Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2

Tyndale House Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2

What does a nationally known marriage expert do when her own marriage falls apart? Just as Jillian Galloway sets out for a publicity tour to promote her new book, her husband drops a bombshell: He wants a divorce. Jill flees to her parents' home in the California desert, wondering whether everything she's built her career on-indeed, everything she's built her life around-is a sham. Navigating this "side road" of life is an uphill climb that leads to new understandings about herself, her marriage, and her relationship with the One who created marriage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
22 out of 2492%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Review 1 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting Story

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a novel about a couple with a marriage issue. She is a famous marriage expert with a radio show and book, and on the day the couple is leaving for a book tour, he announces that he wants a divorce and stays home. The rest of the book deals with the fallout from his statement. Both husband and wife discover what each was doing wrong and how their marriage could be better, with a good resolution at the end. I thought the book was good but seemed very long and drawn-out to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
This review is fromDesert Gift - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very good book

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betty
Location:BC Canada
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoy reading this book at times could not put it down.
Thank You
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Unique Story

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Desert Gift
Sally John
What does a nationally known marriage expert do when her own marriage falls apart? Just as Jillian Galloway sets out for a publicity tour to promote her new book, her husband drops a bombshell: He wants a divorce. Jill flees to her parents’ home in the California desert, wondering whether everything she’s built her career on—indeed, everything she’s built her life around—is a sham. Navigating this “side road” of life is an uphill climb that leads to new understandings about herself, her marriage, and her relationship with the One who created marriage.
This was an interesting story of marriage. It is nice sometimes to see things as they really are out there. Marriage is the choice we made and to divorce is also a choice. It was a good premise that keep up with the ups and downs of life which should always lead us to Christ. I like that in the end a woman growing in Christ is highlighted deeply and that the main characters were able to rest in Christ to lead the way.
I would like to thank Net Galley and Tyndale House Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, But....

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becca ellen
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I picked up this book and I didn't put it down until I turned the last page a few minutes ago.
What your reading a is 'fresh off the press' jumble of thought.
How is that for and introduction? :)
Jillian Galloway is a nationally known marriage expert. She lives in Chicago with her picture perfect easy going husband of twenty-four years.
A bomb suddenly drops out of nowhere when her husband Jack tells her the he wants out. He was filing for a divorce.
Jill's world was shattered. Her goals, dreams, and a lifetime of work crummbled beneath her feet.
How... What... WHY? All she knew was that she had to get away. So she turned to the only haven left, home.
Through the seclusion of this desert haven God works a miricle, which I wont tell you about because I don't want to spoil the rest book for you. :)
A few parts dragged a tiny bit, but as a whole I would say that Desert Gift is very well written. The setting is modern and familiar. The characters were so real that I cried twice. Jack and Jill are not perfect and the book did not end with happily ever after. (Though it was pretty close :)
After getting about one-third of the way through the 378 pages I was struck with a horrifying thought. I am just like this woman! I am willful, obnoxiously talkative, judgmental, and... o shame... The list went on.
I feel my face getting hot even now. Jill is married, I am not. Jill has a carrier, I do not. There aren't any outward resemblances between us to speak of, but I felt like her non the less.
One of the things that drove her husband crazy was Jill's knack of having the 'right' answer to every equation and problem. This hit me square between the eyes.
It is hard for me to put my thoughts into words... to end I want to tell you that I am not really sure I recommend this book. I know that I was challenged in many areas of my attitude, but... I not really sure what it is... I just have some reservations to totally throwing my heart into recommending this book.
I think it is a great book for those who are married, and for those who are ready to get married, but as far as younger teens, this probably wouldn't be the best read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book - couldn't put it down!

