Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook

Revell Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook

Two beautiful brides. One unsuspecting groom. Three weeks to figure it all out.

Greta Olsen arrives in Central City, Colorado, as a mail-order bride, expecting to marry Jess Gifford, the man shes come to know through his tender letters. But when she meets Cora Johnson, she discovers shes not the only bride waiting at the train station for Jess.

Already shocked to find they must compete for Jesss affection, the young women can hardly believe it when not Jess but his brother Zach picks them up from the stationand reveals that Jess knows nothing about any mail-order bride, let alone two. Will either bride make the match she hopes for? Filled with surprises, misunderstandings, and tender romance, Twice Promised is the story of how two unlikely women become twice blessed.

Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Entertaining Read

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read a lot of mail order bride stories! This one has a few different twists to it and that is what makes it one of the better ones. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I thought the plot was well written and thought out. You could actually see real people reacting the same way these characters do as they meet each other and deal with deceptions. I though the chapters flowed from one to the other with ease and helped make this book an easy and fast read. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction, especially those who enjoy western settings.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tender Romantic Tale

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Twice Promised, author Maggie Brendan pens a heartwarming tale of adventure and romance set against the backdrop of the beautiful snow capped, purple peaks of the Rocky Mountains in the late 1800's. Our lovely heroine from Holland, Greta Olsen arrives in Colorado to meet her intended, Jess Gifford, in response to a mail order bride advertisement, unaware that his brother Zach is the one she has been corresponding with and not Jess.
Jess and Zach run a mercantile store and Zach, wanting to build his own ranch and get out of the business takes it upon himself to pick not one! -- but two lovely ladies for his brother to choose from. As both brides arrive at the same time to meet Jess, anger, confusion, and rivalry set in, until the brothers' granny picks the perfect solution to the problem -- the woman who drinks from the beautiful Dutch Blue Willow teacup will be courted by Zach, the other who picks the rose teacup will be courted by Jess.
But can true love and someone's destiny be determined by a teacup? Or are more troubles on the horizon for the two couples? And when Jess's ex-girlfriend, Agnes, arrives, will that throw another kink in the plans? And it is as each one ultimately relies on the Lord, and begins trusting in His plan that everything works together for the good.
Maggie Brendan is a wonderful author and has written a totally different take in the typical mail order brides stories with one too many brides to choose from. This was a lighthearted, heartwarming, relaxing read, with several twists and turns. Each character was a delight and I love how they evolved throughout the story, especially Cora, the other bride, who seemingly had nothing going for her but her beauty. Beautifully written, this is a fun read and definitely one for your keeper's shelf!
I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Read

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Greta and Cora are shocked to find that they are both mail-order brides--to the same man! Turns out that Zach has been writing to both of the ladies for his brother Jess, so that Jess can finally be married. Will Greta and Cora both find love in the beautiful Colorado mountains?
Two brothers. Two brides. One crazy ride. Twice Promised is a fun romantic read, with plenty of twists and turns along the way.
I really liked the characters, especially Granny, who was a really smart lady who often had to untangle a few things out :)
I really liked Cora and Greta, and how they handled the situation, which was less than pleasing! I liked how this book told two love stories instead of one. Even though this is the second in a series, it really could be a stand alone, because while there were small mentions of Greta's sisters, this book was basically a whole new adventure. I guess the one thing that I noticed is that I didn't really get to know the guys, Zach and Jess, as well as Greta and Cora, so I didn't always understand why the guys did what they did.
Overall, this was a really sweet, fun, prairie romance. I loved Cora, Greta, and Granny, and the general plot of the book. I love my mail-order bride stories! A delightful story full of twists and charming turns.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Twice Promised review

