Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life

Tyndale House Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life

* While our fast-paced world is governed by tweets and texting, the Amish live a life filled with faith, family, and friends. Maybe they're on to something! Encouraging you to embrace the art of simple living, Sleeth helps you limit technology's hold, get back to the basics, and enjoy deeper relationships with your loved ones and God. 288 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.038 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
9
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 2688%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Review 1 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book!

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
IlovetheLord
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought several copies of this book as gifts! I tend to do that when a book helps me as much as this one has! I first read Almost Amish about the time I felt we were being led to learn to live debt-free - and how timely! We are working on it! Oh if we would all learn to live beneath our means! Such freedom! Very inspiring book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simplify Your Life

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
matt5fourteen
Location:Dresden, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almost Amish is the true-story of how one Christian family took inspiration from how the Amish community lives and applied these principles in their own family. This book covers everything from technology and family to money and faith. Nancy Sleeth shares how her family adopted practices from the Amish into their modern, “English” lives.
The main idea behind the book was Nancy’s quest for a simpler, slower life. This led the family to downsizing their home, planting a garden, buying locally, and embracing their community. There wasn’t one thing that I didn’t like about this book. It actually left me wanting to be Nancy’s neighbor.
Almost Amish is not about trading in your SUV for a horse and buggy (although with these gas prices, one might consider it). It is not about unplugging completely from the grid. It is about balancing our dependency on technology so we can engage more fully with our families and communities. It is about taking better care of our environment. It is about putting God in the center of our world and putting our faith into everything we do. I encourage you to read it. It will make you think and question and, quite possible, make some changes in the way you live.
(Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read!

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
melz
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever wanted to take a closer look at the way in which the Amish live? Nancy Sleeth will give you a look inside the traditions and ways in which the Amish live their lives for God. She also gives tips on how these Amish ways of living can be incorporated into our own lives creating a much simpler living for us.
This book was very informative and insightful. Some subjects covered are home life, nature, finances, technology, and service. Mrs. Sleeth gives background on the Amish way of living and how it has been incorporated into the life of herself and her family. It was helpful to read how the author integrated the principles of the Amish into her life. While reading this book I became very aware of some of my own daily habits and decided to make changes of my own. There is also a surprise at the end of the book: Amish recipes for you to try! While I have not tried any yet, I am looking forward to doing so.
If you have ever wanted to live a simpler way of life or learn more about Amish ways, you should pick up this book. It was a good read, filled with practical tips on how to achieve a simpler life centered on the Lord.
Note: I have received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing Read

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
cllane2
Location:New York
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nancy Sleeth and her family desired to "incorporate the best of Amish principles" into their modern lives. They found Amish principles in the areas of homes, technology, finances, nature, simplicity, service, security, community, families and faith and tries to incorporate them into their lives, by making some unusual choices for their family. However, rather than being like a personal journal of their experiences, this book is more a list of some common sense ideas and principles with some Amish and Biblical backing.
I must say that I high higher hopes for this book. Sleeth book is more how to take some Amish ideas regarding life and try to fit them into our culture. It doesn't really work. It also seemed like it was very selective in what ideas Sleeth took from the Amish to incorporate into her own families life. Based on the title, I had the idea that the book was going to be more of a personal journal of the family's "quest for a slower, simpler, more sustainable life", but what it really was was 10 categories of Amish ideas and how we can try to fit them into our American, modern culture. This is not to say that the examples she gives do not work, but its not because they are Amish ideas. A lot of it is just plain common sense, such as needing a time to just unplug from technology (computers, phones, email, etc), and just spend time as family and friends together to build relationships or being wise with your money.
I give this book 3 stars. It wasn't a bad book, but I was not at all impressed with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good.

