Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gospel Light I'll Hold You In Heaven

Gospel Light I'll Hold You In Heaven

When a baby dies the anguish can be incalculable. Every bereaved parent wants to know they'll see their child again. In I'll Hold You in Heaven, renowned Christian leader and pastor, Dr. Jack Hayford, presents not platitudes but solid biblical truth the truth that babies lost to death wait for us in heaven.
Average Customer Rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Review 1 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
JMDeWitt
Location:Syracuse, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this book for years in counseling women. It is just amazing. It helped me heal from the devastation of stillbirth. I will continue to use it in my sessions and with my friends and family. Thank you Jack Hayford for listening to the Lord. Blessings to all who read this Spirit Lead book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
LaVita
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For women/men who have gone through the loss of a baby.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Straight to the point encouragement

Date:November 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shaz
Location:Durban South Africa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was so helpful in enabling me to deal with my miscarriages. For the first time i felt like i had solid scripture to hold onto, and know that one day i would have my precious little babies that i had lost in heaven. I have recommended and given a number of copies to friends who have had the pain of miscarriage, and they had no theological arguments, just sweet comfort in a easy readable format. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product gets to the heart of things.

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pamjvv
Location:Cape Town South Africa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such an excellent product which gets to the heart of things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

/I have never given such a low book review before/

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
GordonWayneWatts
Location:Lakeland, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The book begins well with an example of how 1 church offers help to mothers considering abortion but he espouses dangerous theology; I almost gave it 1 Star. FIRST Hayford contradicts himself: On p64 he says “But in saying this, the Bible neither declares nor implies that parents determine the eternal destiny of their children...Salvation is always an individual choice.” Correct. However on p60 he says: “Doubtless we would all argue for their being instantly ushered into the Creator’s heaven-home forever. And that answer is right…” Did you catch that? Hayford says that if you kill your handicapped/unborn child he/she will go to heaven “forever.” That is the writer says that the parents CAN determine their children’s’ “eternal” destiny -but that's NOT what he said on p.64. LOL SECOND Hayford contradicts common sense since he tempts parents to kill children by false theology: If in fact killing handicapped/unborn child would ensure a 100% chance of salvation but letting them live might risk they'd reject Christ don’t you think it'd make better sense to kill them since after all eternal forever! is more important than the temporal 70-80 years? This is EXACTLY what a number of parents have done: Do a search on the parents killing kids if you don't believe. THIRD Hayford contradicts Scripture: Look again at his quote on p60: “Doubtless we would all argue for their being instantly ushered into the Creator’s heaven-home forever. And that answer is right…” Yes, when a baby dies he/she will go to some place in heaven FOR THE TIME BEING: where else would the child go FOR NOW? But, did you notice that subtle qualifier: ‘Forever.’ Basically he says the child will not only go to heaven for the time but also be guaranteed ‘eternal’ salvation yet this contradicts Scripture: John 14:6: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me. I’m not suggesting that the child goes to hell: referring to “Where do babies go when they die?” by Gordon Wayne Watts that author makes a compelling Biblical case that we'll either see the children again in the Millennium where they'll have a chance to hear the Gospel -not a 2nd chance, since they never got a 1st chance: Rev 20:4, or perhaps in the next resurrection Rev 20:5 of the “rest of the dead.”: In the Millennium scripture tells us there will be children; where do you think all those children will come from? Hayford contradicts John 3:16 & Acts 2:38 since Scripture tells us a person must BELIEVE in Jesus to get saved something which babies are incapable of doing. He mentions only three (3) scriptures to verify his false claims, but none of them address salvation except 2 Sam 2:23. This passage is metaphorical: Even if David meant what he said, he could have been mistaken: It wouldn’t be the 1st time David spoke falsely: For example what David in a state of depression & often on the run for his life says in Ps. 13:1-4: that God has forgotten him and has hidden His face from him. Oh, really? Is this literally true? No, this too is metaphorical. Yes God is fair: He WON'T violate their free will but WILL give these kids a chance for salvation. This wouldn't be unfair nor, contrary to popular belief, contradict Heb 9:27 ("And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment:") since-it doesn’t mandate they go TO HEAVEN; rather, it only mandates "the judgment." DON'T GO BEYOND WHAT IS WRITTEN! Therefore, you might review Watts' paper for scriptures on this.
-14points
0of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joee
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a helpful book, if anyone who has had a miscarriage or a baby die just after birth, even abortion is covered. It explains some things, where do the children go and would they look the same. I would recomend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource for healing