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer H
Location:Bath, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Desert Gift” by Sally John is a really great fiction book about marriage. The book’s main character, Jill, is a syndicated talk radio show host and has just released her first book. Both the talk show and the book are on her insights and “rules” for a good marriage, which she thought she had. However, as she was leaving to go on a publicity tour for her book, her husband dropped a bombshell on her – he wanted a divorce.
Jill then spent some time reflecting on her life and her marriage, trying to figure out what went wrong. Through this process, she discovered a lot about herself – and it wasn’t all good. But, with help from her friends, sister, parents, and above all else, God, she sorted through everything, thought of ways to become a better wife and friend for her husband, and eventually worked things out.
I really enjoyed this book, it was hard to put down when I was reading it. It is a fiction book, but there are a lot of insights to gain about marriage by reading this book…I know that throughout the book I found myself digging deep down inside of myself to see where I could improve at being a wife. And just like Jill discovered, God is always there to help us when we ask Him.
Disclosure of Material Connection: Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
This review is fromDesert Gift - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What would you do if one morning you woke up and the one thing that you had based your whole life around and work around had disappeared without you realising it had come to this point in life , though you are trained to notice these things ?
For Jill Galloway, that's exactly what happened. For the past twenty-five years, she has been married to Dr. Jack Galloway and has spent these years writing marriage guides and giving relationship advice out to listeners and the public. She has her own radio show and books published. She is known to the public eye as a marital expert. However, behind closed doors is a different story as her husband Jack of twenty-five years has just announced that he wants a divorce- the Dreaded "D" word. The timing is anything but perfect, as the day Jack plants it on her - the day she is set out to go on a five-week Book Tour with her new Marriage guide to life.
Desert Gift flips between Jack's life in Chicago and Jill's in Los Angeles during the five week period, each analysing and trying to discover what went wrong. Is it time for Jill to start living her own advice and win her husband back or has Jack meet someone new and this is his way of starting his midlife crisis re-invention ?
Desert Gift is a novel that will show you that sometimes all you need to re-ignite the passion in a twenty-five year old marriage is a reality check and a wake-up call to discover what you have had isn't as bad as what you thought and no marriage is complete without having numerous roadblocks in the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Read

Date:August 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
fictionbuyer
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dear Readers,
Jack and Jill went up the hill... What if that hill was the hill of success?
To fetch a pail of water.
Jack fell down and broke his crown... What if his fall was that he didn't want to be married to Jill anymore?
and Jill came tumbling after... What would Jill's reaction be if the 'fall' came after 25 years and a career based on being a marriage advisor?
Now I don't know for a fact that these are the questions that Sally John is trying to answer in her book, Desert Gift, but they are ones that sure fit the storyline.
Jack and Jill have been happily married for 25 years. At least Jill thought so, along with her radio audience and now book fans. The morning that she is leaving to go on her first book tour Jack drops the bomb of "I don't want to be married any more."
How do you keep functioning after an anouncement like that? If you are considered a marriage expert who do you turn to for help when your marriage goes sour? Jill is floundering and Jack isn't helping her understand why he wants out. This is not a place she thought she would ever be in, doesn't she always have an answer for everything? Oh wait, is that part of the problem?
I really enjoyed this book. It wasn't an easy read and yet it was. The story flows right along, the characters are likable and real. The storyline is something that could happen to any one of us. It is also a reminder that we never know what a day is going to bring.
There was one aspect of the story I was getting annoyed with and that was the "make lemonade" type of answers people kept giving Jill. It was something that she herself used, but I found it so trite and superfical, then reminded myself that I have used some form of that a few times myself. I needed to remind myself to stop that. More often than not the person who is having any sort of trouble doesn't need to be reminded that God can use it for good. They know that, but are not ready to hear it just yet.
Book #3 in the Side Roads series is due out in 2012. Book #1 is Ransomed Dreams.
Happy Reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shellieb
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A nationally known marriage expert, Jillian Galloway is successful, married and thinks everything is perfect. Well until the morning her and her husband are set to leave for a trip. Without any warning Jillian's husband announces he wants a divorce.
With her home life in ruins and her career based on keeping marriages happy, how can Jillian go on? Everything is falling apart and she is lost as to how to handle it. Will her marriage be saved? Can she continue with her career?
Sally John's new book Desert Gift, is a wonderful book that takes the reader on a journey of a husband and wife who somewhere lost their way and try to find their way back.
I found Desert Gift to be a exceptional read and I look forward to reading more books by Sally John. I highly recommend this book.
For more information on this author be sure to check out her website.
*I recieved a review copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of reviewing. I was not required to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are my own*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great novel of marriage trouble and restoration