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Almost Amish is a book by Nancy Sleeth about how we can incorporate Amish daily habits and traditions into our own lives. I enjoyed this book. She includes many helpful hints on how to save money and how to live with less. She also includes tips on how to reduce waste, electricity use and stretch your every day items. There are also Amish recipes, including bread and soup that will be fun to try.
I recommend this book as a nice light read and to help get over our nation's current overabundance craze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost Amish is Almost There

Date:July 14, 2012
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is easy to agree that many modern devices (smartphones, tablets, email, texting, etc.) have actually succeeded in making life more complicated rather than the reverse. The ability to 'unplug' and 'live off the grid' continues to decrease as jobs and relationships become more and more dependent on electronic connections. This idea is at the heart of Sleeth's book.
But then the author takes it one step further: What do you fill your time with when you are no longer on Facebook for three hours a day and television is no longer a choice for the evenings? If everyone knows that shopping large box retailers isn't really the healthiest option for our diet or our economy, where do we buy our groceries? When families and friends are separated by hundreds of miles, how do you stay in contact without internet and phones? How can Christians live responsibly with a smaller carbon footprint and use world resources more effectively?
The solutions offered in this book will not be for everyone. Many of them would just not be practical without living the author's life in the author's town. In today's world economy, I doubt very many of us have the financial resources or flexibility to sell our homes and buy a town home in a small college town where everything is within walking distance or a ten minute bike ride away. Where large families are involved, selling the old large, electricity eating refrigerator and replacing it one (or more) which is smaller and more energy efficient is just not a practical option - due to storage space alone.
However, the principles behind the suggestions given in this book are absolutely valid. Sleeth illuminates them with Bible verses, the amish applications, and how they have worked out in her life.
This book, then, should not be read as a "how to" book, but rather as a manifesto encouraging the Christian community to be just that - A Christian Community; one where all aspects of life - grocery shopping, power usage, entertainment, hospitality, education, and lifestyle in general - should be not subject only to Christ, but exist as part of a network of relationships where love and caring is freely shared between neighbors.
Idealistic, yes. Impractical, yes. Impossible, no. And perhaps a change desperately needed to reestablish Christ centered-Biblical living in the modern world.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable and Informative!

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author makes suggestions of what worked for her family to mimic the frugal lifestyle of the amish peoples. Some of the topics included in this book are (in my own words): how to save more and spend less, what to do about clutter, what to give away and what to keep, family ties, and so many more ways of life and many useful solutions from an amish and non amish standpoint. Before the end of each chapter is summing it up, an excellent tool to read in case something was missing in the chapter. Also included are recipes that are Almost Amish.
I found that I was able to devour this book in a little over an evening and felt it to be helpful in trying to incorporate some of the amish practices into our own home. I was entertained and learned some things in the process. I would recommend this entertaining book to others and especially to those who feel they need a boost in the area of becoming more sufficient and resourceful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Almost Amish

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I picked this book up at the library, thinking that it sounded interesting. The author makes some good points about saving electricity, having a garden, etc. She also discourages the overuse of TV, video games and the computer. What I didn't like is that the author seemed to idolize the Amish, as if they are almost perfect. She would explain the Amish way of doing something and then tell how her family used this idea. It almost seemed like bragging about how they've simplified their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

green and Godly

Date:June 26, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Going green and living Godly go hand in hand. I loved this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVED this book!!!

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They say "Don't just a book by its cover," but that's exactly why I picked up this book at my library to read: something about the cover, title and subtitle, "One woman's quest for a slower, simpler, most sustainable life" really intrigued me. So kudos to whoever designed the very attractive cover and binding. :)
Now, as for the book itself, I'll tell you why I loved it after I give you a bit of background. I grew up in a very conservative home (both morally and politically) in the fairly liberal, tree-hugging city of Anchorage, Alaska. So although we eschewed the earth worship and extremism of many of our fellow citizens, we always recycled, composted, grew our own vegetables and fruit (at least what we could get to grow here :)), etc. However, I've always been rather discouraged and frustrated that looking for ways to sustain, replenish and preserve the environment are such a low priority for many on my "side of the aisle." I guess there's something to that old saying of "throwing the baby out with the bathwater."
All of this to say, I LOVED the balance Nancy Sleeth wrote about in her book! As Christians, we should be the most concerned about taking care of this earth we live on, as God entrusted us with it and commanded us to be good stewards of it. However, I think the radical extremism of putting the earth first, above all else and to the detriment of humans, who are MUCH more important, has turned off so many people that they just take the complete opposite view. So I think "Almost Amish" has some really helpful and important reminders, often from Scripture, that we should choose a healthy view somewhere in the middle.
In addition to her chapters on sustainability, Ms. Sleeth does a wonderful job of showing some of the most admirable aspects of the Amish, again showing the foundation of their beliefs and rituals in Scripture. And again, while I think perhaps the Amish are extreme in their simplicity and beliefs (and I say this with respect, I am not belittling their lifestyle), we average Americans have become just as extreme in the other direction! We have become far too much like the world in the areas of our homes, finances, families and community and we would do well to take a page or two from the "Ordung." :) Yet, we do have to take it all with a grain of salt, and not become so legalistic, but rather just try to pay more attention to the spirit of God's Law.
I would definitely recommend this book to my friends and family, and in fact have already done so. I really do think that it would be valuable reading for every person, as a lot the struggles and complications we face in this world are really new problems that didn't exist a generation or two ago, and we would really benefit from looking at our past to help us in the future. One of my favorite lines in the book is actually a quote from C.S. Lewis, "Going back can sometimes be the quickest way forward." I think that pretty much sums up the book and why YOU should read it! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Almost Amish

