Life Application Bible Studies
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sherry Bowers
I like the fact that the bible is included right in the study itself. Lot's of application which many will benefit from.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.