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book as a gift after my second miscarriage. Little did I know several more were to follow because of a blood disorder I have. Wonderful book for finding out answers to questions with scripture involved. This book gives hope to seeing our lost babies again someday. I've recommended it to several women, young and old, and have bought the book for many of my own family members who have miscarried.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael Zukaitis
This book is nessesary for people that have lost a child due to a variable of reasons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathryn Hurley
It was o k, It didn't really help me. Its more like a sermon,not like he and his wife experienced anything like a miscarriage ,or still birth.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
audrey
The Lord directed me to this little book some 17 years ago just after my second mis-carriage. I had lost a baby several years earlier through miscarriage and it took me several years on my own to find and read the scriptures that brought comfort. I became a director of a Crisis Pregnancy Center shortly after that and for 11 years I purchased and gave several more of these to young women that I ministered to. It is such a comforting little book and shows the hope we Christians have through our Lord Jesus Christ when we shall one day be re-united with them and HIM. I appreciate Rev. Hayford's compiling these scriptures together in a little book that ministers to those who are hurting through miscarriages,infant deaths, still births, etc. as well as those who aborted their babies and then found the Lord.I highly recommend this for families grieving the loss of their little ones.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bible study leader
As a pastor's wife and as a mom who has lost an infant just after birth, I have bought numerous copies of "I'll Hold You in Heaven" over the years and given them to other moms in similar circumstances. Jack Hayford's book gives hope and comfort based on biblical truth to parents who have experienced the heart-rending loss of an infant and to the Christian community that has not always supported those parents with the truth of God's Word. Dr. Hayford also speaks with great sensitivity and compassion to the one whose child's life was taken by abortion, and again, he gives insight to the church community that needs to respond.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Fulford
This book has been very comforting for me to read. I am a Mother of 4 miscarriages and have 4 perfect children that will be raised in Heaven with a perfect life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Erin
This book really helped me process when I experienced a miscarriage at 12 weeks. I didn't find the abortion discussion any more disturbing that I already felt about it. Ecc. 4:2-3 is a great verse in this situation too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bruce Moses
I was disappointed that so much attention went to abortion issue. People that I was going to have read hoping that it would minister to them after their babies died in miscarriages and early infant death would I believe be very upset upon reading this, so I am not going to pass this book on to them. I did have the grandmother of the early infant death incident read the book and told her why I wanted her to read it first, so not to cause any issue with the mother and she had the same reaction as I did. She did say that the beginning of the book really helped her with questions that she had. But she would not recommend the book to her daughter in law and son. Thank you-Patricia Moses
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
R
This book has brought healing to so many girls and women that I have passed it along to as they suffered this excruciating loss.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wendy Wadowski
Outstanding book. I'm a children's pastor and I keep a supply of this book on hand always. I have given away a few dozen copies to hurting families who have lost an infant or young child in death. It is an incredibly effective tool to bring a grieving family peace.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Denise Johnson
I read this book in the first few weeks after losing my first child in the fifth week of pregnancy. It served to help me tremendously. Many and if not all of the questions that I had about my baby, were covered and explained. Many topics which could well be misunderstood were covered such as mass of tissue, etc. However, after crying through the chapter and reviewing it again, I understood the next time I read this same chapter what the real focus of covering that was. It is not easy to deal with but Hayford covers it with much empathy and it is an inspiring book to read if you have ever experienced a loss such as this or any loss at all. I am inspired to minister to others after having read this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lorraine
I have given copies of this book to women who are grieving the loss of their aborted babies. It has brought joy and comfort to their hearts to know that their children are alive in heaven! It then becomes a great evangelistic tool in ministering salvation to these women.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Maria Sanchez
What an amazing blessing and healing messageby Dr. Jack Hayford. Every woman who has losta baby (whether by miscarriage, stillbirth, early infant death, or especially by elective abortion) should read this book and begin her path to healing. My prayer is that allpost-abortion healing ministries have this little treasure of a book to hand out to grieving women all over this world (grievingfathers would benefit tremendously also).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for I'll Hold You In Heaven
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jessica Dambrosio
Do not buy this book. I wanted to die after reading it. It uses terms such as dead babies, corpses, masses of tissue and other horrible terms, of no comfort.Also- He preaches that you get one chance at life- If your baby missed this bus-- there are no more. I don't believe it. If you suffered with this- you will not find comfort here. Just know it's in God's hands. Blessings!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.