Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook

Revell Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook

Cassandra Bainbridge has twice set aside her scholarly pursuits; once for the London Season and once for her wedding preparations. Love seems a wonderful alternative to study, until disaster strikes. When an accident brings an end to her betrothal, she heads for the country to recover from both her injuries and her broken heart. There she pursues her love for ballooning and envisions a future for herself as a daring aeronaut.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 2195%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I enjoyed the setting and characters!

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you like Regency setting romances? If so this book is for you. I enjoyed the main character of Cassandra; I thought she was written to have an interesting personality. Her interactions with the other main character, Geoffrey, were fun to read. The backdrop to the story pertains to ballooning. The author does a splendid job of incorporating this into the love story of the two main characters. I thought the author wrote an entertaining story and that is why I gave the book 5/5 stars. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in books with Lords and Lady’s. It really was an easy read and I cannot think of anything negative to say!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A flight into romance

Date:December 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christine Lindsay
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nobody can write Regency England Romances better than Laurie Alice Eakes. And her latest in that series, Flight of Fancy, is just like the title suggests---a delightful, fanciful flight into romance. The main character Cassandra Bainbridge---of the Daughters of Bainbridge series----is a real hoot. She made me laugh. Oh my goodness, she made me laugh.
I loved Cassandra’s somewhat imperfect nature, her slightly less than perfect looks, her mildly uneven temperament. I get so tired of perfect heroines with stunning looks. Instead, I love a heroine that rises above her disadvantages, and Cassandra Bainbridge is all that.
Deep down Cassandra is a really sweet girl and quite pretty, but bless her . . . she wears spectacles. And thanks to a tragic accident, walks with a painful limp throughout the book. Now this is a character I can relate to.
Due to this accident, Cassandra isn’t thinking as clearly as she used to. To give her sore heart a rest, she rejects the man who wants to marry her, and she escapes into her private world of academic and dangerous interests, including the fanciful one of ballooning.
Throw in a truly wonderful hero, Lord Whittaker, her former fiancé, who is also not perfect, and you have a romantic romp that takes you away from your worries for several hours. Lord Whittaker doesn’t know how to handle his spirited but wounded love, Cassandra, but he tries so hard, and wins my heart as well. At the same time, he is trying to save his mills and his workers’ livelihoods, as well as his mother’s reputation.
I loved this story for its fun, purity, its story where I just want to see the two characters together. The author uses the brilliance we’ve come to expect from her, as she weaves historical detail into the plot, adding depth without pulling the reader out of vivid scenes. At times I really felt like I was up in the clouds in a balloon with Cassandra and Lord Whittaker.
Another big thumbs up to Laurie Alice Eakes for a delightful romance that I recommend for female readers between the ages of 13 and 89.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delicious Regency Romance Wrapped Up in Suspense

Date:December 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
A delicious Regency Romance wrapped up in suspense. What more could a reader ask for? That it be written by Laurie Alice Eakes, of course! A divine read with so many captivating plots and subplots. Not to mention the characters...and an epic complicated love story.
Eakes' words have the ability to transport me through time. I love how she brings the Regency period to life. A Fight of Fancy is seeped in history but not weighted down by it and it was easy to get lost within its pages. I love that kind of escape read.
The second in The Daughters of Bainbridge House series, you don't need to read the first book to enjoy this one -- but if you did read A Necessary Deception, you will already be acquainted with Cassandra and her renegade ways. Feisty and daring, but still every inch the lady, Cassandra makes an endearing if frustrating heroine to Geoffrey's hero. Both share an impetuous and passionate nature but are at odds with so many other things in their lives that it's a wonder Eakes managed to get them together at all! Throw in all the intrigue and mystery and the result is a riveting read you won't want to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Story

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Misunderstandings and blackmail abound in this thrilling regency romance!
Cassandra and Geoffrey are happily engaged, when tragedy strikes leaving Cassandra scarred to the point where she calls off the engagement. Geofrey agrees to go undercover, and he begins to worry that he might be the reason that Cassie is being targeted, making Geofrey determined to keep her safe. Is it possible that these events can bring them back together instead of tearing them apart?
This was a fun regency read, filled with suspense and misunderstandings. Having not read the first book in the series I was happy to find that it was for the most part stand alone. There were times when I didn't totally understand the characters' motives for not speaking up sooner, but I loved hot there was alot of intrigue and suspense going on.
Overall, this was an entertaining read with plenty of action and a thrilling climax!
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality writing, intriguing tale

