Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House What's So Great About Christianity

Tyndale House What's So Great About Christianity

What's so great about our faith? Challenging the assumptions of believers and skeptics alike, D'Souza takes on E.O. Wilson, Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, Christopher Hitchens, and other leading critics of the church to show how Christianity is at home with science and philosophy---and how it can offer lasting happiness in a disillusioned world. 350 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What's So Great About Christianity
Review 1 for What's So Great About Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Effective evangelizing tool

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Enoch
Location:Hong Kong
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book easy to read. I saw D'souza's debate with Erhman. He seemed to have adopted what he said in his book in the debate. He won the debate hands down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What's So Great About Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alice Ross
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book contains a wealth of historical/sociological/political information about Christianity. It is a must read for anyone committed to the faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What's So Great About Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rivals C.S. Lewis in apologetics

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Curt
Location:Phoenix area of Arizona
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion, D'Souza is an excellent writer and this was an outstanding book that I would recommend highly. I have given copies to family and good friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What's So Great About Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Li
Location:Vancouver BC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book because I saw Dinesh in his debate with Hitchens and Harris. I was not disappointed. In fact, it makes me more excited about my relationship with Jesus Christ. I believe God raises different people in every generation to be His mouthpiece in defending His word. I believe Dinesh is one of them. Not to mention he is from India, the unlikely place where Christianity is not dominant. Dinesh have a way of leading you into His thoughts clearly. He is not afraid to questions all the assumption of his atheist opponent. He doesn't use circular reasoning which we usually do. This is a scholarly job. It lead you to think like him in whatever you believe. I believe our faith is only as good as where it is put on. Christ is the answer.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What's So Great About Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Denney
Excellent read. Well researched and clearly written. This book is helpful to anyone who is seeking to better understand how to communicate Biblical truth to a postmodern world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What's So Great About Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matt Van Der Linden
This book is very infromative. It provides excellent historical documentation and agruements why Christianity is so great, and why liberal and athiest views are so distructive to society.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What's So Great About Christianity
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephen
As a Christian, I applaud well written and researched apologetic for our faith. Ultimately, this book is not. Despite the marketing, this book is not intended to be an apologetic for Christians alone, but for religionists; Christianity is simply the case study. Relatively speaking, he seems to argue, it is more beneficial (personally, culturally, socially) to believe in God than not to believe. It is also a promotion of "Western Civilization", as are most of his writings. And it is clear by this writing that DSouza is certainly NOT a literalist (if a deist at allI can't say): he supports the Big Bang theory and the accompanying belief in an 'old earth'. I found his embrace of Westernism as a distraction; historically, he seems to argue, the god-fearing Western Civilization is responsible for most of the good in the world. Potential buyers should also consider DSouzas other social/scientific commentaries. His other writings clearly put him in the camp of those who argue for (cultural) natural selection (as opposed to the consequences of personal sin). In Dinesh DSouzas world view, the relative standing of ethnic minorities and the poor in US society is a consequence of low intelligence (relatively speaking), cultural dysfunction, and (the resulting) low personal efforts. Specifically, DSouza has argued, and has made a career arguing, that Blacks are less intelligent than other so-called 'racial' groups. I believe that Christians need to really consider whether any argument developed by a racist can be persuasive. Perhaps this book can be judged on the strength of its arguments alone. Still, any argument he may make to defend faith will, ultimately, not be taken seriously because of his muddled convictions and his avowed professional stances. As witnesses to the world, we are judged by our message and who we are as messengers.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What's So Great About Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matt Van Der Linden
This book is very infromative. It provides excellent historical documentation and agruements why Christianity is so great, and why liberal and athiest views are so distructive to society.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What's So Great About Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
suzie growe
Put this incredibly well documented work in front of Frances Collin's..."the Language of God" and there isn't an argument that could stand up to the awesomeness of our God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What's So Great About Christianity
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ron D.
Why 2.5 stars? Dinesh DSouza has a great ability to survey the different thoughts, beliefs and histories of so many men in both fields of religion and science. He has compartmentalized by chapter much of mans wisdom and yet has maintained a thread linking and juxtaposing these thoughts. The book flows easily and is never boring. Since I am a product of a relativistic and atheistic public school system it was challenging and yet beneficial for me to read.To answer my question I must mention that his chosen title is like Darwins Origins of Species where Darwin skirted the subject of origins. Dineshs title choice should have been Whats So Great About Christendom. Christianity is not a religion but a relationship we are offered by God through Jesus Christ. The greatness of Christianity is Jesus Christ-any attempt to critique it must first deal with the centrality of Christ in Scripture. After His resurrection Jesus told the two men on the road to Emmaus that all of Scripture is about Him! Dinesh mentions one of many evolutionists Richard Dawkins 43 times and since he mentions Christ 24 times one would guess as to how important Jesus word is compared to human wisdom. He quoted Socrates as saying he was the wisest man in the village because he alone knew how little he knew. God said that man considers Gods wisdom as foolishness and God considers mans wisdom as foolishness. Almost half way through the book I realized that Dinesh holds an untenable position by ignoring Gods version of creation for evolution-a belief system based on assumptions. Even Darwins bulldog T H Huxley would hold Dinesh with the highest contempt since he knew that there is no reconciliation between Christianity and evolution. To his credit Dinesh points out this fact and to my consternation then goes on interjecting comments re the validity of an atheistic metaphysical belief system. I ask exegesis or eisegesis regarding Genesis 1-11?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What's So Great About Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jack Buttram
As what some would describe along the lines of 'hidebound' traditional fundamentalist, I don't recommend lightly -- but I do recommend D'Souza's book. It's straightforward without being pompous and honest without the least 'down your nose look.' My only quibble would be he's a little loose on his creation chronology which goes along with uncertainty about evolution. But none of that gets in the way of the message that is conveyed by the fact his title "What's So Great About Christianity" has no question mark. As the child of an immigrant family blessed by an early and explicit exposure to Christian truths without mitigating relativism this talented intellect does a great service to the escalating debate between the arrogance of Hitchins - Dawkins - Harris etc. crowd and the simple assurances of D'Souza and other confident and current Christian authors like J.I. Packer and R.C. Sproul who give a consistent Christian picture. Just the section summarizing the differences between Christianity and the usual philosophies is worth reading the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for What's So Great About Christianity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
S Mills
I am telling everyone I know to get this book. Every one that reads it loves it. Even if I wasn't a Christian I would be one after reading this book. I also watched the debate on C'Span with him and atheist Christopher what's his name? D'Souza won hands down. He is such a genius and I am certain this book will go down in history as the best truthful defense of the faith their is! Dawkins and Christopher just don't get it Jesus and his teachings are all over the world and growing strong. Dawkins and Christopher will be obsolete (how many remember Voltaire and his brethren?) Jesus however will live on in our hearts and Satan's brats from hell will not prevail!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.