Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story

Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 23100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Review 1 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Gift Giving Book...Will Purchase More!

Date:March 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
jomilco
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful little book with an Amish Christmas Story.
As soon as it is, in stock again, I want to order more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Showed the warmth of Amish fiction

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ava E
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I haven't read any of the author's previous works but loved this book. I'm a fan of well written Amish fiction books and this one was great during the Christmas season! The characters were lovable from the first few pages. A joy to read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jean
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book arrived in excellent condition. I have not had an opportunity to read it yet, but the jacket cover sounds like it will be a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet story

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary Ellen Duffield
Location:Middle of WV
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this sweet story. One of the best romantic stories I have read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read on a cold winter day.

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Avid Reader
Location:Galveston, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading Naomi's Gift. The ending was predictable, but the journey to get there was interesting. The feelings of of the characters were believable. The questions at the end of the book give "food for thought".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful little book

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Encourager
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice easy read and great little story. Would make a wonderful gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Location:Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this type of fiction. More life-like clean reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bluebell
Location:Tilton,IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really enjoyed this book and author, but, I wish that there weren't so many buggy accidents in the ice, it seems they all have the same theme.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2012
Naomi has had her heart broken twice and has given up on ever falling in love and having a family. However, when Caleb and his daughter Susie arrive in town to visit family, Naomi feels that love may not be lost on her afterall.
I enjoyed Naomi's Gift and was instantly drawn into the community of Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania. It's apparent that many of the characters are featured in other novels in the Kauffman Amish Bakery series, but it's fairly easy to figure out who everyone is—even if you haven't read the other books in the series. Overall, Naomi's Gift is a sweet novella that gives readers a taste of Amish life, Christmas, and romance all rolled into one. [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well-developed characters in believable situations

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Prov 31
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little book exceeded my every expectation and was entirely enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful Christmas story.

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patty
Location:Cortland, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful story that I'll read again next year at Christmas time. I enjoy Amy's Amish books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended - I read it in one day!

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so good I read it in one day, which is unusual for me. I have read the first two books, A Gift of Grace and A Promise of Hope, in the Kauffman Amish Bakery series, and liked them also. I don't have the third one yet, A Place of Peace, the fourth one comes out in January, A Life of Joy, and the fifth one, A Season of Love, is scheduled for June of 2012.
Caleb and Susie, his eight year old daughter, are returning to his home town, Bird-in-Hand, PA for the holidays. He lost his wife in a buggy accident two years ago in Ohio where they lived. The only family there are his wife's cousins and they don't live close, but he has no desire to Pennsylvania.
Susie insists on stopping at a Farmer's Market to take her aenti Sadie a pie. While there she see's a beautiful quilt, her Mother loved making quilts and had promised to teach her to quilt, and gets away from her daed to admire the quilt and talk to the lady that made it. Caleb is frantically looking for Susie when he sees her talking to someone by the quilts. They will learn that her name is Naomi King and his sister, Sadie, does not like her, she has plans for him to court her friend Irene Wagler. Sadie is quite the busybody, likes to be the first to know everything, doesn't know how to keep a secret, and thinks her ways/ideas are the only/right way to do things. She thinks she should take charge of Caleb's life since their parents are gone and he has no one to look out for him. Caleb does not agree with her ant tries to tell her to 'mind her own business' gently. You'll have to read the book to see if that works.
That's all I'm going to tell you, you'll have to read the book to find out if Caleb and Susie return to their home in Ohio or make a home in Pennsylvania, if they go to Ohio do they take Naomi or Irene with them or if they stay does Caleb remarry or not.
This book is a definite purchase and read book, you will not be disappointed.
I won this book and was not required to read it or do a review, but I am so glad I took the day to read it an hope you enjoy it too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An answer to a little girl's prayer