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jocelyn Green, author of Faith Deployed
Location:Cedar Falls, IA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like Regency novels, Laurie Alice Eakes is your go-to author. I'm giving Flight of Fancy five stars for several reasons: top-notch storytelling, impeccable historical integrity, believable characters, rich sensory immersion, and fascinating details, especially related to hot air ballooning. If you want to lose yourself in a story, and feel smarter at the end of a novel, pick up this novel, and any of this author's other works.
~Jocelyn Green, author of Wedded to War
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intelligent Romance

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is the age that balloons were making an appearance and Cassandra Bainbridge is determined to view the world from the sky above than face being grounded on the earth; After an accident brings a change in plans as far as her betrothal goes, Cassandra Bainbridge instead finds herself seeking to pursue her scholarly pursuits instead, in the book, 'A Flight of Fancy', that explores what is the true meaning of happiness and finding distractions when life seems literal upside down for everyone.
A new installment of the Regency series, 'A Flight of Fancy' was a fun read that is set in 1812; The book sets itself apart from other Christian romance, in that the main character really sets apart other heroines in she has this passionate love for books, the Greek language and above all ballooning; She is described as wearing spectacles and bookish, and Cassandra really came across as set apart from her peers (and very headstrong) and able to hold her own when circumstances calls her to be able to in her life.
'A Flight of Fancy' is not a light heart read...Set against the background of the Luddite rebellion, this is a book that you either will really like or really hate, depending on what you are looking for in a Regency book.
Laurie Eakes has provided a very well thought out book that is intelligent with the main character's, Cassandra, living up to her scholarly background with discussion of ballooning and math formulas, capturing the sometimes non-linear complications of relationships on all levels, along with the general nuances and mores of the time setting.
This is an intelligent book, that for some, looking for a formulaic romance, might be bored, but if you are looking for something that is indepth, suspenseful with no clear cut antagonists, 'A Flight of Fancy' is well worth the time and investment to read.
In a way, I can describe this as a nerdy, geeky, Christian, romantic novels that filled all the expectations and more with an intelligent character that lives up to her character build up, well researched background for the story and the relationships are well thought and seems more characteristics than the simple formula of boy meets girl, boy loses girl and in this, girl decides to not just wait around and decides to take up an adventurous hobby.
*** I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An enjoyable flight back to the regency era

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cassandra Bainbridge is a heroine afraid of her own passions. Well, her emotional passions for a certain handsome fiancé anyway. A terrible injury leaves her feeling less than desirable and fearful that God is punishing her. Having not read book one , the leap to her feeling judged by God for a moment of passion seemed a little fast ... and the mention that she had put her wedded bliss on hold once before (even though she really did love her fiancé) made her seem 'flighty' in more ways than one!
However, the fascination with independent balloon flight was very interesting. I enjoyed her exploits, and that the author made her a very curios and capable young woman, despite her injury. The trial and error of the early balloonist was something I had never read about before. Spoiler alert: Her fiance's believable fear of heights helped to explain how this fascination was drawing them apart. The fact that it eventually saves his life and draws them together, was a very nice touch!
The writing was done well, and drew me in. I feel I enjoyed it as a stand alone once I'd read only a couple of chapters. I might have enjoyed it sooner if I'd read book one. Women readers will especially enjoy this independent and curios heroine.
*Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intriguing but...