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Amish way of life – living the way our ancestors did – is fascinating to those of us in the modern world. In Almost Amish, the author gives tips to ways that we can duplicate this way of life without actually becoming Amish.
My husband and I read this together, and while we did have some takeaways from the book, it was not quite as helpful as we thought it would be. The author tends to focus on being ‘green’ more than being Amish. I realize that the Amish inherently have a ‘green’ lifestyle as well as a simple one. It just felt as if some of the things that are suggested in this book would take a much larger income than what we currently have.
The author has good intentions, but this book sometimes came off as a ‘look at what we did’ biography rather than a book of practical applications. There are some tips here and there that could definitely be put into practice in our family. However, most of these things are things I’ve heard before. I think I was expecting this book to be more about living a simpler life, and it was actually about creating a ‘green’ lifestyle. ‘Simple’ does not always equal ‘green,’ and ‘green’ does not always equal ‘simple.’
Even though I didn’t get as much out of this book as I had hoped, the message of simplicity is one that is very appropriate for our too-busy, modern society. Others might be able to glean more from this book than I did.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost Amish: An insight to the simple life

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
JJames
Location:Lexington, KY
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a student at Asbury University, which Nancy mentions multiple times in Almost Amish. I have heard her speak on several occasions and always enjoy hearing her great insights. She gave me a copy of the book after a workshop of hers that I attended. She continues to preach what she practices by illustrating Biblical purposes for living an “almost Amish” lifestyle. I liked how each chapter emphasized a particular aspect of life and how the Amish go about simply living it out. They apply many of the same principles in each aspect of life, which makes the end of the book sound redundant; nonetheless, they are important principles that as a Christian, of any denomination, are great ones to live by.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost Amish

Date:May 1, 2012
Author Nancy Sleeth and her husband, Matthew, chose not to follow any religion after they were married. Then devastating events occurred in their lives that got them thinking about how the world was dying and they needed to do something about it. It wasn’t until Matthew picked up a Bible that they discovered what they would do to help the world. Matthew quit his job as a doctor and the family started a faith and environmental journey.
Nancy and her family began to follow the Bible as a way to live. They decided to reduce their ecological footprint. They downsized to a much smaller house, they consumed 2/3 less energy, got rid of ½ their possessions, and put out 9/10 less garbage.
As Nancy and Matthew began speaking to groups about their faith and environmental journey, Nancy realized we all can become “Almost Amish” by keeping simplicity, service, and faith at the center of all we say and do. This book explains ten ways we can apply the Amish lifestyle to our lives, as outlined in the book:
Our homes are simple, uncluttered, and clean
Technology serves as our tool, not our master
Saving more and spending less bring financial peace
Spending time in God's creation reveals the face of God
Promoting small and local leads to saner lives
Serving others reduces our loneliness and isolation
We understand that the only true security comes from God
Knowing our neighbors and supporting local businesses builds community
Our family ties are life long, they change but never cease
Our faith and way of life are inseparable
This book gives us Biblical reasons why we should care for people and the earth. Please note, the author does everything “green”, which may not be for everyone. She states several times that we should buy local and not from the big box stores, even if it costs a little more money. I personally want to save money so I buy from the big box stores. Because my family lives a frugal lifestyle, we have actually been doing much of what Nancy suggests for more than 20 years. I didn't learn a lot of new information from this book. This book will teach you how to live frugally with a "go green" twist. Also, throughout Almost Amish the author explains Amish traditions, which I did enjoy reading.
If you are looking to declutter your life, physically and spiritually, check out this book. You will learn many ways to become “Almost Amish”. The last Bible verse in the book sums it up well, "This is what the Lord says: Stop at the crossroads and look around. Ask for the old, godly way, and walk in it. Travel its path and you will find rest for your souls." Jeremiah 6:16
I received a free copy of this e-book from NetGalley for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Memorable and Life-Changing

