Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Devil in Pew Number Seven

Tyndale House The Devil in Pew Number Seven

Rebecca never felt safe as a child. In 1969, when her family moved to Sellerstown, North Carolina to pastor the local church, the community welcomed them with open arms...with one exception. Harris Williams, harboring a grudge against Rebecca's father, Robert Nichols, began an assault of terror on the Nichols family that would last for years. They received threatening phone calls and letters, damage to property, shootings and bombings that culminated when Williams walked into the Nichol's kitchen armed with three guns and Rebecca's life was changed forever.

Rebecca tells her family's harrowing story in The Devil in Pew Number Seven, but she also shares her journey to forgiveness of the man who hurt her family so much. Her remarkable story will deepen your understanding of forgiveness in the midst of painful circumstances.
Average Customer Rating:
4.897 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 32100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Review 1 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teddy
Location:Spokane, Washington
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
exciting autobiography with challenges to think about how I
would treat others in difficult situations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michele Irwin
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book really amazed me at what the family went through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teresa Conway-mansfield
Location:Greenville
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though it is a tragic story, it is a Great read. I would
recommend this book to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Timewilltell
This book is wonderful and yes so true. I lived this too. Lived right down the road most all my life. My family and neighbors experienced this. Rebecca did a wonderful job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
sandy
Location:coatesville pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read.My sisters pastor recomened the book.I read it and passed it to my sister.We both got a true blessing from the authors true story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a blessing

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Juanita
Location:Cleveland, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was fantastic! All of us in this temporal life will have troubles and tragedies. Some more than others. But this book shows how people can move forward and forgive just as our Lord forgives us for all our sins. I would recommend this book to anyone who has been wronged or
badly hurt. God will surely bless you with this read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a must read.

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
honeybee
Location:Exeter, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had I not known this was a true story, it would've been hard to believe that such horrible things happened. The author Rebecca is honest and forthcoming with her experiences and feelings. I was quite moved by her ability to forgive and appreciated everything she has to share with the reader.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pew 7

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Valley, Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was good , it was everythimg that they went over on Dr. Phil Show...God Bless Them for being Forgiving like Our Father in Heaven...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT READ

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
NSANTA
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY WELL WRITTEN AND EASY TO FOLLOW. GREAT INTERESTING STORY.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
patshischild
Location:Norco, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exciting, but sad, story. Very interesting. Not for the squeamish. Good ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Griffin
Location:Griffin, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is well written and gives great descriptions of all the family members and other persons involved. It is so sad that this type of activity exists in the US but my thanks to the author for sharing this part of their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scotty
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I heard about this book on the Dr. Phil show. It is extremely well written. The descriptions of places and events make the story come alive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
kirk
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Excellent book. Good reading and very well written.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elleln
Location:Kentucky
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book was very touching. I seen the sister and brother on Dr. Phil's Show not long ago, before I had ever read the book. Hard to believe all they went through and how they could forgive. What a lesson for us all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Re-emphasizing the importance of forgiveness.

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Liz H
Location:Elk City, Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I generally do not cry when I read most books, but this one brought the tears. It is a powerful story of devastation in the lives of a very young girl and her brother as they witness their home invaded and their mother killed. But, the entire focus is on their ability to forgive as Jesus teaches - from the view point of a child through adulthood. Very touching!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the publisher info is not accurate

Date:March 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
mscheryl59
Location:Morgantown, WV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The actual bad guy in this is Mr. Watts. The publisher names the person who was incidental to the events - he wasn't the tormentor.
A good read; I read it one evening. I picked it up because the title was interesting. Being a church musician for about 40 years, I've had my run-ins with people who only want to run things and never experience change that brings more people in to hear God's word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a must read for every church goer.

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book could go a long way in opening the eyes a lot of modern day church membership who face difficulties in the church with a sense of entitlement rather than trust, fear rather than faith and venom rather than victory. This is not only a compelling true story of unwavering faith, it is also a prime example of how to raise up a child in the way they should go. Rebecca Nichols father lives on in her example of true Christ-like love and forgiveness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent lesson in forgiveness

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
KimC
Location:Central Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I truly enjoyed this book. The fact that it was a true story was more than a little disturbing. To think that anyone could treat a family - especially his own pastor - the way the Nichols family was treated is unthinkable. Her ability to forgive the people responsible is a true testimony to her love of the Lord.
I received a free copy of this book to review from Tyndale. I have not been compensated for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Possibly the best lesson on forgiveness

Date:February 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imagine your father is the pastor of a church, where your mother plays the organ, in a small town where you are loved and quickly accepted. Do you imagine being happy? Feeling safe? Rebecca Nichols Alonzo was that child, along with her younger brother Daniel… but they never felt safe. With threatening letters in the mail, harassing late-night phone calls, and several explosions around their home, life for the Nichols family was far from peaceful and safe. Then, one night, a man came in armed with three guns. Rebecca’s life would never be the same.
I can’t even begin to imagine the pain of going through this. Rebecca tells us her story as an example of, of all things, forgiveness. If anyone would be allowed feelings of hate, revenge, or bitterness… it would be Rebecca. But she has chosen another path. A path she had seen her parents take many times as she grew up. A path that is commanded by our Heavenly Father: forgiveness. In this book she takes us back to how it all started, walks us through the events, and the aftermath. Through it all, she focuses on the act of forgiveness and its healing powers.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes from Tyndale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
shortstuff925
Location:DeLand,FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book and I plan on reading it again. I forwarded to a friend. I would recommend it to everyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>