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twice Promised by Maggie Brendan is the second book in her Blue Willow Brides series. This story is delightful! It’s a mail-order bride story. But don’t be fooled. It’s not your normal mail-order bride tale. In this book, there are two mail-order brides but only one groom who has no idea, thanks to his brother, that these ladies are coming to turn his world upside down. There’s a clever grandma who sees right through the actions of her two grandsons and right into their hearts. There’s a sprinkling of characters throughout the book and you’re not sure who will end up with who—or whether anyone will marry at all. Maggie Brendan has a wonderful way of creating believable characters and keeping you guessing. Every time I thought I had the romance figured out, she’d throw me for a loop again. Such a fun read!
Here’s the description:
Two beautiful brides. One unsuspecting groom. Three weeks to figure it all out.
Greta Olsen arrives in Central City, Colorado, as a mail-order bride, expecting to marry Jess Gifford, the man she's come to know through his tender letters. But when she meets Cora Johnson, she discovers she's not the only bride waiting at the train station for Jess.
Already shocked to find they must compete for Jess's affection, the young women can hardly believe it when not Jess but his brother Zach picks them up from the station—and reveals that Jess knows nothing about any mail-order bride, let alone two. Will either bride make the match she hopes for?
Filled with surprises, misunderstandings, and tender romance, Twice Promised is the story of how two unlikely women become twice blessed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but the same ole same ole

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The old west has always intrigued me with the pioneers traveling in wagons, leaving comfortable lives for the unknown, the mining towns and even mail-order brides. I don't think I could have ever been a mail-order bride but I do like to read about them.
The story line kept my attention only because I was interested in finding out who was going to end up with who. Other than that I've read far too many novels like this and quite frankly the only new thing was the chaotic unraveling of which mail order bride was going to marry Jess. I hate sounding like a broken record but the information was the same old same old.
I've said before that I am a bit of a prude so when the story featured the brides kissing another man other than their intended behind their intended's backs I couldn't help but wonder if that would really happen in the old west. I know it can happen, and even to Christians, but I think it's rare not the norm.
I also think Maggie made the men seem weak, but that's just my opinion.
What I loved About Twice Promised:
I loved the character Granny but her meddlesome ways created some huge problems!
I loved the bear and outhouse scene. ;)
I loved Greta and Cora's characters, strong, god-fearing women.
Overall, I liked Twice Promise but it's not likely to be a book I pick up and read again.
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Mail Order Bride Story

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a sweet and delightful read! Can you imagine getting up enough nerve to be a Mail-order Bride, and then finding out that the intended is not who you thought? Also you are not alone...the letter writer, Zach, has invited two wives! You would feel like turning around and going back the way you came.
Zach wants a wife for his brother Jess Gifford, the reason? So he can be free of working in their families Mercantile!
When Greta Olsen arrives to find Cora Johnson their also, it is remarkable how they become best friends...of course they are both put in a precarious position. In the end neither wants to hurt her best friend. We go along meeting the boy's Grannie...loved her, she says it like it is.
Will these woman follow their hearts, or marry Jess so that no one will feel hurt? With this story being set in the late 1880's, we discover quite a bit how life was back in Colorado.
There are funny and scary incidents...a bear at the outhouse? Oh dear! Also so many touching moments happen. Be sure to curl up with this wonderful book...you won't be able to put it down!
I received this book through Revell's Reviewers Program, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

TWO BRIDES FOR TWO BROTHERS . . .

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After the death of her fiance Bryan, Greta answered an ad for a mail-order bride in Central City, Colorado. As if she wasn't surprised enough to learn that co-passenger Cora Johnson is arriving in answer to the same ad, both young ladies are surprised to learn that the intended groom, Jess Gifford, knows nothing of the ad. Confusion, friendship, and even amusing misunderstandings develop as they try to sort out the future, but will love develop for any of the characters involved?
Any fan of pioneer/frontier romances will enjoy Maggie Brendan's second installment in her The Blue Willow Brides series. Set in late 19th century Colorado, Ms. Brendan has included historic landmarks to add realism to the story. A nice, decent romance novel with an enjoyable plot.
4 stars
“Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good read, full of twists & turns!

