Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook

Zondervan Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Review 1 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

making it personal

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:Red Wing, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the book because I enjoy the music of Casting Crowns and knew Mark Hall was a really good writer. After finishing the book, I have to say that he's a great writer. He takes complex ideas and makes them real. I have used things I've learned and read about in this book to witness to non-believer friends and even challenge some of my church friends. I would recommend everyone read this book at least once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Purchase this book and you won't be sorry.

Date:June 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
QuiltedDrummer
Location:Bandon By the Sea
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the group Casting Crowns, so I purchased this book. It really got me and I have passed it on to a friend and we are each purchasing add'l copies. Each of us should have "Your Own Jesus." Check it out; it's really a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great and thought provoking.

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Spivey
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent reading and very helpful for our bible study group
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will directly impact everyone.

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Whynickname
Location:Bridgton, Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Your Own Jesus, is exactly that. A direct conviction to decide who Jesus is and what he means to you. This book is clear in reviewing what impact Jesus has in a believer's life. Jesus came to be personal. Jesus has to be personal to everyone who reads this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

challenging and inspiring

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andrea Gibson
Location:FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a Christian most of my life and serve in the church. I bought this book for my kids who are teenagers but decided to read it myself first. Not only is the doctrine sound, but it is very challenging for mature Christians as well as young. I decided to order 4 more and am giving them as gifts! Easy to read and inspiring. 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a book!

