Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook

Master Books Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Review 1 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Eye-opener

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book IndroctriNation is a companion book to the documentary, IndoctriNation. It is edited by Charles Laverdiere and published by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group. This book has numerous contributors which includes R.C. Sproul, Jr., Ken Ham, Doug Phillips, Voddie Baucham, Jr., and many, many more.
It is a thick book with 382 pages (including the index). It has 23 chapters and 5 appendixes. Some of the titles are: America's Trojan Horse: Public Education; Drugging Them Up; Dumbing Them Down; On Trial for Christ: A Teacher's Testimony; Separation of School and State, etc...This book is meant to persuade the Christian parent to remove their child(ren) from the public schools and to homeschool them.
I am a homeschooler myself and believe in it 100%. I have worked in a public school for 2 years before I had kids and I wasn't too impressed with some of what I saw & heard. But I also believe in school choice and that each family should do what is best for them.
I skimmed through this book, reading the chapters that sounded interesting to me. It was interesting to read about the history of the public schools and how things changed. Found it too long to read and somewhat dry, depending on the chapter. It's not a book that you can read in one day. Lots of information to read and think about. The public (government) schools do have an agenda that they want pushed. In the introduction, Mr. Rohrbough mentions the "diversity training, the false science, and the revisionist history being taught." But do you also accept the social environment and political agenda of your child's school? And do you deny the widespread availability of drugs and alcohol to which your child has access?" (pg. 22).
I would recommend this book for Christian parents with kids in public schools. Might be useful for those who are skeptical about homeschooling and not seeing anything really wrong with sending your children to public school. Just to be aware of the issues is a good thing.
This site: About IndoctriNation Book has a couple downloads, preview and book trailer near the end of the page.
I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing Group in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

“IndoctriNation” Astonishing Expose

Date:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
tickmenot
Location:Kansas City
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a companion book to the film. I did not review the film, so this review will be about the book only. “IndoctriNation” gives convincing evidence that home schooling is far better than public (government) schools or private schools. It also shows how much politics is involved in the public schools, as well as, the agendas that are being pushed through the teaching methods and curriculum.
“IndoctriNation” warns about what a physically dangerous place public schools are for all involved–both students and teachers. The book cites many examples of horrible violence within the schools. The most eye opening being the 2009 report showing violent crime victimization was higher inside the walls of public schools than out on the streets.
Each chapter is written by a different author, so the reader gets different perspectives and information on the subject. I especially liked the ones written by Erwin Lutzer, Ken Ham and Voddie Baucham, Jr. But each chapter had the same overriding theme: if you care about your child, get them out of public school.
This is a great book for people who know nothing about homeschooling, the state of today’s public schools, or the politics involved. Even if the reader thinks they know everything about the subject, I believe they would learn something from this book. It is very detailed and comprehensive. I recommend this book and give it five stars.
The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book through Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing for the purpose of review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I have not been compensated in any other manner. Despite my receiving the book free, it has not influenced my judgment, and I have given an honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read for Parents with School Aged Children

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen1356
Location:NYC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Colin Gunn and Joaquin Fernandez present, Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity, one of their objectives being "to equip the homeschooling public with the ammunition necessary to effectively defend our educational choices....using these resources to graciously challenge our brothers and sisters who are still deceived by the public school system."
Whereas this book did not convict or further strengthen my personal stance to homeschool, it did open my eyes to the horrors of the public school system. It was outright scary. One article after another exposing the not so hidden socialist agenda promulgated throughout the system sent shock waves. Does the public school system have its problems? Certainly. However, this outright crusade to indoctrinate children throughout this country, whether through mental manipulation or drugs, is blatant and intentional.
As a former educator, thankfully for only a short while, the role seems to be clearly defined as one of complacent obedience. Teachers are no longer trained and hired to teach but to diagnosis. Mediocrity and failure are the new standard and thus encouraged. The goal for appealing to the masses has replaced integrity, work ethic, and overall motivation. Teachers unwilling to submit are weeded out.
This is not one author's opinion but a collaboration of experts, educators, and parents who have thoroughly researched this topic and provide many references and not simply personal opinions or experience. Anyone in the aforementioned categories should look closely into this resource and identify their role as willing conformist or combatant against a system designed to strip parents of their God-given right to educate their children with a Biblical worldview.
Let us all beware that their socialist agenda is clear--death and destruction to morals, values, and the family. They want to warp and pervert children from very young to serve their own twisted agendas. This book is a battle cry for any parent having school aged children to wake up. The call to action might not be changing the system, but rather not allowing one's children to participate in it. Neutrality is not an option.
I received complimentary copy of this book from New Leaf Publishing in exchange for an independent and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must read for everyone