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lynne
Location:North Dakota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggie Brendan has done it again. I LOVED the premise of this book.....2 brides, 1 groom....how can this possibly turn out well? Let me tell you, Brendan keeps you on your toes with some fun twists and turns, but all works out in the end.
The book was a pleasure to read, and once again (as with all her books) the author has incorporated some great historical locations...it's worth looking at the author's notes first so you can appreciate some of the names and places used as background.
I received this book free from Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Twice Promised

Date:October 20, 2012
I'm a sucker for a mail-order bride story, and when I read the premise for Twice Promised, I knew it was right up my alley. When two women arrive in Central City, Colorado in answer to an ad for a bride, they don't realize they are there to marry the same man—and that the man they thought they were writing is completely unaware. Greta and Cora are as different as night and day, but they are both determined to stay and see if things will work out with Jess.
I really enjoyed Twice Promised. The story was sweet, and there were plenty of humorous moments that had me chuckling throughout. At times, I felt like the plot dragged a bit, but then things would begin moving along more quickly and I would get caught up in the story more. I'm glad I took the time to read this novel and am interested to read more from Maggie Brendan in the future. [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Twice Promised has twice the blessings!

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twice Promised
The Blue Willow Brides 2
By Maggie Brendan
Two Mail-Order Brides are about to descend upon Central City, Colorado and their intended husband doesn't even know that they exist! When Greta Olsen and Cora Johnson arrive in Central City they both expect to be met be Jess Gifford, but instead they are met by his younger brother Zach.
Both ladies are shocked to learn that they were never corresponding with Jess and that Zach hatched this wild scheme to find his older brother a wife who could help run the mercantile. Greta, Cora and Jess when he learns about Zach's meddling are annoyed with Zach.
Jess feels his life and the mercantile are both fine and the disorder of his life suits him. But he, Cora and Greta agree to give it a go and see if anything develops between them. But Jess feels that since this was all Zach's doing he should court one of the beautiful brides-to-be as well.
Granny comes up with the solution to her grandsons dilemma. Jess will court whichever lady drinks from the Country Rose teacup and Zach will court the one that drinks from the Blue Willow teacup.
The courting plan pairs Greta with Zach and Cora with Jess, but will the heart follow the leadings of the plan?
As they get to know one another Cora and Greta work at the mercantile, and Greta reorganizes the chaos that reigns the shelves and tables to Jess's annoyance. But Greta's efforts pay off with increased business for the store.
Twice Promised is a story of second chances and new beginnings. Central City will never be the same when Greta and Cora discover the true desires of their hearts and the blessings that God has bestowed upon them.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review, all opinions expressed are my own.
Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun fiction with a twist!

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twice Promised is a funny, joyous story of two young women, strangers who met on a train, and who discovered how they were both answering to a request from the same man for a mail-order bride! Furious at first, they were too far into their adventure to immediately turn back, and decided to play along and find out what would happen. This story takes place in the 1880’s in a town in the Colorado Rockies, and is full of some amazing surprises.
While mail-order brides were becoming common-place in these rural western communities, the fact that the intended groom knew nothing about these women coming to meet him poses a significant problem. It is actually the “groom’s” brother who instigated the letters to both women, inviting them to come so that the brother would have a chance to “look them over” and eventually choose one.
When both brothers become attracted to the women, the adventure really takes a turn; they all sort out their feelings and try to make things come out right. It is a huge challenge to make it work; the men are hooked but have a lot of things to work out in their own lives.
There are a number of important characters in this story, in addition to the two women (Greta and Cora) and the brothers (Jess and Zach). The townspeople, Granny, and Caleb, a one-time robber who becomes quite conformed to civilized living by the four main characters, and a little dog, Rascal, all contribute to making this a delightful and meaningful story. All the personalities have an important part to play and make the reading of this novel delightful. Naturally, there are some tragedies and disappointments along the way, but the best is saved for last!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable series

