Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook

Revell When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook

Spunky and outgoing, nothing much bothers medical examiner Serena Hopkins, except for the thought of falling in love again. But when a serial killer is picking off her former classmates, Serena's life becomes intertwined with her old high school crush, FBI agent Dominic Allen. Is the secret she's keeping putting her next on the killer's hit list? Can she trust Dominic with the truth before it's too late?
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Death strikes close to home

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When the medical examiner, Serena, begins dealing
with former classmates in her morgue, she realizes there
is a killer out there targeting her friends. She begins to
wonder if she is next. Eason never fails to keep you on
guessing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just When You Think You Have It Figured Out...

Date:February 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janice Garey
Location:Decatur, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
When a Heart Stops kept me guessing until the end. Hints along the way cleverly pointed to one character and then to another. It was a whodunit and what'dtheydo all combined into one really good story. The main characters are Christian, but there is nothing preachy about this book. A contrast is made between those who look only to themselves as the final authority and those who live and work under the laws of the land and the commandments of God. The characters are believable, and the evil portrayed seems relevant to contemporary issues. I will be reading more by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was spooky

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
genie
Location:Silsbee, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book had a little more gore than I would have thought a Christian book would have but it was a good mystery. I don't know if I really would recommend it to a friend unless I knew they were a die hard dark mystery fan.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grab your nightlight for this romantic suspense

Date:February 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynette Eason's first book in her "Deadly Reunions Series", When the Smoke Clears, was one of my favourite romantic suspense novels in 2012, so I have been greatly looking forward to getting my hands on the next installment.
When A Heart Stops was everything I hoped for and more! I found it to be a mesmerizing read, one that sizzled with suspense and had me devouring the pages at top speed. Serena Hopkins is a fabulous character, a strong woman who confidently moves in her world of being a medical examiner, and yet someone who has a tender side looking for someone who will love her the way she is. The cat and mouse game that Serena and Dominic are drawn into with the serial killer is expertly played out in the pages of this story, keeping me guessing about what would happen next. And yet that plot line is nicely balanced with the relationship that unfolds between them as well, one handled with just the right dose of romance. As with the first book in the series, the term "romantic suspense" shouldn't keep the male readers from diving into this book, as I found myself enjoying every moment of this book. The writing is crisp, the characters are interesting and believable, and the suspense kept me glued to the pages. Add in a dose of faith, and you've created just the right formula for an entertaining evening spent with a good novel.
One warning though. After reading this book, you may not want to sleep with your light off. The suspense in this novel is just that good. Don't say I didn't warn you.
I give this book my highest recommendation, and 5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This second book picks up a week or so where the first book ends. The mystery that began in the first book continues with this one and we get to enjoy a few more pieces of that particular puzzle. But as a added bones we get a second mystery, the doll maker killer.
Serena and Dominic's relationship was well written. It flowed naturally and was not forced. They seemed to do and say things that would seem to come naturally to them personally and professionally.
As with all her other books, this one was a action pack page turner that will be hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
4½ stars
In this second book in the Deadly Reunion Series we meet Serena—Alexia’s friend. If you have read the first book then you have met Alexia.
Serena is a medical examiner and close friends with Alexia and Jillian—we read about them in the first book When the Smoke Clears. On their graduation night Jillian had seen something that was so awful that she had to flee town. Her friends didn’t know where she went, or if she was still alive.
Now it is ten years later. Jillian has contacted Serena and has sent her a package to keep safe. Serena is not allowed to open the package unless she receives word of Jillian’s death.
There are some bad people who know about the package and really want to have it.
One night Serena awakens and finds a man in her bedroom searching through her drawers. Serena is convinced that the man is looking for the package, but she doesn’t understand how he knows about it.
FBI agent Dominic Allen—Alexia’s brother—is working on a case of a murdered woman who was found in the park. Serena is the medical examiner on this case who is doing the autopsy. She used to have a crush on Dominic when she was a young teenager and still finds herself blushing easily when she’s around him. Dominic likes to see her blush and he does also notice what a beautiful woman Serena has become.
When more dead women show up they get to work closely on the murder cases. Soon Serena’s life is threatened and Dominic is trying to provide the best protection, but somehow the serial killer knows how to get into Serena’s house.
When they find a connection in the murder cases, will they be able to prevent more killings? Can they stop this serial killer? Can Serena stay out of the hands of the killer? How are the killings and Jillian’s package connected? And is there a chance at love for Serena and Dominic?
Sometimes this book really gave me the creeps. There was a serial killer and then also reading about Serena’s work as a medical examiner was for me a creepy combination.
The storyline was very nicely done, the characters are believable, and the writing is exciting. This book surely will keep readers turning the pages!
If you like exciting and scary stories—this book is for you!
Take note that this series must be read in order of release. The mystery of Jillian’s disappearance started in book 1 and will come to conclusion in the next book (I hope). This book is a cliffhanger, but the ending is satisfying enough to wait several months to read the concluding book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
bobbie
Location:Kittanning, PA.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the book very much. It met my expecations. I would also read other books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chilling