Date:April 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
BeccaBeast
Location:Maryland
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We all want to de-clutter our lives and live simply. We've been told to not waste and to turn off the lights when we leave a room. But we've never been given any practical steps on how to slow down, live simply, take a siesta and stop letting things rule over us.
Once again, I'm blown away by one of Nancy Sleeth's books. Practical and simple advice that I can use in my daily life. It's changed the way I look at the Amish, first of all and the way I look at our fast-paced culture. My desire for solitude and a slower life has grown exponentially.
Loved it! So much!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Valuable lessons for open hearts and minds

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Will
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy Sleeth has nailed down a message for our time in this highly practical book. In her quirky yet authoritative way, Sleeth has delivered a new challenge, if only we will listen.
Some who have reviewed this book have alleged that it is a "tree hugger" manifesto disguised as a conservative Christian's guide to living a generically simple life. Such a review represents the typically phobic mindset of many evangelicals who fear that a more authentic faith might require us to scale back our selfish overconsumption of God's blessings.
Simplicity in 2012 should, in fact, require a scaling back of consumption of goods, media, technology and other man-made excess. Nancy Sleeth, herself, is a conservative, evangelical Christian -- I personally know her very well -- who has allowed herself to consider that faith requires us to show real gratitude for what we consume. I would argue that there is no American who, if asked to apply gratitude for every single thing he or she consumes, wouldn't consume far less. That is Sleeth's underlying point; she isn't asking Christians to send Al Gore a check, but to instead send God a grateful heart for his blessings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring book

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mazzou
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
''Something is wrong...terribly wrong. We Tweet while we work, text while we drive, and basically stare at our computer screens until we fall into bed at night....''
What an inspirational book of wise revelations this is! Although my family already makes our feeble attempt to live healthily, simply and for the glory of God, this was a deeper reminder to re-think how your are spending your time! Are you making technology your god? Are you making the modern world your god? Nancy Sleeth uses the Amish people as a very good example of how our lives as Christians COULD be lived to better serve God. She is not enforcing that we should BECOME Amish, but rather that we obey God's direction in changing our lives to make them more focused on eternal things- things of WORTH! I highly recommend this easy to read book.
Here are just a few wonderful quotes from the book:
‘A calmer, more peaceful healthier existence. Many of us PLAN expensive vacations to seek these ver qualities and ‘’get away’’. For the Amish, it’s a way of life.’
‘’Too easily, our homes and the stuff that fills them can become false idols. Possessions should work for us; we should not work for them!’’
‘’How can we hear the voice of God if we are multitasking nonstop? How can we see the face of God in still waters and green pastures when we are chronically refreshig the screen? The digital generation is a distracted generation.’’
‘’Be not conformed to this world- Romans 12 :2’’
Now…I have read other reviews which said that the author spent more time dwelling on our earthly lives instead of our spiritual. I don’t know what the author’s viewpoint is, but I can assure you : this book helped inspire me because I was NOT looking to as a spiritual growth book, rather as a practical living book! I don’t think the author intended her book to be the only book for Christians to read! Besides, I think she does do a good job in explaining : all this healthful living IS to draw us closer in relationship to God, so we have more time for HIS service! I hope that helps explain any doubtful things in the book.
I do have concerns because Nancy Sleeth DOES use many terms that earth-worshipers (earth-friendly) people use. As Christians, we should use different terms than the world. Therefore, we don’t use the terms ‘’earth-friendly’’, ‘’go green’’ ‘’carbon footprint’’, or ‘’save the planet’’, but rather say we are ‘’Creation conscious’’, ‘’stewards of God’s world’’, etc. I don’t know why the author chose to use terms as the world does. But I know personally I am able to overlook those phrases, and hope that the author really meant that we are not trying to ‘’save the planet’’, but trying to take wise CARE of God’s world!
Enjoy this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Helpful Book