Date:October 17, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying this series so far and am looking forward to more books about the Blue Willow Brides. I imagine that it might have something to do with Greta's sister Anna, but I'm not positive.
This story had me laughing many times at the horrible misunderstanding between the all involved. Cora and Jess are to be wed and Greta and Zach are to be wed. How did this come about? Well, Zach wrote letters to Cora and Greta pretending to be his brother Jess looking for a wife. So when both girls arrive, they are shocked to learn that they are both going to have the challenge of winning over Jess The only way Jess will even consider courting one of them is if Zach courts one too. Thanks to their Granny and her insight, they flip a coin to decide who courts who. But then hearts start to go in different directions, how will the air be cleared when no one wants to hurt anyone else?
I liked all of the twists in the book, but by the end, I was definitely more than ready for the admissions! I liked how spite wasn't involved at all and that no meanness was involved. I also enjoyed the Caleb and how he was given a second chance. I really hope that we hear more about him, as well. I know he has a story that is just itching to be told!
__________________
I received this book free from Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Maggie Brendan twists my heart into knots!

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It isn’t very easy to twist my heart into knots like Maggie Brendan did in Twice Promised.
This is my first read from Miss Brendan. It’s a sweet mail-order bride romance tale set in the mid-west in 1888. But there’s a problem. Another woman has answered the ad too. And the bridegroom didn’t even know they were coming!
This is the first book I’ve read that I couldn’t for certain figure out which woman would end up with which man. I knew the two whom I wanted to get married. But as the story went on we learn more about the character’s personalities. You’ll have to read the book to find that out, but let me just say I wasn’t cheering for the pairings until close to the end…
Greta is my ultimate favorite character in this novel. She’s sweet, yet she has some fire in her. She’s a woman who has lost her loved one but is ready to move on. I really liked her. Oh, and Granny too.
To sum up, I’ve never read or watched a mail-order bride story. But I really liked this book. Miss Brendan gives us wonderful characters, many twists, and two sweet romances! I was glued to the pages until the very last. I look forward to see what Miss Brendan releases next. :-)
Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not One But Two Mail-Order Brides: Twice Promised

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If a mail-order bride (MOB) story comes along chances are I'll read it, that doesn't mean I'm not picky about what I read because I am but MOB stories just so happen to be my very favorites! In just a few short years Maggie Brendan has made her way onto my must read romance author list and this series has cemented her position as one of my favorite Christian romance writers. Twice Promised continues the Blue Willow Brides series that started with Deeply Devoted and reintroduces us to Greta who we first met in book one. When all is said and done her story is just as entertaining and romantic as her sisters and I cannot wait to see how this series concludes.
If you've read the book synopsis you know that this is a bit different from your average MOB story. There aren't one but two MOB's who Zach, Jess Gifford's well meaning brother, sent for in hopes that one would catch his brother's heart. Let's face it when you put two women in the same house and let them know that they both are meant for one man you'd think things would get ugly between them but luckily both Greta and Cora learn to get along--no cat fights in this book. However that doesn't mean that things went smoothly for the ladies or for Zach and Jess. Jess's life was somewhat chaotic to start with so it was interesting to say the least reading how he dealt with such an unexpected surprise. He's a bit different than you average romance hero but you'll have to read the story to find out why, no spoilers here!
If you have the chance be sure to pick up this wonderfully romantic tale of misunderstandings and the mysteries of love. Blue Willow Brides is a fun, quick series that will definitely please all of you readers who are true romantics. If you enjoyed Deeply Devoted you will love this, Maggie Brendan sure knows how to write a love story!
~ My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars ~
“Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
*I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two brides and one groom. Is this confusing or what? Just wait. It gets even more interesting when both brothers decide to each get married but can’t figure out which girl to pick.
Once Granny’s plan is set in motion, they begin courting the ladies in earnest.
Well, that is, until everyone seems to be falling in love with the wrong person. Then it really turns into a mess when no one wants to hurt any one else.
If they only knew. It gets even more interesting when they all try to figure out how to straighten it out.
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but a bit slow...