Date:December 19, 2011
Caleb Schmucker and his daughter, Susie, are spending Christmas with his sister, Sadie Kauffman, and her family in Ohio. Before they arrive at Sadie's house they stop at a farmer's market to buy a pie for her. Susie gets separated from Caleb. He finds her at a stand where Amish women are selling quilts. He is taken back by one of woman at the stand. When they arrive at Sadie's, Caleb tells her about finding Susie at the stand. To his surprise, he learns that the woman lives in his sister's district. Her name is Naomi King. Sadie is a gossip and freely lets Caleb know about Naomi and her man chasing ways.
Noami believes that she had a chance at love but lost it, not once but twice. She feels there's no chance for her to find love. Naomi plans to stay at home and help care for her younger siblings. Caleb isn't looking for love, his heart is still broken from losing his wife, Barbara. The first time Caleb and Noami met though, something began to stir in their hearts and they are not quite sure what to do about it.
Caleb and Naomi develop a friendship as they attend community events. Susie really likes Noami, and vice-versa. Sadie doesn't care for Naomi and is constantly trying to get Caleb to notice Irene. When Caleb's friends and family suggest he move back home to Ohio, he seeks God's will. He visits a property that is for sale and knows immediately that the house is for him. There is also a shop on the property where he can open a buggy making business.
At a party on Christmas Eve, Caleb spends a lot of time talking with Irene and her father. Naomi hears Sadie telling someone that Irene is good for Caleb. Susie mentions some things about Irene too. Naomi can't take anymore of it. She thought Caleb may like her for more than a friend but it seems he's thinking of courting Irene. She decides to walk home by herself in a bad snow storm.
After they party is over, Naomi's dad returns saying the Naomi's never made it home. Caleb and some other men head out to look for her. Caleb is praying that he finds her. When he does he is afraid he may be too late, her lips are blue and she's not moving.
Is Naomi okay? Does Caleb court Irene? Read Naomi's gift to find out.
I really liked Naomi. She had a love for children. She liked Susie the moment she met her at the quilt stand. This story shows the friendship of Naomi and Susie growing. It also show Naomi and Caleb's friendship growing and turning into love. Susie prayed for a Christmas miracle and that prayer was answered. The miracle she wanted was a gift that Naomi gave Caleb. Caleb never expected to receive such a gift. Caleb was a loving and kind father, a very likable character. I would recommend this book to anyone that believes that someone can find true love again.
I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Naomi's Gift

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Naomi's Gift is the 4th book in the Kauffman Amish Bakery series. In earlier books, we've watched Naomi pursue, and have her heart broken by, two different Amish men. In this novella, Naomi has grown up a bit, but has decided that God doesn't want her to marry or have a family of her own. When handsome widower Caleb and his cute daughter Susie arrive for a Christmas visit with his family, he and Naomi are thrown together and attracted to each other immediately. The story moves along nicely, and we learn about Amish Christmas traditions.
There are two negatives about this book. I never understood Sadie Kauffman's extreme interference and harsh attitude toward Naomi. Sadie's portrayed as a gossip, but her actions go way overboard. No motivation is really given. I began reading this book for a NetGalley review, then purchased the Kindle version to finish the book when the NetGalley version was archived. Both versions were full of double words followed by words being left out. I could guess the missing word, but it was very distracting.
The book included a recipe, family trees, discussion questions, and a list of Amish/English phrases.
If you're looking for a quick, cheerful Amish Christmas story to read during this busy holiday season, consider Noami's Gift.
With thanks to Zondervan via NetGalley for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet and endearing love story