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A chilling read that will steal your sleep!
A methodical killer is on the loose, leaving mysterious packages that send chilling messages, will Serena and Dominic be able to catch the killer before it's too late?
When a Heart Stops is the creepy (in a good way) sequel to Lynette Eason's thillingly suspenseful romance When the Smoke Clears, and the mystery continues.
The only reason I believe that I had a tough time getting into the story at first was because it had been a while since I had read the first book in the story, and this book begins right where the first leaves off, but from Serena's point of view.
For me personally this story was more chilling than the first, with little snippet peeks into the killer's head, as well as the killer taunting the police. I was a little hesitant to read it at night!
The story pick up speed as it went along and, I really liked how it wasn't terribly hard to keep track of what was going on.
Overall, this was a great next chapter in this mystery/suspense saga, and hopefully it means that only one more book till all is revealed! The characters were well developed and sensible, though I felt that there could have been a little more with Dominic. I loved how this book really sent the shivers down my spine! A book I would recommend to those who like some romantic suspense in their lives!
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
WHEN A HEART STOPS by Lynette Eason is an intriguing and suspenseful inspirational romantic suspense. It is Book #2 in the "Deadly Reunions" series,but can be read as a stand alone. See, " When The Smoke Clears". When you match a medical examiner,Serena Hopkins with an FBI agent Dominic Allen you can only expect heart-pumping results. What an emotional ride these two will take you on as they try to find a serial killer before it is too late. With secrets,romance,faith,love,murder,emotions running high you will not regret picking up "When A Heart Stops",although, you may be up all night reading. Ms. Eason knows how to draw the reader into her stories with engaging characters and interesting and intriguing plots. A must read. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
"Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting, new mystery trilogy

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just last week I finished reading a interesting, new to me, mystery trilogy by Lynette Easton, when I received her newest book, When a Heart Stops. This is book two in her new trilogy, Deadly Reunions. When a Heart Stops is a fast-paced book with a truly surprising ending.
Serena Hopkins is a medical examiner, and Dominic Allen is a FBI agent. Together, they must try to stop the killer who leaves no evidence, except for a doll dressed to resemble the victim, at the scene of his crimes. It seems as if at every turn the killer has again been one step ahead of the duo. Serena is sure that she is safe until her home is invaded and she is in the line of fire. What is it going to take to find a killer, who seems to be killing people just for the fun of it? Is it a weird game that he is playing, or is there a pattern to the crimes?
I appreciated the fast pace of the story and the hints that the author gives to help the reader solve the puzzle. I did wish that I had read book one of the series first, as there were several references to the first book characters which left me a little puzzled as to whom some of the characters were. The reader should be aware that the book is a little intense in one or two places, and might not be the best choice for a younger reader. Nonetheless, this was a great read for those of us who love a good mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Suspenseful Mystery

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I anxiously read chapter after chapter trying to figure out who the murderer was....gradually towards the end I had a couple of ideas as to who it was, especially once Lynette revealed a clue.
I really liked the twists and turns of the story and how it kept me guessing. It was really hard to pick out the killer from among all the characters and I found myself trying to recall what the first book was all about to see if there was a connection between characters that would give me the key to cracking the serial murder case.
As the series title indicates, this is a murder mystery novel. The descriptions of the murder victims is dealt with discreetly, yet Ms. Eason definitely does not skirt around other details. There are not gory details. So if you like a nice clean mystery definitely check out this series.
When a Heart Stop gets two thumbs up from me.
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive free products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Page-Turning Suspense