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hockeymom05
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, Mark Hall exceed my expectations when I ordered this book. He shows how people look through other people to find Jesus when you need to find "your own" Jesus especially to sustain you in hard times. It is teaching me so much! I am also having my kids read the student edition and am praying that they learn even more than I have. Can hardly wait for Mark's next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Greg Roberts
Ok book. Obviously his first book a little jumbled. Great thoughts but should have been broken up into more chapters.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Knotts
Looking for a gift for the person who has everything? Look no further, because this fantastic new book by Mark Hall of Casting Crowns discusses how to get something that EVERYONE needs - their own walk with Christ. Mark is a gifted storyteller, and he shares the central message of the Gospel in such a way that it will speak to you no matter where you are in your relationship with Jesus - whether you are a new believer, a seasoned saint, or "somewhere in the middle." There is no "Christianese" here, just simple truths and stories that are so honest and transparent they will hit you between the eyes and go straight to your heart. A MUST READ - you will be blessed!Be sure not to miss Casting Crown's new CD as well, due out 11/17/09!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deanna Woodrow
I loved this book. It's a must read for every believer, but especially those of us who have found our relationship with Christ lacking or luke warm. I'm giving copies to my adult sons who sometimes struggle to comprehend what a relationship with the Living God truly means. The stories and insights Mark Hall shares are thought provoking and filled with truth. I highly recommend this terrific book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chad Davis
Complete with interesting and intriguing stories from both his own life and those of influential people in his life, Mark takes you on a journey to rediscover what a personal relationship with Jesus looks like. Mark brings up personal stories that will surprise you and engage you in his own personal struggles. At the same time, he lays out a road map to help readers examines their own lives and journey down the road of living life daily with Jesus.Complete with a built in study guide, the book is set up to be used as a small group discussion guide as well. Broken up into short and easy to read sections, Mark takes specific points and expands on them quickly and clearly. His years serving as a youth pastor come out in his explanations making each point easy to understand.Mark's basic point throughout the book is that for many of us (him included), our faith and relationship with Jesus is too often based on our pastor's or our parents' faith. When we're with them, it's easy to follow Jesus, but when we get out in the real world, we don't know how to relate to Jesus on our own, and our walk suffers because of this. Your Own Jesus provides the reader with a view of how to overcome this and encourages the reader to draw closer to Jesus and make Him your own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jon Wellman
Jesus is a person.This quote does seem strange, doesnt it? We often want to think of Jesus as a foreign entity, absent from our lives, not caring what we think, feel, need, or do. We want Jesus to fit into our definition of Him.That quote comes from Your Own Jesus by Mark Hall, in which he uses practical (and sometimes mind-blowing) illustrations and wonderful writing to compel the reader to develop a relationship with the REAL Jesus, not the Jesus we want Him to be.The most gripping aspect of this book is the way it incorporates lyrics from Casting Crowns songs into the text, giving even more life to songs that already have lives of their own. We get to see the insight and inspiration behind the music.This book unpacks powerful truth in a language that is accessible to all. If you have ever seen a Casting Crowns concert or heard Mark Hall speak, you will hear his voice on every page. He delivers the reality of Jesus in a concise and multi-faceted way. But he doesnt stop at letting us know who Jesus is: Mark shows us how our lives should look BECAUSE of who He is. Sin, repentance and forgiveness, living a Godly life, commitment, accountability, prayer, evangelism its all in there. This book will stretch your understanding of our Savior. A must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Terri
The latest book, "Your Own Jesus" by Mark Hall is a MUST READ for every Christian!!!! Whether you have been a follower of Christ for 20 years or 20 days, this book will change how you view your walk with Christ. The first time I read it, I sat down and finished it in about three hours. I don't read much non-fiction, but it completely held my attention. I'm reading it again so that I can digest all of the great teaching that is contained in this book. Mark writes in a very conversational style, one minute he's telling you a story about an albino possum and the next he's hitting you with a Biblical truth about forgiveness. One thing I've heard Mark say before is, "there should be a Scripture reference at the end of your opinion." This isn't his opinion, he's got Scripture to back it up!! Buy this book for everyone on your list-saved or unsaved-they will thank you for it! If you love the music from "The Altar and the Door," you'll love this!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeff Honnold
"Your own Jesus" is a great read, especially for those that are familiar with the latest Casting Crowns CD, The Altar and the Door. In this book Mark uses stories from his own life and other lives as well as strong Biblical examples of what it means to really have a relationship with Jesus. Each chapter is based on a song from the latest Casting Crowns project and the theme of the chapter ties in with the theme of the song. Mark's goal throughout the book is to not just give fun or touching stories that explain the song, but to really try and connect with the reader and make them understand the importance of having a true relationship with Jesus - a relationship of your own and not a relationship that is based on other people's lives. Mark is a youth leader at his church and as a fellow youth leader some of the stories really hit home (as did a great new idea to use with my leadership team that involves towels, corn syrup and dirt). Mark makes us all realize that we need to invest in the lives of everyone we come into contact with - especially youth - so that they may grow as disciples and be able to stand and face the world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Brown
This book was everything I expected from Mark. His insight and storytelling are amazing as usual. His truthfulness is refreshing. It's one of those books that you find hard to put down! Readers familiar with his music (Casting Crowns) or his other book (Lifestories) will recognize that Mark uses his song titles as Chapter subtitles and the "God lines" of his songs throughout each chapter to give a poetic depth to each story that he tells. I especially appreciate Mark's vast knowledge of the scripture and the way he proves so many points throughout the book by quoting or referencing it. An absolute must read written by a greatly talented, but amazingly humble, Author/Youth Pastor/Singer/Songwriter/Performer/Teacher!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Malissa
This is an excellent read for those who have been walking with the Lord for quite a while and for those who are just curious about it. I love the honesty of Mark Hall and the conviction he so lovingly shares with his readers. I love how he explains and encourages us all to make that relationship with Jesus...what Jesus would have it to be. Not what the church says or what loved ones say. I enjoyed how he used titles from the Casting Crowns music to subtitle his chapters and how each song captured what the chapter was about. For a huge fan like me it made each 'read' more personal.Thanks be to God for gifting this man with songs and writings that bless us, teach us, and encourages us. I will pass this book on...that's how much I liked it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ryan Garber
I finished my advanced copy of Mark Hall's "Your Own Jesus" and loved it! The Casting Crowns frontman did an excellent job focusing in on THE issue of the church--a close, personal, intimate relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ.Mark was effective in weaving in Scripture, stories, and illustrations as he used songs from "The Altar and the Door" to bring out the need for us to develop a walk with God. I can only hope that Mark does more writing and maybe does another book like this one using songs from Crowns' upcoming CD, "Until the Whole World Hears". I highly recommend that you get this easy-to-read, yet powerful and effective book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Eric Morgan
Mark Hall has proven himself an excellent storyteller, and this book proves that it's not just in song. If you are wanting to develop a deeper personal relationship with Christ, and that should be the goal of any believer, this book will not disappoint. Hall draws from his own personal story, as well as years of experience as a youth minister, to show how you can become more like Christ by getting to know Him better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Annette Granger
I was blessed by this moving testimony from the first page. Mark Hall has been absolutely open and honest in his songwriting, and now in this book about who Mark Hall was, and most importantly, who Mark Hall is now through Jesus Christ. The most compelling sections to me were the realization that one of his former youth group members was calling to ask what he himself believed in because he did not have his own personal relationship with Christ, and the other was the section on praying God's Word back to Him, asking the Lord to show our hearts who we are in each scripture we read and what He would have us take from it. Constructively I would like to gently, lovingly say that the study guide in the back is not as useful as I would hope. I want to use this for my next small group study, and I probably will just teach from the main book itself instead. Suggestion would be to offer study guides that offer layers with which to teach and lead because many groups like mine have people in varied levels of their spiritual walk with Christ. We are not all challenged in the same ways. But as for content, presentation, and overall value of the message; awesome! It will be the book I give at Christmas this year! Blessings...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Denara Manning
In Your Own Jesus Mark Hall walks with you and shows you what a PERSONAL relationship with your Savior, Jesus Christ, looks like. Mark uses humor, real life events, his own past, and above all else: TRUTH SPOKEN IN LOVE. Mark doesnt hold back. He gives it his all. Why? Because he wants to help us learn to recognize and overcome the seemingly incessant opportunities for compromise, great and small, that neutralize so many believers.-Your Own JesusYour Own Jesus says what everyone needs to hear, no matter what their Christian walk looks like. People from every background, every walk of life and from every level of faith, need to read Your Own Jesus. Your Own Jesus has something to say to everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Your Own Jesus: A God Insistent on Making It Personal - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
MTripp
Being a fan of Mark Hall and Casting Crowns, I was very excited to hear about this book. I was deeply touched by his last book "Lifestories". This book did not disappoint. The subject of the book is about your personal relationship with Jesus. Growing up in a Christian home, I can recall trying to find "my own" faith in college. Sometimes we can know so much about God and theology and forget about the relationship. This book deals with these topics and more. This is a must read for those in ministry and I also believe it would be great for high-schoolers. We are up against a frightening statistic that 8 out of 10 teenagers that grow up in evangelical homes will lose their faith upon entering college. We need to talk more about the personal relationship with Jesus and this book does just that!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>