Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook

Zondervan Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook

In Tour De Force, Gilly has grown up to become a rising star in one of the premier NYC ballet companies. However, when she comes back to Alabama to dance the role of the Sugar Plum Fairy in The Nutcracker, she finds herself intrigued by the Birmingham company's handsome young director, Jacob Ferrar. Gilly and Jacob have to wrestle with ordering priorities in the Christian life: where do building a relationship, pursuing artistic dreams, and serving God fit into the mix?
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing Dance World Glimpse

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
“Tour de Force” is a magnificent glimpse into a world of tutus and frills and pointe shoes. It’s always a wide-eyed view of the human condition and how far someone will go to get what they want.
If ever someone, who has no coordination and can’t be graceful if she tried, wanted to experiment in the world of ballet, this book would be the ticket. Detail, research and understanding of that world really brought it to life. I thought I might be in New York looking through the window of the high rise dance studio (though that sounds uncomfortable…)
I will say in that great research, I got a bit lost in all the characters were trying to do to save their careers and dance studios. I think a better personal understanding of how the dance world works would have been helpful on my end.
The love story is sweet, but I would have liked it to take a greater precedent. I felt it slipped into the background through the middle to two-thirds of the book.
I would have liked to get to know Gilly better. I found her a bit closed off to the reader and I wanted to really dig into what made her tick as a character. I could say the same for Jacob too.
But overall, it’s a good book and one I’m glad I tried on for size.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Story!

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
FireMistress
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story really captivated my attention. I LOVE dancing, and have been peforming since I was 11-years old. Once I gave my life to the Lord, not only did I change, but so did my dance, as well. I love how this story incorporates two of my favorite things: dance & romance into one. And, above all, I like how the main character relates to me because I want to spend the rest of my life doind exacly what she's doing -- dancing for her Lord!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
I really liked this book. It had such a great story line and side stories too. How lives can intertwine and also how important it is to be a witness. Made me either want to be a ballerina or meet a artistic director!! Great read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Review by Gretchen HoffmanI love ballet. Although I never got past intermediate ballet class as a kid, I love going to see dance performances, and if theres a book about dancers, you bet itll pique my interest.Gillian Kincade is an upcoming ballet star in the New York dance scene. Jacob Ferrar left the glitz of performing to become an artistic director, focusing on dance that glorifies God. When Jacob offers Gilly the lead in his play, she has to decide where shes supposed to be. But after an accident, the dancing future for both becomes uncertain, and they must learn to trust where God leads.This book was just as fantastic as I expected it to be. (The cover alone made me want to read this! Especially since I love ballet.) The main characters were so fun, and the secondary characters were just as intriguing and well written as the main ones. I especially liked how real everyone was. Gillian and Jacob were not perfect by any meansthey struggled with how to express their Christianity in everyday life and where the line is between tolerance of others lifestyles and still sticking up for morality and truth. Sometimes it seems like the characters in books have it all figured out, but Gilly and Jacob didnt, and the book didnt end with them suddenly being able to perfectly balance their ideals with non-Christians around them. Life doesnt always have simple answers, and this book showed that. Plus, Ms. White did an excellent job of showing Gods miracles. Although miracles seem rare nowadays, God is always faithful, and miracles today are just as real as they ever were. An excellent read. I will be getting more of Elizabeth Whites books for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
This love story was a pleasure to read. The characters were creative and endearing. I loved both Gillian and Jacob; two people with faith and flaws. From the first page of the book the reader is drawn into a story that becomes both a journey and a dance. Gillian and Jacob have their own personal issues, weaknesses to resolve, as well as professional and relational. The settings of the New York ballet and a regional dance company in Alabama were both new and refreshing. I enjoyed every page, every conflict and resolution, and the sweet romance touched my heart. Clear your weekend, for once you begin this novel you will not want to stop until the dance is complete. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda H
Fans of Elizabeth White won't be disappointed with this one. She shows us how God can use Christians as a shining light no matter what their occupation...even the world of ballet. Gilly's faith shown through even when she was faced with adversity. What a role model for all of us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Every little girls dream is to be a ballerina, isnt it? I remember dancing for many years imagining what it would be like to be one. Unfortunately I have elephant feet and didnt get far (only took me 11 years to figure that out hehe)So when Gillian (Gilly as her friends call her) get the opportunity to dance as a soloist there is no looking back a whole new world opens up. But even more important to Gillian is her faith in Christ and how she displays it to her dance friends and family. To complicate her world she finds there may be more to life than dancingTour de Force by Elizabeth White is definitely modern and thought provoking work of fiction. I was surprised by some of the topics and characters in her book (ie. her dance partner is gay, and her friend has an abortion) but in all honestly I do think it is a realistic look at the dance world and the characteristics of our fallen world.I enjoyed Whites heroine and her strong characteristics, yet innocence still in tact. I like that she presented the struggles right out and didnt side-step them but dealt with them.A possible stumble for some people maybe that there are a lot of ballet terms in it. I like that White gives you the list of terms if your unfamiliar with them (it shows she knows her stuff), but it is easier if you actually know what they are or youll be flipping a lot.The only thing that bothered me was the minor detail of a minor character Graham the six year old nephew of the leading man Jacob(his sister died and he was the guardian). He reminded me more of my three year old instead of an actual six year old. He could have been cast as a three year old with the same effect. Anyhow, like I said minor detail lolIf you like raw emotion, a bit of romance, and some definite issues to be dealt with youll enjoy this coming of age book a lot!