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristinbest
Location:Arizona
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book gives us insight into what is wrong with our public school system and why as Christians we shouldn't be sending our children there. This give true blue statistics on the drugging and the over diagnosing of our children. Trust me I have been there I am just glad that my eyes are open to it all now. I just wish I was never sucked into the lie. Most parents trust the school system or just don't realize they have another choice and that they too can homeschool those precious children. This book broke my heart when I read how many children are put on drugs that the don't need. ADD and ADHD are relatively new diagnoses these didn't exist in our grandparents days.
I can say that I agree with the Dumbing Down part of this book cause I feel I was short changed in school. My husband and I are 13 yrs apart, as I was going into school he was graduating high school. I feel that I missed a lot of schooling I should have gotten but no it didn't happen. Growing up there where a few years that I had the same books in different schools. We weren't taught anything other then how to take a standardized test and pass so we didn't make the school district look bad.
This book shows that children are important and so is the information we put in their heads. I want my children to enjoy learning and to pass that on to my grandchildren. I want them to learn all the time and not have to worry about a test that doesn't prove anything.
I am sure my review and my opinion will offend friends and family who work in the public school system and that is not my intention.
Disclaimer: I was sent this book for my honest review from Master Books
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This book has an important mesage.

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
csam
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am not sure where to start. I enjoy writing reviews, but this one is the hardest. It has such an important message. I think it is just being delivered in the most mundane (Lacking interest or excitement; dull) way. I agree with the message in this book, this is why my children have always been in the Christian school or homeschooled through the Christian school. But, the question is, how do we get this information to the ones who really need it- the parents who don't understand this education dilemma we are in? I personally will try to lend my copy out to as many Christian parents as I can. I have rallied against public schools my whole adult life. This book gave me more knowledge to support my views of public school. Most people just 'trust'. And leave it to the 'professionals' to lead and teach our children.
This is sad and the book explains why we can't do this.
This book is long. Sometimes, it was engaging and other times it felt overwhelming. I love to read, so I stuck with it. I love to expand my knowledge of these issues, so I stuck with it. I fear that most people who don't understand or care about this subject would give up on it early into the book. It is not casual reading. It has an important message. I feel it is worth reading, at least, in the best interest of our children.
I was given this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I truly had no idea . . .

