Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1

Tyndale House Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1

When her family moves to London, 15-year-old Savvy Smith has to make her way in a new school and a new country. She just knows the school newspaper is the right place for her, but she doesn't have the required experience, and the cute editor-in-chief is not looking to train anyone. She has to come up with a way to prove herself and nab the one available position on the newspaper staff at Wexburg Academy.

London Confidential is a new series where British fashion, friendships, and guys collide, and where an all-American girl learns to love life and live out her faith.

Average Customer Rating:
4.607 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Review 1 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
This review is fromAsking for Trouble - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ok book

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
peachcircle
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book was ok nothing special. About a girl moving out of the USA to England at the point when she was about to go to high school in the USA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
This review is fromAsking for Trouble - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debi
Location:Sumter SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks so much for an awesome offer....the book is an excellant read and nice to have chirstian novels to read at great prices too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally! A normal Christian book for teens!

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with Sandra Byrd. She has always written good, wholesome books. I read her "Secret Sisters" series when I was younger and was soooo happy to find that she wrote a book for fifteen-year-olds. So many of the 'teenage Christian fiction' (as it is labled) deals with things that NO Christian teenager should even know about. I find it very refreshing that Mrs. Byrd writes about normal issues.
Now as to the writing and the subject matter, I think that ,as always, Mrs. Byrd has written the story well. Her characters are very lifelike. Savvy's story is interesting, funny and has problems that normal Christian kids face. Great story! My only complaint is that I wish it had been longer! I didn't want it to end!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring, Clean TEENAGE Christian Fiction

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:Lovely, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am always wary when reviewing Christian teenage fiction--you just never know what you might find. I've seen teenage fiction where the main characters were rebellious and boy crazy and that's not something I want to encourage in my daughters. It's hard enough being a teenager without being encouraged to chase boys and argue with your parents in Christian books.
But the main character of this book, Savvy (Savannah) is not only cool--she's a good Christian kid whose not too perfect but does her best, seeks God's wisdom, and finds how He answers her prayers for that very thing. She's an aspiring journalist seeking a role as her new English school's advice column writer. She reads the bible and prayers that God will help her give good, sound advice to her classmates. It's rewarding to see this great example of a teenager who's seeking God, staying true to him, and super cool.
The plot moved quickly, the characters were likeable, and the writing was flawless. I gave the book only 4 stars because the recommended audience is 9-12 year olds. Savvy deals with life as a 15 year old, high school girl. I don't feel that 9-12 year olds should be hanging out with high schoolers in real life, so naturally don't think they should be seeking them out in books, either. I do highly recommend this book and the rest of the series to older girls, but no younger than 14.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Asking for Trouble

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Booklover21
Location:Gresham, OR
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I sat down to read Sandra Byrd’s first book in her London Confidential series, I have to say that I was very much excited. Even though it’s a young adult novel, I knew that I would absolutely love it. I have been a HUGE fan of hers ever since I read her French Twist adult fiction series, which is now my all time favorite book series. I have got to say that I was not disappointed.
The first book, Asking for Trouble, introduces us to Savvy Smith, a 15-year-old who has just moved with her family from Seattle, WA to London, England. Feeling all alone in a new country, Savvy must learn how to make her way in her new school and her new life. Struggling to make friends and fit in, Savvy just knows that her perfect fit will be as a member of the school newspaper. Unfortunately, she doesn’t have the required experience that the super cute newspaper editor requires. So she sets out to prove herself and earn a staff position. But, does she have what it takes? And will she ever truly feel at home in London?
I have to say that I found this book absolutely delightful. I was pulled in from the start and I instantly loved the characters. While reading it you could definitely relate to what Savvy was feeling and the struggles she was going through. The more I read, the more I wanted to see things go right for Savvy and her slightly wacky, but loveable family.
This book was refreshing and charming and I honestly cannot wait to read the next book in the series.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An EPIC Must Read

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was one of my favorite books by Sandra. Once you pick it up you wont be able to put it back down. When you finish it leaves you wanting to get into the car and drive to the closest book store for the second book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Asking for Trouble