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alicia
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book Review – Almost Amish
Almost Amish is a book written for people who seek to simplify their lives from this harried world. We are constantly on edge waiting for that email to come in. Checking and changing our status on social networks. We are hooked to technology, consumed by the cares of this world, and ultimately not fulfilled. Who other than the Amish have managed to live technology free, simple and fulfilling lives?
By incorporating Amish principles, Nancy shows ways to simplify your life by going almost Amish. You do not have to live completely technology free. Neither do you have to drive in a buggy to live a simple life. Nancy uses Amish principles and modifies them to fit our non-Amish lives.
Nancy shares ways to:
De-clutter your home
Use technology as a tool and not let it rule your life
Save and spend less
Spend time enjoying God’s creation
Support local businesses
Serve others
Experience true security in God
Create a community
Not used to reading the Christian Living genre, I found Almost Amish to be a very edifying book. I loved how Nancy incorporated the Amish lifestyle in her writing. It allows one to see the lifestyle of a very different group of people. The author retained one's attention by including personal stories that allowed you to feel that simplifying your life can be possible. To top this book off, the author includes additional resources, such as recipes and websites to help you out. I enjoyed learning how to live simply, and hopefully you will too.
I thought this book was going to be centered on unplugging from technology, but that was included in a brief chapter. Overall this was a very helpful book to help you get unplugged and simplified. However, I did not agree theologically with some of her beliefs. I would give this book a 4 out of 5.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not all I was expecting....

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was not the book I was expecting to read. First, the concept, the author is trying to relate ways to simplify your current lifestyle to make it more like the Amish. She writes about different categories in which we can take a step back and simplify what we do or how we live. Second, the problem, this is more of a tree hugging book then a Jesus
hugging book. I am not saying the whole book is bad just that I felt it went a bit far into the living for the earth then it did in living for Jesus.
There are some positive ideas in the book about simplifying your lifestyle. Some people may find these ideas helpful and implement them right away. I don’t think the author meant for it to sound preachy but at times it really did feal like she was saying do these things or you are a bad person! I am not saying don’t read this book, just that if you do, make sure you read it with the understanding that this is only one person’s view on ways to simplify your life.
I gave this book 3/5 stars because although the author had some great personal examples, I just did not like all the ideas and manner in which she presented them.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Solid Guidelines for a Simpler Lifestyle

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Almost Amish is Nancy Sleeth's guideline for living a simpler lifestyle using the Amish lifestyle as the basis for choices. She relies on the Amish lifestyle for a variety of reasons including living closer to God, living healthier and happier, and making a smaller footprint on the earth. The first part of the book recommends choosing to move away from 24/7 pervasive technologies so that we can listen to our Creator, as well as lessen the stress in our everyday lives. Sleuth notes the many ways that Amish benefit from their chosen lifestyle that when emulated can benefit ours, too. Sleuth is not suggesting that all Christians should be Amish, just that by making choices to live more simply in a manner similar they would benefit.
The book has some very intestine suggestions, many that make great sense. The American way of bigger is always better sometimes works against us. Good book for those looking for ways to simplify their lifestyle.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Breath of Fresh Air

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almost Amish: One Woman’s Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life by Nancy Sleeth is a much needed breath of fresh air. When my children were small I read volumes about simple living in a quest to make life more intentional and less frantic. It worked for a while, but the busyness of everyday life in an active household became too much and the search for simplicity became a distant memory. After moving from a small town to a mega-city, the pace has become unhealthy and I have been looking for some answers. God’s timing is perfect and Almost Amish arrived as an answer to my prayers.
Speaking from experience, Sleeth challenges us to simplify in every area of life – in our homes, technology and finances. She then gently encourages us to spend time focusing on what really matters – nature, service, security, community, families and faith. Using the Amish communities as an example, we are given practical examples of how to achieve simplicity in a modern world. No, she does not recommend living “off the grid” and giving up our cars in exchange for horses, but she does show us how to tread lightly on the earth and readjust our priorities to become ones who live a life actively seeking after God and showing him to others through our actions.
Short chapters and a down-to-earth writing style made Almost Amish easy to devour in a day. I have started to ponder the changes necessary to make life less frantic once again and, although it will be a slow process (my daughter informed me that she cannot live without technology), I know that the benefits will far outweigh the sacrifices. I encourage you to slow down enough to read Almost Amish – it just might change your life.
I give this book 5 stars out of 5.
I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>