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
HSCottage
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this authors writing style. I think she found a new follower.
This story starts off with excitement and intrigue. I didn't want to put it down.
I did notice something about the main character Cassandra, her actions spoke louder than words. She seemed a little self absorbed and she didn't seem repentant of her actions. She did speak about how she had pushed God away because he was a reminder of her bad behavior. I did feel she did come to be repentant, but I didn't feel that was a focus of the book.
I did find this book refreshing in the sense that I had not read a book about a women with such strong desires to do adventurous things like flying hot air balloons. This was definitely a new thing and really broadened my knowledge of hot air balloons which I knew nothing of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Men get to fly in balloons. Why can’t a lady be allowed to do that as well?
Now that Cassandra is no longer engaged and she’s well into her recovery from a terrible accident, why should anyone hold her back from ballooning?
Well, it seems that her former love wants back in her life, and he doesn’t want her to have anything to do with balloons - especially the flying part.
Cassandra doesn’t think it’s possible to choose one over the other. If she had to choose, it would probably be in favor of her balloon.
***A special thanks to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2012
I've read one other book by Laurie Alice Eakes and have been looking forward to reading others by her. A Flight of Fancy was a great read! I really liked Cassandra. She's an interesting character and really wants to do the right thing—but struggles with human desires to go her own way instead of God's way. I can certainly relate to that, and I'm sure other readers can too! Plus, it was interesting to read about the history of hot air balloons and other historical aspects that the author included. (From what I can tell, Eakes is very diligent about her research!)
I wish I would have read the previous book in the series first, so I could fully understand the background, but the book really can stand alone just fine. I also got a wee bit frustrated (as always in these situations) when the two main characters wouldn't just sit down and TALK! Too many games and too much avoidance led to a lot of back and forth. BUT, I suppose that wouldn't have made for a very good story with a polite conversation to solve all of their problems, huh?!
Fans of historical novels will enjoy A Flight of Fancy. I sure did! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Ballooning, Adventure and Romance

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laurie Alice Eakes in her new book, “A Flight of Fancy” Book Two in The Daughters Of Bainbridge House series published by Revell brings us into the life of Cassandra Bainbridge in 1812.
From the back cover: Her head is in the clouds. His feet are planted firmly on the ground. Can love cover the distance?
Cassandra Bainbridge may be a bit of a bluestocking, but when Geoffrey Giles is near, love seems a fine alternative to passion for Greek and the physics of flight. With his dashing good looks and undying devotion to her, the earl of Whittaker sets Cassandra’s heart racing with his very presence. It seems his only flaw is his distaste for ballooning, the obsession that consumes so much of her thoughts.
When a terrible accident compels her to end her betrothal, Cassandra heads for the country to recover from both her injuries and her broken heart. With time on her hands and good friends to help her, she pursues her love for ballooning and envisions a future for herself as a daring aeronaut. But when Lord Whittaker slips back into her life, will she have to choose between him and her dream?
“A Flight of Fancy” is a wonderful romance filled with mystery, intrigue, and scandal. This is a page-turner that will keep you guessing right until the end. These pages are filled with wonderful characters that live and breathe. ”A Flight of Fancy” is full of following your dreams, a woman’s place in society and breaking away from that place and romance. This is an interesting story filled with lots of excitement and romance as well as history. I liked it a lot and am looking forward to the next book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
“Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Will a Flight of Fancy destroy her dreams?

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Flight of Fancy
The Daughters of Bainbridge House #2
By Laurie Alice Eakes
Cassandra Bainbridge is just seven days from her marriage to Geoffrey Giles when tragedy strikes. The carriage Cassandra and Geoffrey are traveling in has been attacked by a celebratory rioting crowd and in an unfortunate happenstance Cassandra is badly burned and almost dies.
Cassandra, feeling that her scars are a punishment for her behavior, ends her betrothal Geoffrey. In an effort to help her heal, Cassandra is sent to the country to heal. Accompanied by her younger sister Honore, Cassandra is placed in the care of Lady Whittaker - Geoffrey's mother.
Cassandra determined to forget Geoffrey pursues her interest in ballooning. Not only is she interested in ballooning, she is helping to design a balloon that she hopes to fly before her parents return from Scotland.
But danger lurks around the estate as Luddites are raising up in rebellion, demanding better pay for the weavers. Whenever Geoffrey is near Cassandra something happens that could take their lives. Where is the danger coming from? Is it truly God's way of keeping them apart? Or is something more sinister at work and who is the target?
Can Cassandra and Geoffrey learn to trust God and honor Him in all that they do? What is the true desire of their hearts?
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Flight of Fancy is a fascinating tale of love!