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jill Galloway has made a success of marriage. She has had a long standing syndicated radio talk show on marriage and now her first book is coming out. Just as she and her husband Jack are getting ready for a California book tour and long needed vacation, he tells her he is not going with her. He wants out. He wants a divorce.
Jill is shocked and is ready to cancel the tour but he pushes her in the taxi and sends her on her way. Jill, with the help of her friend and associate, manages to fulfill a few of the speaking engagements but finally breaks down. The rest of her schedule is canceled.
Jack has moved out and has his own place. He doesn't understand really what is happening to him. He just knows he does not want to be with Jill right now. Perhaps it was the minor car accident he had. It was only a bump to his head and a few stitches but he's been different since.
Jill tries to keep her self together and ends up at her sister's home. Viv helps but suggests Jill needs to go to their parents, in the desert. There, Jill has time to think and heal. She tries to talk to Jack but their phone calls are not helping. Jill helps her sister with the business their mother had, transporting elderly people to events. Jill meets Agnes, an angel of a woman with insight that Jill desperately needs.
Then Connor Jack and Jill's son arrives from Europe with a girl and plans for marriage, soon. The stress increases and Jack expects that Jill will help organize the wedding, putting their own problems on hold.
Jill learns more and more about herself, the baggage she carries and her drive to be the wife with all the answers. Her attempts at getting Jack to counseling are fruitless. Jill sees that all the rules and guidelines she talked about on her show and in her book, well, they hadn't worked. She cancels her radio program. How can she ever talk to others about marriage when her own is ending?
Sally John has created a realistic story of a husband and wife who, after twenty five years of marriage, have ceased to be the friends they once were. She describes the frustration of Jill wanting to understand, wanting to know what it was, what she has done, and what she can do. Sally John has also allowed the reader to know the relief Jill experiences when God actively works in her life to reveal so much she has hidden from herself. And then Jack allows God to work in his life.
She ends her books with: “Thank you for traveling this side road with the Galloways. I hope the journey blessed you with laughter, tears, and a general sense of reassurance that God does indeed love you unconditionally, passionately, and wildly.” (379)
Well done.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is Your Perfect Marriage Safe from Divorce?

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatDoe
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Desert Gift
Book One in Side Roads Series
By Sally John
Is Your Perfect Marriage Safe from Divorce?
By KitKatDoe on 7/9/2011
Author Sally John’s new series Side Roads debuts with a captivating novel Desert Gift. At first glance, it appeared to be another broken marriage novel, but as I read through it, Ms John kept me guessing with characters that were down to earth, believable, and definitely ones that every day people could relate to. The conversations could be right out of anybody’s kitchen table; sadly enough the books steers to what appears to be a probable divorce. Suspenseful characters draw you in all the way through, and keep you guessing until the very end as to the outcome of the marriage. The book shares God’s heart toward His children during difficult times, and the loves demonstrated by friends and family during crisis. This is definitely a must read novel.
This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mistakes given over to the healing power of God.

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Wood
Location:Wetumpka, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Many marriages face a time of grief, side-road of despair that takes the couple to places they never wanted to go. Such is the marriage of the main characters of Desert Gift: two people, imperfect, floundering, on the verge of making wrong decisions. Neither has made, or is making, perfect choices and, yet, in their faltering confusion, they are faced with the biggest choice of their lives. How they choose to go forward will impact them and all around them...forever.
Desert Gift is, as it were, a gift of sorts to those readers whose own life have taken them to desert places and who long to travel the road to home. The two main characters, whimsically named Jack and Jillian (and called Jill), are well developed, their story is at once both heart-breaking and hope-inspiring and the writing is flawless. The authoress takes you inside their lives to witness both their story and their redemption first-hand.
In writing Desert Gift, Sally John has written a book about what happens when broken lives and poor choices are given over to the healing power of God. It is not an easy read (for it will have you questioning your own choices), nor is a light read (due to the subject), but it is definitely a worthy read.
DISCLAIMER: I received a copy of Desert Gift for Tyndale House Publisher free for purposes of review. I was not required to give a positive review, only a fair and honest one. My opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

2nd book in the series!

