Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Seeds of Summer - eBook

Zondervan Seeds of Summer - eBook

When her father passes away, rodeo queen Natalie Adams gives up her dreams to return to the Flint Hills. There she takes up the unfinished task of raising her two half-siblings and running the family ranch. Jared Logan is the new pastor in Diamond Falls, and Natalie's troubled family soon becomes his personal mission project. Jared repeatedly comes to Natalie's rescue, and loses his heart to her wayward family.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Review 1 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Believable Characters and Admirable Choices

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia A Perry
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first time reading one of Deborah Vogts novels, and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Her words flow comfortably and pull you quickly along as if the story were all plot. But quite the contrary--the characters in Seeds of Summer are compelling and relatable in their struggles and desires. Heroine Natalie Adams faces abrupt upheaval in her life with admirable spunk, strength, and responsibility. Yet she has her weaknesses. One of those weaknesses is the new pastor, Jared Logan, who grows on Natalie despite their differences in faith. Their increasing interest in one another is fueled by how they each respond to the circumstances surrounding them, including Jared's uncertainty about his vocation, Natalie's challenging siblings and stepmother, and the role of God in their lives and futures.
It's not easy to write Christian fiction without slipping into preachiness. But Vogts has managed to pull it off. I would recommend this book to tweens and up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Satisfying Country Romance

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keli Gwyn
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deborah Vogts brings the Flint Hills of Kansas to life once again in her latest book, SEEDS OF SUMMER. I felt for former rodeo queen, Natalie, as she struggled to hold her family together following her father’s death. She’s tough and determined, but she’s taken on more than one woman can handle. Enter caring pastor Jared, a man who wants to help but is questioning his own decisions. Vogts’ characters are likable, their challenges realistic, and their resolution satisfying. I had a real soft spot for Jared, a man who has a good heart and isn’t afraid to open it to others, admired Natalie’s strength and love for her family, and was happy to see how they allowed the Lord to work in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn
Seeds of Summer is the first book I have read by Deborah Vogts, but it won't be the last. In fact, I am sure I will backtrack and read book one in this series, Snow Melts in Spring. The prairies of Kansas come to life with horses, romance, mystery, family obligations, hidden treasures and dreams. Natalie Adams has given up her dreams as rodeo queen to care for her orphaned half brother and sister. Determined to do things on her own, she almost misses the real treasure, Jared Logan. Jared, the new pastor in town dreams of running a farm, but can't quite figure how that fits with life as a small town pastor. Natalie and Jared each find their faith challenged in ways never expected. This book is a great read, not just for summer, but for anytime. I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2010
I think the author outdone all her previous books with this one. It isn't a book you can put down.Natalie at the start is disappointed she never made rodeo queen - only runner-up. On top of that she has lost her Dad and is taking care of her brother and sister. In the midst of this Jared, the new minister, who moved to town is fishing when her brother, Dillion, comes upon him. While Natalie is looking for her brother she comes upon Jared. Reminds me of the first time I met my husband. I was mad too. Yet something caused a spark in Jared and he wanted to get to know this family better. He thinks he is just making them his Mission project and isn't counting on falling in love with Natalie.I had to laugh about her Dad hiding money all over the house as growing up I knew a Pastor and his wife and the wife hid enough money all over the house, to keep her husband for 4 years after she passed away.One thing I could definitely relate to was a teenagers rebellion. I remember well when my oldest rebelled for 3 years. At least Chelsey returned home sooner than 3 years. But they always call the one they know who loves them when they need someone.I liked how God worked it out for Natalie to have the desire of her heart but only after she learned to turn to him. She finally got to reign as the Rodeo Queen because the Queen came down ill. The support of the family is something that is unique in spite of problems. This book truly shows God's plans are not always what we think they are and we face disappointments in life. But he can make them a learning process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amanda Stanley