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GENRE: AMISH ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: ZONDERVAN
PUBLICATION DATE: OCTOBER 1, 2011
RATING: 8 OUT OF 10
After having her heart broken more than once, Naomi King has given up on love and resigned herself to remaining at home and helping her mother care for her siblings. It isn’t until widower Caleb Schmucker returns from Ohio for the holidays, along with his eight year old daughter, Susie, that she begins to wonder whether God will grant her another second chance. Caleb has been told many times that Susie needs a mother and that he should remarry, but he wants to find a woman who will love Susie as much as she loves him. When Susie captures the eye of Naomi while at a farmer’s market, Susie latches on to the older woman and the two become fast friends. Soon Caleb is spending more time with his daughter and her new best friend than he would have expected, especially considering the rumours circulating about Naomi and the way that she supposedly chases after single men. But with Caleb cautious about courting again after the death of his wife, and his sister determined to match him up with someone other than Naomi, will anything come of this new friendship?
Amy Clipston is one of the first authors I read when I discovered the Amish genre, so she’ll always hold a special place in my heart. I adore her Kauffman Amish Bakery series and I’m always eagerly awaiting the next instalment, so I was glad that she’d chosen to revisit one of the reoccurring characters, Naomi, in her Christmas novella. As much as I love Amy’s stories, I’m always cautious when it comes to novellas as their shortness often leaves little room for character development, which can make some novellas seem predictable or rushed. I’m pleased to say that I was rather satisfied with Amy’s attempts in Naomi’s Gift, and while the story did rely a little too much on the “love at first sight” idea, I enjoyed witnessing Naomi and Caleb overcome their past difficulties and become open to new relationships.
The underlying theme in Naomi’s Gift is that God is always willing to give us another chance, no matter how many mistakes we’ve made. Those who are familiar with the Kauffman Amish Bakery series will recall that Naomi, in her younger years, was apt to throw her attentions at young men, often without thinking through her actions properly, and was then led along by another man who had no interest in marrying her. As a result of this, by the start of Naomi’s Gift, she’s convinced that love and marriage are not what God has planned for her since she’s been hurt so many times before. Caleb is also hurting because of the loss of his wife and although duty suggests that he should remarry for Susie’s sake, he can’t bear to marry someone who doesn’t care for both of them. While Naomi and Caleb are instantly attracted to each other, they hasten to deny it and bond over their love of Susie and the fact that neither of them feels ready for a relationship at that moment. While the chemistry is present between them from the start of the story, it was nice to see their friendship develop gently and naturally.
Of course, well-meaning friends and relatives are apt to suspect that something more is going on between Caleb and Naomi, and in particular, Caleb’s sister Sadie, who is convinced that her friend, Irene, is a better match for Caleb. Repeating malicious rumours that she’s heard about Naomi, Sadie tries to push a wedge between the couple and convince him that Irene is more suited for him than Naomi. Here, Caleb’s desire to find a woman who loves Susie as much as she loves him comes into play, and it was so encouraging to see the way that Susie played a role in all of his relationships. Sometimes children are inserted into a story for entertainment and to give a book the “Aww!” factor, but Susie was a character in her own right who interacted with everyone. Caleb includes his daughter in every decision he makes, therefore how a woman treats his daughter is essential if he’s considering marriage to her.
I really struggled with Sadie’s character, particularly because her gossiping and self-centred mannerisms are not in keeping with what one would expect from an Amish woman. As much as I would love to write off her character as an illustration of how gossip can infiltrate even the Amish way of life and hurt people, showing that no one is perfect, I could not see any motivation for Sadie acting the way she did. She constantly bad-mouthed poor Naomi and pressed Irene on Caleb at every opportunity without checking whether he actually liked the woman. In the end, she apologies, but I didn’t find her character terribly realistic or her actions believable, so ultimately it seemed as if she was acting as she did purely to move the plot along and create conflict. This is one of the problems with novellas, and Sadie definitely suffers from lack of character development. I felt the same way about David in Amy’s other novella, A Plain and Simple Christmas, who is stubborn throughout the entire story, refusing to listen to any of his wife’s ideas and suggestions until she goes behind his back and ultimately makes him realise that he was wrong, where upon he eventually apologies. Sadie’s stubbornness and belief that she knew what was best for Caleb and his daughter definitely reminded me of David, which is the main pitfall of this otherwise lovely novella.
Despite the lack of development in secondary characters as can be naturally expected in a short novella, Naomi’s Gift is a sweet and endearing love story. A couple who don’t ever expect to experience love again stumble upon it at Christmastime with the help of Caleb’s adorable daughter, reminding readers that one of the gifts God gave us is the possibility to always have a second chance.
Review title provided courtesy of Zondervan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New author to me

