Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Plain & Simple Christmas

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan A Plain & Simple Christmas

Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Review 1 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Books

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jet W
Location:Western Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book in a set along with Naomi's Gift as a gift for a friend for Christmas. For the price the books are very nice and I am very happy. We usually share books so I have not read them yet. Sure we will be pleased as with anything we get at Christianbook.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bluebell
Location:Tilton,IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this book better than Hannah's Hope even though it sort of followed the same theme of people either being in accidents or getting injured.All in all it was a very good book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this book was a good read.

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cinvic
Location:Beaverton MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy reading book of the Amish, this book was very enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheOlderWoman
Location:Colorado
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked the story. I had wondered if people who left the Amish community ever got a chance to go back. It's a good, well written story. An easy read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gift for mother-in-law

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nadia
Location:Hillsborough NB CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This looks like a perfect little gift for Christmas for her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
lilakaser
Location:Coshocton, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna Mae is lonesome for her family. She left the community to marry Englisher Kellen. Her father, who is the bishop of the community, wants nothing to do with her. She wants to see her family for Christmas. She is nine months pregnant and she wants her baby with grandparents.
She contacts her sister in law and they arranged a visit for Christmas, unbeknownst ton her family and the community. Will the family accept her? Will her father forgive her? I really enjoyed this book. Amy Clipson wrote another wonderful book. It dealt with forgiveness and how important it is. I love the characters of Anna Mae and Kellen . Kellen proves how much he loves Anna Mae to her family. It was a quick read But I encourage you to read i
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fantastic Christmas Story!

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
We could all learn a thing or two from Anna Mae. The story of broken hearts, forgiveness and reconciliation will not soon be forgotten for the reader lucky enough to pick up this story.
Amy Clipston is one of my favorite authors of Amish fiction and this story did not disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Refreshing story of forgiveness and reconciliation

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Despite being shunned for leaving her Amish community four years earlier, Anna Mae longs to reconcile with her family. As the birth of her first child approaches, she begins to correspond with her sister-in-law Kathryn, making plans for Anna Mae and her English husband Kellan to visit the Amish community for Christmas. Kellan remembers that way that Anna Mae's father, the bishop, treated her when she announced her decision to marry an outsider, but this doesn't deter her from her plans to return home. Kathryn also experiences similar difficulties with her husband, David, who thinks Anna Mae's visit will bring too much pain to his already hurting parents. But Kathryn feels that God is calling her to bring the family back together in order to celebrate their Saviour's birth. Will Anna Mae and Kathryn's desire for reconciliation bring happiness on this joyous occasion, or will Anna Mae's baby grow up without knowing about its Amish heritage?
I adore Amy Clipston's Kauffman Amish Bakery series, so when I heard that she was releasing a Christmas novella I immediately put it on my wishlist. Although I didn't receive this book until I met up with my grandparents this month to exchange late gifts, it still seemed close enough to Christmas to read it.
While I felt that this novella didn't have as much substance as Amy's full-length novels, it was still a sweet story of forgiveness and reconciliation. A lot of Amish novels give the impression that once someone has left the community, they cannot return unless they plan to rejoin the faith. This is always something I've had a problem with, as it doesn't seem like a particularly Christian way of treating others. So I was pleased to see that Anna Mae was allowed to visit her family, even if certain members were too hurt to talk to her. Kathryn, her daughter Amanda and her mother-in-law Mary Rose were incredibly welcoming and had come to accept the fact that while Anna Mae was no longer Amish, she still shared their Christian faith, was happy with her loving husband and was starting a family of her own. It's a cliche, but a baby always makes everyone happier!
However, I found it difficult to read Kathryn and David's arguments about whether Anna Mae should visit. David refused to let Kathryn put across her opinions and would actually leave the room in the middle of a discussion. Maybe it's just because I've been reading marriage-preparation books recently and discussing these issues with my fiancee, but I don't think it's right for one person to see their views as superior refuse to listen to the other, especially in marriage. While David eventually admitted to Kathryn that he believed that she had had the family's best interests at heart in her plans for Christmas, a lot of hurt and anger could have been avoided if he'd originally listened to his wife's ideas instead of immediately dismissing them. Personally, I believe that marriage is an equal partnership and a husband should not be allowed to make a decision and force his wife into it, especially not if he's not even considered other options. I've witnessed this many times in Amish books and it makes me feel a bit uncomfortable.
Of course, everything comes together in the end, but the characters experience a difficult journey of healing before they are fully reconciled. As can be expected, members of Anna Mae's family are still hurting from when she left the community, and her father in particular is adamant that she is no longer welcome at home. There are many sad points in this novella, and some of the characters begin to lose faith in the Beiler family ever all being together again. This is an endearing story of forgiveness, which not only finishes in a happy ending, but also a Christmas miracle!
While I didn't feel that this was up to the standard of Amy Clipston's previous books, this was a refreshing and sweet story. This tale of a family coming back together, healing past hurts and learning to forgive is perfect for the Christmas season. I think my main problems were merely that it is difficult to get any true depth of character development in a novella so I didn't really get to know any of the characters, and I felt a bit uncomfortable with the overbearing husbands in both Kathryn's David and Mary Rose's Henry. Maybe if parts of the story had been written from the points of view of the male characters I would have understood their behaviour better. But I won't let this spoil what is ultimately a pleasant Christmas story, and I hope to read more about the characters introduced in this novella, particularly Kathryn and Amanda. 7/10
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
annie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed book, have already passed on to my daughter and now to my mother in law. Not a long story but very well written, prefer this type of book to the long drawn out stories
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A warm story with good family values