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When a Heart Stops keeps your heart racing and your mind guessing. Lynette Eason grabs you on page one and keeps you in suspense to the very end -- and even longer!
Serena Hopkins deals with death on a daily basis in her job as a medical examiner. But when death strikes too close to home, her job becomes anything but routine. Working with Dominic Allen, an FBI agent and former high school crush, to find a serial killer adds even more excitement to the case. In a sick, frightening game, finding and stopping the players is a life-and-death race.
When a Heart Stops picks up right where the drama of When the Smoke Clears left off in Lynette Eason's Deadly Reunions series. In fact, this series is one where the individual books would not work so well as stand alones. If you like to have all the loose ends tied up in a neat package at the end of the story, you might want to wait until you can read all three books at once. However, if you enjoy ongoing suspense and major teasers stretching into the wait for the next story -- this is a great series! I don't know when the conclusion of the series is coming out, but I'm anxiously waiting getting the answers to some mighty big questions.
Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
(This book was provided free from the publisher for my honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Gentle Edge of a Suspense Novel

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
AlyciaMorales
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A gentle edge. That's what I think of when I read Lynette Eason's suspense novels. She keeps you on the edge of your seat, but her words have a gentle tone to their suspense. The killer is sick, but quietly so. The characters are nervous, but not frantically so. This makes for that gentle edge.
One coy killer is on the loose, and Lynette Eason will keep you flipping pages through the final chapter of the book to find out who it is. You'll think you'll know and then you'll doubt you're right.
Because this is a Deadly Reunion novel, you may wish to keep a list of character names. It's been awhile since I read When the Smoke Clears. Several of the cast from that are the same cast for When a Heart Stops. It took me a few chapters to figure out who everyone was again and how they were connected. Having a list of the characters' names would help keep them straight between the two books.
I always enjoy Lynette's stories. If you like suspense thrillers but don't like a lot of gore or blunt detail, you will enjoy her novels.
*Please note: I received a copy of When a Heart Stops from the publisher for review. I am in no way bound to providing a positive review of the novel. However, I enjoy books rather often, and Lynette Eason has written something I enjoy reading, so I give her my thumbs up and share my review with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bodies are Dropping!

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Oh the bodies are dropping! I think there must have been another murder every twenty pages and there really isn’t much time to do a whole lot of gawking with this novel.
I’m not a blood and guts kind of girl, I’d rather reader a romance over a murder, so when I read a murder, I take them suspenseful. If you’re going to creep me out…then. creep. me. out. I think this novel didn’t a pretty fair job of that task. The balance between murder and romance was pretty well level, though it did tip a bit heavier towards the murder business side.
The novel did feel a bit as though there needed to be a killing to keep the tension level high, but I didn’t think it too much until the ending.
I loved it when the story took a personal turn for our heroine. Putting someone close to her in danger, totally upped the anty and pumped my blood. Excellent moment in the novel. The only place where I thought it totally came out of character for the novel was at the end and the twist. Which of course I can’t say anything, so my lips are sealed, except to say I didn’t see it coming and wasn’t sure it really fit…but that’s just my personal opinion.
All in all, great book, cliffhanger ending, darn that author! ;-) And I have to wait more months until we figure out what’s in that envelope people were killing over. Shoot.
Pun intended.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publisher for my copy to review.
**Available October 2012 from Revell, a division of Baker publishers**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a book!

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whew! What a book! Fast-paced and heart pounding from the first page, this isn’t a book you want to miss!
I read this book incredibly fast. And that’s a good thing. This is the first book I’ve read from Miss Eason and I must say I’m impressed. Her writing is easy to read, her characters are very admirable, and her plot was a large knot just waiting to be untied.
When a Heart Stops is focused mainly on Serena. It was just another homicide investigation until Serena pulled up and recognized the victim as someone she knew from high school. Evidence seems to indicate that an old serial killer has returned…but he’s in jail so it must be a copycat. The tension mounts with every chapter and soon Serena finds herself the next target.
Serena is a medical examiner (M.E.) for the police. Not exactly an attractive job, but it was neat to read about. I’d like to thank Miss Eason for giving us a very little, visually, about the autopsies. From what I’ve heard, she’s had a part in past Eason novels, but this is the first time I met her. She is a very realistic character with honorable traits and a heart for God. I think she and I would have been good friends.
Miss Eason’s latest suspense novel is one that I enjoyed. I would recommend though, that you don’t read it at night… ;-)
Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group
I received this book from Revell for free in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Serial Killers, Medical Examiner, Romance, Thrills

