Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan When Love Blooms - eBook

Zondervan When Love Blooms - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When Love Blooms - eBook
Review 1 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Love Blooms is a simple love story - not too complicated. An easy read for a lazy weekend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Emily Harris is looking for a life change. She loves her sister's family, but she needs to get out on her own. She wants to be more than just a society wife. She interviews as a governess for a ranching family far away from city life. She is determined to prove that there is more to her than a pretty face. Gavin Blake doesn't think his wife made the right choice in hiring Emily Harris. The work is hard in the rugged high country, and this refined lady has no business teaching two young girls on a ranch miles from nowhere. But Dru Blake knows what she's doing. Emily Harris is the perfect person to love her daughters and her husband. For Dru has a plan she hopes the Good Lord will help her out with. A plan that will not only take care of her daughters once she's gone, but will take care of Gavin, too. What a hard, yet heartwarming, story! I started this at about 10:30 one night and stayed up until 2:30 am because I couldn't stop reading it. I was enthralled by the characters and their conflict that Robin Lee Hatcher created. She transported me into 1883. Her characters tugged at my heart and wouldn't let me rest until I knew how everything worked out. This was the first book of Robin's that I've read. Now I know why she is so successful. What a storyteller!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carla Wood
Robin Lee Hatcher restored my passion for reading pioneer novels. Despite my busy life, I couldnt put down this uniquely touching tale set in the mountains of beautiful Idaho, where we see a vision of pioneer struggles mixed with sadness, hope, and honor. Gavin and Dru Blake, in the wake of her cancer, find it necessary to hire a governess in Boise. Emily Harris is an answer to Drus prayers for a woman who loves the Lord and will nurture her girls and husband after she passes on. She appears to be a bit refined in Gavins eyes and the dare is set before her to prove she can survive an outback life. Gavin and Dru Blakes perseverance in their lives as ranchers is inspiring. Gavin married Dru following her husband and his best friends death. Because of her illness, they made this necessary choice, as many pioneers did in that day, to protect the precious girls. This dedication to children, giving up personal desires, is a convicting sacrifice in our all about me culture. Emily, unaware of the gravity of Drus health, proves to be of the same stock as her employers stepping right in, working more than her expected share with tenderness and compassion towards the family, despite Gavins gruff doubts about her stamina. Integrity is even more evident in Emilys life as she eventually feels drawn toward Gavin, embarrassed and confused, not understanding Gods and Drus future hopes for her. She and Gavin both feel a tugging in their hearts and temptation but flee from the attraction with honor. Both find the need to turn and examine where they are with God in their grief and temptation. This respectful attitude towards marriage, even an unconsummated marriage, is a challenge to our society. I found Robins book to be filled with grace and accountability in areas we all have or will face in our lives. A well written pleasant read, and a book that will bring growth to your walk with Jesus as you journey through this familys struggles, joys, and challenges.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Claudette Kleckner
I just finished reading When Love Blooms. Oh how I loved that book. Reading a great christian book things happen so differently, what a blessing. I loved how she took care of and loved those children that weren't hers, and loved their Mother too. I love how you use the words in your books to show others how God would be involved in our lives if we just let him. And oh how he showed you the words. It was a great read, about the early lives of families, their struggles, faith and love for each other.thank you,Claudette Kleckner
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynn
I love Christian Fiction books and when I received this I was initially excited about reading a book by Robin Lee Hatcher as I've heard such great things about her book. For this one, I had mixed emotions on. The storyline of the dying wife and the help and love of her governess was very touching but the romantic feelings she had for the wife's husband really bothered me. The governess didn't know that the other two had a marriage of convienience but continued to have the feelings she did and the husband also did. I love storylines that depict history and I loved that aspect of the story but was disappointed that the romance didn't follow God's law..
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2009
I enjoy Christian fiction especially romance. I have read this author's books before and have enjoyed them. However, I have a problem with this one. Emily and Gavin have romantic feelings for each other even before Dru dies. The author writes this as if it is OK. However, it is not OK. Having romantic feelings for someone who is married or a married person having feelings for someone other than their spouse is wrong; it says so in the Bible (10 Commandments, to name one place). Even though the marriage was "in name only" it was a marriage, and all marriage vows incuding "forsaking all others" are to be taken seriously. I ususally share my books with others. However, I'm not sharing this one. I don't want people to wonder about me and the books I read. I completed reading the book just to see what happened. However, I will not be reading it again and will be getting rid of it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle
When Love Blooms, a romance novel written by multi-awarded author Robin Lee Hatcher, is the story of a young Christian lady, Emily Harris, who found work as a governess for the two young daughters of Gavin and Dru Blake. Little did she know that Dru, also a Christian herself and terminally ill, had been praying for a long time for a woman like her to come along.Having grown up in a family with a privileged lifestyle, Emily Harris, had to prove to her wards father, Gavin Blake, that she can perform her job excellently and also live on a farm in the country. Despite not being used to performing house work and living in the country, Emily proves herself more than capable of life with the Blake family.As Emily learns to love the Blake family and becomes a friend to Dru, she also finds herself strangely attracted to Gavin, Drus husband. Knowing that what she feels is wrong, she does everything to suppress her emotions while staying true to her commitment to the Blake family and to her Christian faith.This is the first time that I have read a Christian romance novel by Robin Lee Hatcher and I have enjoyed the book immensely. She writes the novel beautifully, describing the places well, with the emotions jumping out of the book. I appreciate the ways that the characters have developed throughout the book. The way they struggled to live the Christian life is written realistically. All in all, a beautifully written romance novel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diane