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Location:Tulsa, Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Published by Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group (nlpg.com), the title IndoctriNation immediately intrigued me. Not long ago, I was personally told by a lady just younger than me that Christian parents teaching their children about God is morally wrong. For a parent to "indoctrinate" their children with the idea of God is a horrible, unimaginable atrocity. The same person thinks it's okay for a mother to end the life of her child while it's in the womb, but if that mother chooses to let her child live, teaches him/her that there is a God who loves them, that their life is valuable, that they have a purpose, and that they are accountable to their Creator, well, then she is a "bad person". I thought this an odd belief and wondered where someone could get such an idea while living in this beautiful, grand, religiously free country.
So, of course, when I saw a book dedicated to the indoctrination taking place in our public schools, I was immediately drawn.
The book is unique in that it is written by many different contributors. The chapters are authored by different people, having their own distinct perspectives derived from their personal involvement with and in the public school system. In addition, the book was actually based on the documentary film, instead of the other way around.
Near the beginning, the filmmaker's notes struck me. Joaquin Fernandez writes about delivering this message with the right heart. He elaborates on the love Jesus has for His bride, the Church, and the very serious matter of rebuking her. Much time was spent in praying with shaky knees about this fearful task.
Convinced of the sincerity of love the authors had toward me as the bride of Christ, I bravely continued forward, not sure what I would encounter. Since my husband and I decided long ago that if we ever have children, we will homeschool them, I was not sure I would learn much of anything I didn't already know. Public schools were bad, yeah, but necessary, surely. After all, homeschooling isn't for everyone, right?
The following pages opened my eyes in a way I had never expected. The history of public schools, their original purpose, and the philosophies of the leading educational authorities who helped instigate them astonished me.
The nature and goals of education itself was a novel idea to me. I had no idea just how affected I was by my own public school experience. Education is inherently religious. Every fact, axiom, or tenant that is taught has an overarching worldview philosophy from which it is being presented. You cannot separate facts from the deeper realm of truth.
Chapter One addresses that the information being taught in government schools is being taught in the religious atmosphere of Secular Humanism, an ideology that the U.S. Supreme court deems protected by the First Amendment. It is a religion that teaches that man is his own god. He determines what is right and wrong. Morals are relative, truth is relative, and life holds no real answers; there are only the answers you decide. The book goes into great detail to establish the evidence which supports the reality that our nation's children are being tutored in the ways of self-worship, and are being manipulated into dependency on the state. Have you noticed lately the attitude of entitlement possessed by these upcoming generations, the expectancy for the government to provide all their needs, the pervasive trend toward socialism over capitalism? Would you be as surprised as I to find out this was all by design?
One whole chapter is dedicated to the practice of drugging young children to make them more manageable in the classroom, especially little boys . . . giving them legal drugs that have the same effect on their brains as cocaine. Some of the statistics were so astounding, they bordered on sensationalism. I was a little bit skeptical at this point, but after taking in the entire body of evidence, this chapter became just one peg of many on which the argument securely hangs.
In contrast to the reasons presented against state education, there is a multitude of scriptures set forth which expound the biblical design for educating our children. The one that impacted me most is Psalm 1:1-3: "Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. But his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper." How had I never connected this scripture to education before? Proverbs tells us that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge. We have been sending our children into a pagan system to be fed knowledge apart from the acknowledgment of God, let alone the fear of God, and have allowed them to sit under the tutelage of the ungodly and the scornful. Even those children who are lucky and blessed enough to be taught by a follower of Jesus, cannot receive any instruction based on the truth of Jesus. Many more scriptures specifically talk about teaching and educating our children, and the unquestionable conclusion is that God mandates parents to be the primary educators of the precious lives entrusted to their care.
The vast benefits of homeschooling are discussed in Chapter Twenty including individual attention to learning styles, delight-directed learning, learning in the context of life, and freedom from confinement. Homeschooling is tailor fit to each individual child's strengths and learning needs. Lessons can be taught in fun and creative ways while the family unit is strengthened and mutual respect is developed. But most importantly, every lesson in every circumstance in life can bring glory to God, teaching our children to be heavenly minded, walking in peace, joy, confidence, and truth.
In Chapter Twenty-One, Israel Wayne addresses the common excuses not to homeschool your children. Among them are: it costs too much; I'm not qualified to teach my children; it would take too much time; my kids drive me crazy, I can't stand to be around them; and I want my children to be "salt and light" in the public schools. If you've ever found yourself relying on one of these to ease your conscience, you'll find each one knocked out from under you as Israel Wayne brings you face to face with the Word of God.
This book is so packed with information, I can only begin to barely touch on it in this review. I found it to be powerfully persuasive. Whereas I believed public schools to be a "necessary evil", I now believe they have no place in a free nation. Whereas I believed they were not the best education system to use but it was still "okay" to send your kids there, I now know that with the knowledge I have gained it would be exceedingly sinful to place our children there. I have had a total paradigm shift in the area of education and feel like my world has been enlightened with a delightful truth I never knew existed. It is hard to describe the joy and hope I have experienced during the reading of this book.
I cannot stress enough or more highly recommend that every Christian parent, or future parent prayerfully read this book, digest the information presented, and immediately take action. The life of your child may hang in the balance, but even graver is the possibility that it may be his/her soul on the line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

to persuade you to homeschool

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Ah, where to begin this book review. Well, first of all, this book is an accompaniment to a DVD which I have not viewed, so this review is purely for the book. This book, IndoctriNation, is basically a collection of essays which have been unapologetically written to persuade readers (Christian parents) of the danger of sending their children to public school. The authors range from past public school teachers and administrators to leading Christian speakers/writers of today. There is no trying to hide their agenda, they blatantly say that they want to persuade readers to take their children out of public school.
I guess I'm not really the intended audience of this book; we already homeschool our children. I don't need persuading :) We are dedicated to homeschooling and are very glad that we have taken this path. As such, much of what was written did not really grab my interest. There were segments about textbooks, add/adhd/ritalin, teachers, industry, history, and so much more. Some segments more inflammatory than other. All these were aimed at Christians/people who believe and follow the Bible and Scriptural teaching.
Honestly, it is a long book. Lots of chapters. Not good flow, just 23 essays plopped together into a book. Wow, I feel awfully superficial writing this, but hey, it IS long and kind of dry -- after the first few essays it just goes on and on, saying kind of the same things in so many different ways. I'd suggest reading it in spurts, a chapter a week or so :)
So -- would I recommend this book? I WOULD recommend the book to Christian parents who are not currently homeschooling. You know, it would also be good for grandparents who question why their children are homeschooling their grandkids. So, yes, I would recommend it in these cases.
I received a copy of this book from the publishers for the purpose of this review. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for every parent!