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynette Eason in her new book, “When a Heart Stops” Book Two in her Deadly Reunions series published by Revell takes us into the life of Serena Hopkins.
From the Back Cover: A killer’s deadly game needs new players . . . but someone’s about to change the rules
As a medical examiner, Serena Hopkins is used to dealing with death. But that doesn’t make it any easier when she’s called to the eerie scene of a murder–especially when Serena realizes that she knows the victim. Nearly as unnerving is the presence of FBI agent Dominic Allen, her childhood crush.
As evidence mounts and points to a serial killer with disturbingly familiar methods, Serena and Dominic must work to find a pattern and stop the killings before the murderer strikes again. And when Serena’s own life seems at stake, she must decide if the secret she has been keeping has put her next on the killer’s hit list. Can she trust Dominic with the truth before it’s too late?
I could be wrong, probably am, but I don’t know many stories where Medical Examiners get the spotlight. Only Quincy, M.E. and the super great Body of Proof come to mind. Lynette Eason seems determined to rectify this oversight with her character, Serena Hopkins who is a medical examiner. Before “When a Heart Stops” I had no idea of the potential dangers and threats a medical examiner could face. Wow, if this was really true no one would want to be a medical examiner. “When a Heart Stops” is a thriller, no doubt about it. Serena and Dominic’s lives are in great danger from page one and the danger grows with the body count. Just when you think you might know where the story is heading Ms. Eason tosses in another turn which you take at high-speed on two wheels. Ms. Eason makes her characters so real and you root for them to complete their mission and you root for their romance to blossom. Ms. Eason knows how to tell a story that keeps you flipping the pages and guessing as to who the bad guys really are. This is a wild ride read and I recommend it highly. This is a high octane series I am looking forward to the conclusion with book three.
If you missed the interview for “Too Close To Home”, the first book in the other series, and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Lynette Eason returns with her second Deadly Reunions novel focusing on Serena Hopkins, the medical examiner introduced to readers in When the Smoke Clears. The mystery flows from the first book so this is definitely a series worth reading in order and much in this book may be confusing if read as a stand alone novel. Lynette includes plenty of murder and mayhem, danger, suspense and gentle attraction which will please fans but it wasn’t a favourite read for me. The chemistry and growing relationship between Serena and Dominic was a little underdeveloped for me and there wasn’t enough revelatory scenes surrounding the underlying mystery – I was hoping for some more insight into why Serena’s class is being targeted in the lead up to the final story. I am still looking forward to the conclusion of this series as Lynette’s writing is always solid and enjoyable – I was just anticipating more from When A Heart Stops and this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who wins and who loses?
Don’t even think you’re going to put this book down before you finish it. You would just be lying to yourself, because you can’t turn the pages fast enough.
You also won’t be able to figure out who the bad guys are until nearly the end of the book.
I can’t believe the way this book ends. All I can say is Ms Eason better get the next book out pronto. How am I goin to be able to sleep now?
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding!

Date:October 9, 2012
Lynette Eason writes the kind of suspense I love to read! When a Heart Stops is fast-paced, intense, and even has a bit of the creepy factor (or a lot of the creepy factor). Plus, it's sweet and romantic ... pretty much all the things I love in a great book. It should be no surprise then that I literally could not put this book down. I started it early one morning and finished it about eight hours later—stopping only briefly to eat lunch, wash a few dishes, and say hello to my husband.
When a Heart Stops is clearly the second book in a series as one story line is a continuation from the previous book (and there are definitely some loose ends at the end of this one). However, the author does a great job of bringing readers along in the story so you don't feel lost or confused. I was also pleasantly surprised that I never figured out "whodunit." I was suspicious of nearly everyone in the book at one point or another but never figured it out. :) I'm definitely going back to read Eason's other books and can't wait for the conclusion of this series! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for When a Heart Stops: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pulse-pounding thrill ride...

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nerve-wracking and anxiety provoking are two terms that best describe this suspense novel. I can easily see this book as a horror movie in the theaters because of the serial killer theme. The plot was downright creepy and had me guessing through most of the novel, though I'm proud to say I had an inkling that ended up being dead on (pardon the pun.) I thought it was cool how the characters often prayed when needed and I ended up feeling really bad for those poor victims. Also, the faith thread seemed real to me and not inserted just to make the book Christian.
The thrill of the chase was exciting, and it compelled me to keep reading. And like any good suspense writer would, this author put a mean twist on things toward the end. As in the first book in this series, the ending resolved the dilemma... somewhat, and there was a bit of closure. (At least enough that I don't feel distressed that the next book isn't out yet.)But the resolution and teaser scene at the end already has me wanting to read the next book.
The craziest thing is this... I rarely enjoy reading suspense novels and it takes a lot for me to get into them. Dekker is one of the few "scary" authors that I like to read. Lynette Eason has earned a secure spot on that small must-read suspense list of mine with this series. I am really looking forward to the next book. And though there were a few elements that didn't seem quite believable, like Serena's age being pretty young for a Medical Examiner, that didn't take away from my overall enjoyment of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>