Deborah Vogts first captured my attention with her debut release of "Snow Melts in Spring", book one in her Seasons of the Tallgrass Series. Just a few pages into it I knew that this was going to be a ride to remember and an author whose work I'll be keeping an eye out for! I'm not a big fan of contemporaries, but for Deborah, I'll make an exception!Her second book in this series, "Seeds of Summer," does not disappoint! I love her writing style- the emotions are real and natural and acutely felt by the reader; the scenery is ruggedly breathtaking, immersing you in the sights, smells and sounds of the Kansas Flint Hills; and faith is portrayed in a very genuine and powerful way, showing its struggle to grow and persevere in the midst of pain and hardships. Her characters are authentic and believable, revealing the depths and layers of the human soul. Cover to cover, this book is fantastic! The supporting characters are wonderful and their diverse personalities add so much. I was also pleasantly surprised that Deborah added quotes by some beloved poets throughout the story, as well, truly lending this romance a poetic beauty. I encourage you to take your time and savor this book, for as a seed should not be rushed to bear its fruit, "Seeds of Summer" should not be rushed in its reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Seeds of Summer reminds me of the Little House in the Prairie TV Series. Each week the stories were about family struggles and/or a budding romance that would grab the viewers attention as they watch the characters struggle with this new development in their lives. This was brought to a somewhat predictable conclusion and hopefully the characters learned something about family and what mattered most in life. The show gave you a good feeling and left you ready for the next weeks episode. I received a review copy of this light-hearted summer read by Deborah Vogts. Its the second book in the Seasons of the Tallgrass series. The story opens up with Natalies father dying unexpectedly. She returns home to raise her brother and sister, Dillion and Chelsey. She is faced with figuring out how to save the ranch her father left behind. How was she supposed to do that with very little income? Then Jared, the new pastor in this small town, gets involved in Natalies life through her sister's troubles and notices this young twenty something girl trying to handle it all without any hope in her life. He offers to help where he can, but Natalie resists his help and the God that he serves. Natalies circumstances take an unexpected turn when Libby shows up at her front door. The mother she thought was dead! Life starts unraveling at the seams. Natalie starts to consider Jared and Willards help. This novel shows a family struggling against the odds to stay afloat. Natalie and her siblings come to realize whats important in life and what makes it worth living. Best of all, they learn the importance of family. This book leaves you with a good feeling and gets you ready for the third book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
It seems that none of Natalie Adamss hopes and dreams are working out for her these days. Just when she seems to have adjusted to her disappointment and sets new goals with a return to college, her father dies unexpectedly. Not only is she devastated, she has the sole responsibility of raising her half-brother and half-sister. Shes had to abandon yet another dream to make a go of her fathers ranch. Just when she thinks the burden of running a ranch cant get any heavier, her step-mother, long believed to be dead, shows up suddenly wanting a relationship with her brother and sister. Is her step-mother sincere? Will Natalie be able to handle this burden on top of everything else with the ranch? She is a strong-willed and independent young woman and finds it difficult to lean on anyone else for help, including God. When the new pastor in town seems to have made her family his latest mission project, will she be able to accept the help from a man of God the very same God that, in her eyes, abandoned her years ago? Pastor Jared Logan, the newly ordained minister with a heart for God and serving others, comes to town and finds himself wanting to help Natalie and her family. While he struggles with his congregations resistance to change, he finds himself entrenched in the Adams familys struggles. Despite being a city boy, he pitches in valiantly as he draws on the memories and skills taught him by his grandfather during summers spent with him on his farm. Jared has struggles of his own as he finds himself having feelings for Natalie. Can he protect his heart from a woman who has no room in her life for God? He has decisions to make. Has God really called him to the ministry? This poignant story portrays the lives of those who grieve, struggle, and question the circumstances of their lives. Deborah has shared with us a wonderful story of love, forgiveness, redemption, and faith. I enjoyed this book and found myself not wanting it to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
This is going to be a short review, but that in no way reflects my opinion about this book.I'll just say that I really enjoyed this book. The characters were realistic, the storyline was engaging, and in the end I was very pleased with how everything turned out. I would definitely recommend this book and the first one in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Huddleston