Date:July 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
Location:Ctrl, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a huge list of conservative contributors rivaling a Hollywood "A list" celebration, IndoctriNation takes a compelling look at the state of our public school system
Do you know the origins of our current system?
Do you understand its' implications?
Can you weigh the enormity of this on a largely unchurched population?
What you get is on open door to the indoctrination of the masses!
Authors Joaquin Fernandez and Colin Gunn cover topics including:
*ADHD
*Deliberate dumbing down of subjects
*Sexualization of children
*Evangelism
*Separation of Church and State
*Rewriting History
"Is there an idea more radical in the history of the human race than turning your children over to total strangers who you know nothing about and having those strangers work on your child's mind?"
This 370 paged book is packed with eye opening data, quotes and historical information. It is a must read for every parent!
Read a selection from the book HERE.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of IndoctriNation from Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group free of charge in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Homeschool vs Public School

Date:July 1, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been homeschooling our children for 5 years. Some days I need lots of encouragement. I need reminders of all the reasons we have chosen to homeschool. IndoctriNation is a GREAT reminder of the reasons we homeschool. Some of the arguments against public school featured in this book are things I have researched in depth including the prescribing of ADD/ ADHD medications to children that do not really need it. Some things such as the Positive Behavior Intervention and Support are issues I have noticed around me but didn't realize they were being implemented and forced in public schools. IndoctriNation seems harsh in some areas but documentaries often are. I read the book and did some of my own research on the topics along the way. I encourage you to do the same. If you are on the fence about public school, read this book. If you need encouragement to continue your homeschool journey, read this book. If you have very young children and have never considered anything other than sending your kids to public school because you went to public school (I did too) read this book.
I received a free copy of this book from New Leaf Publishing group for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Information everyone should have...

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I appreciated the calm, factual way information is presented in IndoctriNation. Even the skeptic reading this should not get the sense it is written by a fringe group of conspiracy mongers. Rather the book systematically provides factual information which is lies just beneath the surface. Yes, the ideas presented here are radically opposed by the mainstream voices. Our country was founded by radical opposition.
Although I do not agree that homeschooling is a biblical mandate, this book will inform every parent to know how to make the best educational choice for their child.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of Truth

Date:October 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
MomOfAllTrades
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Things have changed so much from the time I went to school. There are so many things to consider when making the right educational choices for your children. I know that we researched a lot before making that choice.
If only Indoctrination had been written BEFORE we walked down the path of educational decisions... It brings out so many things that we have either seen or heard about.
I encourage everyone who has children to read this book that exposes many of the truths of our schools today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Do You really Know the Truth?

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MomRebecca
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IndoctriNation is an accompaniment to the film IndoctriNation – a documentary created to “‘equip the homeschooling public with ammunition necessary to effectively defend our educational choices ….” (Pg 9)
Sounds a little harsh, huh? Well, if you are new to homeschooling or perhaps have no need for it, I can understand that.
I used to be there, too. I went to public school and two of our children attended…one for a little more than 2 years and one for 1 year. School isn’t the same as it was when I was there. And, from what I gather from those older than me, it wasn’t the same for them, either.
Almost everyone I talk with shares the pros and cons of Public Education. And I’m going to settle one thing now before I move on. This REVIEW is not here to begin an argument or debate on whether or not you should homeschool. That is a choice each and every parent must make for their families. But, as the author of the book/documentary states: ”I could express to you my opinion that parents are accountable for the spiritual and physical risk their children face in public schools. That’s my opinion and you could take it or leave it. But when you hear the testimony of Brian Rohrbough, there’s no debate. Brian lost his son in the Columbine shooting, and he leaves every parent with the unforgettable words, “I put him there.” These are some of the bravest words I ever heard.” (pg 8)
Nitty Gritty
IndoctriNation provides insight from various authors (some listed above) about what is really going on in our Public School System. It provides amazing historical content that you would have to dig deep and I mean deep to find – and I doubt your local library will have the information on their shelves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tough truths revealed in this book!

