Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Saxon Publishing Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit

Saxon Publishing Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit

A welcome addition to Saxon's curriculum line, Saxon Geometry is the perfect solution for students and parents who prefer a dedicated geometry course...yet want Saxon's proven methods!

Presented in the familiar Saxon approach of incremental development and continual review, topics are continually kept fresh in students' minds. Covering triangle congruence, postulates and theorems, surface area and volume, two-column proofs, vector addition, and slopes and equations of lines, Saxon features all the topics covered in a standard high school geometry course. Two-tone illustrations help students really "see" the geometric concepts, while sidebars provide additional notes, hints, and topics to think about. Parents will be able to easily help their students with the solutions manual, which includes step-by-step solutions to each problem in the student book; and quickly assess performance with the test book (test answers included). Tests are designed to be administered after every five lessons after the first ten.

Please Note: This is the third printing and errors to date have been corrected.

This kit includes:

  • Student Textbook, 887 pages (120 lessons), hardcover.
  • Solutions Manual, 341 pages, softcover, three-ring-punched
  • Test Book with answer key, 80 perforated pages, softcover.
  • Average Customer Rating:
    3.889 out of 5
    3.9
     out of 
    5
    (18 Reviews) 18
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
    5 stars
    11
    4 stars
    2
    3 stars
    0
    2 stars
    2
    1 star
    3
    10 out of 1471%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Questions & Answers:
    4 Questions | 7 Answers
    Customer Reviews for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Review 1 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5

    Let me out of here!

    Date:September 25, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Nomo29
    Location:Elizabethtown KY
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    We began using this text for the first time this year at our co-op after using Saxon for Alg. I and Alg. II. Of nine students, five have dropped within the first five weeks due to frustrations with the text. This is not the Saxon I've loved and heartily endorsed. The questions are confusing and take forever to wade through (yes, we're using the corrected version). I would work through the lesson with my daughter and then she'd spend an hour doing the problems, miss 50-75% of them, and then we'd spend an hour correcting the lesson. It was with great relief we fled to a different curriculum that she is flying through. BTW, the Saxon tests are a breeze, so she obviously learned something, but we don't have 2+ hours to spend on math each day.
    +3points
    3of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Saxon Geometry is the best next step

    Date:May 24, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    rsjfarm
    Location:Idaho
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This was the best next step for my high-schooler. We've always used Saxon math and wanted to continue into high school. It's right on target and meets our needs perfectly. CBD was also the obvious choice of where to buy it as not only are they competitive on pricing, but the customer service is excellent. Thanks CBD for helping with all our homeschool needs.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Poorly written textbook

    Date:April 10, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    Akmom
    Location:Alaska
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Value: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    I have used Saxon for about 20 years so when they came out with a Geometry text I was pleased because this was lacking in the other texts. I've been highly disappointed. Number one, I was assured that I had the new solutions manual when I ordered but sadly there are many errors, as well as leaving out crucial steps in order to follow their solution. I have found solutions with concepts that have not even been taught. Number two, the text is just poorly written in general. The problem set questions are hard to understand what they are looking for. The explanations in the text are vague at best. I have had to rely on my engineering son to help me solve some problems for his youngest brother. This text does not hold up to the standard of the older textbooks. Don't buy it. You will be frustrated.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    It's Saxon, what else can you say

    Date:December 27, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    StaB
    Location:Michigan
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    My daughters were doing Switched on Schoolhouse Algebra. Both were lost. The combo of the DIVE videos and Teacher Videos did the trick. Saxon rocks.
    +1point
    2of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Great Item

    Date:November 9, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    nwalt64
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This is the second set of Saxon/Dive math sets we've had. My son learned Algebra II with the first and I highly recommend this product. The instructor does a terrific job of going over everything and the syllabus he provides with it takes the guess work out of the planning out a schedule for the whole school year. We use his time frame to plan all of my son's other leasons around. I hope he has one for Calculus.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    A very good value Geometry curriculum.

    Date:October 17, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Kaye
    Location:Bonham, Texas
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    A very good methodical learning of Geometry. Much repetition and practice, making sure you have few gaps in learning.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:September 12, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    hsbbmom
    Location:Tennessee
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This is one of the newer Saxon products. The format is similar, but I like it better. I think it has more examples.
    +4points
    4of 4voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Saxon math is an excellent spiral learning text.