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sally John dives right into the story in her latest novel, "Desert Gift." Marriage expert Jillian Galloway's world is turned upside down when her husband of 24 years tells her he wants a divorce. This announcement is made when she is getting ready to walk out the door to catch a plane to a publicity tour for 5 weeks. Jillian questions herself, her career, everything about her and wonders what she could have done differently. During this difficult time Jillian seeks refuge at her parents' home in the desert and really seeks God during this time and learns more about herself.
If you are looking for a light summer read, this is not it! This book is thought-provoking and will have you thinking about your own life and different twists and turns that may have happened. John has created very real characters and you will empathize, question and grow along with Jillian throughout this book. John's style of writing is easy to get into you and read and you will be hooked on the very first page!
*Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great fiction

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
amomwithablog
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This is the story of Jillian Galloway. Jill's an expert on marriage... or so she thought. Through her own radio show, speaking at churches, as well as teaching a ladies Bible study, she's helped countless couples with their marriages. Now, at the height of her career, she has a book being published and she is scheduled to speak at the Mega Church of her dreams. She's reached the top... until her husband's sudden announcement that he wants a divorce brings everything to a screeching halt.
Jill's character was easy to relate to. She's a woman who knows all the answers. But she forgot one thing... to let God lead. I think the author did a wonderful job of portraying Jill. So often we get all the right answers and think we're good to go... then we leave God behind. I love how the other characters were forced to look at their own lives as well, not just blame Jill. This is a great book to remind us to take a look at ourselves and take responsibility for the mess we are in. Not just blame everyone else.
This book has a great story with a wonderful message of forgiveness and restoration. Not just the main characters... but with the supporting characters as well. I loved them all. Couldn't put this book down. I'll definitely be reading more by Sally John. I think you'll enjoy it too! :)
*Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review. -Thanks Tyndale House! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great real life read

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wynd
Location:Saskatchewan Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book. Jillian was the quintessential formulaic Christian advisor ~ if you do this, then God, your husband, your friends, your family, will do that. Of course, that's not how it works all the time and it's not right, it's manipulative. Her husband, the partner in her perfect marriage that she has used as a basis for her radio program and her new book, rebells suddenly; and she is forced to deal with issues from her childhood. The characters that she meets when she decides to hide out at her sister's and her parent's, help her to discover where her assumptions have been wrong and how to move forward. I especially enjoyed Agnes an elderly member of the Casitas Pack who knew exactly what to say and when, communing with angels and giving indirect advice. One of the most difficult lessons in life is told in an imaginative and real-life manner including all the shocks and all the gifts. Definitely a good book to read.
Thank you to Tyndale House Publishers who has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Desert Gift

Date:May 28, 2011
Jack and Jill (yes, like the nursery rhyme!) have been married for 25 years when one day Jack suddenly decides he wants a divorce. Jill must examine her entire life - and her career as a speaker and writer about all things marriage - to determine where things went wrong and if there is any way they can get their marriage back on track.
Sally John is certainly a wonderful author. I have read several of her books previously and have enjoyed every one. For whatever reason, though, I had a hard time pushing through this one. I think it's because it's a little too realistic.The struggle between Jack and Jill was heart-wrenching at times and it was difficult to read. On the bright side, though, the main characters are thoroughly developed, and there are a number of supporting characters that truly add to the depth of the story. Additionally, Sally John really does a great job of telling a story and pulling you in. Even though there were times I wanted to put the book down because it was a tough read, I kept picking it back up.
3.5 stars
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read!