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
When I was growing up, you had to look hard to find a little girl who didnt harbor dreams of becoming a ballerina one day. While mine may have been more low-key than that of most girls, I did have pretty wallpaper with chubby ballerinas on it in multi-coloured costumes in a plethora of positions. When a belief that I was clumsy put the binders on my ballerina dreams, my love for dance went undercover. I devoured any movie prominently featuring dance and lived vicariously through Ballet Shoes. Its no wonder I couldnt resist reading Elizabeth Whites Christian ballerina romance Tour de Force. White drops her Christian ballerina smack-dab in the center of a profession well known for its cut-throat competitiveness, sexual immorality and the fanatical dedication of its dancers (even to the point of self-harm). Gillian Kincade (Gilly) is a talented young dancer who has just made soloist with Ballet New York. When Jacob Ferrar, the artistic director of the Birmingham Ballet Theatre sees her dance, the seed of an entirely new Christian ballet is formed in his mind.As Gilly and Jacob brainstorm the new project at a distance, a tender romance begins to bloom between them. When a disastrous first performance of a scene from the new ballet for Jacobs board of directors casts everything into doubt, both Gillys career and the growing feelings between the pair reach an impasse.Tour de Force is a fairly straightforward, sweet romance that remains rather straight-laced despite the risqu profession it portrays. The moral pitfalls of the ballet world are clearly presented while never becoming explicit. Jacobs own sin-filled past as an unbeliever are present in guardedness and caution in his character and Gillys interactions with her unbelieving fellow dancers are both gentle and grace-filled while standing uncompromisingly for Gods standards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2009
This was one of the most wonderful stories I have read in a while. It's been a while since I've been to see a ballet live and I really miss it. There's nothing like watching the beauty, grace and elegance of the dancers on stage and seeing the wonderful performance right before your eyes. This book made me feel like I was watching a carefully choreographed dance with words. Gilly and Jonathan had wonderful chemistry together and I could picture both of them dancing together on both stage and in real life. They were characters that grew throughout the book and their transformations were intriguing to read. I enjoyed learning about the ballet and how hard it is to be a dancer and the struggles one has to go through to make it to the top. While the book has a strong faith based message, it is not preachy. It handles topics such as abortion and homosexuality with grace and tactfulness and does condemn those that choose those lifestyles. I really enjoyed seeing how the situation with Alexandra was handled. Too often in Christian fiction, there's always a cop-out ending with people getting away with things wrongfully. However, this time I was delightfully pleased with how everything played out, there was enough to satisfy mysnarky side with forgiveness and mercy being displayed as well. It's always nice to see authors putting in recurring characters in their books for their long time fans. I enjoyed seeing Laurel and Cole make appearances in this book. It's like seeing long lost friends again. This is another wonderful book from Elizabeth White and I'm looking forward to reading her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mona Walker
I read "Tour de Force" when school finished for me in mid-June. It was great! I couldnt put it down! Im sure my husband didnt like it when dinner wasnt ready because I was reading and couldnt stop! It really was a great book. I passed it on to my daughter-in-law and she just finished it. She is going to pass it on to my other son's girlfriend in Seattle when they go visit them this week. Then Ill get it back from her and pass it around some more here in LA. Thanks for writing and using your gifts to inspire and challenge people to walk with God daily!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kelley Halbert
Fabulous! Beth White has done it again! Giving her all to spread God's word through Christian fiction is abundantly clear in this enjoyablebook. I know little of ballet, and have never been to NYC, but I loved the characters Beth created! Their desire to be in God's will and do His good work was something I could relate to. I know you'll enjoy this book as much as I did! Great summer read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Whow - I loved this book. You don't even have to know about ballet to understand it or understand all the terms even though you are given them.I think at one time in their life little girls dream of being a ballet but they do not understand the struggles and hard work that goes into it. It just seems so graceful. I liked the way Gilly had obsticles to overcome and situations to work through to serve God. People don't think we can serve God in some fields and this book shows it is possible.As one who has suffered through pain and set backs, I understand the questions Gilly asked when laid up with a back injury. While reading this I had two back procedures. I also like how God brought Jacob and Gilly together and Jacob had issues of his own to deal with. You could experience God's forgiveness and how a life is changed with God comes in through Jacob.I found so much strength for everyday life while reading this. Both Jacob and Gilly were fully of passion for the gift they had been given of dance. It was a story I hated to see end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Lee Miller