    Date:September 8, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Magur
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    The product came in a timely manner. We are looking forward to using it as we have been very pleased with all of Saxon's other products.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Solution Manual problems solved

    Date:July 19, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    ahinojosa9
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Heard there was errors in the solution manual, I called Saxon Publishing direct, and they corrected the problems. I already purchased the manual and was unsure if I had the correct copy. I advised them of the issue and they sent me a new solution manual free with free shipping.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    What I would expect from Saxon

    Date:May 17, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Debora Williams
    Location:Boaz, Alabama
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This meets my expectations of Saxon Math Products. We have used Saxon for 5 years now and are going to start the Geometry within a few weeks.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5

    Not a fan, never will be....

    Date:January 24, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Tori
    Location:Milford, Nj
    Age:Under 18
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    Value: 
    2 out of 5
    2 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    I've never liked Saxon Math, especially as a homeschooler; the text is dry and boring and often skips over important lessons. Colorless pages don't help.
    I used Teaching Textbooks last year and really liked it, but was hesitant to use it this year because of the price tag. So, with no other good options, I settled for Saxon...again.
    And I was disappointed...again. As I read through the text, most of it goes 'in one ear and out the other.' Often, a problem will pop up that has another 'piece' to it, another way to do something, and the book expects you to learn to do it... with no explanation!! I often use the help of my older sister or a tutoring website to fill in the gaps, because now I'm stuck with this curriculum.
    Won't recommend to a homeschooler, ever. Use teaching textbooks.... the price is worth it.
    +1point
    2of 3voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Product is complete and our student is pleased

    Date:January 7, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    mother of eight
    Location:ohio
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Takes the best of the Saxon format and then has a video portion to introduce material which is clear and very valuable to our daughter who normally hates math.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    SAXON GEOMETRY

    Date:November 2, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    SDELIASR
    Location:Gillette, NJ
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    Value: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5
    I had read other reviews and contacted Saxon about the errors. They assured me that if I didn't have the first printing that every thing was corrected. They were wrong. The Solution Manual is full of errors, so unless you can determine which are wrong, you should not buy this product.
    +2points
    3of 4voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Date:October 13, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    cibola7
    Location:New Mexico
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    My daughter has been home schooled since 1st grade and this is the first math program that really resonates with her.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 3, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Kathy Knox
    This will be our fourth year homeschooling, and our fourth year using Saxon Math. The incremental development utilized by this series is designed for student success. We are extremely satisfied with this series and are very confident that my daughter is being well prepared for the math portion of the ACT, which she will be taking this year. Buy with confidence.PS-I also buy Saxon Teacher, the companion DVD set with the 'electronic chalkboard' and teacher explaining each section and problem. While not necessary-all you need is the solutions manual-it is a very nice addition.
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    1 out of 5
    1 out of 5

    Date:June 30, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Karen
    We love Saxon Math programs and have been using them for years, but Saxon Geometry needs a caution attached. There are an unacceptable number of ERRORS in the answer key. There are so many errors that, when I grade my daughter's work, I am more inclined to believe her answer than the answer key. Upon working the questioned problems ourselves (between two professionals with very high math backgrounds), we find the Saxon answer key to be wrong. This was annoying at first, but as time goes on and more and more errors are found, it has become a downright stumbling block to our daughter's ability to learn and not question herself. However, at least she gets to learn one important lesson with Saxon Geometry: sometimes the "experts" are just plain wrong, and this is one good lesson for a child to grasp in life. Saxon needs to put out a revision for this book and FAST. I could recommend this as a great Geometry book, but the huge number of errors drop its rating to one star. One further piece of information: I tried contacting Saxon early on as I discovered errors to alert them to the situation, and their customer service attitude was downright disgusting. They just didn't seem to care. So be warned, if you buy this book be prepared to question the given answers.
    +12points
    12of 12voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:June 6, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Lucy Kelly
    This is a rigorous textbook that definitely keeps up the Algebra I skills. I miss Mr. Saxon's inimitable humor and wit, but I'm thrilled that Saxon now has this Geometry textbook.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for Saxon Geometry Homeschool Kit
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:April 13, 2010
    Customer Avatar
    Donna Makley
    I recommend this book to the Math student who wants to pass college entrance exams. This book will get you where you want to go in Geometry. I reccomend it 100%!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.