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
farmersdaughter
Location:New England
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A family seperated for a period of time returns to their roots for a family Christmas - warm and inspiring. Loved every minute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
honeybee
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the first book I read by Amy Clipson. And this one was a fun read. I'm looking forward to reading more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Candace
Location:lebanon pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read this book in less then a day. It shows the kindness there is in others. Loved this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A HEARTWARMING STORY OF AMISH FAITH AND FORGIVENES

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A PLAIN & SIMPLE CHRISTMAS by Amy Clipston is a heartwarming, sweet inspirational fiction/general. it is well written with strong characters,details and depth. It has Amish,faith,love,forgiveness,birth of a babe,separation of a family member,family,shunning,an Amish marrying a Englisher, following God's will no matter the consequences, and the miracle of Christmas.This is a sweet heartwarming story of faith and family differences and the coming together of a family. Anna Mae is shunned by her family after marrying Kellan, an Englisher by her family. Her father, the bishop of their Amish community refuses to welcome her home for a visit. Anna is with her first child and determined to make amends with her family. She wants her child to her family. Her husband only has a sister. She enlists the help of her sister-in-law. Although, all does not go has planned. We have a near delivery of their baby in a barn, a disastrous dinner at Anna's brother's house, and the forgiveness of her father after her husband shows him the Christian way. This is a quick read, fast paced, page turning story of family, forgiveness,the bondbetweenmother,daughter,family and the miracle of Christmas.I would highly recommend this book for it is a great read for Christmas and will lift your spirits. This book was received for review from Library Thing and details can be found at Zondervan and My Book Addiction and More.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!!!!

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ashley83
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read a lot of Christmas books and stories but this one by far is my favorite!!! It has a heart warming story line and is a hard book to put down! I would definitely recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An excellent Christmas story

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judy Glidden
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a feel good Christmas novella. It is a great story to read around the Christmas holidays because it puts you in the mood for Christmas.
Anna Mae McDonough left her Amish community four years ago to marry a non-Amish man. Although she and her husband are happily married and enjoying their life together, Anna Mae is expecting their first child soon and misses her close knit Amish family, epsecially around holidays. With the help of her sister-in-law they plan a surprise visit for Christmas. But her brother isn't thrilled with his wife's participation in this "surprise" and Anna Mae's Dad does not welcome her visit. Can the family really get back together again and enjoy the Christmas spirit of forgiveness and peace?
This had alot of good lessons to learn throughout the story. I especially enjoyed the interaction and care that Anna Mae and her husband, Kellan had for each other. This was my first book by Amy Clipston, and I look forward to reading more of her books. I also loved the cover of this book, and want to thank LibraryThing Early Reviewers and Zondervan for sending me this book for review. If you want you can go to http://zndr.vn/aZzVXI to get more info. about this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
MrsC831
Location:Mesa, Az
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed "A Plain and Simple Christmas". The story line was great. It reflects what Christmas is about, God's love, family love and togetherness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing love & how love conquers all.

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dolly
Location:New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the book immensely as I enjoy so many Amish
fiction books. This was a wonderful love story of a man & woman, whom she gave up her Amish heritage for the man
she loved. Yet by doing so, she missed her family tremendously as the Amish are close knit families. I know
so from experience. But it showed that families can overcome hardship & difficult times, because "love" is so powerful, & that in the end, it is the ultimate gift of all and
God can work wonders in people who believe & have faith. A very touching & endearing story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christine Conant
Location:Alma, Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great reading for the Holidays or any time -Love this book the message was great and can reach anyone-just wish the book was longer loved and would recommend it to anyone
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Christmas miracle

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Fond du Lac WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Plain and Simple Christmas is a wonderful book, it is a easy read, once you start you will not want to put it down. It would make a wonderful Christmas present
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Plain & Simple Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Old wounds can be healed with faith and patience

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna knew that going home for Christmas would not be
easy, but she felt God wanted her to do that no matter
the cost. When we are faithful to follow God's leading, He
is faithful in the outcome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>