I do enjoy a good, clean romance for a quick, light read. The best part is the predictability of a romance novel and the guaranteed happy ending. However, even in the "relaxing light reading"category I tend to be choosy. The characters need to be developed to a certain level, the Christian witness needs to be realistic, not cliche or moralistic, and story line can't be saccharine.When Love Blooms meets all those standards and then some.I've never read Robin Hatcher's books before; but I find that I like her writing style very much. Her characters were interesting and realistic in their emotions and reactions. The plot of this book has a typical conflict, with a little bit of a twist that held my interest. I wasn't tempted to skim through just to get done; rather, I read at a more savoring pace and enjoyed the dialogue and characterizations.This was a very enjoyable read and not so convoluted that I had to keep going back to remember who did what. In other words -- you'll enjoy this book by the pool or on the beach while you are keeping your children in one eye! The characters face their problems with integrity and demonstrate their faith in compelling and realistic ways.I'll be looking for more of Ms. Hatcher's books in the future.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
emily mccanless
o my word i love this book it took me 2 days to read it i love it!!!!! its absolutly amazing ...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynn McCallum
Robin Lee Hatcher has done it again! "When Love Blooms" is a page-turner. The story takes place in rural Idaho, so familiar to Robin. It is the bittersweet story of a terminally ill mum, Dru, whose biggest concern is the care of her two young daughters. Her husband had died, and a close family friend,Gavin,agreed to marry her in order to become a stepfather to her children. She then looked for a governess for the children, and Emily Harris answered the call. Gavin was sure that Emily would not endure the life on a ranch, when she had been used to city life. Dru had hoped and prayed that Gavin would find true love in Emily. Emily was shocked to discover feelings for Gavin emerging while Dru was still alive. Another suitor enters the scene, complicating matters further. Will Gavin fall in love with Emily? Will Emily stay on at the ranch, or go back to her society life? Keep turning those pages. This book will touch your heart!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristen H.
When Emily Harris accepted a job teaching young Sabrina and Petula Blake at an isolated mountain ranch in Idaho, she had no idea why she wanted to go; she just knew that she was seeking a change in her life.She had no idea how many changes were in store for her. Emily didn't know it, but she'd been selected by Dru, the girls' mother, with the hope that Emily would stay permanently. Emily didn't know that Dru was terminally ill. Gavin, Dru's husband and adoptive father of the girls, was also not aware of Dru's intentions. Initially, Gavin treated Emily in an almost hostile manner. As the time passed, Gavin's feelings towards Emily began to thaw. But will the anger in his heart drive Emily away?This is the first book by Robin Lee Hatcher that I have read. I enjoyed the book and empathized with the characters. The plot had enough twists to keep me guessing how it would come to a happy resolution. If you like Christian historical romance, I recommend reading When Love Blooms by Robin Lee Hatcher.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
I have to admit that I had never before read one of Robin Lee Hatcher's books. When I received the Advance Reader Copy of When Love Blooms, I was intrigued by the plot synopsis on the back cover. It's not often you read a Christian love story that begins while a man's wife is still dying. Looking for a new challenge, and purpose in her life, Emily Harris applies to be a governess to two small girls on a remote ranch. What she doesn't know is that her employer, Drucilla (Dru) Blake, is dying and hoping that Emily will be the future wife to her husband Gavin and mother to her two small daughters. Gavin Blake doesn't realize it either, or he never would have let Emily come back to the ranch with them. Emily sets out to care for Dru, teach Brina and Pet, and prove to a doubtful Blake that she can handle ranch life. As Drucilla grows weaker, Emily and Blake fight against their growing attraction to each other. What they don't realize is that Dru sees the attraction and is praying it will continue to grow into a deep love. Emily and Blake must come to terms with their own feelings, and their personal relationships with God.I enjoyed reading When Love Blooms. It was a wonderful introduction to an author I hadn't yet discovered. Robin Lee Hatcher develops her characters well, and weaves their story together beautifully. Although I limit the amount of fiction (especially romance novels) that I read, I'm looking forward to reading more of Robin Lee Hatcher's books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy Schmid
Excellent! Captivating and entertaining. Ms. Hatcher has written another wonderful story that held me to the last page.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cora
This latest Robin Lee Hatcher novel, set in the late 1800s in Boise Idaho and the Sawtooth Mountains, is captivating. Its main characters, Dru and Gavin Blake and Emily Harris, are well-developed, three-dimensional, as they deal with Dru's plan for Gavin and her two daughters. The Christian message is nicely woven into the story matrix. An enjoyable reading experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
No matter the setting, Robin Hatcher has a way of getting you wrapped up in the maincharacter. This story helps you see the beauty in the mountains of Idaho.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anita Wilson
Wonderful book, I couldn't put it down!!! God has touched Robin's writing in a very special way Every book I have read that Robin has written has touched my heart in a very special way. I look forward to the next book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2009
LOVED it, LOVED it!! What can I say She is one of the top authors. I can't remember ever not loving her books, this was no exception. Spend a warm week-end with these people, giving you a warm and fuzzy feeling
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for When Love Blooms - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Blooms.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2008
Penned with the descriptive nibs of all the five senses, Hatcher transports the reader to the magnificent high country of Idaho in a thoroughly engaging tale of love and wounded heroes. When Love Blooms is layered with appealing characters, and I was so at home with the story's cast, I felt like I was like viewing my own family history. I have yet to read a Robin Lee Hatcher novel that didn't entrance me from the first page, and with a unique plot for a romance, When Love Blooms is no exception.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.