Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Turning the Paige - eBook

Zondervan Turning the Paige - eBook

At 35, Paige Kelley is feeling very "in between." She's still working her temp job after two years, still not dating three years after her divorce, and still melting at every chubby-cheeked toddler she sees while her biological clock ticks ever louder. Paige even moves back home to help her ailing, high-maintenance mother.It's not exactly the life she'd dreamed of! When her Getaway Girls book club members urge Paige to break free and get on with her life, she's afraid. How will her mother react? How can Paige honor her widowed mother and still pursue her own life? The answers come from a surprising source.

A trip to Scotland and a potential new love interest help launch an exciting new chapter in her life, and lead Paige to discover that God's plan for her promises to be more than she ever imagined. This latest release in the Getaway Girls collection delivers a smart, funny, and warm account of one woman's challenge to reconcile who she is - a dutiful Christian daughter - with the woman she longs to be.

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Turning the Paige - eBook
Review 1 for Turning the Paige - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
kelsey
Turning the Paige will not let you down if you loved Daring Chloe as much as I did. The life of Paige looks bleak at first, but with help form her strong fellowship with her christian friends and a particular florist, she finds herself in Scotland on the adventure of a lifetime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Turning the Paige - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
paula
What a book! Love it! Laura writes about a situation many find themselves in- caring for an elderly parent, but adds the issue of singleness (divorced) and wanting a family into Paige's emotional mix. She wants to live her life, but feels she has no choice but to take care of her mother. I laughed and cried along with Paige, and marveled at the scenery in Scotland. Paige learned about friendship, family, and faith, and so did I. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Turning the Paige - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Laura Jensen Walker's book are always fast read, page turner, hard to put down stories and this one was no exception. I enjoyed reading about Paige's journey to self discovery and finding out her true self. I was afraid at first that this would be the same old story where the child is guilt tripped by the parent to always give in to them. It always pains me to see adult children sacrificing their own lives just to make their parents happy and unable to enjoy their own life. It's one thing for a daughter to be respectful and helpful to her mother. It's quite another thing when she's over 30 and her mother still controls her life. I always hate it how the parent always makes the child feel guilty and that they are being disobedient by not helping out the parent. Luckily this book takes a different spin on the situation and even surprised me with an ending that I had always hoped for and never expected! The trip to Scotland was a dream to read as I have always wanted to go visit. I really felt like I was in the country and experiencing everything Paige was. I was a tad bit disappointed that the book club didn't accompany her as they did in the first book to the France with Chloe. I also appreciated how the book showed that even though Paige was divorced, she was allowed to date again. Sometimes in Christian fiction it seems that once you get divorced, no matter what the circumstances were, it's the kiss of death for any future relationships.Walker's stories are chick lit at their finest. Fun stories that are light, entertaining, and escaping yet thoughtful and provoking at the same time. I wish that I could be a part of the Getaway Girls book club as they seem like the type of friends I would love to be around. I can't wait to see what and where the next book in the series takes us!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Turning the Paige - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cathy Elliott (www.cathyelliottbooks.com)
I'm a big fan of Laura Jensen Walker's work, both fiction and non-fiction. When I got my own copy of her newest novel, I again saturated myself in another Getaway Girls adventure - Turning the Paige - a real page-turner, to say the least. (Sorry about that cliche.)I absolutely loved this book! Laura writes beautifully and her humor is infectious. Though I had many tasks trying to distract me, I couldn't put the book down until I was finished. Plenty of plot twists helped keep it compelling, even to the last page.As a woman in a care-giving season myself, I could relate to Paige's struggle to do her duty in a loving way. Her mom was a hoot! And so real. It was fun, touching, often pithy, and always delightful. Even if you haven't yet read the first book in the series, be sure and make time for Paige's story. You don't want to miss it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Turning the Paige - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2009
"Turning the Paige" is the 2nd book in the Getaway Girls series by Laura Jensen Walker. I have read the first book, "Daring Chloe" and enjoyed it so I was looking forward to this one. I was right to be so inclined - this is such a fun series! Here is a group of ladies from different walks of life that all have one thing in common - reading good books. They decide they are all a little too boring though so they start adding a new dimension to their book club - activities. So every month when they read a book they then do an activity that is reminiscent of the book so that they can "live" out the book. For instance, "Around the World in 180 Days" earns itself a balloon ride. It is a clever idea and here in book #2 we are getting up close with Paige, a divorced 35 year old that really wants to have a baby. This is a wonderful chick lit book that is just fun and enjoyable - I'm really looking forward to book #3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Turning the Paige - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