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Flight of Fancy is a fascinating tale of love in the Regency era.
It took about fifty pages for me to really get into the story of Cassandra Bainbridge and Geoffrey Giles. From then on the story drew me in, urging me to discover what will happen next. Miss Eakes poses so many questions I began to wonder if she would answer them all! I can gladly assure you she does.
Sewing, house-managing, and dancing might interest most women, but not Cassandra. She would much rather stick her nose in a good book about ballooning or the Greek language. She is also known for her rebellion against her father’s wishes. Though her flaws, I thought she was a strong character.
Geoffrey, or Whittaker as he’s known in Flight of Fancy, is head over heels in love with Cassandra. Because of his fear of heights, he does not care much for Cassandra’s dream of becoming an aeronaut, but he does try to support her near the end. Whittaker really grew as a character, and I liked him.
I really felt for poor Whittaker more than I think I did for Cassandra and her extensive injuries. He comes up against so many obstacles, that to hear that his beloved wishes to end their engagement—for the second time—crushes him. However, it doesn’t stop him from pursuing her.
A few things I didn’t like about Flight of Fancy was the lack of a translation section at the back of the book. I came across more than one French word or Regency-era term that I didn’t understand and having a section at the back explaining each term would have been very helpful. Overall though, I liked this book but not enough to make it to my favorites list.
Available October 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, which I have done.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Head In The Clouds

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a hard time getting into this book. I felt the character Cassandra was quite self centered. She did refer to her dusty bible, so she was not following where God wanted her to go.
There were some horrific accidents??? Or attempts on either Cassandra or Geoffrey lives.
I found Lord Whittaker with a lot of compassion, he cared deeply for Cassandra, his Mother, and the workers at his factories. He seemed to realize the plight of his workers, and hoped to help them. Some interesting facts come out about the Mills vs home looms. When the men were at home and their wives saw them all day, there wasn't the tendency to stop at the Tavern on the way home and spend their wages!
There is a lot of action going on and a lot "fires". We also have shootings and stabbings. Interesting read that will surely keep you entertained.
I received this book for Revell Publishing and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rollicking and fun!

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Laurie Eakes has written a rollicking new novel, A Flight of Fancy, set in Victorian England. Eakes has presented a puzzle of a story. What does a girl who wears glasses and who is more interested in engineering and balloon flights over the countryside than in a "peer of the realm" have that makes the earl so interested in her? Could it be her dowry? It isn't much, but his mills and estate do need money. But then there was that passionate kiss in his carriage, when who knows what might have happened if the ruffians had not attacked them and caused her legs to be burned. Now that her legs are scarred for life, there is even less of a reason for him to want anything to do with her. These are the things about which Cassandra wonders. It's not that he isn't good looking, he is, and most girls would give up their new ball gowns to be sought out by him. Especially Regina who shows up on the doorstep with some cousins and makes no secret about her interest in Geoffrey. Who knows where she came from and just what is her plan?
Questions beset the earl too. Why does someone want to kill him? Why are the ruffians destroying the mills that are the source of their income? Who are these people anyway? Then there is Cassandra. Why ever does she want to travel so high up in the air, in of all things an air filled balloon, when even the upstairs balcony causes him to feel just a little sea sick? Why can't she see that he loves her? How will he ever get her to believe he loves her in spite of her glasses and scars.
These problems and questions are interestingly solved in this light-hearted, fun to read novel, A Flight of Fancy by Laurie Eakes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Regency romance

Date:October 27, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this romance story to be refreshing. It made me think outside the lines of the ordinary lives of females during the regency period. How did they break out of the expected and be individuals.
I was rooting for poor Geoffrey the whole time. Going up in a balloon makes me shudder. :)
If you are a Regency fan, this story is just for you. :) I enjoyed every moment of my time reading it.
***Book provided for the purposes of review by author/publisher. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Story of Love and Sacrifice

