Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles

Tyndale House The Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles

* An encouraging look at the God-given purpose of suffering! Drawing on Scripture and his experience as U.S. Senate chaplain, Black shows how using our pain to help others can remove the sting of our own trials. Discover how to deal with God's silence, discern advantages in misfortune, stay hopeful in hard times, and more. 256 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles
Review 1 for The Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great help and faith builder

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glory
Location:Salem, Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best helps I have read. I particularly like the action summary at the end of each chapter. I will refer back to this many times in the future and have already recommended it to others
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles
This review is fromThe Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overcomeing Aversity

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is adversity a bad thing? Can we learn from our adversity? These are the ideas in the book "The Blessing or Adversity" by Barry Black
Black shared stories in this book including a story about how he was chosen last and instead of feeling sorry for himself he purposed to better himself. He shares how he learned from his adversities. At the end of each chapter he has "An Action Plan." with ideas how to apply it. Black backs up his ideas with the Scripture.
We can choose to dwell in our adversity or learn and grow from them because things in life happen for a reason Romans 8:28.
I received this book for an honest review from Tyndale House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An easy read for both new and seasoned believers.

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ginger
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The following is my personal review of the book The Blessing of Adversity by Barry C. Black.
The purpose in this book is to provide a blueprint for finding peace in tough times (Intro. p. x). The book is divided into three main sections, and each chapter is broken down into specific areas with subheadings to help you address each topic called an action plan. See outline to follow . . .
Part I: Mastering the Basics
Chapter 1: Celebrate Your Troubles (pp. 4-9)
Guard your tongue.
Stay positive.
Be constant.
Grow up.
Use your map (God's wisdom).
Control your doubts.
"A mature person is one who does not think only in absolutes, who is able to be objective even when deeply stirred emotionally, who has learned that there is both good and bad in all people and in all things, and who walks humbly and deals charitably with the circumstances of life"--Eleanor Roosevelt (p. 7).
Chapter 2: Trust God's Plan (pp. 11-18)
Surrender to God's providence.
Believe in God's kindness.
Accept God's chastisement.
Live with Hope.
Believe God's revelation over human speculation.
Seek God with intensity.
Stay productive.
Pray for your enemies prosperity.
Chapter 3: Meet the Challenges of Dark Days (pp. 19-24)
Develop the right perspective.
Relinquish control.
Discover the nature of true prayer.
Allow God to transform your dark yesterdays.
Make loving God your top priority.
"Truth forever on the scaffold, wrong forever on the throne--yet that scaffold sways the future, and, behind the dim unknown, standeth God within the shadow, keeping watch above His own"-- John Russell Lowell (p. 23).
Chapter 4: Restore Broken Walls (pp. 25-33)
Be passionate about change.
Ask God for favor.
Be prepared for doors of opportunity to open.
Expect opposition.
"Don't envy me. Favor isn't fair" (p. 29).
Chapter 5: Benefit from Brokenness (pp. 35-43)
Allow affliction to humble you.
Allow affliction to deepen your knowledge of God.
Allow affliction to strengthen your prayer life.
Allow affliction to expose you to God's grace.
Allow affliction to reveal God's faithfulness.
Allow affliction to lead you to God's Word.
Allow affliction to deepen your trust in God's providence.
Allow affliction to bring you back to God.
Chapter 6: Refuse to Waste Suffering (pp. 45-51)
Expect suffering.
See suffering as a test.
Discover a deeper fellowship with Jesus Christ.
Chapter 7: Expect the Inevitability of Trouble (pp. 53-71)
Avoid resignation.
Tame your temper.
Find joy.
Reap the fruit of perseverance.
Harness the power of prayer.
Ask God for wisdom.
Remember the past.
Help the helpless.
Endure hardship.
Testify to God's goodness.
Live with gratitude.
Embrace humility.
Learn from failure.
"All the armies that ever marched, and all the navies that ever were built, all the parliaments that ever sat, and all the kings that ever reigned, put together, have not affected the life of man upon this earth as powerfully as that One Solitary Life"--James Allen Francis of Jesus Christ, "One Solitary Life" (pp. 59-50).
(See Lk. 18:1-8, KJV)
*Visit Here's My Cup Lord.com for more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2 Corinthians 12:10 in action!