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Haelie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a very hard time with this book.
Just being honest.
Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity is a companion book to the DVD by the same title. I have watched it and it is just as disturbing as the book.
Disturbing, however is not bad.
In this book and accompanying DVD, the filmmakers and editor have compiled a combination of first-hand interviews and article/book excerpts into one vast resource regarding the history and state of public education in America.
Learning more about the history of American public education was quite enlightening to me...and disturbing as well.
I am one of the many Americans who has truly no choice (due to poor past financial decisions) other than to send my child to a public school. He has been blessed with great teachers and a great education thus far, but don't think for a minute that I don't have concern for what he hears or will hear in the classrooms he attends - both from teachers and other students. Thus the reason I try my best to diligently #TeachtheTruth in our daily lives in whatever ways God allows and leads me to.
Still, the government-guided school system has my child for more total, undivided time than I do if you factor in all of the other things that go on before and after school.
IndoctriNation brings to light how deliberate my situation is.
No, I do not deliberately choose to let the God-forsaking United States government indoctrinate and mold my child into becoming the kind of humanistic (man-centered) citizen they want to create, but they do deliberately structure our education system in such as way that what I described is highly likely to happen to most children who spend 12 formative years in this government created, government led system. If you don't think that is true, I challenge you to read my review of Already Gone by Ken Ham& Britt Beemer and read that book for more detailed survey results that prove it. Maybe many of the people who work in or have children in this system don't agree with that statement, but just a few pages into the book IndoctriNation will bring to light some things that were put in place many many years ago which have us already socialized in ways we don't even realize.
Again, though, I had a very tough time with this book. Not just for reasons I have described but also because the filmmakers and editor, in their notes of introduction to the book and even a couple of the authors of book portions, conveyed a tone that I did not agree with. I understand their passion for conveying this important message, but in their words some of them seemed to forget about parents like me. They wrapped all parents of publicly educated children into this package group of being "deceived" and lazy / careless about our children's education.
One such statement stands out that I would like to rebut, if I may.
Editor Charles LaVerdiere states, "Previous generations of 'We the People' gladly handed over their children, first to the one-room schoolhouse then to the government, all for convenience."
If anyone in those previous generations was like me, I can say that not all "gladly" handed their children over and likely not so much for "convenience" as much as out of necessity. I struggle internally daily with having to be far less involved with my child's daily schooling than I would like (not even being able to be on campus at his public school as much as I would like due to work obligations). And the public school system is not so much a convenience to me as it is a necessity. Poor financial decisions of my past when I was younger and even single have affected me and continue to affect our family in a way that we are unable to afford living on one income nor can we even afford a private school (not that private schools are the perfect option either).
All that said, I stuck with the book and was very thankful I did. MANY important facts brought to light in the nearly 400 pages of this book as well as the nearly 2 hours of DVD that accompanies it. You truly should delve into this one if you have children of any age in or near "school days."
So...have I got you thinking...?
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing Group. No other compensation was received. The fact that I received a complimentary product does not guarantee a favorable review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Indoctrination: Public Schools and the Decline of Christianity in America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sound Defense of Christian Home Education!