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fifteen year old Savvy Smith has relocated to London with her family and is now attending a new school. She longs for a place to fit in, but the school is very group-oriented, and if you aren’t a member of something then no one wants you. Savvy tries gymnastics, science club, art, and other things with humorous results, but the only thing she really wants to do is write.
There is a school newspaper, one that is floundering and they are advertising for help, but the editor doesn’t think Savvy has enough experience to do the job. What can Savvy do to change his mind? Or will she find someplace else where she can fit in?
ASKING FOR TROUBLE is the first book in Sandra Byrd’s London Confidential series. I read book three first, and then was anxious to get my hands on the earlier books as I loved it and so did my daughters.
ASKING FOR TROUBLE grabbed my interest from page one and held it all the way through. I loved reading about Savvy’s struggles to find a place to belong and how she grew along the way. She learned a couple valuable lessons in ASKING FOR TROUBLE, one that girls anywhere can learn from and apply in their lives. If you have a daughter in the young adult age range you will want to consider ASKING FOR TROUBLE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Savvy Smith and her family recently moved to England to live. Savvy misses her best friend from Seattle. She's trying to make new friends in London, but it seems no one has room for a new friend in their life, especially a weird American. An opportunity arises for Savvy to work at the school newspaper. She has always wanted to be a journalist and she hopes this might be a way to make some friends. She applies for the position, but her lack of experience makes her a paperboy instead of columnist. If only she could find a way to prove that she is a good writer. But how?Sandra Byrd always tells a good story. I love her Friends for a Season books, so I was excited to read her new series. Asking for Trouble did not disappoint. I enjoyed Savvy's character, how she thought things out and how she struggled to understand all the differences in British culture and language. Sandra did a great job with her British accents and lingo in the other character's dialogue. It was fun to read. I also liked Savvy's determination and drive to make her own future, rather than mope about what she didn't have or try to follow someone else. This was a fun read that made you think and I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emie C
Asking For Trouble is a story about a girl going through her move to Wexburg, England.Moving is hard on everyone as Savannah Smith finds out. But she is determined to prove herself as a Journalist. I really enjoyed this book and I'm sure you will too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emie C
Sandra Byrd is one of my favorite authors. I like the advice she gives in Asking for Trouble. I really like how Savvy Smith (the main character) deals with the troubles she is faced with and how she asks God for advice about what to do. I really enjoyed Asking for Trouble, and I can't wait to read the second London Confidential, Through Thick and Thin :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
RubyAnn
Im a teenager living in the real world. Some days are good, some days I just dont talk about, and sometimes hilarious things happen to me. Asking for Trouble is my favorite kind of book; a slice of what COULD be my life. Sandras writing keeps me curious, laughing, and thinking about the choices I make every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Serena
Compared to other chapter books, I think Asking for Trouble is the best one ever, because Savvy likes a lot of activities, but she really wanted to write in the newspaper. Savvy lied when she talked about writing for a newspaper, saying that she wrote for a newspaper before, and that she had a whole lot of experience, but she really didn't. She thought that telling the truth to Jack would be a bad idea because she really wanted to write for the newspaper. I know how Savvy feels, because I feel that if I tell the truth about something, it will make me get punished, but sometimes I don't, and even if I do, telling the truth is right. I also like the story because you get to talk about the story and you get to make predictions and inferences of what's going to happen.I like when Savvy's friend called her fortune cookie :). That's what I like about Asking for Trouble. If someone were to ask if they should read this book I would say yes so that they can learn what happens to Savvy and the newspaper. I think that kids who like to write would be interested in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Breeze
I so enjoyed Sandra's let them eat cake series and when I heard about the new series (London Confidential) I had to read them - even though I am a few years older than the whole YA thing... (um... old enough that its not polite to ask) The new series are really fun books and its hard to put them down. I read "Asking for Trouble" on Thursday and the next (Thick & Thin) on Friday! Characters are well written and Savvy goes through what most teens do... Trying to find her 'look' and friendship and learning to look for Gods path instead of relying on her own. Great series! Also, I am now wishing for a trip to London and some shopping!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
K Kassebaum
My 14-year-old daughter is an avid reader. If she's not interesting in a story line, she won't finish the book but move onto a more engaging one. She has loved Sandra Byrd's books in the past, so when I heard about her new series, I had to get them! I bought the first two books, "Asking for Trouble" and "Through Thick & Thin" for my daughter for her birthday. She devoured them! I couldn't get her to stop reading at night and go to bed as she just couldn't wait to read what happened next. I know we'll be buying the next in the series as soon as they come out!My daughter's personal feedback is: "When I started reading the book "Asking For Trouble" I was captivated. The way Sandra wrote the book kept me wondering what was happening next. This book made me want to visit London for myself. I understood Savvy's problems and agreed with some of the characters, which kept me interested throughout it all. Overall I would recommend this book to anyone who is a tween/teen girl."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
