Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kregel Publications Pontius Pilate

Kregel Publications Pontius Pilate

"In drama, romance, color, scope and depth, this novel is comparable to Ben Hur, The Silver Chalice, and The Robe." This is The Christian Herald's rousing endorsement of Maier's historical novel about Pontius Pilate as he rises from the political intrigues of imperial Rome and survives the treacherous plots of herod Antipas. Behind him stands his wife, Procula, who fires his ambition for political advancement, but before him roils the bewildering clash of Jewish leaders, national extremists, and religious zealots. 384 pages, softcover from Kregel.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pontius Pilate
Review 1 for Pontius Pilate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ingriguing

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful historical account of Pilate and other characters of that era.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pontius Pilate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An interesting and informative read.

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Will
Location:Bothell, Washington
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This historical novel promotes understanding of the political, social and religious background of Jesus' ministry, death and reported resurrection, and it describes the forces at play in the Jewish and Roman world that would lead to the conviction and execution of this founder of the Christian church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pontius Pilate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent mixture of fact and fiction

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Graham Cudlipp
Location:Prescott, Ontario
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr Maier has used the facts as building blocks in telling the fascinating story of Pilate.
I have now a much netter understanding of what Pilate may have thought about his encounter with the truth!
Shalom,
Graham.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pontius Pilate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical History that is Entertaining

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
DennyB
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is interesting in that it is from the view of the life of Pontius Pilate which provides the environment that existed in the Roman world during the crucification of Christ. It makes you feel as though you are living in that era. I felt as though I was looking around and seeing the politics of the Roman and Jewish worlds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pontius Pilate
This review is fromPontius Pilate.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruth Power
Although I would have appreciated a little more fiction on the personal life of Pontius Dr. Maeir more than makes up for it in his historical facts that are written in such an interesting fashion that one can actually recall the facts of the setting. I think his intepretation is absolutely possible and I have often wondered "what happened to..." Pontius Pilate. Well written, well worth reading,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pontius Pilate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mark Wetzel
As Professor Maier puts it we have the bricks of the gospels but what we lack is the cohesive mortar to put it all in context. This book without doubt does just that and is a must read for every Christian. I would call it a companion to the New Testement. The case concerning Pilate is carefully and painstakenly built to encompass all the facts and how they most likely played out. You will love this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pontius Pilate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2005
Customer Avatar
Dr. Bill Beahm
This is perhaps the finest historical fiction I have ever read. Maier does an impressive job uniting scholarly research with readability. I couldn't put it down...and will recommend Pontius Pilate as a wonderful way to understand Rome and the actions of Pilate at the trial of Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pontius Pilate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2002
Customer Avatar
John Otte
If you've ever wondered about who Pilate was and what he went through in Judea, this is the book for you! Dr. Maier expertly weaves the archaeological and historical data about first century Rome and Judea into a gripping tale that resurrects the political intrigues of the Roman court, the unique challenges that Pontius Pilate faced as a governor of Judea, and the moral quandaries he likely faced when judging the rabbi from Galilee. A must read so you can appreciate the story of the Gospel from a new perspective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.