Date:May 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Him: a well -respected podiatrist.
Her: an up-and-coming Christian writer and speaker on marriage.
Together: a marriage tumbling out of control.
In Desert gift, Sally John introduces us to Jack, the doctor, and Jill, the motivational speaker. Throughout their 24 years of marriage, Jill has been honing her gift of communication. She has been studying marriages and relationships, interviewing experts in this field, and speaking on the topic on radio, at women's conferences and Sunday school. Now - just as her first book tour is about to begin - Jack informs her that he wishes a divorce!
Sally John has brought a difficult topic to the table. How many Christian marriages end because of non-communication or miscommunication? As we watch Jill unpack the many truths about her own shortcomings, we can take a few steps back and examine our own hearts. Through the introduction of different characters, Jill is finally able to admit her faults/sins, seek God on a truly intimate level, and ask His forgiveness. All the while, Jack is realizing that his life is not all that he thought is was.
I enjoyed Desert gift and the chance it gave me to examine my own heart and motives. I could relate to the characters and the difficulties they found themselves in. I did have a hard time with the names chosen, Jack and Jill. I feel the author could have chosen more appropriate names for the main characters. Sally John did play on the nursery rhyme throughout the book.
Click HERE to read an excerpt from Desert gift!
Star rating: 4 out of 5
I received a complimentary copy of Desert gift from Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Was not enjoyable

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just finished Desert Gift by Sally John and it was one of those books where I read other reviews on this book and went ahead and picked this to read. I got this book free from Tyndale Publishers for my honest opinion. So my honest opinion is: it was just ok. I struggled with the plot-very uninteresting and way too long. The book and plot seemed to drag on forever till I got to the end. The characters seemed so trite and focused on themselves which got tiring after a while.
The story plot about Jillian Galloway being a successful radio talk show host and known as a marriage expert. She has a new book out and is leaving on a book tour when her husband tells her he wants a divorce. She is wondering if her whole life is a sham and how can she get her marriage back. This is supposed to be a book about unexpected detours that our lives can take and how God is always at work. There was some of that but mostly I felt the book just rambled on and on. Very seldom do I not like a Christian book and I am sure she is a great author, but this book left me relieved when I turned the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A Disappointing Read

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recently finished the book, Desert Gift, by Sally John. This book is a part of John's series, Side Roads. The main character of this book, Jillian Galloway, is a popular marriage expert, who is on the brink of even greater acclaim. She has a large radio following and a newly published book. Marriage expert though she may be, her own marriage appears to have fallen apart, as the book begins with her husband asking her for a divorce. The story follows Jillian and her husband as they seek to find new footing in this phase of their lives.
I wanted to like this book, but I did not. While some of the characters were well developed and showed authentic depth, the character of Jillian's husband, Jack, was a critically weak link to the whole story. I could neither relate to his responses to the situation that he caused, nor find his character even believable. He came off as shallow and nearly, if this could be possible as a main character, as an afterthought. He simply made little sense in this story, yet by virtue of his position in the story, could not be overlooked. For me the character of Jack ruined the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jillian Galloway is nationally known marriage expert with a radio show and a just-published book about marriage. She is at the top of her career and home life, or so she thinks. Then, her husband drops the bombshell that he wants a divorce. Immediately, Jill’s personal life and career begin to fall apart. She works to determine what part she played in the breakdown of the marriage that she thought was good as she fights for the future of her marriage, struggles with the knowledge that her ministry to couples may be nothing but a fraud, and learns to truly submit to God.
I stayed up into the wee hours of the morning finishing this book. It was filled with raw emotion, from fear to despair to hope. I lived along with Jill as she searched to find out who she really was and worked to heal past family relationships. Ultimately, this was a book about heartache and conflict, but more so, a story of hope. Having lived through a similiar situation myself, I found it very realistic. The novel was filled with insights and truths that I could apply to my own life. A great read!
I received a free review copy of this book from Tyndale House. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Gift, Side Roads Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not for everyone

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
cowgirlsmom
Location:Nebraska
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book is about Jill and Jack Galloway. Jill is a marriage expert with books she written on the subject and her own talk show. Jack is a doctor who has been a willing guinea pig and subject for her books on how to have a successful christian marriage. The problem comes as Jack decides one day he wants out of their marriage. Jill has to deal with many issues as she struggles with the realization that she doesn't have all the answers after all and how this will effect her career and her life as a christian. Topics covered are forgiveness, being real with God and others.
This book is long and seem to drag on in places. It was difficult to get into the book at first because it seem to never get anywhere but once it started to move on it did start to get interesting. This book is not for everyone but does show us that there are no easy answers to marital problems and that we can only work on ourselves as our spouses work on their own issues.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or ARC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>