This book is about an American girl named Savvy, who moves with her family to England. She struggles with the many changes, but displays good character and judgment throughout the book. As she develops as a reporter and writer, she lands a column in the school newspaper. This book is perfect for the young teen who is searching for answers to life's many challenges, as Savvy applies Biblical counsel in all of her decisions. These decisions not only apply to her advice column and to her personal life, but also to the readers' real life situations.I cannot say that I'll be eagerly awaiting the remaining books in this series, but I will be excited to recommend the London Confidential series to the young teen daughters of my friends.**Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of the Tyndale Blog Network book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2010
My teen daughter and I read this book together. Here is a joint effort review from a teen's point.Story plot: Savannah Smith better known as "Savvy" is a 15-year-old, want-a-be journalist. She and her family have just moved from America to the London area because of her father's job transfer. Savvy is trying to fit in at school and make new friends.Favorite character: was the dog, who seemed to be tormenting, torturing or provoking Savvy. The dog's name was Giggle, but Savvy always refereed to him as Growl.I liked that Savvy used scripture verses and her knowledge of the Bible when dealing with others and applied them to her own life.Something that baffled me not that it changed any thing or hurt the story just a question I had ~If the Wexburg Academy Times, which was the school's newspaper, was in such dire straights and on the rocks, why is it they distributed the school paper on Thursday morning and then picked up those that didn't get taken on Thursday afternoon? If I were on the newspaper staff I would have suggested leaving them out for the whole week since it was a weekly newspaper. Then more students would have probably have picked one up and read it.I loved this book and would recommend it to I would say 10-15 year-olds; probably girls, I don't think boys would like it. The genre more chicky-lit catagory. A copy of this book was provided by Tyndale publishers for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee Seats
Asking for Trouble (London Confidential) by Sandra Byrd is a light hearted book about the difficulties a teenage girl faces as she tries to fit in in a new school in a new country. In this first book in a series Savvy Smith is a 15 year old girl with a promising future on the high school news paper. She has friends, a church and a comfortable life. Her family then moves to England and Savvy finds its hard to find her place in her new school, Wexberg Academy. I loved how this light hearted story shows how a teenage girl relates to God & turns to him in her circumstances for answers. This is a great read for the teen girls in your life or if you've ever been the new kid on the block. this is a great book to add to your summer reading list.I received this book free from Tyndall House Publishers as part of their bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Sandra Byrd has a really nice, casual style of writing that captivates a teen audience. As I read this book, I enjoyed all of the subtle cultural differences that were described by an American living near London, especially since I spent the first five years of my life in New Zealand, which is similar in many ways to England. I knew right away that this book would appeal to my 12-year-old daughter, so I gave it to her to read and review. Here is what my daughter had to say about Asking for Trouble, by Sandra Byrd: When 15-year old Savannah Savvy Smith moves to enters her new school in England, there isn't any room for her. Everyone has their own group. There's the newspaper staff group, the nerd group, the popular group, the drama group...the list goes on and on. There isn't really a group for her, though, being new.One day, she sees a flier for a position in the school newspaper. This is what she has wanted all along; however, they don't think she's experienced enough. She still ends up with a newspaper job, but it's not writing by a far shot: she gets to deliver the papers.Savvy deals with all the normal aspects of being new and trying to fit in. She has to cope with giving up her old friend in the States, attempting to make new friends with some of the Aristocats, and trying to get a spot on the newspaper staff.Along the way, Savvy gets her relationship with God back together and learns valuable life lessons. While the book may be short (261 pages), it will give you a lasting impression on how God can truly help you out in life.Although Savvy obsesses a little bit about a boy she liked in the States, she never really attempts to get a date or make the guys in the new school like her, as is typical (quite unfortunately) for most girls in the teen years. Also, the book contains no swearing or violence.I would recommend this book for ages 10+.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
As an aunt to several teen and tween girls, I'm always on the lookout for Christian fiction that has plausible stories with a faith element that is genuine, not forced or cheesy. Sandra Byrd's new series meets both standards, creating a fun reading experience that educates while you read!"Asking For Trouble" is the first novel in "The London Confidential" series. Savannah "Savvy" Smith and her family have relocated to London, England, leaving behind everything familiar and friendly.The entire family is have adjustment issues, but Savvy seems to be feeling it the most. Her position with the school newspaper back home went to someone else, and all of her friends are moving on without her.While not a culture shock, England is still an adjustment--some of the language leaves her befuddled and left out. When a position opens up on the school paper, Savvy jumps at the chance to do what she loves.Even if it means stretching the truth to get it?Girls of all ages will learn some rich lessons through Savvy's story, but don't worry: the book is far from preachy. Sandra truly has the perfect blend of faith and story, creating a very appealing series.I'm looking forward to reading more about Savvy and her British adventures! My thanks to Tyndale for my copy of "Asking For Trouble", and I'm giving it four out of five bookmarks, with a basket of authentic fish and chips as a charm!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Asking for Trouble, London Confidential Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Sikora
I was so excited to get this book in the mail. This one was for my daughter. She loves mystery books and this one was right up her alley. She said she loved every minute of it and could not put it down!This is the first book in this series.You can read the first chapter HERE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>