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Naomi Rawlings
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read several of Laurie Alice Eakes' novels and found myself very satisfied with her latest story, A Flight of Fancy. This is the second book in the Daughters of Bainbridge Series, and I'm falling in love with the characters more and more all the time.
When Cassandra and Whittaker, a betrothed couple, get into a bit of trouble on their way home one night, disaster ensues, tearing the couple apart and putting Whittaker in the path of danger.
One of the things I personally love about this story is how Whittaker finds himself torn between love and duty. He struggles with handling both things at once, and that same struggle reaches out and touches every person on the planet at one time or another. And of course, the suspense element is riveting, keeping the reader constantly guessing at what will happen next, who's toying with Whittaker and Cassandra, and why.
If you like historical novels with drama, love, and suspense, you'll find yourself well satisfied with this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book 2-Interesting Regency Book

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
graceful
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The hero and heroine are mentioned a few times in A Necessary Deception(Book 1) but this book can be read as a stand alone.
After horrible carriage accident, Miss Cassandra Bainbridge recovers from her injuries in Lord Whittaker's country estate. She quickly ends her betrothal to Whittaker because she no longer feels attractive for any future husband and feels her injuries are a punishment from God.
Lord Whittaker struggles with guilt after the accident. I did feel the guilt was so repetitive in the book and the message of forgiveness not explored enough between the hero/heroine.
This well paced book is filled with intrigue, forbidden love, villians and interesting ballooning scenes. Subtle Christian message of God's forgiveness.
Clean Christian Regency. Interesting characters and short enough to read over the weekend. Another lovely book cover by Ms. Eakes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another exceptional story!

Date:October 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryLu Tyndall
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two things I loved the most about this story were the great characters and the ballooning! Let's start with the characters. As in all of Laurie Alice's books, her hero and heroine are beyond compare. They are deep, unusual, interesting, flawed, yet extremely loveable. Cassandra Bainbridge is a bookish sort, highly intelligent, very compassionate, and not the belle of the ball. She feels she's too smart and quirky to be loved by any real gentleman. She is, after all, obsessed with hot air ballooning and flying through the sky! Not exactly a past time of women in the Regency era. The hero is equally interesting. An earl who doesn't wish to be an earl, who would rather go back to being the second son of an earl without the title, inheritance or the responsibility. An accident early all deforms Cassandra and makes her feel even less worthy of love. That same accident creates incredible guilt between her and the hero that keep them apart. The hero gets involved in some nefarious business to help save his wool mills but which also puts his and Cassandra's life in danger. So, you see this isn't just a romance. As in all of Laurie's books, there is great adventure and suspense. Now, add in the ballooning and it's all too fascinating! I loved learning about the Hot air ballooning! Laurie Alice's research is perfection and the scenes in the balloon had me biting my nails. Well done. A great story you won't want to miss!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Flight of Fancy, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Come Fly Away!

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathleen L. Maher
Location:Breesport, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh, so few books keep you truly guessing until the very last page, and give up their secrets grudgingly one titillating hint at a time. But Laurie Alice Eakes has mastered both intrigue and suspense, dramatic and expertly timed to sweep you to the very heights of anticipation and passion in this thrilling Regency romance.
Cassandra Bainbridge is enamored with learning Greek and physics as much as she is enamored with the man she used to know as Geoffrey Giles, the second son of Lord Whittaker. But when Geoffrey inherits the estate unexpectedly, Cassandra's dreams of aeronautic pioneering come under jeopardy since she must assume an uncomfortable societal role as the wife of an Earl. Soon, not just her dreams are threatened, but her very life, as accidents and intrigue surround both her and Whittaker.
Set in the backdrop of the Luddite rebellion, as well as the advent of ballooning science, this beautiful and stirring story shimmers with details of a rich history. Each page delivers compelling scenes with characters as fascinating and accessible as the best of Masterpiece Theater, or even Downton Abbey. Themes of forgiveness abound, from God, from one another, from an unforgiving society, and even from oneself.
If I read this book over and over the rest of my life, I would still be catching the nuance and layers this master storyteller has woven into this superb novel. If ever there was a story that begs for the big screen, it is this. You will not want to miss one savory moment of Flight of Fancy. It will truly take you up from mundane reality and sweep you away!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>