Natalie Adams secretly resents being only runner up in the Miss Rodeo America competition on the heels of raising her brother and sister after their mother abandons them. When their father unexpectedly dies, leaving the 5000+ acre ranch to his three children, Natalie takes over the reins with her younger siblings help. Natalie doubts God when He straps her to this lifestyle, depriving her of her dreams of rodeo activity and college. When a new pastor, Jared Logan, arrives in town he tries to help Natalies little family, but her independence has served her well over the years and she declines his offers. But as her burdens grow in number and weight, Jared seems to be there when she needs him, their friendship growing. But can a pastor take a doubting believer as a wife? Can Natalie share Jared with his congregation and God? Seeds of Summer is a story of love, forgiveness, and faith. The end was abrupt but pleasing. I would like to have read more about the family Jared and Natalie probably would have forged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann Shorey
Seeds of Summer is a true-to-life story about family bonds. Set on a cattle ranch in the Flint Hills area of Kansas, Seeds of Summer reflects Vogts love for the area and her knowledge of ranch life. The story opens when the main character, Natalie Adams, is one of two finalists in the Miss Rodeo America competition. Natalie has spent years in preparation for this moment, and when she comes in second, shes lost more than a contestshes lost her focus. To compound events, her father is killed soon after in a ranch accident.Natalie is forced to leave college to be a full-time ranch owner and mother to her younger half-sister and brother. Parenting is never easy, especially with children who are acting out their grief for the father in rebellious ways. Through her little brother, Natalie meets the new pastor in towna man she suspects of making her little family his personal mission project. Vogts has incorporated the faith element organically, so that it never feels forced into the story.Seeds of Summer is filled with realistic characters and situations. Vogts use of a rodeo background adds depth and interest. I recommend this noveland be sure to try the recipe for Chelseys Spice Pancakes included in the back of the book. Theyre delicious!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2010
Miss Rodeo Kansas loses not only the national pageant but her father too. Natalie Adams dreams of touring the nation as a rodeo queen are brushed aside as she faces the reality of running the family ranch with the help of her teenage sister, Chelsey, and young brother, Dillon. Natalies mother died years ago and her stepmom took off one day without a backward glance, so Natalie is the only parent they know.Jared Logan, the new pastor in town., meets Dillon out fishing. Soon his life becomes tangled with the Adams trio. He tries to help Chelsey, who got in trouble with alcohol, and befriends Dillon, who looks up to the handsome young man. Jared is drawn to the family, and his desire to assist them leads to more than neighborly friendliness.Natalie and Jared both sense an attraction, but struggle to resist. She has also pushed God aside, believing He has abandoned her and could never see herself as a pastors wife. Jared knows he could not marry an unbeliever. Financial burdens add to Natalies stress. Then her siblings mom reappears. Has she come to find the money their dad hid around the place? She seems to add to their troubles, rather than helping.Yet God has a way of working out details for the best in each life. Seeds of Summer offers an enjoyable read, and it might just make you ponder your relationship with God and with others. May readers grow in love and forgiveness, just like the characters in this novel.Although this is the second book in the Seasons of the Tallgrass series, it stands alone. I have not read the first one, but want to do so. And this book includes a yummy recipe in the back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie Turansky
Seeds of Summer captured me from the very first page. Deborah Vogts did an excellent job weaving together an inspiring family drama and touching contemporary romance. She also brings the Flint Hills of Kansas to life with her rich detailed descriptions. Natalie and Jared and all the characters became very real to me, and I hated to see their story end. Natalie's spiritual journey was well done and very believable. I enjoyed learning more about ranch life, rodeos, and Miss Rodeo America. Good job! I will look forward to reading Deborah's next book: Blades of Autumn!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seeds of Summer - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Bell-Foster
Summertime is heating up in more ways than one. Natalie, guardian of her younger siblings and head of her familys ranch is facing more than she can handle. But she has to do it alone, doesn't she?When handsome Jared Logan meets her he is struck by her beauty. But she isnt interested in talking to him about her brother, her ranch or church. In fact she isnt sure having him around is a good thing at all even when he saves her from an ex-ranch hand. Jared enjoys his new job but isnt sure this is exactly where God wants him. When life gets more complicated he begins to question his career choice. Did he choose it for the right reasons? Is God really using him or is he reading his wishes into his work in the church and with Natalie. Its obvious she needs him as much as she needs God, but how can he convince her? Ms. Vogts has written an irresistible story filled with emotion. Her characters are believably flawed. You will find yourself rooting for them, hoping for them and looking for the changes as their story unfolds. Seeds Of Summer is a great read. I look forward to the next in the Seasons of the Tallgrass Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.