Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Uncommon: Finding Your Path to Significance

Tyndale House Uncommon: Finding Your Path to Significance

What does it mean to be a man of significance in a culture that doesn't offer many positive role models? Reflecting on lessons he's learned from his parents, career, mentors, and journey with God, Dungy moves beyond material success to illuminate those ambitions, attitudes, and allegiances that make our lives truly meaningful. Includes a new chapter. 304 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Uncommon: Finding Your Path to Significance
Review 1 for Uncommon: Finding Your Path to Significance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book for men, women and anyone who is striving to live a life of integrity. It is well written and easy to read. One of the besy books I have read to date.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Uncommon: Finding Your Path to Significance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Shaping One’s Life into Successful Significance

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatDoe
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Uncommon
Finding Your Path to Significance
By Tony Dungy with Nathan Whitaker
Shaping One’s Life into Successful Significance
by KitKatDoe 7/9/2011
Tony Dungy’s second book, “Uncommon”, is a continuance on his teachings of what people, especially young men, need to work on to be successful. Throughout the book, Coach Dungy details traits he has lived and taught that shaped his life. Being a humble man, Coach Dungy wouldn’t say these traits made him successful, but in his book, he gives personal experience for each trait, and often refers to his success in football, including his success in coaching the Indianapolis Colts win Super Bowl XLI in 2007. Coach Dungy adds insight into his faith and that the basis for significance must be rooted into a relationship with God. The book is a bit dry in reading in some spots, but is definitely educational in learning to shape one’s life into successful significance.
This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Uncommon: Finding Your Path to Significance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tony Dungy has great insight for Men.

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gerry
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using the work book for a Men's small group. It is very good to facilitate learning and discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Uncommon: Finding Your Path to Significance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly Special!!!

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sid J
Location:Slidell, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tony Dungy never ceases to amaze me! What an awesome and powerful message to men of all ages and backgrounds!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Uncommon: Finding Your Path to Significance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brian Trettin
Fantastic book...everyone should read. Tony Dungy is the man. This is a book that will open your eyes to leading an UNCOMMON life. If you want to really build your character read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Uncommon: Finding Your Path to Significance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rosemary Allen
I love the book for my son, when he received it , he just started reading it. He loves what Mr. Tony Dungy is saying, is very true about staying focus in academic first, then having fun in playing sports. And listening to your parent is a plus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Uncommon: Finding Your Path to Significance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Gaccione
Gave as a gift to my son going into the Marines so he will have an understanding of how God works in our lives. I want my son to see what is truly important in his life and I hope this book helps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Uncommon: Finding Your Path to Significance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Johnson
This is one of the finest books on living for the Lord that I have ever encountered. It's for everyone--not just the football fan. It's utterly practical for husbands, fathers, and everyone who wants to live lovingly and victoriously for God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Uncommon: Finding Your Path to Significance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
TOM CHASTAIN
this is Tony Dungy's newest book "Uncommon" there are more inspirational lessons in this life moving bestseller that show you how to get along in this common world. Tony Dungy gives you many examples to follow and there are many wonderful examples in here that this coach shows where he gives lots of background from his life that he has benefited from.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.