White swept me into the passion and clawing ambition of professional ballet. She dished well-rounded, realistic characters. Gilly, a delightful sprite, and multi-layered Jacob became personal friends by the end of Tour de Force. White also has a knack for breathing life into her secondary characters, particularly six-year-old Graham, gay dancer Dmitri, and even a studly baseball player who pursues Gilly. A very satisfying read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2009
Elizabeth White's newest book 'Tour de Force' was WONDERFUL. I loved learning about the world of professional ballet and how competative it is. What it takes to be a professional ballerina. Elizabeth provides a glossery of terms but it's not overwhelming to the story. Tour de Force centers around Gillian Kincade (Laural Kincade's little sister from Off the Record) and Jacob Ferrar. Gilly was a great character. Full of life, strong and loveable. She applied her Christian beliefs and love to those around her in a tangible way. Especially to her friend Victoria. Jacob Ferrar was a great torchered hero. A man with a past that he would like to forget. He is strong, kind and protective of those he loves. Both characters are well drawn and come to life off the pages of the book. The relationship between Jacob & Gilly was believeable and well paced. We also get to see Tucker McGaughan (Cole McGaughan's brother from Off the Record). He is vying for Gilly's attention as well. They have known each other for a long time. Who will she choose in the end? The story keeps you turning pages and there is some good romantic tension along the way. You'll also find some of that good old fashioned southern humor that you come to expect from an Elizabeth White book along with tackling some of life's tougher issues. I enjoyed Tour de Force, I think you will too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2009
I love Beth White's books, and this one did not disappoint. Gilly is an engaging, intriguing character, as is Jacob, and their relationship is at once serious and sweet. I enjoyed the dialogue and commentary on ballet culture, as well as Gilly's struggle over how, and how much, to live her Christian life within that culture. In fact, I would have liked to see more of that, especially considering the way Gilly's accident turned out. It sometimes felt as if Beth threw in certain plot points and devices as fillers, while letting others go. The book also left me with some unanswered questions, such as where Gilly decided her true allegiance belonged--in the lesser-known Christian ballet world or the world of BNY. However, this was still an enjoyable book, and as always, I look forward to more from Beth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pam Mesaros
We first met Gillian Kincade in Elizabeth Whites book Off the Record. Tour de Force brings Gilly back into our lives. In Tour de Force Gilly has grown and matured and is living in New York City as a dancer. White does an excellent job of writing a captivating story about the life Gilly has chosen to live and the people that surround her. The book moves between light-hearted banter and serious dialogue about life, culture and faith as Gilly struggles to find her place as Christian and ballerina in the world of dance. Its a must read for all White fans both ones that have read her books in the past or for the first time reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jules
Tour De Force by Elizabeth White is an oustanding contemporary Christian Romance! The story centers around Gillian Kincade who was featured in the book about her older sister, Off The Record. Jillian is now an established professional ballerina in NYC. In the book, Elizabeth White perfectly captures the world of dance and how God can use dancers to change the world for Christ. Tour De Force is definitely a Five Star Read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Doris Bernethy
Tour De Force is the story of Gillian Kincaid whom we met earlier in Off The Record. Gillian has become a successful, albeit it young, ballerina in New York City who is also determined to live an exemplary and moral lifestyle. Jacob Ferrar is a director with his own southern-based company in Gillys home state of Alabama with former ties to the New York Ballet, having left New York after a very unfortunate affair prior to becoming a Christian. Now, he is also raising his 5-year-old orphaned nephew with the help of his grandparents. There is an instant attraction between Gilly and Jacob, but the old saying, the course of true love never runs straight certainly applies to them. Jacob faces many hurdles in attempting to create a biblical-based ballet, including one very jealous ballerina as well as innuendo about the reason for his departure from New York; and then while demonstrating a dance with Gilly, she sustains a back injury that could end her career. We again meet her sister, Laurel and Cole (two of my favorite characters) in supportive roles. This is another delightful book by Elizabeth White.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tour de Force: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromTour de Force.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
R Alexander
This book was just as fantastic as I expected it to be. (The cover alone made me want to read this! Especially since I love ballet.) The main characters were so fun, and the secondary characters were just as intriguing and well written as the main ones. I especially liked how real everyone was. Gillian and Jacob were not perfect by any meansthey struggled with how to express their Christianity in everyday life and where the line is between tolerance of others lifestyles and still sticking up for morality and truth. Sometimes it seems like the characters in books have it all figured out, but Gilly and Jacob didnt, and the book didnt end with them suddenly being able to perfectly balance their ideals with non-Christians around them. Life doesnt always have simple answers, and this book showed that. Plus, Ms. White did an excellent job of showing Gods miracles. Although miracles seem rare nowadays, God is always faithful, and miracles today are just as real as they ever were. An excellent read. I will be getting more of Elizabeth Whites books for sure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.