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sirius Knott
Location:Charleston, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m always leery of the book version of a film, especially documentaries and other nonfictional media, mostly because the “novelization” tends to rehash the same ground that I just covered in the movie. But every once in a while, the book proves to be the perfect complement the filmmakers promised. Indoctrination is just such a book: relevant, readable and revealing.
I should begin by noting that I thoroughly enjoyed the documentary itself. I never got around to reviewing it, but I found it both disturbing and compelling. How could our public schools be this bad? The ineffectiveness of public education has been well-documented in other films such as Waiting for Superman, but Indoctrination gets to the root of the issue of why public education undermines our children’s religious worldview… and we find out that it’s quite on purpose!
The companion book to this award-winning documentary by Colin Gunn and Joaquin Fernandez includes contributions by R.C. Sproul, Jr., Ken Ham, Voddie Bacham, Jr., John Taylor Gatto, Israel Wayne, Doug Phillips and many more. It even includes an article by fellow West Virginian Karl Priest concerning Kanawha County’s 1974 Textbook War. Rather than simply regurgitating the documentary, this material expands the information presented previously. It’s impossible to cover the material presented in 23 essays and 5 appendices, but I would like to share some of the things that struck me.
In the Introduction by Brian Rohrbough, who lost his son at the Columbine High Massacre, he notes that “If you place your children in public school, within a few years, you will find division growing between you and them. Will you tell yourself that this separation is normal and that it is just part of your children growing up? Do you really believe hatred between parents and children is normal?” [pp.22-23] This mirrors comments made by David & Kim d’Escoto on page 300:
“And then they turn five… and we are expected to cut the apron strings and turn them over to the state to continue their education… The detachment process begins, and almost unknowingly, the gap between child and home widens. Bonds are loosened, and the foundation of trust crumbles. Children who once looked to their parents for leadership now turn to their teachers for knowledge, their peers for wisdom, and their music and televisions for entertainment.”
The detachment syndrome they describe is similar to that experienced by children who are taken from their parents and placed in foster homes.
The reason for this division between parent and child is because, as Michael Metarko aptly puts it, “America is Troy; our public education system is the Trojan Horse… [p.25] In opening up that Trojan horse, I was stunned and appalled. I not only realized what the horse was but saw the deceivers’ plans. In a phrase, what I found was indoctrination in an anti-Christian worldview called humanism… [p. 27] With 90 percent of Christians still sending their children into this statist educational system, I need to be brutally direct. According to current research, if you send your child to public school, you WILL most likely lose your child to the secular humanistic worldview [p.36].”
Or as Voddie Baucham, Jr. notes:
“The correlation is clear: If we continue to send our children to Caesar for their education, we need to stop being surprised when they come home as Romans.” [p.263]
He further points out that “Ninety pe rcent [of American Christians] make the exact same educational choice and nobody can point to book, chapter, and verse to justify it.” [p.263] Later in his plea for a return to a Biblical worldview, he directs our attention to the latest PEERS test results from the Nehemiah Institute, which tests worldviews and gives them a scalar rank from “Socialism” to “Biblical Theism.” 70 to 100 is “Biblical Theism,” 30 to 69 is “Moderate Christian,” 0 to 29 is “Secular Humanism,” and any negative score is “Socialism.” Homeschool students averaged 48.6, right in the middle of a Christian worldview. Christian students in public school averaged only 7.9, “the low end of secular humanism, falling into Marxist socialism.” [p.273]. Christian school students scored 27.8. Commenting on this, Voddie Baucham, Jr., states:
“This is below the moderate Christian worldview, seeping into the secular humanist worldview. I believe the problem here is that Christian schools actually brag about the fact that they have certified teachers. Certified by whom? The state; Caesar.” [p.273]
Israel wayne makes the same point:
“Nearly every school, everywhere, is being influenced by secularism – even Christian schools. Where do most Christian schools get their teaching degrees? From secular colleges, of course. Do we think they can somehow avoid being influenced by their teachers?” [p. 315]. If we do, we stand in defiance of Luke 6:40, in which Jesus Himself warned that “A pupil is not above his teacher; but everyone, after he has been fully trained, will be like his teacher.”
For those who suppose their children are to be sent into public schools as “salt and light,” Israel Wayne makes the following observation:
“Do you have any religious cults in your neighborhood? If so, do you send your children to their services every Sunday morning? Shouldn’t they be there being ‘salt and light’ to the cult members? …Do you have bars and nightclubs nearby? …Perhaps you should have them join a street gang so they can witness to their peers.” [p. 312]
His argumentem ad absurdum makes this common misapplication of the Similitudes evident. RC Sproul gives us the bottom line:
“Thinking that education is something different than from discipling our children is a sure sign that we have been ‘educated’ by the state. Education is discipleship.” [p. 336]
Documenting a program of social engineering through behaviorism, evolutionary thinking, radical environmentalism, dumbed-down curricula, drugging our children and… well, more than I have the stomach to comment upon at the moment, the contributors to the book companion to Indoctrination make a solid case for Christian homeschooling, while masterfully challenging those parents who are still deceived by the public school system.
This is an excellent resource for parents and teachers, a thoughtful and gracious argument against the humanistic public education system, the humanistic-influenced Christian school, and for Biblical home education. I recommend that anyone wishing to make an informed decision on the matter of whether they send their children to be educated by Caesar read this book – or at least watch the documentary.
You can purchase this book at our DefGen.org eStore. You can find out more about the book and movie at IndoctrinationMovie.com.
-Tony Breeden, from the Bookwyrm’s Lair
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the New Leaf Publishing Group Book Bible Defender’s Review Team. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.