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Upstate SC
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fairly neat story. I do not know how to quilt but have been intrigued with quilts as such. So the quilts "stitched" into the story made it very interesting to me. I agree that the sister and mother come off extremely unlikable and somewhat contrived. Naomi has it all together except for the jealous streak. A little too quick on the draw there? I would have left Irene out of the story altogether. But then I didn't write the book, did I? (: ) Enjoyable read even if I am not an Amish fiction fan. I'd rather read a good PA Dutch dictionary. Now that IS fascinating!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A New to Me Author

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Naomi’s Gift
Amy Clipston
This is novella which is standalone book that is part of Amy Clipston’s Kauffman Amish Bakery series. It was a very enjoyable story about a young woman who has been searching for love. Through a meeting in the Amish farmer’s market she meets a man and his daughter. Thus begins the novella that takes us through the growing relationship between these three characters. With ease and skill Amy Clipston is able to guide the reader through this magical Christmas season full of snow, hot coco and family was a treat from start to finish. Having never read any of her books previously I am very interesting in visiting Bird-in-the-Hand again. I am grateful to Zondervan for their allowing me to have a free copy of this book and providing this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Naomi's Gift by Amy Clipston

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was provided to me by Zondervan Publishing in exchange for a review.
Book Description
Take a trip to Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania, where you'll meet the women of the Kauffman Amish Bakery in Lancaster County. As each woman's story unfolds, you will share in her heartaches, trials, joys, dreams . and secrets. You'll discover how the simplicity of the Amish lifestyle can clash with the "English" way of life-and the decisions and consequences that follow. Most importantly, you will be encouraged by the hope and faith of these women, and the importance they place on their families.
Naomi's Gift re-introduces twenty-four-year-old Naomi King, who has been burned twice by love and has all but given up on marriage and children. As Christmas approaches-a time of family, faith, and hope for many others-Naomi is more certain than ever her life will be spent as an old maid, helping with the family's quilting business and taking care of her eight siblings. Then she meets Caleb, a young widower with a 7-year-old daughter, and her world is once again turned upside-down.
My Review
This is a GREAT Christmas story, one that I think you would thoroughly love especially if you love Amish Fiction as much as I do. Amy Clipston is one of the best, if not the best authors who write about the Amish. I would love to go to Ohio or Pennsylvania some day to see for myself.
This book starts out about a widower, Caleb Schmucker and his 7 year old daughter, Susie, come home to Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania. He has been widowed for 2 years and his sister, Sadie thinks that it is time that he marries again and tries to set him up, but he wants nothing of that. In the meantime, Caleb meets Naomi King, who is not married but has had bad luck with men anyway. His 7 year old daughter, Susie, loves Naomi and wants her dad to love her as much as she does. It is a GREAT story.
I would suggest this book to all my friends and families and even strangers. It is that kind of book, it is Wunderbaar. Hehe. I had to put that in there. Enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good book

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
purplemama47
Location:New Columbia PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the book very much made you think you were right there in the story
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Naomi's Gift: An Amish Christmas Story
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Christmas novella for Kauffman Amish Bakery series

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Naomi's Gift by Amy Clipston is a Christmas novella in the Kauffman Amish Bakery series. Naomi King has faced two recent heartbreaks that have left her wondering if marriage is God's will for her and a reputation for chasing men with some of the men in her community. Caleb Schmucker is still mourning the loss of his pregnant wife Barbara in a tragic buggy accident two years ago while trying to raise his daughter Susie. Caleb and Susie return to Bird-in-Hand, Pennsylvania where he grew up to spend the holidays with his sister Sadie and her family. Sadie has plans for Caleb which include getting him to move home, marrying her friend Irene and working for Irene's father in his buggy shop, but when Susie meets Naomi, the two quickly become friends, and soon Caleb becomes curious about the young woman who so quickly captured his daughter's heart, who his sister seems determined to keep him away from. If you aren't familiar with the series (like me), you'll still comfortable quickly as Clipston does a good job of keeping the families straight for new readers. Naomi and Caleb's attraction for each other grows quickly but naturally over the course of the story. Both are sympathetic characters, and Susie is sweet, but Sadie comes across as completely unlikable, and Naomi's mother, Irma, not much better. I think when trying to create conflict for the story, some of the characters became stereotypes rather than people, so the story isn't as strong as it could be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>