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Blessing Of Adversity" may seem like an oxymoron to many, but this excellent book by Barry C. Black proves that it is the trials we endure that makes us stronger when we trust in God. Speaking from many familiar stories we know from the Bible, coupled with his own background of rising from poverty to a position of power and prestige, this is certainly not a superficial tale of one who does not understand feelings of hopelessness and despair. Many examples are highlighted of the ways God has used hardships in life to strengthen His people. These are people who underwent suffering and emerged triumphant not in spite of their struggles, but because of these trials. This book was written by a man that has gained both wisdom and compassion and gives advice that provides hope, encouragement, and practical advice. Instead of just wallowing in misery, he tells the reader to use these experiences to grow stronger and to find the advantages of your situation.
Barry C. Black (From The Hood To The Hill: A Story Of Overcoming) went from poverty and public housing to a distinguished career as a chaplain of the US Senate and retiring from the US Navy with the rank of two-star admiral. He is certainly a man who knows what he is speaking about and has penned a book that brings hope to others who are suffering. I often find myself rolling my eyes while reading books by people who have observed hardship, but are actually clueless on how it feels to go through trials and tribulations. Not only does Rear Admiral Black know how it feels to live without the little luxuries some take for granted, but also has experienced doing without the necessities. My favorite part of each chapter is his "action plan" that reinforces what he has said with a practical application of faith. My thoughts went to 2 Corinthians 5:7 ~ "We walk by faith, not sight." and the knowledge that faith is not only passive, but also requires action. That verse can literally mean putting feet to your faith and stepping out to use the trials God is allowing you to undergo as He leads you in your journey Home.
In compliance with new regulations by the Federal Trade Commission: Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. However, it was not required that I write a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not quite what i expected

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastor2519
Location:West Point, UT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Book review: The Blessing of Adversity.
This is not a book that I would have bought, and if there had been other choices, I might not have even gotten this one. And frankly it just about met my expectations.
I could relate to some of the things that Admiral Black wrote about. I was that kid that got picked last, I’ve not always done my homework and someone else had to point some things out to me. I’ve had bosses that didn’t like me. And I survived. Maybe not to the point that Admiral Black did, but…
We learn that the family was poor, that the author lost his mother and in the process got angry at God. And he got over that anger – lots of people do.
I think that if this book were to be reformatted, edited and sold as a daily devotional it might do well, but in its current format, it seems to be in an in between zone: almost devotional/meditation book -almost memoir - almost textbook, but it doesn’t quite measure up to any of them.
There are some poignant moments, and as a hospice chaplain and pastor, I certainly understand some of the points that Admiral Black was making, and some of the lessons learned, but while I was reading it, it seemed like I was hearing a series of sermons from a first semester seminary student. Make a point then find several scripture references to back it up; another point and several more scriptures.
By pushing, I can rate it a 3 out of 5.
I received this book free from Tyndale House in exchange for the review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great postive book.

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
samwife
Location:Springfield, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What if we saw adversity as a positive thing? What if we could learn from it instead of wallowing in it? These are the ideas of Black in his book The Blessing of Adversity.
What I liked about this book was how he shares his stories and how he learned from them. One story that he shares is being picked last and instead of feeling sorry for himself he decides to better himself. I also liked that at the end of every chapter he leaves "An Action Plan" with points to remind you of what the whole chapter talked about and how to apply it. Another great thing about this book was how Black backs up his ideas with the Bible.
This book comes at a great time when so many are losing their jobs. It can be easy to think what is wrong with me and feel sorry for our situation. However if we can do what Black suggest in this book and better ourselves we will only come out stronger.
Overall this was a great book for encouragement. It has many aspects that we could all learn. I would recommend this to anyone looking for some encouragement when they feel worn down. I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars.
I received this book for review from Tyndale House Publishers. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles
This review is fromThe Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book! Comfort in life's trials!

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
hayden coupon mom
Location:Hayden, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this book! We all have times of trials, storms and times when we feel we are not hearing from God. I lost my brother to a car accident a little over a year ago and I know without God's help I would not have been able to be the strong tower my family needed in this awful time of lose. My mom is still going through the pain and storm of losing her son, my brother. But I know God's works ALL things to the ultimate good! Even in our times of struggle and weathering the storms of life, God is working a testimony in us to reach out to others and help them. This book was comforting and a blessing to me and I know you will feel the same!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles
This review is fromThe Blessing of Adversity: Finding Your God-given Purpose in Life's Troubles.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exellent book on how to face hardship

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gently Mad
Location:Longview TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barry C. Black is the Chaplain of the U.S. Senate. He grew up in inner city Baltimore but had a mother who used her welfare checks to put all five of her children in Christian boarding schools. This book is evidence of an excellent education. It is apparent from the book that not only is Mr. Black well-versed in the Bible but also knowledgeable in classical literature. His book is riddled with quotes of works by everyone from Plato to Shakespeare. Not only is he a prolific reader but he is a proficent writer. Blessing of Adversity is written (without a co or ghost writer) in a lucid, well-organized and fluid manner that makes it easy to read and understand.
Black divides the book up into three sections. The first contains different strategies to dealing with hardship and troubles that come into our life. He uses many passages of scripture to support what he says. At the end of each chapter is a summary of the action plan outlined as a list of goals to accomplish.
In the second section Black discusses how to avoid trouble by not worrying but trusting God, running away from temptations and turning loss into gain. In the final section he details how to increase your faith and using the adversity that God has put into your life as an opportunity to become strong in Him.
Included are personal stories of how Mr. Black became a gang member, narrowly escaped a life of crime and prison to become a Navy Chaplain then the U.S. Senate chaplain. He also shares a few experiences from his work with different senators and other political leaders. I recommend this book for anyone who would like solid, scripturally based strategies for overcoming the odds of life and living a life that has joy and victory. Blessing of Adversity is for someone who wants to say in the midst of affliction “I am blessed!”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.