This novel was the perfect combination of fun, wit, romance, and emotion. I don't normally like "girl group" type books, but this one felt so natural that I was drawn in. Turning the Paige addresses some universally relatable issues such as responsibility toward family versus living your own life. I loved the inner dialog and the cute self-deprecating humor that was right on target but totally tongue-in-cheek at the same time. The book club idea was also pretty intriguing. And I adored Marc the florist. (Yay for sensitive guys who know the names of flowers.) I appreciated the subtle theme of being friends "first" as necessary for building a foundation for romantic relationships.Turning the Paige even made me cry a few times. But I laughed a whole lot more than I sniffled. After experiencing this author's engaging style and writing voice, I know I'd pick up anything she's written and enjoy it. She's great at drawing you in to the characters' lives. I wanted to taste some of Paige's cooking after reading about how amazing it was! I rejoiced when broken or strained relationships healed, and especially enjoyed when Paige was able to move on with her life. I felt her pain when she held on to it and I sensed her relief when she finally let it go. This book wasn't overly spiritual, but the faith element was present and a natural part of the story, which is not always the case.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Turning the Paige - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2009
The author has the ability to tell an interesting story. The opening foreshadows the tale to come. It reads, "My mother killed my marriage. Stomped all over it with her Pepto-Bismol pink pumps and ground it to divorce dust." I enjoyed this chick lit tale of a middle-aged divorcee who is stuck with the burden of her ailing mother. Although Paige loves her mother, she is frustrated by her inability to find some freedom for her own life. I connected to Paige right away; my husband and I had both of our mothers living with us for a time. Each chapter contains a quote at the beginning that further foreshadows. The reader gains a good bit of information on flowers--their meaning and the workings of a florist shop. There's a hint of romance. Many places in California and Scotland are visited and described such that this reader feels as if she's taken the trip along with the characters. Paige's mother, Catherine, is a diabetic and loves her sweets. Paige works hard to rid her mother's house of all sweets and keep her eating a sugar-free regimen. However, the American Diabetic Association states "experts agree that you can substitute small amounts of sugar for other carbohydrate containing foods into your meal plan and still keep [your] blood glucose levels on track." To forbid a diabetic sweets is a mistake that many people make, but an author should not. Although it's a Christian fiction, there's little to define it as such. The protagonist attends church and works in the children's Sunday School, but that simply serves as the background to move the story along. The topic may sound heavy, but the book is a light-hearted read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Turning the Paige - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2009
The author has the ability to tell an interesting story. The opening foreshadows the tale to come. It reads, "My mother killed my marriage. Stomped all over it with her Pepto-Bismol pink pumps and ground it to divorce dust." I enjoyed this chick lit tale of a middle-aged divorcee who is stuck with the burden of her ailing mother. Although Paige loves her mother, she is frustrated by her inability to find some freedom for her own life. I connected to Paige right away; my husband and I had both of our mothers living with us for a time. Each chapter contains a quote at the beginning that further foreshadows. The reader gains a good bit of information on flowers--their meaning and the workings of a florist shop. There's a hint of romance. Many places in California and Scotland are visited and described such that this reader feels as if she's taken the trip along with the characters. Paige's mother, Catherine, is a diabetic and loves her sweets. Paige works hard to rid her mother's house of all sweets and keep her eating a sugar-free regimen. However, the American Diabetic Association states "experts agree that you can substitute small amounts of sugar for other carbohydrate containing foods into your meal plan and still keep [your] blood glucose levels on track." To forbid a diabetic sweets is a mistake that many people make, but an author should not. Although it's a Christian fiction, there's little to define it as such. The protagonist attends church and works in the children's Sunday School, but that simply serves as the background to move the story along. The topic may sound heavy, but the book is a light-hearted read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Turning the Paige - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
The Getaway Girls are back! Turning the Paige by Laura Jensen Walker is the second book in the Getaway Girls series. I love this series. Friends, book club, travel and God all make for good reading. In Turning the Paige, Paige Kelley is 35 years old, working a dead end job and having to take care of her aging, and controlling, mother. With the help of her book club friends, The Getaway Girls, and God , Paige learns to trust God and follow her dreams. After a much needed trip to Scotland, Paige begins to put her life back on track and realize her dreams.I have to say that I loved this book. Having already read Daring Chloe (the first Getaway Girls book) I was looking forward to Turning the Paige. I was not disappointed. Being almost 35 myself and feeling like some of my dreams have passed me by, I could relate to Paige in many ways. I loved how important her friendships with the other Getaway Girls were. Good friends are so important and can be hard to come by. This book had so much emotion, I found myself reaching for the tissue box more than once. When I finished, it left me feeling like there is so much hope even when things dont go as we plan, if we just trust God and His timing. I highly recommend it and Daring Chloe. You will find yourself wanting your own Getaway Girls group!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Turning the Paige - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
I enjoyed Turning the Paige - it was inspirational to me, how Paige finally broke free, learned more about herself and her family. Laura Jenson Walker always has a way of making you face real issues in a relatively painless way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.