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
HSCottage
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a simple read. It has some twists, easy to figure out.
There are some things going on but with out the "eye rolling" drama. I found it to be on the more melancholy side for me, but I enjoyed it. It didn't keep me wanting to come back to it from intrique.
I just read when I had free time.
Some of the language that made me question on if it was correct for the period, so of it seemed more modern than I would have thought.
I really liked the character "Granny". Maybe it was her gentle spirit that reminded me of my "Granny" who died when I was a young child.
The author did share a store about Blue Willow dishes that I thought was really neat. I like when I am taught something from a fictional book. It really brings something fascinating to the story.
The other characters in the story really did a lot of growing in such a short 3 week time. There was a minor character, Cole, who I thought I was not going to like very much, but he turned out to be a nice guy that liked a lot. You didn't hear much from him, but just enough to know how he fits in.
The story is sweet and a quick read. I recommend this book if your wanting something that is not full of drama.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mail Order Brides, Misunderstandings and Romances

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggie Brendan in her new book “Twice Promised” Book Two in The Blue Willow Brides series published by Revell Books takes us into the life of Greta Olsen in 1888.
From the back cover: Two beautiful brides. One unsuspecting groom. Three weeks to figure it all out.
Greta Olsen arrives in Central City, Colorado, as a mail-order bride, expecting to marry Jess Gifford, the man she’s come to know through his tender letters. But when she meets Cora Johnson, she discovers she’s not the only bride waiting at the train station for Jess.
Already shocked to find they must compete for Jess’s affection, the young women can hardly believe it when not Jess but his brother Zach picks them up from the station–and reveals that Jess knows nothing about any mail-order bride, let alone two. Will either bride make the match she hopes for?
Filled with surprises, misunderstandings, and tender romance, Twice Promised is the story of how two unlikely women become twice blessed.
I can’t imagine packing up everything I own, saying goodbye to my family, probably for the last time, and moving to a different City and State to marry someone I did not know nor had yet to meet. Then, when I got there, to find out that this person was not even aware that I was coming, didn’t know that we were going to be married and that I was only one of two choices for the marriage I think that would be too much for me. So let me say that I think that “Twice Promised” is a winner and may be Maggie Brendan’s best story to date. This book is a lot of fun and winds up having two romances in it hence the title. “Twice Promised” is a wonderful, sweet story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages. I liked it a lot and look forward to the next book in the series!!
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL TENDER LOVE STORY WITH TWO BRIDES!

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
TWICE PROMISED by Maggie Brendan is a wonderful inspirational historical romance set in 1888 Colorado. It is book #2 in "The Blue Willow Brides" series,but can be read as a stand alone. See,"Deeply Devoted". I enjoy this author's stories with her engaging characters and her vivid descriptions of the Colorado country and the people who reside there. "Twice Promised" is the story of two mail order brides,Greta Olsen,and Cora Johnson, vying for the same man's affection,Jess Gifford. While Greta has lost her beloved fiancee to war she knows she must move forward. This is a wonderful tender love story full of surprises, misunderstandings,faith,love,romance,and blessings. A not to miss for anyone who enjoys tender romances,second chances,and a few twists and turns. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at the author's website,Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.
“Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING:4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two Brides one Groom!

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:o fallon, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twice Promised by Maggie Brendan is pure fun. Curl up on the couch with a blanket, turn off your phone and prepare for an afternoon/evening of delightful reading. Two brides one groom and that means TROUBLE for someone.
The story is set in Central City, Colorado. A place I've been researching for a book so reading about it in Twice Promised made the town even more alive for me.
The Blue Willow Brides books would make a nice Christmas gift for someone. The first book Deeply Devoted was also a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Twice Promised: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two Great Love Stories

Date:September 27, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With her words Maggie Brendan weaves a quaint plot in the area of mail-order brides. The two brides-to-be are quite the opposite in disposition with both being sweet but confused. The two grooms-to-be are brothers but also have opposite dispositions. As all the ends are tied together, this is a romance story with twists and turns that will keep you guessing even though you’re pretty sure you’ve figured out the ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.