Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Books Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook

Baker Books Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Review 1 for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ready For A Daily Journey?

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started this devotion on January 1, 2013 and finished it this morning December 31, 2013. What a journey it has been. I loved this devotional book and I loved how the author was spot on with God's word. It has been a joy to walk through each day of this book. I highly recommend anyone looking for a new devotional book to pick up this one and start your own journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Companion for Bible Study!

Date:August 25, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Biblical study is a lifelong apprenticeship for the dedicated Christian. Although no book can replace studying the Bible itself, Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation offers a companion-of-sorts to the reader who desires to increase his or her knowledge of the Bible and dedication to God. In Designed for Devotion, Bible teacher Dianne Neal Matthews comprehensively explains the main stories, people and teachings of the Bible. Additionally, she provides relevant historical background, Old and New Testament Scripture correlations and practical applications for the reader to implement.
I used Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation by Dianne Neal Matthews as a supplement to my regular Bible reading. I think new believers will find the book especially helpful as it hits all the major Biblical events, people and lessons. I liked that Bible references were given along with each devotion. There were a few stories that I was not familiar with and it was good to be able to go to the Scripture and see exactly what it said. Believers with more knowledge of the Bible can also benefit from reading Designed for Devotion. Like most devotional books, to receive the greatest benefit and impact, the lessons must be read slowly and seriously. Each entry is less than a page long, so there were times it was almost too easy to breeze though. However, serious, thoughtful reflection on these lessons and the corresponding Scriptures will certainly lead any believer to new discoveries and lessons.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Meaningful Book

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dianne's book is a daily devotional that starts on January 1st with an overview of the Bible and then on January 2nd, it focuses on Genesis. For the rest of the year, it moves through the Bible with pithy commentary and practical ideas. It will augment perfectly your reading of Scripture, whether or not you are reading through the whole Bible in a year or not.
I really appreciate Dianne's goal in drawing her reader into a more intimate relationship with God. I think this book will be especially powerful as a gift for any new Christian whom you want to entice an interest in regular Bible reading and good, solid Bible knowledge. Dianne gives a thorough summary of each passage of Scripture, along with a related Bible verse, and important, interesting historical background. There's also thought-provoking personal application.
But you'll appreciate it also, whether you use it as a companion to your daily Bible reading or just to pick it up and turn to any day's devotional. You'll find tantalizing insights that will make you spiritually hungry and thirsty to read the passage again and see God's work.
Baker Books sent me a copy to give away and to write a review, but I can write any opinions I desire. (I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Devotional

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christena
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This devotional has meat to it and instead of just reading it and walking away, it gives you something to meditate on all day.
I will be using this devotional for the next couple years!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Designed for Devotion, Dianne Neal Matthews
I loved this book. This is a not only wonderful devotional but a great addition to a Bible study. Dianne Neal Matthews takes us on a journey from Genesis to Revelations. She shows a little history of the scripture. The best part is the way we are showed ways to apply it to your life. It helps to bring you to a place of greater understanding. If you are searching for a closer walk with the Lord this is a great tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful way to study the Bible in a year!

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Prayerwalker
Location:Loyalton, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I typically do not use devotional books for my personal, daily Bible study. However, I will not miss a day of using this wonderful book. Matthews offers insightful commentary from Genesis to Revelation in every single day's reading. I have read the Bible over and over, but I have found that this devotional offers brilliant commentary with ideas and connections I had never made before. I highly recommend that you buy this devotional -- as well as copies for your friends, because it would make a great centerpiece for a Bible study group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great devotional for the Year

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A unique devotional that takes you from Genesis to Revelation, "Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation" by Dianne Neal Matthews, takes the reader through the books of the Bible in 365, with snippets of passages, taken from each book.
This is a great way to get an inside look at each book of the bible, particularly if you haven't read all the books of the bible, while at the same time, spending each day, uplifted and encouraged by God's word.
Not confined to any particularly year, but rather a perpetual calendar,"Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation" ties together not only the Old Testament and the New Testament and shows how the background and history of the Old Testament explains the basis for the New Testament but readers are given biblical history, daily life encouragement and even background information about each book of the bible, making this a great way to begin to understand and appreciate the Bible as a whole and not just key verses, or passages.
For those who may not want a hardcover or soft print, "Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation" is also available on the Kindle and Nook and for myself, this is something that I can find myself adding either at night or in the morning to my regular bible study/reading time.
There is a brief introduction to the devotional and from there, "Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation" heads right into the devotionals with a clean cut approach that makes, "Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation" an absolute must have, for anyone's personal devotional time.
***Thank you to Bethany Publishers for the opportunity to read and review this book***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very thoughtful and thorough overview of the Bible

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie Cassels
Location:Urbana, IL
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am finding Designed for Devotion to be a very thoughtful and insightful guide to the Bible. The readings are interesting and have a lot of historical and spiritual depth. I appreciate Dianne's research and applications for each section. I teach a Bible study for international students and scholars, and the brief but detailed mini-commentaries provide a great way to introduce the Bible to people who are reading it for the first time, yet the devotionals can also invite more mature Christians to really think about the passage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Overview of the Bible Story

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emily Akin
Location:TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading through the Bible in one year means a lot of time and effort, right? And you have put on your hip boots to wade through Numbers and Deuteronomy, don't you? Not if you use Designed for Devotion as your guide.
Author Dianne Neal Matthews, a Bible teacher and freelance writer, highlights important events, people, and spiritual insights without overwhelming you. She says we are designed to worship, and God has designed the Bible to be our user's manual for life. She designed her devotions to help you know God and his Book. A day's reading might include a couple of chapters or just a few verses along with a devotional/commentary and a verse for the day.
Most read-the-Bible-in-a-year plans involve reading every word. The overview approach in Designed for Devotions keeps your study from becoming too predictable or boring. Yet, you still learn the main characters, the background, and the "grand sweep" of the Bible story. Designed for Devotion would be a good resource for someone who has never really studied the Bible or who wants to read it through for the first time. It would make a good gift for teens, college students, or anyone who thinks he or she doesn't have time to read the Bible through in a year. I'll be giving it as a Christmas gift this year myself.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Baker Books. I was not required to write a positive review, and the opinion expressed in this post is my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Look at the Bible from Beginning to End!

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Location:Champaign, Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed all of Dianne Matthews devotionals and am finding her latest offering to be one of the best. She writes from a solid foundation of Biblical study and adds her own keen personal insights. This book will be a great asset to anyone wanting to know the Scriptures better. I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Devotional from Dianne Matthews

Date:August 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathi Macias
Location:Southern California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We can all use a little help in applying the Scriptures to our everyday life, and no one does that better than devotional-writer Dianne Matthews. In her newest devotional offering, Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation, Matthews once again opens daily Scripture reading in a way that is both practical and insightful. Readers learn about major historical events and relatable characters, through stories that teach and challenge. I have personally read and benefited from this author’s previous devotional collections, and I highly recommend this one as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Dig-Deeper, Straight-Forward look at the Bible!

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:Salt Lake City
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fantastic, straight-forward look at the Bible from its beginnings to its end! If you want to dig deeper into God's word and be awakened by new perspectives of the events and characters in the Bible, interspersed with history, background, and practical application, Designed for Devotion: A 365-Day Journey from Genesis to Revelation is a must read. Dianne articulates the highlights of the Bible in a thought-provoking manner and piques your curiosity want to find out more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.